We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mirlos Tordos

Save Saved
You added Sol Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

For a young couple the hotel is perfect - location, food, drinks and quality of service. Some of the previous reviews discuss the staff being old..... WHO CARES! They are all lovely people, when we make the effort - so be polite and smile (its free!). the food was one of the best all inclusive packages I have ever been on.

Bottled water is ideal as you can take to your room, and know 100% that its not the local water that we are all trying to avoid.

Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    640
    525
    318
    103
    66
See reviews for
918
318
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

As a family of 3, myself, my husband and 14 year old daughter, we stayed at this hotel from 4th July for 7 days. This was our second time here and was excellent-just like the first time we stayed. The staff were all so helpful and friendly and nothing seemed like it was a chore for them. We stayed on the second floor of the Mirlos complex with a pool view. It was lovely as we woke to the sun on the balcony and it disappeared by lunchtime which was nice as we could relax on a cooler balcony in the afternoon. There was plenty choice of food on offer at meal times and outwith those times, snacks of burgers, hotdogs and toasties were available. As we were all inclusive it was unlimited drink also-which was great. There were slushes too which were great to cool down with at the side of the pool. There were activities daily inclkuding water aerobics( the rep doing it was fab and had so much energy you couldnt help be motivitated), shooting, archery, darts table tennis, spinning for adults. The pools are excellent also and were kept very clean. We always managed to get a sunbed although if you didnt go down before 8am then you wouldnt get one in a prime location. That was fine though as we spent alot of our time actually in the pool. The hotel is so close to shops and the beach, There is a back gate that you can access and once through it, you walk through a small kiddies park, past a few shops and the beach is there. We visited Marineland one of our days and it was really worth going to-the dolphin, sealion and parrot shows are great fun. The taxi there from outside hotel was about 5euros. We went to Katmandu one evening and had such a good laugh. It is kind of like a Ripleys believe it or not house. You really must take your time to look at everything inside. There are also 4D and 6D rides in the gounds of Katmandu-these are a must. Not scary at all but so much fun. We never did the Asylum ride there as we had been told it was scary!! We got a wristband from our hotel to get into Katmandu free as they are in partnership or something like that. All we had to pay was 11euros each and that let us go on all the rides there. We wanted to do a glass bottom boat ride while in Majorca and after hunting we managed to locate one. About 10 minutes slow walk from the hotel towards Palma Nova and not Magaluf, there is a McDonalds on the beachfront. Just before you get there, there is a small booth called Dolphin Cats or something like that. From here you can book a boat ride which picks you us right down some steps there. There are 2 and 5 hour rides. We opted fro the 2 hour one. It was amazing to see so many lovely areas. The boat stops for anyone wanting to swim in the sea at a little lovely clear water area.
All in all we had a brilliant time and Im sure that we will return again.
Totally recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, otherwise you will have a view fo the main road. Pool view rooms in Mirlos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just got back from a week 2nd time we have been so we knew what to expect nice hotel great location however the food wasn't as nice as previous some grumpy staff obviously over worked needs a fridge or kettle in the room so you can take water up sunbeds were hard to get but the last day they started to lock them up lifts are a nightmare so small so you have to queue entertainment was good overall good hotel but needs modernising now won't be going back a 3rd time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

firstly i'll start by saying we had a really good family holiday in this hotel with our one year old son and some friends with their one yar old child but there were a few minor things that meant this hotel doesnt get an excellent review..

First impressions do count and we were dropped off at the mirlos from the bus with no clue as to which of the hotels we were booked into. the reception area of the mirlos is very modern and clean and after queing for ten minutes and check in started they realised we were actually in the tordos so we had to walk up there and queue again. We were in the queue to check in for over half an hour, this was ridiculous and did not start the holiday off well, the tordos is definately not as modern and nice to look at when you first enter.

Positives

*excellent location, two minutes to the beach and a short walk to magaluf
*hotel really clean and well looked after
*Lots of pools which are clean
*laundry area which is useful
*nice view from the rooms if overlooking the pool
*food nice and plenty of choice especially fruit and salad
*late night snacks
*good service at the bar and plenty of drinks included in all inclusive
*plenty of entertianment espcially for children and a large bar area outside to sit at
*entertainemt team work so hard.
*lots of tables and space inside in the bar area
*air conditioning and fan good in the room, kept it nice and cool
*rooms cleaned and towels changed every day
*staff generally happy and helpful
*free tickets to katmandhu park included with check in

negatives
*two tiny lifts for the whole 9 floors, can fit two adults and a buggy in max so sometimes lift already full when it arrives at a floor.
*rooms basic and tiny and a squash with a cot in
*no self catering facilities at all so no fridge or kettle which would be useful for babies bottles, i would probably choose an apartment somewhere next time
*early reserving of sunbeds so if you dare to go down to the pool at a normal time there is hardly any left, to get one at the flintstones baby pools you have to be up with the larks
*cramped sunbed areas so hard to get past with prams
*food can get a bit repetitve and no food to leave restaurant so you cant have snacks by the pool
*rooms have thin walls so you can hear your neighbours and if facing the entertaiment it can be very noisy until midnight, didnt bother us as we are deep sleepers
*no free wii fii in the hotel
*nearest 24hr pharmacy over 30 minutes away in a taxi

We would probably return here as it was good for children and good location but it wasnt anything amazing so would probably be tempted to try other recommeded places before a return visit.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor - 9 if you can get it. much quieter and because lift starts and ends here it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

lovely hotel, rooms basic but end of the day your only in them for short periods. food was nice but very repetitive and the staff were hit and miss as some were very nice and others grumpy.
The entertainment staff were brilliant as were the activities and kids clubs. would definitely recommend for families with children as 80% of the guests had children when we stayed last week of june and first week of july. Didn't find it too noisy but there were a couple of groups of lads and girls but the hotel seems to have a zero tolerance on rowdy groups so wouldn't recommend for a lads holiday or stag do etc...... we were a mid twenties couple with no kids just looking for a nice quiet relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got, we were more than happy and wouldn't think twice about returning in the future... one fault was that for a large hotel there were two lifts which were always busy and lots time standing around waiting for them.

Room Tip: lower floors so you don't have to wait for the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here 1st week in July with a family group of 12 (all ages -from babies to grandparents). The hotel was quiet at the start of the week (no queues at the bar and plenty sunbeds) and noticeably busier by the end of the week (all sunbeds with towels on by 8am and small queues at the bar and restaurant).

There was no limit on the amount of drinks that one person was allowed from the bar, so we just took it in turns. Local spirits, wine (incl. Cava), Amstel lager, soft drinks, bottled water, milk shakes, a couple of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails (pre mixed) as well as ice cream and ice lollies from the bar are all included in the All Inclusive. There are also other brands, which you can pay extra for.

In the restaurant you can help yourself to beer, wine or soft drinks. Staff mostly very pleasant and helpful and moved tables in the restaurant to allow us all to sit together if we wanted to. Wide selection of fresh good quality food and the only members of our group who got bored by the selection, were the picky eaters who didn't take advantage of the varied selection.

The beach is very clean and is accessed via the back gate, across the doggy walking area and straight ahead. Turn left on the beach path and one of he first bars you will come to is 'Rogers', which has unsecured wifi with a huge range. If you turn right on the beach and keep walking for around 10-15 minutes, you will reach the 'Blue Bar' then turn right and that's you on 'the strip' at Magaluf. We took a walk here during the day - that's another world lol - my 14 and 15 year old daughters were being constantly hassled to go into bars.

We joined the Melia rewards scheme on the hotel website, but contrary to what's advertised, the hotel will not honour the free wifi and it's pricey.

We stayed in the Mirlos, but visited Tordos at snack time if we missed breakfast and I got the impression that this is where the groups of younger adults were staying. The signage in the restaurant was stricter and staff a bit less tolerant.

The Mirlos 'pool view' also offers a 'beach view' but only from the higher floors due to buildings in the way. The double glazed balcony doors shut out all the noise from the pool, but the room walls are so thin, you can hear a conversation from the next room. We stayed in a standard room with twin beds and an extra fold up bed. The room was too small for this amount of beds, but there was loads of drawer and wardrobe space. Balcony was a decent size too. Air conditioning was very effective, but switched off if the balcony doors were open.

The hotel was very clean. Our room was cleaned daily and the cleaner was very helpful. She gave us extra towels if needed. Although she did try and evict us from one of our rooms over an hour early on our last day, which was stressful. Our rooms, which we displayed a 'do not disturb' door hanger , were left alone until check out time.

The 2 lifts are inadequate for the size of the hotel and often had a queue. A couple of times we had to resort to carrying the buggies down the stairs, which would not be an option if we had been on a high floor.

The hotel provides a luggage storage room and a courtesy room, which you don't need to book in advance. We were allowed to keep our All Inclusive bands on right up until we left.

We used the wristbands provided by the hotel for free entry to 'Katmandu' house in Magaluf, which is well worth a visit and it provides you with 50% off the cost of other attractions, which some of us took advantage of. The bus stop is out the front of the hotel, across the road, turn right and walk around 100m. This is also the bus stop to the water park in Magaluf, which was also a good day out for all the family.

Room Tip: We emailed and telephoned hotel in advance with specific room requests, which were not honoured, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our rather typical all inclusive summer holiday and this hotel certainly fits the bill. Its in a nice location at the heart of Palma Nova, 2 minutes walk from the beach and surrounded by shops, bars & restaurants.

Its a fairly busy hotel, we were surprised at just how busy for the first week of July however we did not find that fact too much of a burden. This is advertised as a family hotel however the clientele were a varied mix, mostly families with children of all ages then there were also a large number of groups of twenty something's and couples.

I'll cover a few key areas giving both pro's & con's.

Reception- Sloooow, checking in took a good while however the staff were courteous & helpful.

Accommodation, we had a family room and looking at the floor plan it was the largest they do. It was spacious with two separate sleeping areas but an extremely small balcony with barely enough room for two to sit out. The room was immaculately clean and the maid visited daily. Slight negatives were the lack of a do not disturb sign which meant the maid came regardless of need. Those days were you just fancy 'slumming it' would be disturbed by the maid who would enter without knocking. Also the brown bed covers were like sand paper, you simply couldn't sleep either on or below them. People have commented about thin walls however the only place I noticed this was in the bathroom, I could hear every word the neighbours said, in the sleeping area though it was nice & quiet. The general quality of the rooms was better than average for the class of hotel.

Lifts, slightly slow but certainly nowhere near the 20 minute wait that was mentioned in another review. Five minutes at the absolute maximum but 90% of the time they were quite reasonable.

Dining, The food was good, extremely well cooked but also extremely repetitive. I certainly couldn't of stood a fortnight of it. The quality could not be faulted for a three start all inclusive hotel and there was a reasonable variety but it did seem a bit 'chips with everything'. The dining rooms were quite busy at peak times but only once did we wait for a table. The paella was very good, one of the best I've had. I also liked the fact that there was a selection of fresh bread, baguettes & ciabatta's at every meal, these were often still warm & made lovely lunch time sandwiches. That said there seemed to be very little change from one day to the next (or from lunch to dinner for that matter) and a poor selection of kids meals.

Pools, there were three, possibly four if you count the kiddies area as two pools. The 'adult' pool was quite shallow for adults and quite small. The 'family' pool was busy, too shallow, 1.4m at the deepest although quite large. We didn't visit the kiddies area but it did seem to be a nice area for toddlers.

Sunbeds. The sign says no towels out before 8am. Ignore them if you want a decent bed. It seems all the sunny areas are gone by 7.30 with many seemingly putting towels out before daybreak. Many of the poolside areas, especially beside the family pool are in the shade at various parts of the day.

Bars, plentiful with a decent quality & selection of drinks. The drinks are served in a variety of acrylic tankards & tumblers, none of those horrible disposable cups so top marks there. The bars staff were friendly and the queues never long. It may be worth paying for the 'Gold' all inclusive upgrade which allows access to named brands of alcohol & better ice creams/lollies etc. This is quite expensive though as you must purchase the upgrade for everyone in your room and for every night of the stay which was around €9 per adult per night and half that for the kids.

Entertainment, the staff seemed extremely active and entertained people throughout the day, the evening shows seemed very popular however we went out most evenings so didn't watch any of them.

Other facilities, there's a laundry, a lot of PC's for those who can't go a day without facebook ;) Several pool tables and arcade games for the kids. TV's in the public areas showing live sport.

Kids clubs, they were two through the day for younger & older kids plus additional activity evenings for both groups. My two enjoyed the sleepover evening (which isn't actually a sleep over), T shirt painting & the outdoor evening with rock climbing & trampolining. A word of warning though, these cost €10.50 per child per activity with the promise of a gift for any child that collects three stamps in a 'passport' from three separate events. The gift is a dozen stickers in a small sticker, in a pamphlet, certainly not something worth going to an additional activity for.

Staff, all of them seemed exceptionally friendly & helpful, again full marks.

Summary? This is a nice hotel, it does everything you would expect of an all inclusive hotel to a good standard without excelling at anything inparticular. The cleanliness could not be faulted. Would I go again? Probably not however that isn't because there is anything wrong with it, simply that there are many more hotels out there offering similar if not better experiences.

I gave the hotel 4/5 as 3/5 seems a little unjust. 3.5/5 would be nearer the mark.

Room Tip: It does seem that the larger family rooms have very small balconies and overlook the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mirlos Tordos

Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Mirlos Tordos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Melia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sol Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.