We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but needs attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Beach House Cala Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Beach House Cala Blanca to your Saves list
Sol Beach House Cala Blanca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersSilver level
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel but needs attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Been to this hotel for many years, like many other guests, and many of us said this year it has lost some of its quality.Saying that staff are wonderful as is the food,the rooms looking worn but are due to be updated,please note if you use a wheelchair you cannot get it through the bathroom door!This was a great problem for us and sadly if the doors are not widened or a disabled room is not installed we will not be able to return to this hotel,so hope the refurb does something about this.

Room Tip: Needs to do more for disabled users
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear midgeEssex,
Thank you very much for take the time to share with us your opinion. As you well know, we are in the process of refurbishment in all areas of the hotel, and the next step will be the rooms; we will take seriously into consideration to have some rooms adapted for wheelchair users; that will be honestly a great improvement. If you want to visit us again, please contact us before, in order to inform you what kind of installation we have enhanced, or at least, to give you alternatives for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    195
    88
    25
    10
See reviews for
84
300
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed here on my own , a 5 day break last week ......... Lovely , friendly bar and restaurant staff.... clean , tidy ,good food , ideal location..good air con (needed ,as the temp got up to 35 degrees ) very comfy bed .....but oh what a tiny room.... my room 294 was so small and cramped, you could hardly trun round in it , + no balcony , it was a twinroom, but if there were two of you would be impossible to be comfortable .The bathroom was so small with a tiny shower, curtain didn't fit properly and caused water to drip all over the floor...had to mop it up with the spare towel . I realise that I was not in one of the better rooms as I'd booked last minute due to work committments , but these small rooms along the side corridor really let the hotel down and I can't imagine they should be awarded 4 star status using these rooms. I've stayed in Sol chain hotels before and had better room in a 3 star hotel.I belive in being honest and one other unfortunate negative point , is the decor is so old fashioned, wood chip on the walls, stair carpet going threadbare , bedroom doors are like cell doors with spy holes in them .... On the positive side, the hotel was very clean , food good, bar prices sensible , and what a joy , a hotel that doesn't require you to wear one of those awful plastic arm bands .....
On the whole it was a reasonable stay , but accommodation a bit dissappoiting compared to the many other 4 start hotels I've stayed at in Majorca

Room Tip: if you stay here , opt for the better rooms , full size with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Redose,
Thank you very much for take the time and trouble to share your impressions with us. We are very sorry to read about your comments regarding the room, next time. Maybe, in the future you can reserve a twin room for single use, in order to have more space for you. We sincerely hope to welcome you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Not long returned from a seven night stay here.Have had to catch up on some sleep! Hotel entrance lovely,as are dining room area and pool area. The rooms, however,are a bit tired but I understand a refurbishment will take place. Despite this, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis by a very cheerful lady who worked very hard.Sheets changed every other day and towels daily and floors and bathroom cleaned.
.On the first day the room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke-we reported this to reception who did offer to change rooms but as I was feeling rather tired we gave it a bit longer and it improved somewhat. As smoking is allowed on balconies I thought it wouldn't be much better in another room. Our room faced the street side and it was so noisy. We had very little sleep ,the noise went on all night. I suspect younger British holidaymakers were the cause of most of the noise! At one point I thought I may as well get up at 4am and join the revellers! On two nights a noisy guest above decided to march across their room and practise furniture removal.The food was good and sometimes great and the ambience in the dining room lovely as you faced the sea and could eat al fresco.
We asked for a safe key which cost 21euro plus 5euro deposit! Last year in Spain it was a lot less! Towels were 10 euro each(returnable) but if you wanted to change them it would be 1 euro(non returnable) so we kept the same ones for the duration as this is the first time a charge has been made for changing them mid stay.The air con was effective but we thought it was recycled air rather than cooled fresh air from outside. Do not use room fridge on pain of death! That's a new ruling now but local shops sell chilled wine so we managed and there were loads of café/bars near.
As there was a lack of sunbeds (why are people still putting towels on these and disappearing so no one else can get a lounger-can this selfish practice stop) we went to the beach which is on hotel doorstep. We only availed ourselves of a beach sunbed for one day ,after that we took towels and lay on the sand at water's edge and we were quite comfortable there. The reason being that the price has been inflated by an extra 4.50 euros! Now,the beds cost 4.50 each plus 4.50 for parasol!! Next year god knows what extras will be charged! Swimming in sea? Making sandcastles?
The hotel pool was clean and managed to swim here in afternoon when the pool area was shaded and the bed hoggers struggled to get themselves ready for the evening.
There were activities provided and a great plus for me was aquafit but last class was cancelled due to lack of support.The instructor/entertainment organiser Carla was great and very motivated. and it was unfortunate that not enough people wanted to do this as it was fun and only half an hour.
Would I come back? Yes, but to a quiet room as the staff were great.I must mention the welcome cocktails and canapés,a lovely touch! Special mentions to Marc who helped with bags and Javier, Carla and the anonymous room maid who are a credit to the hotel. Also the location,lovely not to have to trail to the beach.
I don't want to omit the guys who run the Lady Diana café/bar down the road.(not to be confused with Diana beach bar). It was lovely to come here and have a midday snack and drink and chill. They were a pair of perfect gentlemen.

Room Tip: Seaview for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MarinaYork,
Thank you very much for your complete review. We are very happy to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheles, we have carefully noted your comments about the cigarette smelt in the room, and also told the housekeeper, in order to avoid situations like yours.
We want, also thank you for the kind words you wrote regarding our staff. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beragh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has 2 things going for it – the location and the staff.
Situated beside a very good beach just round the corner from Magaluf. Don’t let Magaluf put you off as Santa Ponsa is family friendly.
All the hotel staff were excellent. Hard working friendly and professional.

However there were a few things I didn't like for example –
The lack of space in the dining room both inside and out.
None of the seaview rooms have sunny balconies. We were offered one for a supplement of around €11/day.
If you want to sit in the sun it is impossible to get a sunbed unless you join the “Towel Bigade” who set their alarm clocks to head off with their towels at dawn!
There just isn’t room for more beds.
No flat screen TV in our room.
The fridge has a warning not to put your drink in it.
Had to pay around €30 for wi-fi for the week.

The good points are -
As the guests were mostly British the food was more British than German.
I don’t think younger people would like it here – but as an elderly couple we enjoyed the peace and quiet.
The rooms were large and well cleaned.
The pool was small but that was fine because hardly anyone used it.
The music during dinner was lovely.
Some of the entertainment at night didn’t suit me – so we went to the country and western music in the nearby bars.

There is an indoor pool but unused during our stay. This pool goes unnoticed. It is outside to the left of the main entrance as you leave the hotel's main entrance.

I don’t think I would return but it is not the worst place I have stayed in - nor the best.

Room Tip: you can get a seaview for a supplement but not sunny. Our room at the back got some sun in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear fined4times,
Thank you very much for your complete review, we are very glad to read comments like yours regarding our staff. We have carefully noted all your comments and suggestions and we will take into consideration in order to improve our services. Give us a chance and keep coming to the Sol Cala Blanca, next winter we will be in process to do more refurbishments in order to improve installations and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is something special if you want a nice quiet small hotel, as its adults only. The bedrooms are huge compaired to others with a fantastic balcony overlooking the beaach. The food is fantastic and with a good choose each day, the staff are brilliant right the way from the clearer to the big boss man himself, they all make a real effort to make it special. We have been staying at this hotel for many years, we've tried others but this is the best.

Room Tip: The upper floors are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear CharliePearson,
What can I said, we are very glad to read such a review from every guest. Thank you very much for your lovely words. We hope to welcome you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from 12 nights at this hotel, over all a great holiday. The location is right on the beach when you step out of the back of the hotel you are only the width of the footpath away from the beach. This is just as well as there are a limited number of sun beds around the pool which is a good size and very clean. You have to get up very early to get a sun bed if you don't then you can hire one on the beach but this costs (13.50 Euros for two beds and a sun shade which is not optional). The room we had was a good size and very clean, it was a little bit dated. We were in a road side room and we had the misfortune of being opposite the King Kebab shop. The hotel is on the shortest route between Palma Nova and Magaluf this take away remains open until 05:00 so when the cream of British youth are returning from their night out they gather here to feed, shout and fight with each other. On nine of the twelve nights I was here I was woken sometime between 03:00 - 05:00 by customers of this shop. This did however help with getting a sun bed. We were half board and went with the intention of eating out every second night, as it was we only went out to eat twice as the food was so good, the staff were very friendly and there was a good mix of nationalities staying. The bar prices in the hotel are expensive however there are a number of good bars around the area which are more reasonably priced. I would return but ask for a room at the western end of the hotel or on the beach side.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the western end of the hotel away from the take away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Jon R,
Many thanks for your review, we sincerely hope to welcome you again in the very near future, keep in contact with us, so we will give you a quiet room to enjoy your next stay at the Sol Cala Blanca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very late - French air traffic controller strike plus the Thomas Cook rep at Palma airport gave the wrong coach number out to us and many more passengers. We were given the keys to the room and I was surprised how small it was, but I was tired and ill at the time and I just wanted to rest. . .
We had trouble fitting all our clothes into a rather small wardrobe and two shelves but I couldn't face complaining at the time. There was no space to put any sun cream , toiletries etc.
The bathroom was very shabby - the bottom of the door frame was missing probably rotted away near the shower. The flush on the toilet was very loose and was covered in a green substance, the wash basin was coming away from the wall despite a bodged job on it.
We had no where to put our cases we had to put them in front of the patio doors which was problem when we ventured onto the balcony . The balcony was also patched up - the glass front had been cracked and was stuck down with parcel tape.
There was little room to walk past the end of the bed and when you did you knocked the mirror on the wall.
It was only two days later that while walking past another room the cleaner was in that we realised our room was only half the size of the others.
We should have gone to complain then but we could not face the prospect of having to move everything to another room if we were given one.
I must point out though that the cleaner, porter and dining room staff were very friendly. The lady at reception was not so when we handed the safe key in when we were leaving - she never spoke a word to us.
Food wise just normal for foreign hotels
The public areas were excellent just as in the brochure.
Please if you do choose this hotel DO NOT accept room 442

Room Tip: Any room but 442
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear di51,
Thank you very much for take the time and trouble to share your impression with us. We want to invite you to talk to us next time that you visit our hotel, in order to do our best to ensure that everything is at your entire satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Beach House Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Cala Blanca

Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Cala Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Cala Blanca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 15 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool surrounded by gardens and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Cala Blanca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Beach House Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Cala Blanca Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Beach House Cala Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.