We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round good family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mirlos Tordos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Sol Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
tyne and wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An all round good family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at start of the Kids 6 weeks holidays. I was a little nervous after reading some negative reports beforehand but for our family it was a great holiday with very few negatives.
I emailed in advance and asked for the Mirlos and on check in we were allocated a lovely pool view room. Yes it was small but perfectly adequate for myself husband and daughter. I read in advance about thin walls so took earplugs and we slept undisturbed every night. The reception staff in the Mirlos were great. Nothing was a problem for them.
Food was good although we didn't stay for dinner on a nighttime as we preferred to go out to one of the fantastic restaurants in palma nova but that's just a
personal preference as don't like buffet food all of the time.
The entertainment team did a great job keeping the kids amused. I can't comment on the evenings though as we only caught one show which was Grease and that was when we came back from pirates one night. It looked good we just prefer to go out.
It was my husbands birthday when we were there and the hotel delivered a lovely bottle of cava in an ice bucket and champagne glasses to our room for him together with card saying happy birthday.
It's personal touches like that which would bring me back to hotel.
The sunbed situation is no different to any other med hotel. Hubby went out at 7 for ours as he was up anyway and claimed his spot ready for them being unchained at 8. Always got a bed where we wanted.
The katmandu and golf passes were great to have. We had 2 good nights out at them, it's worth upgrading your katmandu pass so you can do the 4D rides and golf.
It's defiantly a family hotel though, why groups of young lads would want to book a flintstone theme hotel escapes me. Having said that the groups that were there were no bother at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear amandajayne40. We thank you most sincerely for your review and I'ts good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. and we look forward to your next visit. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    561
    328
    107
    67
See reviews for
959
352
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 17th -24th July 2013, Went to check in at Mirlos building and had to wait 5 mins then told we were in Tordos building. Took about 15 mins to check in. Was unhappy at being on 7th floor to be told the hotel was full but to go to reception at 8am the following day and we would be moved. Had a rude female receptionist that morning but the lovely guy who checked us in sorted me out and we moved to 3rd floor. Didn't have a problem with queues max wait about 5 mins. The down sides of this hotel are the lifts, 2 6 person lifts for over 300 rooms. The food was OK but nothing to shout home about (just like all all-inclusive hotels). For a sunbed around the kids pool I went and placed 3 chairs with my towels on at 6.45am and put a parasol around them (that was only to reserve the place that we liked) then went back at 7,50 and waited for the beds to be unchained. It was all very civilised and other people actually helped me lift my beds from the pile. I have got to say if you waited until after 8am you would not get a sunbed near the kids pool.
The location is great with the rear gate leading onto a play park and on an evening a large bouncy castle and only a few minutes walk to the beach and shops. Free entry passes given for Katmandu at check in were a bonus and make sure to keep them after your visit and use them for Fantasia crazy golf as you get 9 holes free.
The evening entertainment starts a little late (8,30) as our 4 year old was getting tired at that time after playing in the pool and due to the heat. I would have thought they would have started at 7.30. We watched the evening entertainment from our balcony as we could never get a seat but that worked for us as there are no problems in getting half a dozen drinks from the bar and taking them to your room. The rooms are a little basic but are cleaned daily but that is what should be expected for a 3 star. I also read on this site that the walls between rooms are paper thin. We had no problems with hearing our neighbours, the only little bit of noise was from the corridors which you get in all hotels anyway.
All in all this was a great holiday and we had tears from our 4 year old on leaving.
I am glad I didn't take too much notice of the bad comments on this site and read between the lines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Julie W. We would like to thank you for your comments. It's good to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in one of our Hotels of Melia Hotels International. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wasn't sure when we first arrived but ended up really enjoying the week. Went with Family and our 3 rooms were not ready when we arrived but there was a locked room to keep luggage and get changed if you wanted. Restaurant served food from 8a.m till midnight so we had a snack then a look round. Rooms were perfectly adequate, clean and hand wash, shower gel/shampoo were supplied. Lifts are very small but we never had to wait long and being on the 9th floor needed them! Disappointed our rooms weren't totally together although all on same floor. Pool areas busy but always adequate sun beds and there was a solarium area with lots of beds away from the pools, that was mainly adults so you could escape from the happy children! Food was good and varied and when 'meal times' were finished it was snack time so you could eat any time of day (TORDOS). There was easy access to the beaches through a back gate operated with your room card. Staff in general were friendly and the bar staff did a great job only guy on reception last morning was useless! We took advantage of discounted rates at Katmandu and golf and it was well worth it. Booked here because our 5 year old granddaughter was with us and it was ideal. Would not go without children!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear carolinefm. Thank you for your review and we are please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times and must say I won't be back.
Room 133
Room 134
Has to be the worse rooms in the hotel.
Between sick fag buts broken doors no safe keys even tho they took our money for them.
Asked to move and was lied to by staff to come back tomorrow only to be told no you never came to us.
Feel really let down with a £2500 holiday with annabela and her team. With lies and unkeap promises.
Couldn't even unpack our bags with them very disappointed all round with the hotel and the staff this year.
And I won't be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Taz190. Thank you for taking some time to write your comments. It is sad to hear that you were left with such a negative impression of the resort and I would like to express my regret for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

just returned July 24 2013 , from a week at the sol mirlos with our daughter and two grandsons and had a great time the entertainment was excellent with the kiddies club team entertaining the children for most of the day. The food was also excellent and always hot, the children eat really well which is a relief. We where going to upgrade from the local brands but did not bother in the end as they where very drinkable. All the staff are friendly and made a fuss of the kids. The walls are thin and you can hear next door if they make a noise, we stayed in room 616 and had a sea and pool view the room was very clean with air con . There are only two lifts which can be a problem at peak times, we walked down most times to walk off the food . It is centrally situated and close to the beach . The mirlos is the best of the two hotels with a bigger pool and terrace . it can be difficult to get a spot around the pool and getting an umbrella you need to get up early . Would we go again yes with the grandchildren but perhaps out of season for ourselves as it was quite manic at times .

Room Tip: room 616 had sea and pool view and where quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear brynley m. many thanks for your review. It's good to hear that you have all enjoyed your holiday and looking forward to seeing you again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polmont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

we stayed in the tordos the slighly more flintstones themed hotel for 2 weeks from the 5th to the 19th July.On arrival we got a ghastly room looking over a roof on the 1st floor with a large green fence but after voicing our displeasure we got moved to a 6th floor pool facing room,room itself was small but ample enough,lift as said in many reviews are small but at least the stair walk will keep you fit!.While we were there our daughter was sick as was a large number of other children and we had concerns that with children being sick round the pool a quick wipe with a mop was not enough to stop the spread of infection, over the two weeks 2 pools were drained totally and we had a day when one of the pools was out of commision because of poor water quality.The restaurant food was good except the chicken nuggets,fish fingers pizza and pasta (chlidren based food)which on many occasions were cold,when we complained we were told to heat it in the microwave,and on one occasion the chicken nuggets and fish fingers that were cold were taken off and reheated.This problem was resolved after a few days and the food temperature did improve,there was ample choices and if you want to miss a lunch you can go in to the restaurant and get a snack (salad,toastie,hot dogs etc).The entertainment was good and the team all worked extremely hard as did all the bar staff but the entertainment area did get busy so it was best to be down a little while before the entertainment started.One thing that i couldnt understand was that why would single groups (stags and hens) go to a hotel with barney and fred and dino walking about,some of them did cause nuisance to families in the complex generally getting drunk and throwing beer and drinks over each other (these were in the minority and other groups did behave perfectly well).Probably the hotels downfall is its close distance to Magaluf which stinks to high heaven and do be prepared to be wakened with revellers coming in at 3 and 4 in the morning.One other thing sunbeds wer unlocked at 8am and on the day my daughter was sick there were people sitting in chairs at 7.10am to reserve their pitch,quite sad as even when they unlocked the bed there was still plenty room

Room Tip: first floor looks out onto roofs,6 and seven give good views over pool,avoid the outside as it eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Myself and my family stayed at the Sol Mirlos Tordos froom the 16th -23rd July 2013 . HOTEL ;; in a perfect location , just a 3 min walk to the beach out of the back gate , shops pubs and restaurants withing a 5 min walk . the rooms are a little small but you dont go on holiday to sit it your room so its not worth moaning about , the rooms are made up every day , clean towels provided each day if you want them . , RESTAURANT . we found that each day there was something that all of us liked , pasta , pizza , fish , chicken , veg , rice and plenty of salad , and all very fresh. , help yourself to drinks in the restaurant , water, fizzy drinks , wine and beer . POOLS. there are 3 pools , one which is a flinstone pool tucked away around the back , but the sun is always shining on it , this is for the younger children and toddlers, it has 2 slides in it , the main pool is very big but can be quite cold as the hotel blocks the sun at certain times of the day , the smaller pool up near the seating and stage area is quite deep but i myself and my son who is 9 loved it in there , at times it was like you was in a luke warm bath . also if you are by this pool there is music playing most of the day which we loved .ENTERTAINMENT ..the entertainment staff deserve a medal , they are busy keeping the kids and adults entertained all day , (water polo, walking mat , darts , table tennis , archery , basketball in the pool ) and the kids clubs .. all of the staff are very friendly , a shout out to Albi who is a adult entertainer , he is so funny . the entertainment in the evening is very good also , kids disco first then the adult show starts at 10 pm . the all inclusive finishes at midnight but the bar is open untill 1 am . . i reccoment this hotel to anyone , we have been 3 times there now and we are going to book to go back next year , hopefully with the friends we met there .. you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Mirlos Tordos, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear claire m, thank you for your glowing review. It's good to hear that you have fully enjoyed your holiday. I will pass on your grattitude to all our staff and especially to the activities staff and we look forward to your next visit. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mirlos Tordos

Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Mirlos Tordos 3*
Number of rooms: 668
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.