We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Comodoro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is spotlessly clean, however, it looks like hasnt been decorated since at least 1972!

The reception staff were nice and friendly on arrival and advised us that since we were on the 1st floor if we wanted to move to a higher up room (for the view) the following day that could be easily arranged. We were given a room at the end of the corridor and since it was at the end it was slightly larger than the rest so we decided to stay put. When we first entered the room there was quite an overwhelming smell of bleach - it was very clean! The room also had a small fridge so you could keep some drinks cool in your room. The rooms also had air conditioning, a hairdryer and a safety deposit box - though the box cost about 3 euros per day.

We went all inclusive - this was a mistake! The cocktails were out of a machine and tasted like medicine! The pool area was not very nice with no parasols so we went to the beach everyday instead so we were buying soft drinks elsewhere. The food was very repetitive although edible but again we ended up eating out. If I was to return I would just go bed and breakfast as this is all I would use.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the beach, a short walk from both palmanova and magalluf with a bus stop nearby for those who can't/won't walk that far.

(also noticed that it was very wheelchair friendly)

Room Tip: A high floor wll have a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    105
    76
    13
    8
See reviews for
45
126
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just arrived home from a 5 night stay at Hotel Comodoro. A taxi from the airport is 41 euros one way approx., we arrived at 10.30 am and our room was not ready until 1.15pm request a room on the 7th floor where the views are spectacular. Rooms are very dated and in need of a makeover bathroom has a hairdryer but two very dim lights. The Hotel pool as mentioned before on the reviews is very dark and shady not welcoming at all sun beds are well worn and sag in the middle although you are very close to the beach which you enter through a gate by the pool we enjoy sitting by the pool but found it too dirty and not nice to spend the day at. The sunbeds on the beach are 13.50 euros with the parasol for the day. A must visit is the Welsh Mosquito situated in the bay to the right of the hotel it is run by a welsh couple who are very welcoming and food is very good and cheap. Speaking of food the food at the hotel was not to my taste cold eggs and fish cold in the middle very basic and predictable we had half board but ate out a couple of times. There are no terraced areas to sit outside only in the restaurant bar area which is very small and usually accommodated by smokers. The bar was empty with poor cabaret singers in twice again not very welcoming to sit and relax after dinner. Reception staff were very polite and spoke good English. We took a taxi into Palma 24 euros each way well worth a visit Palma has lots of winding streets bars and restaurants. There are better hotels located in the bay Santa Lucia looked good and the bar was packed with entertainment. I would not recommend this hotel and definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy and have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arrived bk today! Couple in our 40's.
We booked the Comodoro for a surprise 6 day bed & breakfast visit to see our son who's working/living on Magaluf Strip for the season.
After reading some of the reviews I emailed the hotel direct requesting a room on the 5th floor or higher, My email was answered within 24hrs saying they would do their best for us, i then changed that to the 7th floor, same reply. We arrived at 8.30am and was told our room wouldn't be ready until 12pm, not a problem as they have a luggage room. The reception was spotless and the young man who dealt with us very pleasant. We went in for breakfast and wasn't dissapointed, theres something for everyone. When we got our room key I was happy to hear that we'd been given the 7th floor, room 711. The room could do with updating but to be truthful we wasn't planning on spending to much time in there and as long as it was clean and tidy we'd be happy, it was. The twin beds are comfortable & large, the shower pressure good.The pool did look shaded but your right on the beach u don't need the pool.
Can't say anything about the entertainment as we went out every night, but if your not happy with it there's enough bars and restaurants nearby to please everyone!.
The location for us was perfect!, only a 5min walk to the strip and Magaluf beach but far enough away to not hear all the noise from the bars & clubs, u will hear the odd drunken straggler go by if ur balcony doors are open late but once closed we heard nothing that would keep us awake. latest we got bk to our room was 2am. Overall we'd definitely go bk to the Comodoro for a short B&B break.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a week all inclusive in the Comodoro. We are both in our early 30's and didn't want somewhere that was too quiet and full of families, nor did we want an 18/30's partying holiday. What we found at the Comodoro was a perfect compromise. It's location directly inbetween the quieter Palmanova and the lively Magalluf meant that you could have the best of both worlds!
The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious; plentiful, fresh and varied. Even the snacks served mid morning and mid afternoon were much more extensive than the usual crisps and sandwiches offered on many all inclusives. The Entertainment which was every other night was a little cheesy, but with so many nearby bars to choose from we weren't bothered at all. The pool is partly shaded, but when your hotel overlooks the beach, who cares?? We would definitely return here. It was a fantastic break!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos,uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We came home from a week stay here today.
Firstly, the good points:
1. The rooms are ok
2. The location is lovely
3. Some of the staff are very friendly
4. It's small enough that you get to know some of the other guests

The not so good points:
1. The pool is grimy
2. There are not enough staff, the ones who are there work hard, but there is just too much for them to do
3. The food is not good. Out of 6 nights, we ate out for three of them
4. There is hardly any entertainment; out of 6 nights, there was entertainment in for 3. This is a cabaret style, singer or such like. The rest of the time, there is absolutely nothing going on at all
5. The all inclusive is not worth the money; the bar closes at 11, the snack bar is just the good from the previous meal left out, you get one drink only at meal times

The location to the beach and te view absolutely make this hotel. We had a lovely holiday, and we would go to the resort again, but we would choose a hotel with more going on next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed at this so called four star hotel what a waste of money! Food was terrible, location poor, our room had a nice view but that was the only thing going for it our air con didn't work there was a light hanging off the wall and our balcony door did not lock and complaining to staff didn't get us anywhere they were extremely unhelpful. Needless to say would definitely not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel first of all its more magaluf than palma nova very wild at night out side so if you do stay in the hotel remember your in for a very quite night with nothing to do as there is no entertainment the staff are really nice but I have to put it as it is we stayed all inclusive but because the food was so terrible we ate out most of time the hotel is vary dated with no holiday feel to it I just wish I would of took heed of all the reviews the only thing this hotel has got for its close to the beach but there are much bigger better hotels with loads going on all a long the beach if you want a good 4 star hotel with good food then leave this alone to wrap this up bad food dark nothing at all going on DO NOT TAKE TENAGERS here there's things around the corner you wouldn't want them to see not for kids sorry for this but that's the way it was.

Room Tip: Don't go there if your looking for some where nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Address: Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Comodoro)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.