We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facts not Complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Voranova 6 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Wenvoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Facts not Complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room was 2066, the entire hotel needs to update daily cleaning and general maintenance.

Like all, all inclusive hotels you are required to wear a coloured wrist band,the French appeared to be given red,all other nationalities were blue.

The food and drink had multiple selection but not the best of quality,however you will not go hungry or thirsty, you can pay 1 Euro for more well known drink brands.

Sadly certain reception and other customer facing personnel require to attend customer service skills course's, if hotel wishes to attract further British customers in the future.

Three beautiful beaches ranging from a ten minute walk, continuing to Magalluf 45 minutes away, plenty of eating places,bars and shops along way.

From close to the hotel you can catch either 104/106 to Palma Cathedral and Palma Centre both buses cost 2 Euros 45 cents per person,both can get very busy depending on weather and time, we spent the majority our time, having lunch then meandering around and enjoying evening meals in the beautiful City of Palma.

Room Tip: Sorry, but find a better hotel,you really do get what you pay for, i paid £410 for two people arrivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay with us.

We studied all the feedback from our customers to improve and strengthen weak points, each negative comment is a big step to improve in those areas and to create a pleasant environment in which to enjoy your vacations in our hotels that make up the Group Ibersol

We regret that some of our services have not lived up to your expectations, this is something that concerns us, because we work very hard to make our customers happy and we feel bad when this is not so.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    166
    79
    48
    45
See reviews for
154
126
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

**NOT IMPRESSED** Arrived late evening, booked in, staff could have smiled a bit more. Entered room to find it a twin not a double as we booked, when we checked with staff we were told "WE DONT HAVE DOUBLE ROOMS, ONLY TWIN SO YOU CAN PUSH THE BEDS TOGETHER" (Even though their pictures show doubles and we booked a double!) The room was very basic, the bathroom had mould around the sealant of the shower there was a loose floor tile, but being tired we went to bed. The following morning we asked the reception staff about entertainment only to be told "THE ENTERTAINMENT AND ACTIVITIES ARE FOR THE FRENCH GUEST". The restaurant was fairly busy but even so the staff were slow to clear tables and replenish items. The staff hardly smiled or engaged with English speaking guests. The hotel only has one bar which is out in the central courtyard where the evening entertainment took place (in French) the noise travelled around and there was not much chance of getting to sleep much before midnight. There was no indoor seating area other that a few chairs in the main reception which were often occupied by guest waiting for transport home. The pool is in need of repair with sharp edges next to the steps, there was often large amounts of leaves and other debris floating around, which was still there the following morning.
It was only after speaking with other English guest we were made aware of the wrist band colours basically if you have a blue band your English if its red your French and seem to receive a better quality of service, One English couple went as far as removing their bands in a bid to receive a better service.
Going back to the restaurant the range of food was lacking with spag-bol served every night during our stay. One night the vegetarian option was creamed spinach, with a choice of vegs including creamed spinach! The food certainly did not look anything like the brochure. The food was often luke warm at best The tables are so close together that you often get nudged from behind as the person behind moves their chair.
The all inclusive drinks list is very restricted and the cocktails pre-made in slushy machines, (Taste-less). Note to any English guest looking to stay here - Don't bother!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much to communicate your opinion about the hotel, we believe that it is only by listening and taking into account the comments and suggestions is that we can improve our service every day.

Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to live up to your expectations on this occasion, I would like to inform you that we will do everything in our power to improve the service we offer.

While it is true that French tourism has been the dominant, but not only are Ibersol Son Caliu Mar but on the part of hotels in the area. For us, a client is paramount and we work every day to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible, regardless of country of origin and the color of their bracelets.

Although your recent stay at our hotel was not your satisfaction, hope you continue to trust us and feel free to give us a new opportunity and have the pleasure of seeing you again in the ibersol hosted are caliu in the near future, or in another our hotels, if so, please us know in advance to welcome you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is mostly French but did not stop me enjoying myself . Front of house staff do not understand English
Location is good as there is a number of bars and restaurants within walking distance.Didnot get my room till after 16:00 hours. Take note there is two hotels with the same name both within streets of each other YES I was dropped at the wrong one,so will get the taxi back to the airport (34e).
Sun loungers fully booked by 7 for the sad persons that get up and throw a towel on them most empty till mid afternoon management do need to address this !!!!

A good balance and choice of food but don't like queuing so recommend wait till the rush is over

Would I return .. Yes location is spot on for the bar shops and beech

If your like me there are plenty of bars for food and football

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear BMorriss,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about how our establishment could be improved. We gladly receive every client's opinion, and your suggestions have been taken on board in order for us to provide a better standard of service.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feering, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night holiday at the Son Caliu Mar with friends. We arrived with very low expectations after reading comments on trip advisor but it was very cheap. We were very pleasantly surprised at the standard of room and quality of food for the money spent. The location is good just a half hour stroll into Magalluf for lively night life or the same in the other direction to the chic port at Porto Nous. Yes the hotel is approx. 80% booked by a French travel company and it's the same company that provide the animation team but the team were always happy to include any nationality if you wanted to play along. Probably not 4 star but sometimes the ratings are just based on amount of facilities rather than quality. The hotel isn't exactly charging 4 star prices either. We had a great holiday, car hire is cheap and we travelled to many beautiful towns and villages on the island. Whether you want plenty of entertainment or just a cheap base to travel around this hotel will fit the bill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest Ibersol Son Caliu Mar:

We welcome your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that fully enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and we have had the opportunity to offer our services.

All our staff are always aware of your needs and wishes for your days off. Therefore, their assessment helps us and motivates us to continue working in this line of professional care and familiar.

We hope to welcome you back on your next vacation.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

traveld on 9/9/2013 on arrival told no rooms avaliable staff not very helpfull we had 3 rooms booked we were then told we had to transfer to another hotel for 1 night and to come back after 12 oclock lunchtime we then had to wait another hour or so before rooms were ready we finally got settled at about 3pm thus loseing a whole day of our holidays,on top of all this we didnt know this hotel was so french entertainment was based on the french all entertainment staff are french and tend to take no notice if you are wearing a blue wrist bandwhich tellsthem you are not french . food breakfast very good lunch average eve dinner poor daytime snacks poor rooms very nice clean. the other hotel we were sent to was far more wellcomeing and food was better if only we could have stayed there we would have had a better holiday im sure . other hotel marina torennova.

Room Tip: pool rooms are a must or you could be looking at main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay with us.

We studied all the feedback from our customers to improve and strengthen the weak points, each negative comment is a big step to improve in those areas and to create a pleasant environment in which to enjoy your holiday in our hotels that make up the Group Ibersol

We regret that some of our services have not lived up to your expectations, this is something that concerns us.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Was a little apprehensive coming to this hotel given some of the reviews but..... It was a good find!! Booked through alpha rooms for around £70pr a night all inclusive which was excellent value!!

Time to dispel a few myths:
1) you get a different coloured armband than everyone else - yes you do but this merely to allow staff to know what language you speak!!
2) food was good for what it is - bear in mind French have higher standards than the English when it comes to eating - so prob slightly better than expected.
3) the reception staff were not rude - they didn't do us a welcome dance but do any hotels actually do this - checkin was quick and they apologised for not getting us all rooms together, late check out was no problem, happy to order taxis etc.
4) rooms are clean, modern, practical and have air con and mini fridge - really people what more do you want!!
5) entertainment yes it is in French, but just remember French tour operators block book this hotel - on the plus side there were no English idiots running round the place!!

Overall - good experience, good hotel in a good location €6 in taxi to Magaluf - close enough to party but far enough away to allow you to sleep!! Food is good, pool is excellent, rooms are clean, and you dispense your own drinks all day what more could you want!!!

Only comment put a few extra English channels on the tele - but are you here to watch TV?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for trusting us to spend your holidays and for their encouraging comments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in our hotel.

A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 9 night holiday from this hotel. The reception staff were very good always helpfull. The room we had was good I think it was one of the new ones. The food was good plenty of choice.
I would think the hotel was 95% French guests. All the entertaiment is for the French guests, this was not a problem for my husband as we dont really bother with this.
An english family with young children were told the kids could not go the kids club as they were english, the way they were spoken to was very rude, if she had spoken to me in that manner I would have gone straight to the manager.
Would I go back to this hotel, no I will look for a more english run hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay with us.

Most of our clients have referred their complaints about the animators, you could distinguish the two animation teams, their uniforms were different. The hotel laments who has been unable enjoy our mini club, and all animation group activities

The group of animation of the French tour operator have worked as a great team with our animators, have created an environment of games and animation without separate nationalities.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club

Address: C/ Voranova 6 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.