We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comodoro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Comodoro to your Saves list
Hotel Comodoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel before checking its reviews on trip advisor and the reviews were so varied we had no idea what to expect.

It isn't by any stretch of the imagination a 4* hotel, it might have been some years ago but the public areas are dated and look like something out of the late 80's or early 90's, and there are many 3* hotels in the vicinity with more facilities. That said you shouldn't let this put you off staying here, it has a fantastic location and the hotel seems to be in the process of being upgraded

The staff were all excellent, friendly and really helpful, from the reception to restaurant there was a genuine attempt to give good customer service, if you asked for something it happened quickly. The rooms and bathroom were spacious with a large wardrobe with ample shelves and hanging space and were very clean. All the rooms have air conditioning and a sea view, we were given the option of what floor we wanted and chose a lower one, on reflection higher ones are better, the view over the bay is fantastic.

The food in the restaurant was good and there was plenty of choice each night, with at least 2 fish and 2 meat dishes, it also looked fresh and well cooked. Seating in the restaurant wasn't crushed in there was ample rooms between tables and tables near the windows also had great views over the bay and beach.

We were half board and didn't use the bar / lounge, but the hotel did offer an all inclusive option and provided some evening entertainment for guests who stayed in the hotel. The pool area is small and was not well used while we were there, partly due to it spending much of the day in shade due to 2 large trees which overhang the area. A thought for the hotel management how about cutting them back.

We thought this hotel gave us very good value for money and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Try to be on floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    94
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
40
114
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel needs refurbished, paint and plaster would make all the difference to both the inside and outside. But prices would rise accordinly, It is not of four star quality at the moment.all the staff and manager Pierre, Rafial,Jorro, do a great job. The receptionists were extremely helpful, and the dining area is of a high standard, we had a fabulous view of the bay. As we were on the eighth floor.total peace n quiet throughout out nine nights.

Room Tip: Above the second floor for better views of the beautiful bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned, had a great time, this hotel has fantastic views of the bay, staff are helpful and friendly. Food was good with a great choice. Rooms are a good size and very clean. The hotel reception is a bit dated but don't let this put you off. It is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to book a room above the first floor if possible to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

hotel is very tired and old fashioned and definitely not of a 4 star standard. when we booked we requested high floors with a good view and were given the very bottom floor overlooking the pool probably the worst room in the hotel, cockroaches in bathroom,towels not changed once over our 3 night stay, no facilities in room no tea or coffee making facilities, tv didn't work, pool area not clean and mostly in shade so had to get up early to get a good spot. wifi 5 euros a day and also you have to pay for room safe. didnt pay for breakfast so can't comment on that. overall a very poor standard and defenately not 4 star look elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Literally just got back from a 3 night stay here we literally booked on the day we landed in palma due to needing to be out in magaluf for personal reasons. Not a. Bad price for B and B but the breakfast wasn't really up to much and there was hardly any staff in restaurant. Reception staff were very helpful particularly the blonde lady who checked us in and got us our taxi to the airport this morning.
The hotel is slap bang in the middle of magaluf at the end of the strip but never heard any noise at night. Very outdated basic rooms , no kettle and the fridge didn't work , towels need putting in the bin.

Would not return but can't say I hated it just not our usual standard that we would stay in .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had four days without our teenage children, wanted to visit the sights in Palma, but wanted a pool available at the end of a long, hot day. That led us to Palma Nova, for which we were fully prepared to make allowances. Good points first. The staff are kind and helpful. The view from the sixth floor is great and the building is configured so all rooms face the sea. BUT, this hotel is all but in Magaluf and if you turn the wrong way from the door,prepare to feel a bit uncomfortable if you're over a certain age and lack tattoos. Next, fire regs when this was built didn't require an alternative exit, apparently. Room 602 is 25 metres along a single corridor from the main stairs, the only exit and they seem to turn a blind eye to Spanish families cooking on their balcony. I'm surprised they haven't been required to put an escape at either end of the building. One more serious infrastructure point, our drains smelt dodgy all the time and horrific at a couple of periods of peak demand on the foul waste system. Really this forty odd year old building needs knocking down and rebuilding. Granted the view and the staff, it might still be ok to stay here, but unfortunately the equipment standards are terrible as well. I literally cannot recall the last time I stayed in a hotel of any standard in Europe that didn't have a kettle and cups in the room. The towels were frayed at the edges and the intranet, which isn't cheap, drives only one device per payment and just drops out requiring you to log in again at ridiculously frequent intervals. If you can get a room for, say £75 a night and don't mind a sprint down the corridor if there's a fire, go for it, but at the £140/night rate we got through Easyjet, this was poor value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is spotlessly clean, however, it looks like hasnt been decorated since at least 1972!

The reception staff were nice and friendly on arrival and advised us that since we were on the 1st floor if we wanted to move to a higher up room (for the view) the following day that could be easily arranged. We were given a room at the end of the corridor and since it was at the end it was slightly larger than the rest so we decided to stay put. When we first entered the room there was quite an overwhelming smell of bleach - it was very clean! The room also had a small fridge so you could keep some drinks cool in your room. The rooms also had air conditioning, a hairdryer and a safety deposit box - though the box cost about 3 euros per day.

We went all inclusive - this was a mistake! The cocktails were out of a machine and tasted like medicine! The pool area was not very nice with no parasols so we went to the beach everyday instead so we were buying soft drinks elsewhere. The food was very repetitive although edible but again we ended up eating out. If I was to return I would just go bed and breakfast as this is all I would use.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the beach, a short walk from both palmanova and magalluf with a bus stop nearby for those who can't/won't walk that far.

(also noticed that it was very wheelchair friendly)

Room Tip: A high floor wll have a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Comodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comodoro

Address: Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Comodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Comodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.