We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fergus Tobago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fergus Tobago to your Saves list
Fergus Tobago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martin Ros Garcia 1 | 1 Urb. Torrenova, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel d'Or Tobago)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I just had a weekend break and stayed at the Fergus Tobago. The location was ideal just a few minutes walk to the bars and restaurants. The beautiful sandy beach was just across the road from the hotel. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious. I was holidaying alone and at no point while in the resort did I feel intimidated or threatened. It is a very relaxed but lively resort. The restaurants are very good value for money.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room overlooking the pool and I had a sea view. It was perfect. Music was playe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear FranceDonna,

On behalf of everyone here at Hotel Fergus Tobago we would like to inform you that we are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us, and thank you very much for your compliments on our location and views. In addition, your kind words towards our staff are much much appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    95
    69
    36
    34
See reviews for
46
94
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pancevo, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been in this hotel 2 years in a row. I must sadly say it is now Magaluf crowd attraction and not for the people who want to enjoy sea, beach and sleep (at night). It is full of English youngsters who drink during the day by the pool or in their rooms. The only time we could sleep was from 7am-10am and 22pm-3am. The rest of the time you can hear banging on the door, singing in the hall or terrace (or both) and other things drunk people do. The elevator and hall in the late hours always stank from the bear and urine and there were all kinds of junk thrown all over the place.
We tried to change the room but the hotel staff said the hotel is overbooked and we herd from other guests that higher floors were quieter (last year we got 7th floor and never herd anything, but there were not so many English lads than).
Also we were not the only ones complaining about the noise, I felt sorry for the people with children who could not sleep.
And just to say I don't hate English people, I perfectly understand their reasons for drinking and having a good fun, they all seemed like a good and friendly bunch but I never wanted this kind of holiday.
So, I assume it is nice place for young people who wants to party but for the rest it is a nightmare.
Will never come back.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors for more quite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear PitMaravich,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as enjoyable in comparison to your previous visits, and we would like to offer you our apologies.
Nevertheless, we hope you do decide to visit us again, as we would do everything possible to make your stay as comfortable as we can and restore your previous good faith in our hotel.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights from 12th July on a hen do. When we checked in we were told rooms were over booked so we had 3 to a room, not a huge deal as we are all friends and just wanted to unpack and get a drink. The rooms are ok but bathroom in main building is rubbish compared to other building. No room round sink for toiletries and shower curtain kept dropping down. They aren't keen on giving you fresh towels! The bar area is small and 1 drink per person is pathetic and that's if they actually serve you. The bar staff are so rude, they would rather clean bar down or chat to each other than serve you. When they did serve it was with a huff n puff, sorry for asking you to do your job!! The pool area is ok but no where near enough loungers but there is space for more so why don't they buy some. Breakfast was ok but didn't bother eating any other meals as there is some gorgeous restaurants around Palma nova beach so didn't want to depress myself further by spending time in the hotel. It done the job for our 3 nights but I would not recommend any longer or for anyone wanting a decent 3*. Magaluf strip is only a few minutes walk away and Palma nova beach just across the road so location is good just beaware of the pick pockets and prostitutes at night near the trampolines just down from the hotel. I will return to Palma nova/Magaluf just not this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear karinaw019,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with us, and we are sorry to see it failed to reach your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will take note in order to improve on the issues mentioned.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week the 12 - 19th July 2013 and the bedding only got changed on request which is dirty! We had had to argue with rude reception staff for clean towels and when the cleaners did come they came at 8 o'clock in the morning and woke you up!! Food was okay but we was only half board. The location was perfect for the night-life its the best location just further enough away not to here the music but a quick walk! However prostitutes gathered outside around kids trampolines it was vile! THE SECURITY IN THIS HOTEL DON'T LET YOU BRING ANYONE BACK IN THE HOTEL BUT IF YOU SLY HIM 50 EUROS HE WILL LET YOU WHICH IS SHOCKING!!! we mentioned it to the reception in the morning and they pretended they couldn't understand so they obviously was in on it! i think the hotel needs to invest in some new sunbeds as they where like laying on a floor! we loved our holiday in magaluf however doubt would stop here again!! The hotel is full of young people and unsuitable for a family holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear hellokittyx,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. However, in response to your allegation that our security accepts bribes and our reception staff is "in on it", let us take this opportunity to clarify. For security reasons, as you may have read certain reviews concerning theft, we refuse access to outsiders who intend to take advantage of our guests during the night. However, if the guest wishes to bring someone in from outside, they must pay a fee in order to stay just like every client has had to pay on booking. The guest is therefore registered and thus upping security and reducing risk of theft etc.
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed (or SHOULD) have stayed in this hotel for a week from 4th - 11th July for a girls holiday with my three girlfriends. We went on this holiday as an end of exams celebration and we mainly wanted a decent hotel that would be comfortable and clean, we weren't expecting 5* luxury.

When we arrived at 11am after travelling since 4 in the morning, we were told that the hotel had double booked our rooms and that we had to stay in a aparthotel 2 minutes up the road. We tried to object but the staff were very unapologetic and arrogant and I don't remember them apologising once, despite this ruining the first and part of the second day of our holiday. We saw that we had no choice so had to spend our day checking into another hotel and living out of a suitcase for our first day and night. They had told us to be back to the hotel at 12 the next day as our rooms would be ready, so we packed up again and headed down there, only to be told that our rooms were not ready with a simple shake of the head and once again, no apology.

We finally got our rooms at 3.30pm that day and were so relieved to finally be able unpack our cases after 30 hours in Mallorca. The rooms did have a lovely sea view of Palma Nova beach and they were both very spacious and clean and everything we had expected. The air con was great and I often had to turn it off during the night because I was too cold!

The food was decent if a bit repetitive but I always found something to eat every night and enjoyed it, although after I got back I didn't want to see bread or pasta for a long time! The all inclusive drinks are great and they are not skimpy with the measures either and they offer a very wide variety of drinks - although it is very annoying that you can only get one per person, most places offer two per person, as otherwise everyone in the group has to queue up to get a drink and this is just inconvenient. The bar and restaurant staff are great and always very polite, much better than the rude reception staff!

The hotel is in a perfect location, 3 minute walk from the strip but far enough away that its not too nosy and literally right opposite Palma nova beach which is beautiful. The pool area is also nice for drinks and playing cards and we managed to get a sunbed most days so I have no complaints there.

Overall, had we not had the unfortunate experience of being double booked I would have definitely said I'd come back to this hotel as we enjoyed our stay after the first 2 days and the hotel was just what we needed, but after reading how many other people were also double booked, I think this is completely unacceptable and I think Jet2 should stop using a hotel that so often let's its customers down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear popsym,

We do agree with your comment that overbooking and the consequences of which is in fact unacceptable, and when this happens we, the hotel staff do try to do everything possible to find alternative acommodation as best suited to the client. We aim to minimise the effects of this unpleasant situation.
We do however appreciate your positive comments about the rest of your stay with us, and do hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we booked this hotel, as the reviews ranged from excellent to terrible. When we arrived, at 11 pm we were told the hotel was fully booked and they sent us to an 18-30 hotel, we were hungry and thirsty but were told the all inc closes at 11 pm. We were also told to check out of the other hotel the next day at 12 pm and our room would be ready. After a night in the hotel from hell, teenagers running round, shouting and banging all night long, we went back to our hotel to be told the room wasn't ready, we had to wait 3 hours for it to be ready, we had booked with booking.com and will never use them again. We were not happy as we only had 2 full days there, so It ruined our day as we were messing about checking in and out. I have read other reviews and this seems to happen quite a lot.
Anyway after that we did get a nice sea view room, the hotel is quite nice, we were served as many drinks as we wanted and never had to wait long. Yes the pool is smallish but not as bad as I thought and just across from the sea, easy to walk around, yes there is lots of younger end as expected but If you go down to the sea in magalluf there are some lovely romantic, quiet restaurants that serve excellent food.
Beds were okay, air con average, no hairdryers but I think they have them in reception. Towels provided, soap, shampoo and condition in sachets. Tv with english channels, remote in reception.
Meals average, you can get something to eat, but not much choice, we had breakfast and lunch but ate out at night.
We were worried about theft but we didn't have any problems, though there does seem to be quite a few people mentioning it so I would think It would be looked in to.
I think you will have a good holiday here but remember Its 3 star, not 5 star!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear jane P,

On behalf of our team here at Hotel Fergus Tobago we would like to express our regrets about having to book you somewhere else for the first night of your stay, we do appreciate the inconvenience this causes. Also we are grateful for your patience on your return of waiting for your room to be ready, our maids have a rather small window between check-out and check-in times and try to work as fast as they can.
We are glad to hear that in any case the rest of your stay with us was pleasant, and hope you will consider to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayied for 4 nights following a stay a few years back which was good, clean, and Owned by d'or hotels.

Having stayied before my expectations where resonable, until I arrived , que in reception , waited 2 hours to check in ! , full of teenagers and kids , arrogant staff, terrible rooms , clean to an extent .

Food was outrageous and I wouldn't feed my dog that rubbish, that was at all times of day ! , overall the whole hotel has been run into the ground and is in poor state.

Alcohol and the bar was terrible ! , 1 drink per person, had no soft drinks at all for 2 afternoons! And que all the time as there was only 1 small bar for the whole hotel .

I strongly urge anyone not to book and if you have booked cancel and rebook !


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Hullahg01,

We would like to inform you that we find your choice of vocabulary offensive, therefore will not take the time to reply to insults.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fergus Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fergus Tobago

Address: Martin Ros Garcia 1 | 1 Urb. Torrenova, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel d'Or Tobago)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fergus Tobago 3*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fergus Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Or Tobago
d Or Tobago Hotel
Hotel Tobago Palma Nova
Fergus Tobago Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fergus Tobago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.