We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want to go again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Beach House Cala Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Beach House Cala Blanca to your Saves list
Sol Beach House Cala Blanca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“want to go again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

just returned from week at this hotel and loved it.Rooms clean and air conditioned,maids polite and friendly,Food is unbelievable at breakfast and evening meal never known such variety absolutely lovely! Staff friendly and helpful and speak good english,we had fourth floor room overlooking sea and what a view excellent. Brilliant area to stay in loads of shops ,bars ,cafes etc. Visit to Inca market on thursday is worth doing ,good fun .Missing majorca already ,cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — nice quite hotel with no children,good area
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike really
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    195
    88
    25
    10
See reviews for
84
300
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

this was our first visit to mallorca and reviews through trip advisor prompted us to book this hotel.This is the best hotel my wife and i have stayed in, in over 18 years of travelling abroad.What do you look for in a good hotel? well we found it here.Hotel maintained by an army of cleaners each day( our beds were made daily and our towels were replaced daily also) the staff were excellent -always with a smile, and the most important thing to us was the food,which was top class and a fantastic selection for both breakfast and dinner( look out for the hotel manager always well dressed as he takes his seat at dinner each night before doing the rounds at various tables to insure the food is good) also the location of hotel with bars and restaurants at front (very little noise late at night) and the beach at the back( 15 feet from back of hotel)Entertainment is good most nights, we liked the elvis tribute the most. We will be back in june next year if not before.will recommend.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and i stayed in the Sol Cala Blanca in august. It was by far the best holiday we ever had. The hotel was excellent, staff where A-class towards my husband and I, they couldn'nt do enough for us. The hotel was cleaned on a daily basis and to a very high standard . Food was excellent. All enterainment was close by and they where very nice to all the tourist. We will be returning next year....

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

I stayed for 14 nights at the Cala Blanca as part of a family group of eight, and found this hotel to be excellent in every respect. I would place this hotel as joint best I have experienced in almost 25 years of regular holidaying in Spain.

The hotel is completing a program of internal renovation, and our rooms on the second floor had been recently redecorated. We found these rooms large and comforable.

We had two rooms overlooking the road and one overlooking the sea. The road side rooms had the benefit of the sun in the late afternoon, and the balconies had upholstered furniture, making this an excellent place to relax before dinner. The road is a narrow one way side street, with almost no traffic. We were not disturbed by road noise at all during our stay.

The two areas where this hotel excels is the overall friendliness of the staff, and the superb location.

On arrival we were immediately impressed with the reception staff. One of the two on duty assisted guests with their luggage from the kerbside, and subsequently delivered all baggage to the rooms. His colleague, handled the formalities quickly and in perfect English.

All new arrivals were also invited to the Manager's cocktail reception where the senior staff of the hotel were introduced. In particular the entertainment manager, Loli, was exceptionally welcoming, and became a firm favourite of my infant niece.

Despite the relatively small pool area, we were always able to secure sunbeds for our entire party, even as late as 8.30am each morning. Whilst the sun is lost from the pool area in early afternoon, we either enjoyed the shade or moved to the beach. From the pool area to the front of the superb beach is a walk of less than a minute, so we could easily continue to access the hotel facilities with no inconvenience.

We found the food selection to be comprehensive, and particularly enjoyed the open portion of the dining area with the spectacular views of Palma Bay. Brilliant sunrise at Breakfast and sparkling sunsets in the Evening.

Importantly, we did not encounter insect pests during our stay.

To conclude, we found this hotel to be well worth it's four star rating, and would reassure anyone about to holiday here that they have a treat in store.

  • Liked — Friendliness of Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

The hotel is in a super position right on the beach. We were lead to believe nearly all rooms had a sea view which was not the case as at least half the rooms overlooked the street which we could expect to be very noisy at the height of the season.Some rooms overlook a playground at the rear of the hotel which only have a very small window and no balcony etc. The food was very good with very friendly staff. The entertainment was fine, very low key but the hotel was a bit of a haven from the rest of Palma Nova which was abit rowdy especially on our final day when the school holidays began and it became very overcrowded.The room was ok but the bathroom needed more lights and, as there was no window, alot more ventilation. We had a triple room as our daughter was with us and the third bed was a proper bed which is not always the case.We hired a car but the hotel would not allow us to park in their car park as they insisted all the spaces had been booked. We passed the car park at different times from early morning through to late at night and there were loads of spaces but we did not book the car through the hotel so we assume this is why a rather rude hotel receptionist continually refused us access to the car park.Overall the hotel was ok but it is definately not a four star and it really needs some TLC,even the red carpet when you arrive is dirty and shabby.

  • Liked — the food and the location
  • Disliked — the standard of the hotel and the car park attitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Just returned from spending a week at this hotel. When on holiday at the Sol Tordos a few years ago (just a few hundred yards away) we spotted the Cala Blanca and thought how nice it looked and would like to return and visit some day. We came away with a feeling of disappointment, bearing in mind what we had paid and considering that the hotel has a 4 star rating.

We were given a room on the third floor overlooking the street at the front of the hotel. Our first reaction was that the room (especially the bathroom) although clean, was in need of some modernisation.

The pool area is fairly small and you needed to be up with the lark to stand any chance of a sun lounger. On the odd occasion we did manage to get one we found that by mid afternoon most of the pool area was in the shade (and this in early July). Never mind we thought, let's just walk onto the beach which is only a few yards away - we'll just hire loungers there instead. Sadly there were none to be had there either as the beach was so packed.

Here's a tip for anyone going. Just opposite the entrance to the hotel there is a row of shops and bars. If you look for the walkway that runs between two of the shops you'll see a sign on the wall for the Las Palomas apartments. Less than 10 yards along the lane on your left you'll see steps leading up to a large pool with plenty of loungers which you can hire for 2 euros per day and it was deserted most of the time. We only wished that we had found it earlier in the holiday.

The restaurant in the hotel is a little unusual in that you have the opportunity to dine in the open air, which we did on several evenings and enjoyed very much, as the restaurant's air conditioning did not seem to work which made dining inside less enjoyable.

Having stayed in a number of Sol hotels over the years, we were a bit disappointed with the evening meals. A limited amount of cold salad choices (some of which I'm sure were the same stuff being served up over several nights) never seemed that fresh. The choice of desserts did not vary from night to night, apart from one evening when they cooked crepes to order. Also, we found that the wine prices at dinner were a bit of a rip-off.

The evening entertainment was held around the pool area and was low-key. A magician, some singers and the usual Chinese acrobats was about your lot. The few guests that bothered to stay and watch seemed quite happy with the relaxed atmosphere.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

Would we return? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

A very nice 4 star hotel on a prime beachfront location. Very clean, hotel has indoor and outdoor pools. Rooms spacious and clean towels every day. Toiletries & hairdryer supplied. There was a tiny "minibar" but all it was, was a fridge with 2 cans in it. We used it to stock our own water. TV with limited chanels. Bit of a problem with mosquitos although I think this was because we were on ground floor roadside beside the palm trees. The restuarant is a very busy buffet style type with a great selection. You can sit inside or outside in the marquee. The resort is family orientated with nightlife being bar/hotel based. If any business people are reading this, you would make a fortune by opening some truly Spanish bars/Tapas/restuarants, as not everyone wants to eat egg n chips or watch Only Fools n Horses 24/7! We took the "Britannia" boat to Palma market, 16 euros each. Very nice but if you have difficulties walking then don't go, as the drop off is no-where near the market, a good mile walk uphill to get to it. Overall, Palmanova, is, as ever, a nice clean place to holiday with no real issues.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Beach House Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Cala Blanca

Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Cala Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Cala Blanca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 15 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool surrounded by gardens and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Cala Blanca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Beach House Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Cala Blanca Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.