We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Pity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club to your Saves list
Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Voranova 6 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just a Pity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms ae lovely, the pool area is smashing, the gym is very good. OK now for the very very bad bits. The food is often abysmal, occassionaly average and just to show you that the place has potential, one day it was actually quite nice. The worst aspect is that the management of the hotel, despite vociferous protests from very many guests were either oblivious to how bad things were, or even worse, just didn't care. Its a shame because the hotel could be very good, its so annoying because you can see the potential.

The bar by the pool is adequate. The bar indoors is too small, understaffed, poorly stocked (twice ran out of beer for example) and the furnishing and fittings are on a par with one of those road-side cafes that are made from an old bus. The promised entertaiment didn't exist, nor did the kids club. The facilities existed but were not staffed, the rooms remained closed throughout our stay ~(October 12). If they can get a manager in with reasonable eye-sight who can secure a bit more investment for areas crying out to be brought upto standard, I'd go back to this hotel but boy does it need a kick in the pants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sun with a pool view. Many of the rooms don't see the sun all day due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

We feel sad and disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.

In Ibersol Son Caliu Mar we always strive to surpass the expectations of our guests and therefore in our daily labors we attempt to offer a closely and personalized service, it would be a pleasure to may receive you again in the near future to demonstrate that it is our wish and our goal to make you feel comfortable and to provide you with the optimal conditions to enjoy a sublime holiday. Once again, we are sorry that this time we haven´t been successful in achieving our target which is maximum customer satisfaction.

best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    188
    94
    53
    47
See reviews for
168
149
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Bonington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have cut and paste the e-mail complaint I sent to Broadway Travel last September. To date they are refusing to offer any compensation.

We booked a 7-day break at the Son Caliu Beach Club Hotel in Majorca through Teletext. We booked a 4-star hotel and we were ensured by "Jessica" that the hotel was fabulous and had recently been refurbished.
Our room faced the pool, the room was very tired, and showed little or no evidence of recent refurbishment, there was also 2-single beds, upon arrival, I immediately rang reception and asked to be moved to a room with a double bed and I was told that all rooms were the same.
The resort is primarily a French resort with "activities" on a daily basis conducted in VERY loud French, starting with an announcement at 10 am accompanied by music blasting out of 2-large speakers, placed at the side of the pool - these continue throughout the day - with a conga and aerobics round the pool at 12-noon every day! All of the activities were extremely intrusive rendering a quiet moment nigh on impossible.
The first evening the activities continued until 11 pm with a "cabaret" and "karaoke" - the noise was unbearable and still audible with the window shut, it was also the most pathetic and sad display we have ever witnessed in the name of entertainment.
On our second morning I called a) Broadway Travel and spoke to Gemma, I made it clear that this was totally unacceptable and in no way had we been made aware that this was the format and then b) I spoke to the hotel manager and advised him of our unhappiness and disappointment.
Both Gemma and in particular the manager were most conciliatory and the manager in particular was utterly charming, he asked me what he could do and I said we wanted to be moved to another hotel more suited to our requirements, he immediately contacted his customer service manager, who then spent the whole day trying to find us alternative accommodation.
It would seem that the whole of Majorca was booked, the only alternative hotel that could be found was a 5-star hotel, costing an additional 630 euros but we were advised by Gemma that it was possible that there was a similar format of noise and activities, we decided not to take the risk and I asked the customer service manager to see if she could find us another room in the hotel which was quieter.
We moved to another room at the back of the hotel, overlooking a busy road, the kitchens, a rubbish dump and it would seem by the noise some sort of industrial bottle bank
The manager and his customer service manager had arranged for a bottle of Cava to be placed in our room - thus far this is the only concession we have been given.
We assumed that as the words Beach Club were in the title there would be a beach, there was no beach, there was a shuttle service to a public beach, 10-Min's drive away on a main road - and we were charged a sum of 13.5 euros per day for a sun bed and an umbrella and for the privilege of being close to one of the largest MacDonald's I have ever seen.
In our new room, the shower alternated between scalding hot and freezing cold, the air conditioning did not work but we had exhausted ourselves complaining and only mentioned this to the customer service manager when we were leaving, there was also an infestation of ants in the room.
There was no area to relax in peace, no lovely gardens or seating, the so called quiet area was an Astra turfed area at the back of the hotel, backing on to a building site and a block of flats -
The food was very poor, poor cuts of meat, and certainly no Spanish delicacies or what we would call international cuisine, all was served in a large indoor cafeteria, with limited space to sit outside and dine.
This hotel is marketed as a 4-star hotel, it is NOT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review about our hotel.

We are really sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your
comments will help us to improve our services since our guest satisfaction is always our
first priority.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club... Ah! ! Here at last.
Then came the bomb shell..
Standard of service very poor almost verging on non existent as it became apparent that the management of this Hotel did not give due consideration and support to their staff members who were left to deal with the frustration of the individual holidaymaker ...Limited facilities for children Health and Safety non existent no life guard on duty in the event of an incident, food disgusting, chips, chips and more chips were the order of the day Oh! ! I might add with brown or tomato sauce... if you wanted a hot meal then you would have been able to access the microwave provided..... I would urge anybody reading this not to stay at this hotel....Totally disgusted and disappointed at the lack of care from the suppliers who sold this 4* holiday to us at a cost of £510 per head knowing that it was not fit for purpose...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback we receive as it allows us to improve the experience for future guests

I sincerely apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and have experienced these issues.

I have taken note of their comments so that does not happen in a future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and I apologise about the issues you experienced. I hope that you will treat this as a one off occurrence and not what you can expect from ibersol.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

hotel huge with supergrounds and super gym and indoor pool shame about the brit kids who tried to demolish it and all other equipment with such care for the people around them food diverent, you must like intrernational cusine or its chips and cake only. be brave and try the huge choice of meals. bedrooms and bathrooms large clean comforttable at a price you could not get anywere else in spain. so many complaints from brits aqbout lack of ediblae food for children, in my experiance its normally chips chips chips the poor souls there were condemed to eat some of the many spanish sweets available, choc this choc that . palma nova great resort to walk around with magaluf a bonus but this all inclusive hotel made this a hard choice food and free drinks available from 7ooam until 11 30pm serve youself beer and wines and all soft drinks including tea and coffee .but did not feel like a hotel inside the function and dinning rooms were verycanteen style but all the staff we met were great. nice place but different

Room Tip: all rooms have large balconies ground floor limited sun hoteland spa only three floors high pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Are you sitting comfortably....then i shall begin.

Arrived home from a week at the Son Caliu Mar yesterday. The week was not without "issues" but to be fair there were some plus points. For a start we paid a low price for a week all inclusive ...around £160 per head with Low Cost holidays so we didnt expect the earth. I had read the other reviews on here on wasnt too fussed about the "French" aspect. interestingly though I dont think i heard one French voice.

Most of the guests appeared to be British but with a sprinkling of Spanish and it was green wristbands all around. My guess is that the French travel company had finished for the season and therefore the hotel was selling up its final weeks of ther season through internet bookings, predominantly in the UK where it was half term.. and this i guess this is where the root of the "problems" we had may lie.

If the hotel was predominantly used by a French version of Thomson or Thomas Cook then they may well be geared for slightly different tastes and behaviours then all inclusive Brits! This is not an excuse but just a thought.. but more of that later.

We arrived sunday evening and the reception staff were lovely and we checked into our clean, smart and comfortable rooms. No complaints here , other than the water power added to a damaged shower head meant the whole bathroom received a shower if you turned it up full. There was a comfy leather sofa, a pool view terrace and an LCD tv on the wall. only 2 english language channels - sky news and BBC World News ..so the hotel may need to do something ab out that if it wished to target the UK market. The rooms were cleaned every day and the free wifi signal in the room was good .

We hurried over to the dining room and this was the first little disappointment. It was very busy but there was no one to greet us . we soon worked out it was a matter of just finding your own table and helping yourself (including sometimes finding your own cutlery etc as there were not enough staff to cope with the numbers).

The food was adequate not exceptional. The salad bar was good if you like salad but the hot food was limited. There was always (at dinner) some grilled meat, grilled fish, pasta, chips and some mixed vegetable dishes. Sweets comprised of difference colours of flavoured goo plus the occaisional piece of cake with tasteless creamy fillings. i have much better but for the price i wouldnt complain. (To put it into perspective , 3 of us went for a curry one night at as restaurant near the hotel and the bill was E70 , compared to a whole week all in at £160 per person in the hotel.

Breakfasts were better. Always had bacon, some type of sausage (though mainly frankfurters), scrambled and fried eggs, plus all the things you would expect from a continental hotel...croissants, pain au chocolate , fruit, cereal, ham ,cheeses etc.

i did like the "help yourself" beer (Estrella), wine and softdinks in the restaurant and pool bar. Its a shame this didnt extend to the main bar in the evening...more of that later too,,,

this was the first time i have ever been all inclusive where there was no ice cream either at the bars ir in the restaurant. After a couple of days a few tubs arrived but these were soon gone and not replaced. Yes there was a real end of season feel to the hotel.

After out first meal we headed to the bar. It was very busy and there was just one poor chap serving. He was overwhelmed. this was not helped by the fact he was serving beer in small plastic cups. one mouthful and its back to the bar for a refill......i understand plastic cups at the pool for safety reasons but just giving beer out in pints (UK customers!) would have reduced the bar queues alone. lots od us chose to keep nipping back to the restaurant for self service top ups, but this closed at 10 and there after it was chaos in the bar.

The bar itself was just a big empty room. i appreciate that in summer most people are outside, but for a busy hotel in November there were not enough chairs and the sound bounced of the bare walls and floors like the noise at a kids swimming gala.

The next day arrived and we had a very pleasant day by the pool. The sun was out and the service at the pool bar was fine. The indoor pool and gym were open (the indoor pool was more of a spa than any use for swimming) but it was lovely and warm.

However by the evening after dinner there was a bit of trouble. If anything the bar was busier than the night before and yet only one person was trying to serve lots of people. There was no queuing system just a swarm of people around a horeshoe shaped bar...the poor guy was working his socks off whilst angry people waited for 20 minutes or more to order a ittle plastic cup of drink. just when you thought it couldnt get any worse..it did. The bar ran out of beer and vodka, then rose wine. A crowd of not very happy people gathered at reception but polite though they were they were powerless to do anything. People asked that the restaurant be reopened so they could serve themselves but apparently it was locked and no one had a key. A meeting was arranged with the manager" for 10 the next morning.

As we headed off for bed i noticed that the restaurant staff were heading off for the night..through the "locked with no key door".

By the next morning there was no beer at the pool bar either. i asked a few people if the meeting with the manager has gone ahead, but apparently he had been delayed and it would take place at 1.00.

Oh and i have neglected to mention that up until this point there had also been no entertanment of any kind (well other than the angry holidaymaker show) and that the advertised kids club was non existant.

So then what.... well things began to pick up. a beer delivery was arranged and some entertainment as well (3 shows over the reamining 8 nights..no compare or animation team, but a flamenco show, an abba duo and a ballet type show) AND an extra person was put behind the bar. Oh yes.. and drinks were served in glasses in the bar. So obvioulsy management had acted on complaints.

The food remained a bit hit and miss but at least the service was there, and a kids club was opened for a few days i am led to believe

On the last night rumours spread that the hotel was kicking everyone out at check out time (11.30 sunday) even those that were not due to fly home until the evening but i am happy to say that this was not true and we were able to eat and drink until we left for the airport at 3.00 PM.

So what can i say in summary?

This is potentially a good hotel. Its qualities are the rooms, the staff, the pool and spa. However if it wishes to target the British All Inclusive market it needs to learn the lessons of this week ...and in just one day it appeared to have learnt many:

-Dont keep people waiting for service
-Improve the evening meal
-if you advertise entertainment and kids club then make sure they are there
-Dont run out of the things (like beer) that people have paid for in advance
-kids like ice cream
-grown ups like drinks in proper glasses (and the option to have a beer in a pint/half litre).
-UK sport on a tv (if only one in the bar)
-Make the inside bar a little more warm and friendly and less "barn like" (put pool tables down the end away from the bar and seating where the current pool table is..and put the tv on the wall at this end as well)

If these lessons are learned i would be interested in going back. Thanks to those staff who did work very hard given the circumstances the management put them in

Room Tip: Ground floor handy if you like quick acces to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I don't really know what some people expect! Just got back from from 7 nights, I thought the food was nice the rooms extremely clean, reception staff were always polite and freindly. The only thing you could pick fault at was the bar but that's it. All I encountered during my stay was whinging Brits, as for the lack of entertainment I don't see why that's a bad thing as 99 times out of 100 it's awful. A holiday is what you make of it... I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed weekend 4th november , when booked told there is entertainment turned out no entertainment what so ever even though advertised on the website the rooms are tidy cleaned everyday , food absolutely discusting , bar staff are friendly but wouldn't help to smile as its the end of the season nothings open what so ever been told on the last day the hotel closes at 11:30 so everyone is getting kicked out yet our flight is at 10pm ??? What are we meant to do ??? I definately wouldn't recomend staying here its the worst holiday I have ever been on will never come back to this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Public Relations Manager at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback we receive as it allows us to improve the experience for future guests

I sincerely apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and have experienced these issues.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and I apologise about the issues you experienced. I hope that you will treat this as a one off occurrence and not what you can expect from ibersol.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club

Address: C/ Voranova 6 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibersol Son Caliu Mar & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.