We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Beach House Cala Blanca

Save Saved
You added Sol Beach House Cala Blanca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Cala Blanca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swansea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“PERFECT PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. It has been refurbished and looks stunning. The Hotel is spotless and the staff are very helpful. The restaurant has something to suit all tastes - soups, meat, fish, salad, and a choice of lovely deserts.

The sea view rooms are a bit more pricey - but if you want sun in the afternoon have the rooms overlooking the road,

You can occasionally have some noise from late revelers returning to their hotels but not on a regular basis.. We were there in October - don't know what is would be like in peak of Summer.

Room Tip: all the rooms are generous in size, and the hotel only has four floors so not too high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    176
    83
    25
    10
See reviews for
74
277
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seahouses, Northumberland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had 10 days at this hotel, returning last Tuesday 8 October. Been to Palma Nova/Magaluf several times before but never stayed this far along the beach. The hotel was medium sized and in a good location on Palma Nova beach, which was out the gate of the hotel over the promenade and you were straight onto the beach which was very clean. It was just a pity our room was on the street side, but we did get the sun in the afternoon/late evening. The hotel was very clean and reception was REALLY COOL when you came in, which, after a day baking in the hot sun, was very refreshing. The reception and ground floor had obviously been modernised and although some of the chairs outside looked a bit 'wacky' they were comfortable. The air conditioning in the bedroom was rather noisy so we slept with the door open instead, although some mornings that was noisy as the revellers came home from Magaluf. The room was cleaned every day and the towels were changed every day, with bedding changed every other day. The maid, Julia, cleaned our room and she was very friendly indeed, but all the other maids spoke when you passed them (which doesn't happen in all hotels). The price for hiring the use of a safe was, we thought, quite excessive and only a very small portion was returned at the end of the holiday. They obviously realise that we need this facility so lets make money on it!. The food in the dining room started off well. First night plenty choice, second night plenty choice, third night OK then one or two things became a bit repetitive. My husband and I always like the soups when we are on holiday in Spain and one night we had vegetable soup with the alternative of cream of vegetable soup, very nice, but after it had been on the menu for 4 nights (not 4 nights running just 4 nights) it did seem a bit much and I began to wonder if it was the same soup being added to and reboiled. Veal was on the carvery for a few nights as well. If we had brocolli as a vegetable at night it was deep fried for breakfast as were some of the other vegetables! It could also be a bit crowded around the servery, no particular order so people were coming from all directions. I was also rather concerned with one of the chefs who was on breakfasts. He was very friendly and helpful, but I saw him dish out strawberries with his hands, then he went on to sort the sausages out in the tray and then replaced croissants on a plate. He also seemed to be constantly 'picking' and eating! One morning my husband complained because the breakfasts were cold, but that was immediately rectified and the temperature of the bain marie was adjusted. The pool area was very nice although some of the sun beds need replacing as they were a bit 'saggy' but I suppose by the end of September quite a few bodies will have been lying on them and as they were quite a few of us 'oldies' may be mattresses could have been provided for them as some other hotels do - bones creak a bit after a while. Pool towels were not mentioned in the hotel description when we booked our holiday and so we took extra towels, but found when we got there that towels could be borrowed for a deposit of 10 euros each, which naturally you got back when you handed them in. Next time I book a holiday I shall enquire if pool towels are provided! Many of the people there had obviously been going to that hotel for years and knew the staff and the staff remembered them, which I thought was very nice. We will not be returning next year (as we have already booked our holidays) but I would certainly like to go back and see the hotel once it has all been refurbished.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are well worth the extra if you are going to spend a lot of time in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 33 times since March 1980. It is a comfortable well established medium sized hotel in an excellent location on Palma Nova beach. It excels because of the high standards of service, good choice of food, and exceptional cleanliness of the rooms. Despite being in a popular area it does not suffer from excessive noise. Many of the staff have been there many years and the welcome you receive when you return is extraordinary. The hotel manager, Snr. Sebastion Darder, goes out of his way to greet his guests and is regularly in the dining room ensuring that food standards are maintained at the highest level. The hotel has recently modernised its main lounge, dining and pool areas. Although of a good standard the rooms were last upgraded about 15 years ago and are now in need of some refurbishment which I understand will be undertaken in the next year or so. Have we any criticisms. We certainly have. The extensive use of contemporary furniture looks stunning but is not very practical and is not extensively used. The sunbeds are regularly commandeered by the early risers and should be stopped. At 30 euros per week the charge for Wi-Fi usage is excessive. Gentleman wearing shorts in the dining room for dinner should not be permitted. Despite these shortcomings we will almost certainly be staying there again in 2014.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth extra charge but garden view rooms are sunnier in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday We were so pleased to have chosen this hotel The location could not have been any better Had room 313 which was on the sea view side so pleased we paid the extra for this as the views were amazing and ever changing depending on the time of day or weather Spent 2 days on the beach and hired 2 sun beds and brolly at 13.50 euros per day for me that was good money spent as i prefer the beach to just staying round the pool As mentioned in other reviews guests do start putting their towels on the pool beds at the crack of dawn but it is up to the hotel to try and stop this practice As i vegetarian i was really pleased with the selection of food on the buffet both hot and cold but as mentioned the " Q " at meal times can be quite disorganised The bed rooms are ready for a revamp to be in keeping with the communal parts of the hotel and im sure an excellent job will be done on them My one gripe with regard to the bedroom is No Drawers so you were forced to leave alot of bits and bobs out on the units which i always feel is not fare to the chamber maids and must make their job harder if they have to keep moving things about to clean so i hope that drawers will be incorporated into the new design for the bedrooms Would we stay at The Sol Cala Blanca Hotel again a most definite Yes and thank you to all the hard working staff

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor sea view room well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma Nova
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very good hotel. Food could not be faulted. Plenty of choice and well presented and frequently restocked. Rooms very comfortable and very clean. Good position on beach front and near to local shops and bars. Will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited this for the first time after reading through the many reviews of hotels in Palmanova and I was not disappointed.The location could not be better as it is on the promenade and the lovely sandy beach. Adults Only and this suited us as many hotels are catering for the children often at the expense of adult enjoyment. The ground floor of the hotel has been upgraded and looks really good. The upper floors are I believe going to be refurbished which will turn this into a top class hotel. The room we had (315) was a good size and had 3 beds and will benefit from the planned refurbishment. We booked with Jet2 which did not say if the rooms faced the sea or not and when we discovered ours did not we paid the extra to get the sea view as one was available.The seaview rooms only got the sun in the morning but the views and being able to sit in the balcony in the evenings and catch the entertainment was good. Reviews mentioned the rooms facing the back suffered from noise from those passing from the discos etc in Magalluf but this did not seem to be a problem (September ?) The food was varied and mostly very good. There was nearly always sunbeds available.
WiFi has become fairly important for those of us wanting to use our tablets etc and really should be provided free but this hotel was charging 32 Euros to use their WiFi for a week even 2 euros for 15 minutes. Connect up to the free WiFi from the beach. Hiring the use of a safe are something else that we are getting ripped off with and this hotel was no exception.
The dining room serving was a problem that really needs to be addressed by the management.
The queue is often one long chain past the various areas such as soups, starters, carvery, main courses, sweets. Having got your starter and returning for your next course you either went back to the start of the queue or had to force your way into the queue at the appropriate place which could be an annoyance.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cheaper and get the sun in the afternoon and evening BUT at peak times of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langbank, Renfrewshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a week here in early April in the knowledge that the area would be quieter than in mid season. We were not disappointed. One of only a small number of hotels on this particular bay, it was very peaceful indeed. As everywhere, you get what you pay for - it is not cheap, but neither is it expensive.

Took advantage of the advice on earlier reviews and booked a sea view room. If you are a sun lover the road side rooms catch all the afternoon and evening sun, but if not too worried about missing that, the sea view rooms are great, with calming views over the bay - see photos taken from room 310.

The rooms are a good size and typical of good quality Spanish hotels. Plenty room for two, very adequate bathroom, reasonable hanging space, clean room.

In the style of many Spanish hotels, food is generally self service, buffet style. Very good range of cold and hot dishes. Surprised to read another's comment about no butter. Our breakfast buffet, hot and cold, was well stocked with butter portions, low fat spread portions, individual jams and much more. I agree that, if you plan a journey to the toaster, take sandwiches! It was very slow but, in April, never was a problem. I think it was set to holiday mode. No problems with the coffee machines and hot water was hot enough for a decent cup of tea. Evening meals were very good. No complaints at all. Good range of wine and there is a room off the restaurant, where your unfinished bottle of wine will be kept for your next meal.

If you wanted it, there was evening entertainment, if not, there was comfortable seating outside to enjoy the evening air.

One of the most impressive aspects to this hotel is the friendliness of the staff and also their helpfulness. Often observed them go the extra mile for someone. Was very obvious that there are repeat customers, many on first name terms with the staff. Apparent that the staff stay, always a good sign.

The level promenade on the beach side of the hotel, stretches for miles and provides lots of leisurely walks with places to take a breather, wherever you are.

Would, nay will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: For me the sea view is important, so as high up as possible on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Beach House Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Cala Blanca

Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Cala Blanca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Cala Blanca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 15 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool surrounded by gardens and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Cala Blanca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Melia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sol Beach House Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Cala Blanca Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.