We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned Hotel with great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well positioned Hotel with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Stayed at Sol Tordos for 6 nights all inclusive. Two adults and an eight year old. Booked direct with hotel. Chose hotel as a last minute getaway to escape the constant Irish rain....and also because of kids club.

Read all previous reviews of this property and chose based on those reviews. They were all spot on -so I don't need to go back over too much here!

Stay at the Mirlos when booking, as it is has a more modern feel to it. It is also quiet ,as all the guests spend most of their time at the Tordos. Upgrade to all inclusive from Mirlos if you want after arrival.

We asked when booking for a lower floor room as we read about the tiny ,slow lifts. On arrival they gave us top floor! we asked if any chance of lower and were moved to a room on second floor the next day at 9am...overlooking the stage/outdoor bar and roof terrace.

The room was tiny could hardly move in it,but we didn't spend much time there.

Yes, as said before the pools are too small for amount of guests.

Most families headed out the side gate across the park to the fantastic beach with their lilo's and inflatable boats!!

Some all inclusive guests would stay at the beach and walk over to hotel for drinks and snacks!!! you need to use your room card to get back in the gate,for security reasons, a bit messy.

As our room overlooked the pool at Tordos and Mirlos we would see the same guests from 6 am putting towels on loungers by pools.
We did this on occasion ourselves ( hated doing it!) in order to ensure a lounger for the day as our son was constantly in the pool - we chose the Mirlos pool as it is nicer and the bar staff more efficent!

The roof terrace is a total suntrap and it is much quieter than the poolside locations. People were also placing towels on beds from 8am( gates open to terrace around 7.45am) to be honest you would get a lounger no matter what time you went up throughtout the day, just not in a prime spot!

You can rent many items from reception, including an iron for 10 euro deposit and a few euro per day, and ceramic hair straighteners! I only noticed this information on checkout!

Laundry room open 24 hrs a day and get washing tablet for 3.50 euro from reception.

As covered before in previous reviews the food was plentiful, well presented, good variety, and suiting to all tastes.

Flinstones dining area is on the small side and a bit of a rush to grab a table.

Lunch was by far the best meal of the day in my opinion. I got used to the Amstel beer after awhile!...the white wine was ok too.

Dinner begins at 6 and ends a 9.15( although it says 8 pm on the hotel leaflet) Go at 8.30 as all the guests are leaving to watch the kiddies show out in the bar area and it is so much quieter then.

The reception staff ran hot and cold with regard to customer service, depended on who you got. They were efficent but not overly pleasant. The dining staff are hard working ,as is the animation team.

My son (8) lasted one day in kids club, he preferred messing around in the pool. The kids club is fine for up to 6 year olds maybe.

The bar in the Tordos is very ,very , slow and you can only order drniks for amount of guests on all inclusive cards. If there are three of you and you order three cokes and a water they will only give you three items!!!! Bar staff are cranky too!!

The stupid all inclusive cards are a joke, and so many people lost them or got them wet in pools , you need to show them for everything.
Why they can't used arm bands is beyond me, it's so messy. You only get one card so if there are a few of you- you have to pass the card around or go everywhere together!!!

We flew Ryanair and needed our boarding passes printed out for return journey , this was dismissed at Tordos reception and they were uninterested and unhelpful about it.
We had a code number and it would only have taken one minute to print out,we offered to pay but were told there was no printer.

We went into Mirlos reception, so nice and following morning printed off the passes no problem.

There were a lot of British guests at both hotels travelling with holiday companies from the U.K and all the entertainment is geared towards them. We noticed a few Spanish ,Irish and Italian guests but only a few!!
The outside bar area had tables 'reserved' in a similar manner to the sunbeds.
I observed the same groups who reserved loungers at 6 am would park themselves in prime spots from 6.30 pm onwards at front of stage or next to bar and stayed there until midnight.
As we ate dinner late, there was nowhere for us to sit to watch the shows ( we managed to catch the end of a few from our balcony the odd night-room number 210 on second floor)so we went out walking around the beach area most nights.

The area around the hotel is lovely, laid back and ideal for families, felt totally safe wandering around after midnight.

Rent a tricycle for your child for 6 euro an hour( 10 euro deposit) great fun for kids and can use it all along the promenade and small park until 11.30pm!!!

Palma Nova is really nice...beaches are gorgeous...and never overly packed...

Buses to Aqualand/Marineland/Western Park are every half hour from outside hotel. They are very hot and full of locals . Make sure to have small change for cranky drivers!

Palma city is lovely. went in one evening by bus...wouldn't recommend with small kids...tooo hot and had to stand the whole way. Shops all closed in city but Catherdral was all lit up...gorgeous.
Got a taxi home to hotel 18 euro , not bad.

Taxi from airport to hotel is 36 to 38 euro and are at an offical rank at airport.

You can ask to keep your room until 4pm on day of checkout if you have a late flight. Sadly It wasn't available for us so we left luggage in luggage room. We were given a courtesy room ( up to us what time we used it) to shower and change for flights( fresh towels given to us too!)

Also please note you can avail of ALL your all inclusive benefits right up until you actually leave the hotel. We had lunch and stayed at the pool bar availing of snacks until our taxi arrived at 4pm!!!

I can see how this hotel is so popular..it appears to be a second home to many guests who return year after year.

The Tordos Hotel needs a make over and the lifts are a complete joke...will only fit two people.

Mallorca is a lovely island I would love to return someday to explore it further.

I would recommend the Sol Mirlos/Tordos to families for its food and proximity to the beach/shopping/bus stops-particularly if it is your first holiday abroad with either young kids or teenagers..it would be a nice introduction to Mallorca and perhaps you could move on to discover other parts of the island in future visits.

Try book direct with hotel as they have very good offers.

Don't go purely on the basis that it has a Flinstone theme, the characters are thin on the ground and it is 10 euro for a pic with them. The tiny shop is a little on the pricey side and the tables in the restaurant are quite squashed together.

All in all the hotel does the job for a week in the sun if you want to fly and flop and eat and drink!!! They are relaxed with kids and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves when I was there.

Just get rid of those stupid all inclusive paper cards aaaarrrrrggghh!!!

  • Liked — proximity to beach/shopping/bus stops
  • Disliked — tiny room, tiny slow lifts, stupid all inclusive paper card instead of wrist band!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    568
    329
    108
    67
See reviews for
967
354
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

stayed at the mirlos in june 2008 was a bit worried about going after reading some negative reviews had a brilliant time hotel was spotless was half board food was great so much to choose from have a little one age 2 he loved it the kids pool area was big loads of space lots of entertainment the only problem was the lifts only 2 small ones we were on the fourth floor which wasnt too bad had to use the stairs alot of the time not ideal but it didnt spoil things would definetely reccommend this hotel for families would go back again

  • Liked — very clen
  • Disliked — not a great size
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed 12 nights July /August. Expected it to be fantastic after reading the reviews. It's a decent hotel but for the same price we have been to better all inclusives. Club Mac Alcudia beats it by far.
Generally theres nothing to complain about but a few things could have been better, as mentioned by most people....
sunbeds packed like sardines, need to be up at 7am to get one.
Food just average, very very repetative and could have been better, for example warm milk at breakfast, bread sticks to cut yourself so you don't know if the person who had hold of it before you had washed their hands recently, same desserts every day.
Queing for food in a packed resteraunt every meal time.
Snacks quite poor, left over from meal before most of time. Can't eat out of resteraunt, most all inclusives have snacks avail. outside.
Pools were nice but as somebody said a lot of the sunbeds only got sun either morning or afternoon, very few got both.
Entertainment I thought was just ok. If you've never been to a better hotel then it may seem very good, it is ok but there are definately better all inclusives. The best thing about it was its location, a minute to beach and same to shops, yet still on a quiet road and within easy reach of Magaluf.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — sunbeds packed in like sardines, couldn't step between them.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We have recently returned from a one week stay at the all inclusive Tordos. Firstly as we travelled with a 3 year old, so we must say that this Hotel is fantastic for children. The Pools have recently been renovated and the childrens sections are great for keeping the little ones amused all day long, with the slides etc. The other 2 pools were also lovely although a bit cold. The areas for the little kids are great, clean and safe. Although our little one did not join the kids clubs you could see that the reps kept the kids amused all day and this continued late into the night. The evening entertainment was excellent and earlier in the night they have a kids disco. Later the entertainment is catered for older kids and adults and is of a very high quality. Now for the negatives, the rooms are very small (but very clean), the food is dreadful in our opinion especially for kids. We found that it wasn't always hot and the chef on the grill used the same tongs to take the cooked food from the grill as he had used for the raw food. Most of the food was bland and very greasy but it depends what you are used to I suppose. There were many dishes offered each day and lunch was better as the evening meal was generally what you had earlier but made into different dishes. If you like chips with everything then you will love it! Finally, trying to get a sunbed by the pool after 8.00 is a nightmare and you prob wont get one. The same applies to the bar area at night - get there early. to avoid the seating problems. There is a great little park for the kids at the rear of the hotel which includes bouncy castles etc. Overall the hotel is great but I would recommend using their facilities and stay self catering elsewhere. I would also say that the Sol Mirlos is a lot nicer in terms of presentation but that is only half board however, you are entitled to use all of their facilites including the bar areas if you are all inclusive at the Tordos.

  • Liked — Evening entertainment and pool areas
  • Disliked — Quality of food and problems with sunloungers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Great family hotel
2 friends with 2 kids aged 8 & 9 29 july 12 nights
Good points:
Food very good excellent selection of cold & hot starters, mains salads. Breakfast / lunch / dinner fab :o)
Lovely desserts as much ice cream as your kids can eat
If you are all inclusive you can eat in either the Mirlos or Tordos - we found Mirlos better as less of a 'canteen'
Drinks good quality, you could order a large soft drink and it would be large rather than a load of ice
Mirlos rooms are a bit better, air con fine, beds / bathroom good & comfortable, maid service excellent.
Entertainment - really brilliant, how hard they work, the kids (and adults if you wanted) were entertained ALL DAY & ALL night - I thought the shows were brilliant and they just worked so hard to keep everyone happy.
beach within 1 min walk, lovely sand, very shallow great for kids

Overall fantastic value, does what is says on the tim :o)

Few bad points to mention:
SUNBEDS - you are packed in like sardines, I have never seen sunbed rage until I got here - get up at 7am or forget it

The pool by the Tordos had an amazing level of bleach / chlorine my daughter suffered so terribly i had to take her to doctors with bad eyes & ears - even the lifeguard said stay away from it.

All inclusive card - not bands so you have to take your paper room card (not the plastic one) when getting drinks etc, kids couldnt help themselves you had to always hand them the paper card which got lost / wet / ruined - why do they not use wrist bands?

Finally - why do the British embarass themselves - piling up plates with un eaton food / getting blind drunk & being idots, in my opinion this is a great hotel just sometimes unfortunate they ruin other peoples enjoyment - we don't all go on holiday to get rat faced!

Would go back, great hotel although choose a less busy season - overcrowding was a bit of a problem..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overcrowding
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My third visit to the Tordus. (The Tordus and Mirlos hotels share the same facilities with the former being largely all inclusive).

This year was the best so far. The swimming pools completely relaid; bigger, better and attractive, especially at night. There is a large kiddie pool complex adjacent to the Mirlos. A lot of thought went into the design as evidenced by the fun the younger children have.

Sun beds are plentiful but require ever earlier expeditions with towels to secure one. Watch out for guests with sunbeds around the Mirlos pool. The sun moves round this pool so that a sun bed is a shade bed for half of the day. Some greedy guests reserve sunbeds on both sides of the pool...and move at lunch time!

Our all inclusive stay was excellent value. The food was plentiful and varied with something for eveyone. Echo the above reviewer's comments on the fantastic chocolate cake.

The entertainment team worked very hard with enthusiam and good humour as did all of the hotel staff.

This year I booked on line through the Solmelia website. This meant I could book my own flights for a 10 night stay. We had a very wide air conditioned room for 2 adults and 2 children.

The lounge in the Tordus has no comfortable area; only plastic chairs and tables. This may change by next year.

Overall impression - The kids of all ages love it. That is the main requirement for adults!

  • Liked — Excellent location, comfortable excellent all inclusive deal.
  • Disliked — ....can't think of anything.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Just returned from a weeks stay in the Sol Tordos. We stayed All Inclusive and had a great time.

All in all great Family hotel we were a family of 7 aged between 5 and 59 yrs suited everyone would recommend.

Only down side went for Chinese to 'Happy Chinese' restaurant in street behind hotel and 2 off us ended up with food poisoning in bed for 2 days DONT GO ITS EVIL!!!!!!!!!! Wish we had stayed in Hotel every day thought it would be a nice we change from hotel buffet how wrong were we.

Hotel was very clean, food ok got a bit repedative but they had the most amazing chocolate cake at every meal time which all 7 of us loved. Also fresh bread at every meal which was fab as well.

Pools are ok as long as you dont mind getting up at 7am to put towels out If not you need to sit by the bar on chairs as the pool side sunbeds get towels on every day at 7 am if you are not bothered about poolside sunbeds there is a terrace above the bar that you can get sunbeds at ok you dont need to be there early. We had a wee one who wanted to play in the pool so unfortunatley had to get up early.

Entertainment team were excellant put on very good evening shows and always friendly to the kids and adults.

All Inclusive side great value for money.

Loved the Flintstones theme not too in your face If you dont want to participate and Characters were excellent.

  • Liked — Flintstones theme
  • Disliked — Chinese restuarant in street that gave us foof poisoning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos

Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos 3*
Number of rooms: 653
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.