We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mirlos Tordos

Save Saved
You added Sol Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First time at this hotel. Stayed at the Tordos. View not great but lovely and quiet at night. Fantastic hotel for families which I have already recommended to friends and family. All the staff were very pleasant and hardworking from the restaurant, bar and entertainment. Food was good but chicken seemed to be the dish of the day, every day! Don't be fooled with the 'all inclusive' as it does not apply to all drinks. The wine was barely drinkable...yuk! I had to pay for my drinks but the bar staff said they were half price! Overall, had a good time. Location fantastic, not far from the airport, and Palma Nova is a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    595
    473
    254
    88
    47
See reviews for
779
299
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sockton on tees
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Myself, partner and 3 children aged 15 and twins 9 stayed at the Mirlos 3rd-10th september and the weather was great. We were a little worried after reading the reviews. This is a honest review. We arrived at 1pm and waited around 40 mins to check in as it was busy. We were in rooms 911 and 912 top floor with a lovely pool and sea view. Rooms were fine as we were never really in. Reception staff were great and very helpful. The larger pool was very cold but the kids pool was perfect for the children. Sunbeds were reserved early on but they wasnt a problem getting one. The food did get a little repetitive after the 3rd day but was bearable. Staff in the Tordos restaurant on the other hand were rather rude and made us feel pretty uncomfortable so we avoided going there.The kids entertainment team was fantastic and they worked hard everyday. The night time entertainment was brill apart from the Take That tribute i was embarrassed for them. The hotel team do entertainment monday, wednesday and fridays nights and in my opinion they should do it all the time as the kids and adults loved them as they got everyone involved and were entertaining..Theres plenty of daily activities for kids and adults so couldnt fault that. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels were left everyday. During our stay we never seen any lucky men around the hotel at all only 2 women doing hair braids out the back of hotel and they were pleasant. The beach is a few minutes walk out the back gates and was lovely. Magaluf was a a few minutes walk away too. Katmandu is a must it was fab and you also get free bands to visit there. Overall an enjoyable stay and i would return in the future.

Room Tip: if going here request to stay in the Mirlos as its more modern and staff are more friendly and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Adele W. We would like to thank you for nice review and I will pass on your grattitude to the reception and activities staff and we are sorry that you found some of the staff of the restaurant to be rude as this is certainly not the image we wish to portray. We do hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and once again thank you for your review. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First impressions were that we were not going to like it! It was immediately evident that there was lots of kids. To be fair we knew there would be children at this Hotel but because we have been using Adults only Hotels lately, it was a bit of a shock to the system! (Forgot how noisy and busy the Hotel can get with wee ones running around). We did accept this and quickly put it out of our minds.

We were initially given rooms with no view but the lovely receptionist changed our rooms to pool view ones without a problem. We were situated in the Tordos building (Hotel has 2 parts, Mirlos and Tordos) and we had rooms with a pool view and looking onto the main outdoor stage, so got to watch the shows from our balconies. Rooms are basic but ample. TV with BBC, STV if you want to keep up with the soaps. Very clean. Only things missing which would have been good would be a fridge and hair dryer. People say the Mirlos building is a bit more modern with bigger rooms but I enjoyed staying where we were as we got the sun on our balcony and also got a view of the entertainment.

Food was nice. There was a chicken option every night which suited me, but there was good choices too - steak, curry, pasta etc. The bread/baguettes are baked fresh at the hotel and we had lovely soft bread with each meal.

Location is good. Not too far from Airport (approx 20 mins in taxi (37 euros)). Very close to beach front (2 min walk at most).

Very friendly staff (reception ladies were lovely and very helpful).

Drinks not so good. Really could not drink the wine so switched to Vodka and orange which was drinkable but not great. You could pay an extra 9.50 euros per day each to upgrade to branded drinks but don't really see why you should have to. We already paid over the odds for our weeks stay. Also, you can only get a wine glass in the restaurant. Other than that you are expected to drink your wine from a plastic tumbler (even inside the bar area). We ended up buying branded drinks from supermarket which added to the cost of our holiday. One plus point was that you get unlimited bottles of cold water to take up to the room.

Bit of a shortage of sun loungers. We got beds on the terrace each day (away from the pool, so not many kids up there). We didn't have a problem getting beds as we are early risers but I can see why others complain because all beds are taken by 9am.

Entertainment starts too late - main show doesn't start until after 10pm. I will say though that some of the shows were really good. What a hard working team they have!

All in all, we did enjoy our stay. It wouldn't be my first choice of hotel but I have recommended it to family members who have small children as it is ideal for them.

I would rate this Hotel a bit better than a 3 star but not quite a 4 star (only because of no fridge/hair dryer and not so good drinks).

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room in Tordos building. You get the sun at that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear nickymunro. We would like to thank you for your review regarding you recent stay in our Hotel. We are pleased that you found the Hotel a good 3 star and that you have recommended to your family. We would like to remind you that if you like to be in a Hotel only adults in Palmanova we have the Sol Cala Blanca. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

When we arrived we had to wait 40 minutes to get checked in, the queue was out the door and the receptionist didn't seem to have a care in the world. At first I thought we must have arrived on a bad day but it was the same every other day.

The kids splash pool was great but you had no chance of getting a bed unless you are down with your towels no later than 7:30...the annoying thing was that the hotel didn't seem to discourage reserving beds so everyone was doing it.

The food was the worst I have ever had abroad and all of our party and several other families we became friendly with all had serious diarrhea and sickness in the second week. The food was repeated to death and we started eating out as we couldn't take it anymore.

The rooms are tiny and hardly big enough to squeeze in a small family, we demanded to change our room when we arrived as it was facing onto a massive bit of wasteland, they refused at first and we had to speak to the manager the next day before we finally got moved to a pool view.

The entertainment team are fantastic and work really hard from about 10 am to midnight, however the entertainment is repeated every week so if you stay here for 2 weeks you will see everything twice.

Majorca is a beautiful place and we didn't let this hotel ruin our holiday, we will definitely return but will not be going back to the sol mirlos/tordos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jim S. We would like to thank you for taken some of your valuable time to write your comments. It is indeed sad to hear that you dind't like the Hotel this time and that you were left with such a negative impression. We would like to apologize and hope to welcome you to one of our other Hotels in the near future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We returned to the Sol Mirlos in June 2013. After previous visits in Sept 2009 and June 2010 we were expecting a very good visit as usual. We were travelling with 2 children aged 5 and 9 months. We were also travelling with 3 other adults. On getting there we were told our rooms would be ready in 1-2 hours so we said thats fine and had a walk round and got some lunch. We then went back for our room keys. We then preceded to go to our rooms. We had 3 rooms. 2 of the rooms were ok but one of them there was somebody already in the room so we changed 1 of the rooms. We stayed for 11 nights. The entertainment was not very good. It was either repeated from the years previously that we had seen or they put on same entertainment form the week before. The food was ok but not as good as it had been previously, very repetitive, smae things for lunch an dinner. Guests at the hotel were so rude it was unbelievable, Restaurnat staf fletting 1 or 2 people sit at a table for 7/8 people and we often had to sit apart as we could'nt get the table space we needed. The sunbeds area was a joke. We had a buggy and we could'nt even get past the walkways with it, the lifeguards ignored the obstructions. God help anyone that needed an ambulance because they would have drowned. People looked at you in disgust if you wanted to get past. As its a fmaily hotel you would think there would only be fmailies/couples , NO we had groups of stag and hen do's. One of them there was 30 of them in a group, all swearing, vulgar behaviour not sometihng i would want my children to be around. THe maid left our room open on 2 occasions.

Unfortunatley we won't ever return there. However the resort of Palma Nova is beautiful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear janerobbo77. We would like to thank you for having taken some of your vauable time to send us your comments. It is sad to hear that you were left with such a negative impression Your remarks about the food,cleaning have also been passed on to those concerned . We are sorry that you were troubled by other people staying at the same time as yourself but we sincerely hope that this has not affected your confidence in Melia Hotels International.Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Tordos hotel 13-24th June, after some confusion & long wait to be booked in, overall holiday was brilliant, view from 3rd floor in Tordos was bit of waste ground at the back, but the entertainment from the hotel opposite was great..
Food in Tordos was really good for a 3 * hotel, service from restaurant staff was immense, bar staff excellent, rooms were cleaned every day, entertainment staff.... Well, they really were brilliant, yes there was trouble getting sunbeds in morning, but really, what do you expect?.. Found other holiday makers very nice & friendly... I was here with my husband, 19 yr old daughter & 7 yr old son & we all had an amazing time... So good infact, I have booked again for next year,
The problem people have with tge lifts...dont understand... Its a 9 floor
Hotel, with an awful lot of people staying. .. Cant please everyone!!!..& in a family themed hotel, yes you will get kids having tantrums & crying in restaurant... Dont get people moaning bout that in a review bout hotel....so all in all, had a fab time... Roll on next June...x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear declan06, thank you for such a glowing review. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and we are especialy pleased that you have booked for next year. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any request. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked this hotel on recommendation of friends who had been previously and I was really disappointed. We booked to go at the start of June, thinking it wouldn't be too busy with kids still at school....WRONG!!!!! It was jammed packed.

We didn't even attempt to get a sun bed as firstly our room was on the 7th floor and secondly the lifts were the smallest I've ever been in and there was only two of these to accommodate around 1000 guests!!!!! so by the time we got ourselves together, waited on the lift...all sun beds were taken. Even if you did manage to get a sun bed everyone was sitting on top of one another.
We went to the beach every day which is only a 5 min walk from the hotel and is one of the nicest beaches i've been on.

Food was nice, however restaurant very busy at times. At times it was difficult to get a free high chair from my toddler. The staff in the restaurant were lovely and great with the kids.

Evening entertainment started with the mini disco, the stage had 3 steps up to it and with the amount of children running about on the stage I found it very dangerous. The shows each evening were really good but you needed to get down really early to get a good seat. Some people had to stand to watch the shows....that is how busy the hotel was.

The rooms are very small, we had a toddler with us and it was a nightmare to get around the room as we couldn't even use the balcony area which was very spacious but being 7 floors up wasn't safe for a toddler to be running about on.

The hotel is ideal for those families travelling in a large group, plenty of these about.....prob why no sun beds or seats at evening entertainment as large family groups reserving them.

Room Tip: if travelling with young children, request a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mirlos Tordos

Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Mirlos Tordos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sol Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.