We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and on the whole a really good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mirlos Tordos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Sol Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Halifax, West Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money and on the whole a really good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We got home from the Sol Mirlos/Tordos 3 days ago, we had a great time and didn't really want to come home. As in my title the hotel is, on the whole, a very good hotel however they're are some issues which could do with addressing. We travelled with Thomson on an all inclusive basis, usually people who travel with Thomson and AI are automatically allocated to the Tordos but after reading reviews on here and Facebook I emailed a few days prior to our arrival and requested to stay in the Mirlos. I am so glad I did as in my opinion it is the much nicer of the 2. I had also req a low floor as I understood the lifts were a prob and we have 2 x children inc buggy - we were given exactly what we asked for. Good start!
The room was clean and tidy but very very small, you could hardly get round the beds and the only place the cot could go was in the hallway beside the bathroom and directly under the air-con, not ideal - our poor baby was frozen, we couldn't use the air-con at night but at least we did have a ceiling fan too which made it bearable.
Lifts are a prob - not enough and v small, fortunately being on the 1st floor we carried the buggy up between us. Not great I imagine if your in a WC or on the upper floors.
The staff were mostly all nice, Mirlos reception were all great, entertainment team amazing, bar staff hit n miss - some lovely, some grumpy - same goes for waiitng staff in Mirlos restaurant. Food was nice, good choice for adults but not a lot of variety for kids - chicken nuggets/fishfingers, we ended up waiting till after 3pm some days for lunch so we could get toasties in the Tordos 'snack' area. Typical spanish bacon - very fatty and streaky. Bread not great but ok when toasted.
Drinks on AI are excellent value, branded soft drinks, bottled water, amstel beer, nice wine/cocktails/spirits. My son loved the choc milkshake which was the 'yazoo' brand.
Sunbed situation is pretty dire, fair enough it's high season but there is no way that there is enough to capacitate anywhere near the amount of guests staying in both sites, we had to set our ALARM (on holiday!!!!) in order to get a decent spot. Also you were crammed right up to the people nxt to u, bit uncomfortable and a couple of times our beds were moved and/or parasols pinched! Pools however are excellent - very clean and perfect for children, slides safe etc. Lifeguards did a brill job abd is v reassuring knowing they're around, they also sort out first aid and were very proactive.
Outdoor entertainment is similar to the sunbed situ, u need to 'reserve' a table at least an hr before the shows start and the couple of times we went up you could hardly manouvre through and u had to qeue at the bar, in contrast the Mirlos indoor stage area was infrequently used - can't understand why they don't spread things out abit.
We hired a fridge mainly jst to store our babies milk - they charged us 50 euro's!!! extortionate price and made me feel pretty ripped off, was also 20 euro's for safe altho I got 5euro back for key on checking out.
Fantastic location - in between palma nova, torrenova and magaluf, u can reach them either by a beach front walk or on streets where shops and restaurants are situated, lovely clean beaches. Small harbour at other end of palma nova.
Would def go back to Palma Nova and would more than likely stay @ Mirlos again, if they sorted the few probs out then I would say it could be upped to a 4*

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    561
    328
    107
    67
See reviews for
959
352
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

stayed for 2 weeks half board in the sol mirlos in july,very good all round hotel.hotel itself was clean and tidy,as were the rooms,bed sheets,towels changed daily and big balcolney.the food was excellent,plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meal.this is a very good hotel for a 3 star and recommend this hotel to anyone,even with the amount of children and the kids clubs there was people of all ages staying,and the entertainment team kept the children occupied all day,the only downside i found was i thought the staff were a bit miserable(except the entertainment team,who were fantastic)even when speaking to them in the little spanish i know they wasnt interseted,but dont let that put you off,i would return to this hotel if a i ever return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Booked a few nights away here for a short sunshine break as a cheap lastminute thing & it was great. Ive paid alot more to stay in worse places. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The foods good and there was always plenty of it. Its a 2min walk to a nice beach with clean water thats great for swimming. The only negative about this holiday was after a while you get bored of having to pay for a sunbed and umbrella on the beach because it starts to add up to be quite expensive but thats no reflection on the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Well we've just come back from a week's holiday at the Sol Tordos All Inclusive and it wasn't long enough. We were a party of 4 adults and 1 two year old boy. The hotel is spotless and staff work very hard to keep it that way. Food is served all day day and is of a very good standard, some staff could be slightly off hand in the resturant if someone tried to start helping themselves to lunch if it wasn't quiet 1pm and the same at the evening meal but there were never any queues and we always enjoyed our meals. There were sandwiches throughhout snack times which was ideal for our son and he was spoilt for choice at meal times although he isn't a chicken nugget fan and they are served constantly.

Sunbeds were resevered as soon as the pool area is opended and some people actually waited 30mins before to grab the 1st sunbeds which amazes me. Our son woke every morning like an alarm clock at 7.30am but we sometimes struggled for beds.

The entertainment staff are amazing, I don't think I've seen a team work so hard. The only downfall to this is that its virtually impossible to get a seat in the evening to watch the entertainment after 8pm so go early!

The hotel is situated perfectly in the middle of both Palma Nova and Magaluf and the beach fronts are gorgeeous to both resorts. Magaluf can get quite rowdy from Fri-Mon as hen do's and stag do's desend. During our stay we were unlucky enough to experience the ETA car bomb explosion which was literally 150 yards away from the front of the hotel....very frightening. After the initial panic staff did a fantastic job of reassuring all the guest and normaility was soon restored by the evening and we soon able to enjoy the rest of our holiday...no reps in sight tho!

All in all this hotel is superb for families of all ages and if you don't enjoy your holiday here I can't honestly think why! If you're about to jet off to this fabulous resort and hotel....enjoy...we certainly did!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Middx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

we stayed in the sol mirlos which was a lovely hotel with lots of good features. Our room was kept clean and towels and sheets etc regularly changed. When you closed the balcony door it shut out all the noise at night from outside, we were on the 7th floor, BUT the walls were so thin you could hear every word the people were saying in the adjoining rooms. That was only thing that was a bit annoying especially when you wanted to go to sleep! The entertainment staff were brilliant and my daughter and I had a great time, especially doing the water arobics every day in the pool. The evening entertainment was brilliant too and could not be faulted. The food was not bad but not always cooked to my liking. You could always find something to eat though and the desserts were lovely!! My daughter (age 15) loved the hotel and wants to go back. I would return just for the entertainment but would not like to stay in the Tordos as it looked a bit too rowdy and noisy for my liking!! (I also disliked the queues to get drinks etc if you were on 'all inclusive' as people seemed just desperate to get as much free food and drink down them as they could!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Sadly we have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Sol Tordos. We had a briiliant time, very good location, a 5 minute, pleasant walk to a gorgeous beach. Food very good with lots of choice, my 15 year old daughter had something different for 14 nights! my husband put on half a stone! staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and adequate, soap. shower gel and shampoo provided! Although we did have dodgy bunk beds! exceptionally clean throughout. most of the entertainment good, although we went strolling most nights, very enjoyable with loads of shops.Our daughter and husband joined us for the second week, with their 10 month old baby, they too had a great time with no problems. I cant wait to book agin for next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I really liked this hotel. It is a very good standard - more like a 4 star than a 3 star. It really is catered towards families with young kids - we were one of the few young couples there with no kids! Lovely room and very clean, cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied. Lovely pool areas but v v busy - you have to be up bright and early to get a sunbed we found! The hotel is right beside the beach which is nice, and it is literally bang in between Palmanova and Magalluf. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast every morning was lovely. The only complaint I would have is that for such a big hotel (9 floors) there were only 2 v small lifts, so most of the time u had to wait a good while on the lift. We would have walked it but we were on the 8th floor which is a little too much walking!! Lovely hotel though and would recommend, loads of activities going on for kids all the time, so perfect for families. I would go back, maybe when we have kids ourselves! Very good value too. Palma Nova has some lovely restaurants to eat out in too, we went to a French one called 'Le Petit Bistrot' three nights out of 7 as it was so nice!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mirlos Tordos

Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Mirlos Tordos 3*
Number of rooms: 668
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sol Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.