We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel and relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis to your Saves list
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good hotel and relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October/start of November, booking a late deal to Majorca. On arrival we were a little concerned as the hotel looked from the street a little tired and in need of a face lift.

It's a different story inside the hotel thankfully, with all the public areas within the hotel very well presented, it's one of the cleanest and well maintained hotels I have stayed in.

We came at the end of season the week before the hotel was due to close, and as such it was very quiet, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a superior double (room 564) this room had by the looks of it been recently refurbished and was really comfortable and immaculately clean with a good view from the 5th floor balcony.

The breakfast was reasonable and we also had lunch a couple of times in the hotel which on both occasions it was decent enough.

The hotel is situated 5-10 mins from the main Palma Nova beach/promenade, there was quite a few good places to eat but the closer you get towards Magaluf the tackier it gets, wasn't overly impressed with Palma Nova as a resort, but it's only 15 mins from Palma which is a great city.

The pool area was really nice although quite small for the size of the hotel which I would imagine could be a problem to get a sun-lounger in height of the season, that said there is a private beach with further sun-loungers at the rear, with a jetty and ladders into the sea. We enjoyed having a drink in the Bamboo Bar which is a British run bar which is tucked away in the corner of the private beach, cracking cocktails.

The spa and indoor pool is nice and handy as we had one day which was a wash out with thunderstorms, although the treatments were overpriced.

All in all nice stay.

Room Tip: We where room 564 on the 5th floor which is refurbished, and also had a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    180
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
84
197
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice hotel, good spa, (if you like walking through reception in a gown) good breakfast. No tea/coffee in room. Overall pretty good. Lovely little beach, and outdoor pool. A few little bars and restaurants nearby but somewhat tacky. Puerto Portal nearby, and that's a big WOW!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tim M,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your opinion about our hotel, it is very important for us as it help us to improve every day.
We would like to clarify that we close on low season because we take the chance to refurbish our rooms in order to improve the facilities we provide to our guests.
We hope that we have managed to solve your doubt and to get the opportunity to welcome you again at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis!

Kind regards,
Andreea Filote,E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of October til nov 1st arrived back today. Well what can I say, good hotel, excellent staff, we took my dad and when we arrived they placed him in another part of the hotel, we went back to reception and asked for him to be moved, no hassles moved him right next door to us beside the pool... Our daughter who is 4 used the kids club everyday which was run by two great women Olivia and veroniwka... Done great job keeping the kids entertained everyday and worked very hard, give them girls a pay rise!! There worth there weight in gold. Now the one small niggle... Food was excellent plenty of choice and well prepared only problem was at evening meal it got very busy, now we went in October so the evenings were a bit chilly so people moved inside earlier so it got really busy and people were queuing out the door. When you have children this starts to get stressful for everyone... Suggestions would be for the first hour let families with young children eat first.
The pool was cold but it was October so no complaint there really. All in all it's a good hotel, room good, food was good and staff excellent, no major complaints, well worth the money ,would recommend this hotel to my friends but would warn them ' be prepared to eat out in the evening'!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Seannoi,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and our staff. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed a nice days in our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. We hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly, will be a pleasure for us to offer you a competitive rate for your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Andreea Filote, E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rude staff on arrival, room was not ready and was given not before 14 hours, unhelpful and with had maners. We were given a small room for three of us, had to jump to reach the balcony. Food not warm enought..We could not sleep any night ,allways disturb by groups of drunkers banging doors at late hours. This was anything else than a relaxing holiday. This is not a four stars hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Andrew F,

Thank you for publishing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that the stay in our hotel has not solved your expectations. We always work really hard to deliver the best service to our guests, and we appreciate of feedback that allows us to become better.
Since your stay, we have looked into fixing this inconvenience and we would love to have the chance to show you our improvements. Please contact us directly, and we´ll do our best to make you enjoy a wonderful holidays.

Kind regards,
Andreea Filote,E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a cheap 3 day break and as they say you get what you pay for. Whilst there was plenty of food choice the quality and presentation was poor. Staff ,both at reception and in the restaurant, were very unhelpful and looked miserable. The beds were very hard, 4 adults to our room, and two of us slept on the sofa bed which was very uncomfortable. Better suited for children maybe.However the hotel's location was ideal being only 10 minutes walk from the lovely beach and bars and restaurants. Having said that it was my daughter's hen doo and despite the irritations we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Palma Nova and would recommend the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Veronica ,

We would like to thank you for taking time and sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays and we feel sorry for the impression our staff caused to you.Your opinion is very important for us to make us improve our service quality and we assure you that we will sort out the problem. Please do not hesitate to contact with us to get the best available rate.
Kind regards,

Andreea Filote, E-commerce Hotel Son Caliu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire,scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Once you have found this Oasis In The Sun you will be spoiled for any other hotel. Rooms beautiful, food glorious and staff clearly like working there as they all have smiles on offer to all guests at all times. Nothing is too much bother. Entertainment really good, very original. When you walk into the entrance of the hotel you take yourself into another world and realize you deserved this type of treatment all of your life. The spa is out of this world and ladies you will enjoy the luxury on offer - gents too of course. Plenty of books in the library if you forget to take one with you. The beach is amazing, so private. Mercado supermarket 2minutes away as is restaurants and check the ones in the streets around you. Buses great and regular. Felt really safe and relaxed. I do hope after this review that there will be spare rooms for my husband and i to stay again as we intend to be regular guests from now on. Agnes and Andy Steven (Scotland).

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor and beautiful with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Agness 677,

First of all we would like to thank you for such an important words concerning you stay in our hotel.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed with us and the surroundings had suprised you.We would like to let you know that you can always contact with us in order to get the best rate and offer depending on the season.
We hope to see you back soon!

Andreea Filote
E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can't believe how cheap this holiday was through travel republic £528. For 4 nights including flights and transport and breakfast the hotel is very relaxing great location on a little cove of a beach 3 bars with food being served hotel is nice but is in need of a retouch here and there but it is coming to the end of the season the rooms are o.k beds are hard so asked at reception and they gave us mattress tops up which made the beds a bit more comfy.staff very helpfully would defo go back to this hotel great value for money only had breakfast so can't comment on food or entertainment location is perfect had a lovely couples massage in spa great
found a great place to eat in palmanover called port a cal food georgous, went to porta portels for food the restaurante was called the ritz was ok but have had much nicer food ,the staff don't go out of there way for you and look miserable as though there doing you a favour .but the harbour is good to see

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear DeniseLiverpool,

We would like to thank you for your post in Tripadvisor concerning your wonderful stay in our hotel.
It has been a pleasure knowing that you were totally satisfied with our facilities. We hope next time you will decide to repeat your experience with us. Our team will be delighted to solve any kind of doubt you have.
We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Andreea Filote
E-commerce Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.