We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family hotel..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mirlos Tordos

Save Saved
You added Sol Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Saint Andrews, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great family hotel..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we visited the sol mirlos in may 2012... great hotel, we stayed for 2 weeks as a couple, we stayed on the 8th floor.
on our arrival we were greeted at reception by a nice member of staff and check in was easy and stress free.
our room was perfect for the 2 of us , plenty space,very very clean.
resturant is a little wild when you first visit as you dony really have a clue what to do but you soon get used to it, food is great too, lots of selection for every body.. pizza, chicken fresh salads, (doughnuts are yummy at breakfast time) obvisly the food gets a bit repetitive so we ate out a couple of times too.

we never really had a problem with sun loungers , but you get the hoggers that go down at 5am (like every hotel) .

our room was cleaned daily etc

lifts werent a problem for us, but can see why people would moan about it at peak times

would return to this hotel as we had a great time :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    533
    320
    104
    65
See reviews for
926
322
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

i am going back to sol mirlos tordos this year, i was here in july 2010, fantastic holiday, my grandaughter was 9 at the time, loads of things for the kids to do, so she is 11, turning 12 this year, last holiday before big school, entertainment at night for family is varied, and good, great effort from reps, and the fair comes once a week with stalls and bull ride, great, , i enjoyed the food buffet, the thing is, try different things, if you stick to what your used to, stay at home, drinks superb, baileys and ice for a nightcap, beer during day, all you need, only downside is rooms, as per any other hotel, as long as you get pool view room its brill, all in all....fantastic holiday hotel for families

Room Tip: pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Last year I stayed in this hotel with a friend while on holiday in Palma Nova. I was really impressed first off with the cleanliness of the place, the downstairs area in particular looks more like a four star than a three star hotel. Even though I don't have any children there seemed to be loads of children's entertainment from this Flinstone's themed hotel, from getting your photo taken with Fred Flinstone to DVD night were kids could watch cartoons on comfy chairs. The service at the bar was always quick and going all inclusive is ideal, giving you the personal choice weather to stay in or go out for a meal. This hotel was also in a great location, and was near the beach, were there was banana boat rides and paddle boats and a touring boat. The only thing I could really fault is how thin the walls are, which is unfortunate if you have party animals next door! Overall I would certainly come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The bedrooms are very good, the food is outstanding, and the staff brilliant.
The only problem I had was the bar area was very, very loud in the evenings. It was that bad there was no way you could have a conversation.

Also you have to stand in line to get served a drink, as they only serve in one area, and there's usually only one barman serving, it was really awful.

Would I stay here again? "No not really"

Room Tip: Have one facing the swimming pool, they are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel in June 2012, and had a very pleaseant stay. We booked all inclusive and got a real bargain, food was fabulous, most freshly cooked while you wait, so was piping hot. I also enjoyed the cheese board on offer each evening. Drinks were good, all typical all inclusive. Staff all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is probably more for families, as there is a lot going on to keep the children entertained, there is also two childrens pools. Having said all this, my husband and I had a great holiday and would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good Location. Walking distance to the beach and local shops and bars. About 10 mins into magaluf itself. Nice to walk to local shops and bars on a night time with family, or could easily walk into magaluf with friends. Nice hotel, clean. Good pool area, two pools with lots of sunbeds mostly all in the sun, a childrens pool too around the other side of the hotel.
Not many big groups of friends who would be going into magaluf, no stag/hen parties as such which was good for our family holiday but not so good if you are looking for a lively holiday and to make friends with other young groups.
Food was not nice at all! No variety on a night, very questionable meat, mostly lived of the chips or bread all week. No poolside lunch bar so not able to have sandwich by the pool during the day, only the main restaurant to eat in for lunch aswell, which served the same food as on a night, either from the night before or the food to be served on that coming night so couldnt even eat something different during the day.
Drinks served till about 11 every night. Sometimes very busy bar on a night time with a bit of a wait but nothing much.
Nighttime entertainment, different acts each night, mostly not very good, childrens disco on early in night. If anything worth watching was on, one night take that tribute act which was good, the sitting area was very busy!!! Not enough seats for everyone, that night large que at bar, and could not see the stage with everyone stood up.
Hotel nice enough, wouldnt stay there if going to Palma Nova for a clubbing holiday - too quiet. Would stay for couples or family again, with nice places to wander to on a night time, with nice bars to the other side from magaluf.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Myself and my wife, 2 kids (9 &5) and my father in law went here last August. We had a fantastic time here and couldn't complain about anything. Yeah like most places you go there will always be something you don't like, not happy with but overall this was a fantastic holiday.
Resort
I've stayed in Magaluf before and I always loved Palma Nova as it was a nice quieter neighbour of Magaluf, the hotel is in Palma Nova but if you fancied trying the delights of Maga then it's a ten minute walk away. Palma Nova has lots for you to do, plenty of restaurants and bars and a really nice resort, I love it and would go back at the drop of a hat.
If you get the chance to go to the Pirate show then that is a must, and the capital Palma is lovely. I wouldn’t pay for an organised trip to Palma, as the bus stops outside and cost 12 Euros each which wasn’t too bad. I would definitely say the Cathedral is a must as well, my girls go to a catholic school and they really loved looking in there.
Hotel
The hotels is modern, clean and really nice, it's split into the Mirlos and the Tordos. The rooms were spacious and clean, a typical Spanish hotel room but just nice for what you need.
It has 3 pools and there was always plenty of sun beds if you get up for 8 - 9am, if you were coming down at 10 -11am yeah you probably wouldn't get one but isn't that the same as everywhere.
Food
The food was fantastic, lots of selection and really, really fresh and they don't scrimp and scrape, I mean on some lunches they were cooking rump steaks. If you don't like the food here and can't find anything you like then you are, far too picky!!!
You can get snacks on AI throughout the day but if you are staying in the Mirlos they were served in the Tordos but all your main meals are served in the Mirlos.
The lager is Amstel, you can get local spirits as well and the kids can get ice cream, lollies, slushes and kids cocktails throughout the day.
Entertainment
The Flintstones club is fantastic they have so many things for the kids to do it's the best kids entertainment we've ever had. As far as other nightime entertainment there was no reason to leave the hotel, because again it had something for everyone, kid’s entertainment early on and then singers, dancers etc. on later for the adults. The entertainment team were second to none, best I've ever had on holiday.

If I had one piece of feedback is that lifts, there are 2 lifts and they are really small and cramped and there was forever a queue for them. So if you are on a higher floor you may get a bit fed up with lifts but if you are fit and happy to take the stairs then this shouldn't be a problem.
Also which I find really odd is that there are no 5 seater taxis in Palma Nova, we were going to get a taxi to Palma, but with there being 5 of us we had to get the bus, weird!!
Overall
This was one of the best holidays I've had and couldn't find anything major to comment on. If you have kids they will love it and you will too. I would definitely return to this hotel and there’s not many holidays you can say that about.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on the first 2 floors to help not have to queue for the small lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mirlos Tordos

Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Mirlos Tordos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Melia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Sol Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;