We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comodoro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Comodoro to your Saves list
Hotel Comodoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited the Hotel Comodoro 22/04/2013 with friends. Nice clean hotel situated right on the beach, although still close to pubs and nightlife. Food and drinks very good and well worth going AI. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel can attract stag and hen parties out of season which may put some people off but we encountered no problems, just a shame it rained nearly all week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    94
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
40
114
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I visited the Hotel Comodoro Playa as part of a group celebrating a stag party; there were 25 of us staying.

The hotel seems very much past its sell-by date and although adequate for our needs was most certainly not up to 4 star standards.

It is located on the sea front and would have been ideal had it not been for the very bad weather while we were there.

We paid 20 Euros to be upgraded to all inclusive and this was a very good price giving us access to lunch, dinner and snacks, also local beers and drinks. The food was all buffet style and was not particularly good quality but most people seemed to enjoy it.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful but as the hotel seemed to be used mostly for hen or stag parties they seemed to let anything go.

For this type of visit this hotel is perfect but for me certainly not another stay, in fact I doubt if it will be open much longer, it was very much run down especially the outside décor.

The area is full of bars and restaurants with touts outside trying to get you to go inside, many thefts occur in the area from migrants, the tourists Police do not seem at all bothered, certainly not the area for young families.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet holiday avoid this location like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Sunday 21st April for three days. First time in Majorca and we were very apprehensive when we were on the transfer bus and passing through areas of Magalluf.( Our normal holiday destination is Portomasso Hilton in Malta). Very pleasantly surpised when we arrived at the hotel. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.It was also the first time we had stayed all inclusive. We were too late for lunch so went in for snacks and Pierre brought us a very nice bottle of wine. The view was fantastic, the sun terrace was a lovely place to sit and chat. Beach very clean. we were told by other guests that weekends are spoilt by stag and hen parties, so maybe the hotel should decide which market it is pitching at. The rooms were pretty basic but very clean. The hotel director explained that major refurbishment plans were being undertaken during the winter shutdowns> the food was good and there was plenty of choice for everyone.I would definitely recommend this hotel for short stays.

Room Tip: Sea view room on higher floors are less noisy> There are some two bedroom suites as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went on the 5th April for 7 night through Jet2 .Jet2 as always were very good. When we landed in Palma they were there to advise where the transfer coach was, and was very pleasant.
The Hotel reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was good, basic but very clean. And when you open the balcony window. Wow! what a surprise. The view is fabulous looking over to Palma. The food was a high standard, catering for all needs. We found the waiting on and cleaning staff all very pleasant and helpful. All in all a very nice and friendly stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from this lovely, peaceful hotel with my elderly mother. Check in very efficient, got a lovely warm welcome.
The location is excellent overlooking the beach. We had our lunch on a little patio with tables overlooking the beach which was heaven.
Another bonus is that we had a room which had it's own private terrace with table and chairs plus 4 sunloungers on the top floor which made excellent, private sunbathing.
Lifts very efficient and quick.
Food was adequate for what we wanted we didn't go there to "pig" out on food but we were never hungry.
I had a gin and tonic one day and I don't know which gin they used but it was disgusting. If you want a beer and you were not sitting in the bar they gave you pepsi paper cups which the beer did not taste the same but they do not like you taking glasses or bottles to your room, they are very strict on this.
The staff and I mean all the staff were lovely, very friendly.
One in particular was the waiter/barman called Pierre who looked after us as if we were royalty!
The only draw back to this hotel would be lack of entertainment in the evening. The bar was dead not even background music but on saying this it is early season yet, maybe they do something later on in the season.
Overall you could not like this hotel, it had a very, calm, peaceful ambience to it which we really enjoyed not like other hotels which we saw on our walks around Palma Nova which looked very busy and noisy.
In conclusion we had a lovely stay here and would we return - YES.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a roof top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a lovely time in this hotel, the all inclusive pass allowed us to lovely food and a vast choice of drinks from the bar. The hotel is in a perfect positition - both a stone throw away from the beach and the town. The rooms were lovely and we had an amazing view over the beach. Very clean, The staff were friendly and accomadating. Would definatly stay there again :)

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, tidy and beds are comfortable, nice ensuites and amazing shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited Hotel Comodoro 31/03/13 - 07/04/13. Hotel is lovely. staff were very helpful and friendly. We were very pleased with our room. Just the right size. bed was very comfy. loads of wardrobe space and lots of draws. bathroom was clean. however when we first arrived there was a horrible smell constantly in the bathroom so we bought a spray to keep it smelling nice. after a few days the smell did go. Balcony was nice and big with table and chairs. We were on the 7th floor so we have a great view of the lovely beach. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. Dinner was not so great, about 4 choices. But we didn't like it at all. we ate in their once and ate out for the other 6 nights They don't cater for young children for dinner. no chips or anything like that. Pool was freezing, sunshine is on it for a couple of hours. Nice bar with a pool table.

All rooms are sea view. Beach is very clean.

Lots of nice places to eat and drink very close by. as you are right on top of the beach there are places to eat on the beach. very nice food. There are lots of shops right by the hotel and down the road.

If you wanted a night out, you are right on top of magaluf, about a two minute walk probably not even that. (don't worry you cant hear the music at night, so it wont keep you awake)

If i were to visit Majorca again, i would come back to this hotel as it is in a great location, and a lovely hotel.
next time i would possibly go more in the summer as it wasn't really hot. The weather was warm but sometimes chilly at night

Room Tip: ask for a high floor as it is a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Comodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comodoro

Address: Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Comodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Comodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.