We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mirlos Tordos

Save Saved
You added Sol Mirlos Tordos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sol Mirlos Tordos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Myself and my wife, 2 kids (9 &5) and my father in law went here last August. We had a fantastic time here and couldn't complain about anything. Yeah like most places you go there will always be something you don't like, not happy with but overall this was a fantastic holiday.
Resort
I've stayed in Magaluf before and I always loved Palma Nova as it was a nice quieter neighbour of Magaluf, the hotel is in Palma Nova but if you fancied trying the delights of Maga then it's a ten minute walk away. Palma Nova has lots for you to do, plenty of restaurants and bars and a really nice resort, I love it and would go back at the drop of a hat.
If you get the chance to go to the Pirate show then that is a must, and the capital Palma is lovely. I wouldn’t pay for an organised trip to Palma, as the bus stops outside and cost 12 Euros each which wasn’t too bad. I would definitely say the Cathedral is a must as well, my girls go to a catholic school and they really loved looking in there.
Hotel
The hotels is modern, clean and really nice, it's split into the Mirlos and the Tordos. The rooms were spacious and clean, a typical Spanish hotel room but just nice for what you need.
It has 3 pools and there was always plenty of sun beds if you get up for 8 - 9am, if you were coming down at 10 -11am yeah you probably wouldn't get one but isn't that the same as everywhere.
Food
The food was fantastic, lots of selection and really, really fresh and they don't scrimp and scrape, I mean on some lunches they were cooking rump steaks. If you don't like the food here and can't find anything you like then you are, far too picky!!!
You can get snacks on AI throughout the day but if you are staying in the Mirlos they were served in the Tordos but all your main meals are served in the Mirlos.
The lager is Amstel, you can get local spirits as well and the kids can get ice cream, lollies, slushes and kids cocktails throughout the day.
Entertainment
The Flintstones club is fantastic they have so many things for the kids to do it's the best kids entertainment we've ever had. As far as other nightime entertainment there was no reason to leave the hotel, because again it had something for everyone, kid’s entertainment early on and then singers, dancers etc. on later for the adults. The entertainment team were second to none, best I've ever had on holiday.

If I had one piece of feedback is that lifts, there are 2 lifts and they are really small and cramped and there was forever a queue for them. So if you are on a higher floor you may get a bit fed up with lifts but if you are fit and happy to take the stairs then this shouldn't be a problem.
Also which I find really odd is that there are no 5 seater taxis in Palma Nova, we were going to get a taxi to Palma, but with there being 5 of us we had to get the bus, weird!!
Overall
This was one of the best holidays I've had and couldn't find anything major to comment on. If you have kids they will love it and you will too. I would definitely return to this hotel and there’s not many holidays you can say that about.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on the first 2 floors to help not have to queue for the small lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    408
    221
    68
    41
See reviews for
684
265
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Visted Sol Mirlos / Tordos for a week on the 25 august 2012 and had not been before and as we were a large group of 8 consisting of two families we did not know what to expect however on arrival we were impressed by all areas of the hotel as their staff were friendly and helpful, there was a wide variety of great food which suited both children and adults and the hotel as a whole was very clean. The hotel was a quick two minute walk from the beach and roughly 20 minutes to the magaluf strip, which was great for my two daughters. We are planning on booking again this year around the same time as we were impressed with our holiday and would highly advise other families to book too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Late review but went here in middle of July for a week with my boyfriend and two other friends. Rooms were cleaned every day, really friendly staff and good range of food! The hotel is really close to the beach, literally a one minute walk and is a ten minute walk into the magaluf! Really enjoyed this holiday and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife,daughter and I visited Mirlos / Tordos in June 2012. We had a great time overall and the hotel is only a short two minute walk away from the beach. The entertainment team are fantastic and my daughter loved the flint stones theme. Unfortunately, the food lets the hotel down. If you like cheap chicken nuggets and fish fingers continuously then you will be fine. In general very repetitive menus and never very hot. When we first arrived we got moved as our room looked out onto the bins to be fair we got moved no problem but suspect in height of season you would not be so lucky. The rooms are basic but acceptable - we stayed in the Tordos and quite a few people asked to be moved to the Mirlos on arrival as they had stayed there before and said rooms are much better.

Unfortunately the food would put us off a return visit which is ashame as my daughter loved the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Second time visited at October half term. Booked hotel and had a brillant time again, Even though October half term and hardly anyone in the hotel all facilities are still open the same with the same activities for the children. Cannot fault the service and price.

Room Tip: Save yourself a heap of money. We saved £1,500 by not booking a package holiday but booked flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed as a young couple first week in September 2012. The hotel was great, clean, lots to do and lots going on. Rooms were cleaned everyday, decor is nice and basic. We stayed in the mirlos building (as do all Thomas Cook customers). Great location - right next to the beach and a 5 minute walk into Magaluf, lots of bars and restaurants. Staff were all lovely and entertainment was really good, every evening a different show.
Would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

During our stay (25th August to 10th September 2012) the hotel was well overcrowded. Mirlos and Tordos are actually 2 hotels. We were allocated at Tordos but Mirlos seemed to be nicer, more modern, have bigger rooms and better views.

swimming pool- there is definitely not enough space around the swimming pool, not enough sunbeds and parasols, you need to get up at 7am to reserve your space, and even then you will be lying literally next some strangers, loud families etc. It's that cramped. It is a ridiculous rat race to get a space, so during our two week stay we spent only 1 day by the hotel pool.We went to the beach instead but being on all inclusive we were losing out every day...:(
There is a special pool for kids but both large pools are always full of screaming kids anyway so forget about a peaceful relax.
One of the pools is in shade most of the day so it's useless if you want to get some sun.

restaurant- it was more like a shabby canteen with stained chairs and not very pleasant staff which seemed to be always tired and fed up with their work. They were very noisy as well, constantly talking and shouting to one another across the restaurant, no consideration for guests whatsoever....

food- very repetitive, not always cooked thoroughly, they served raw chicken kebabs and raw pastry, we told them but it seemed they did not even care, quality of fruit was very poor, rotten strawberries and black bananas..disgrace, how can you be not ashamed of serving stuff like that to people who pay you

lifts- there are only two tiny lifts, one or the other is always broken, so expect long waiting. Even though we had a room on the 9th floor we often walked but I was feeling for all the older people and people with small kids etc.

reception desk- poor customer service, very dismissive, not helpful at all. My husband hurt himself and I asked reception if they had any bandage etc. All they could say was "no, no" , not bothered to even try to tell me where pharmacy is or whatever. They understand English only when it's convenient. They don't speak English if there is a problem.
Upon arrival we got leaflet with info about hotel only in Spanish, the receptionist did not bother to explain anything, weird...considering 95% of guests are English...I guess they don't care as long as they get their money

If you book early breakfast on the day of your departure be prepared it's only plain bread and biscuits. You will not even get a slice of cheese or ham even if you ask for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Mirlos Tordos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mirlos Tordos

Also Known As:
Sol Mirlos Tordos Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Tordos Majorca
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Mirlos Tordos Palmanova, Majorca
Address: Pizones S/N, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Mirlos Tordos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sol Mirlos Tordos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mirlos Tordos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.