We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Save Saved
You added Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
newcastle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great holiday apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the apartments at Son Caliu. This was our second stay here as we first visited Son Caliu 8 years ago. The apartments have a lovely sea front balcony with table and chairs, a dining area and small kitchen. The bedroom is large with plenty of wardrobe space. The apartments are very clean and there was maid service everyday and fresh towels. When staying at the apartments you are able to use all of the facilities of the hotel. The hotel itself is a 2 minuite walk from the apartments, all areas are beautifully well kept. The spa area is fabulous, there are various saunas and steam rooms and a lovely heated pool with water jet features and a jacuzzi area. The gardens at the back of the hotel are quiet and ideal for sunbathing. There is a small beach area outside the hotel which was currently undergoing work to make a new jetty. This was a bit noisy at times but im sure it will be finished in the next few weeks. If staying in the apartments there is a large Mercadona supermarket across the main road which sells delicious hot food such as paella and meatballs, ideal for picnics on the beach!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Son Caliu and only wish we had booked for longer. The weather was lovely and warm and there are walks along to Palma Nova and also Portals nous where there is a lovely harbour area. We are already planning to go back next April. I would certainly recommend a stay at Son Caliu.

Room Tip: choose a first or second floor apartment for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to write your opinion about your stay at Son Caliu and thank you for you kind comment about us. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. We are sorry if at the beach was a bit noisy some times, it was because the new project of our beach is under construction however this next week will be finished.
We hope to see you soon again at Son Caliu Hotel and don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    168
    46
    27
    11
See reviews for
78
181
26
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights and enjoyed everything about this hotel. It's a short walk from the bus stop, the staff was very attentive and helpful. My room was quite and had a view of the ocean from the balcony and the bed was fairly comfortable. The hotel was very clean, the beach and pool area was small, but nice and we had no problem finding beach chairs for the day. I didn't have any issues with the wi-fi that other guests have mentioned. The included breakfast was very good with many of options and outdoor seating. There are many restaurants and bars within a 5-10 minute walk.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear customer,

Many thanks for taking your time to write an opinion about your stay in Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis. We are very greatful for your good review.
It's a pleasure for us to hear that you had a nice (but short) stay in our hotel, we hope to welcome you back again and don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit, we will offer you our best available rate.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a long weekend at this hotel.
Weather was fab and it was close to three big sandy beaches. Plenty of bars and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk.
Hotel staff- extremely helpful!!
Hotel spa- plenty of spa rooms for free use.
Pool- outside pool was a bit cold so we didn't go in, but the indoor one was lovely and warm!
Hotel bedroom- old fashioned furniture, although bathroom was adequate. Thankfully it was very clean!
For the money we payed, this hotel is slightly overpriced for the look of it. If it is all being updated then I think it will be worth the money.
There is no jetty on the beach.. They must've knocked it down to rebuild it as workmen were on the beach when we were there.
Private beach area is very picturesque and relaxing with a couple of bar/restaurants attached.
Would we stay again? Possibly if it was seriously updated!
Overall a nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Many thanks for spending a few minutes of your time to give your opinion about your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your kind comment about our staff.
We are sorry to hear that you found the hotel a bit outdated, we will let it know to the management.

Please, don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit, we will give you our best available rate.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I will try not to repeat points in the Reviews immediately before this one.
So here are my additional points:

The standard of cleaning in this hotel is Excellent everything shines. There are several cleaners who do a superb job. And in a hotel cleanliness is very important. Well done!

The hotel I feel is suited to the older leisure traveller and indeed during my stay they formed the majority of the guests. There were no children of any age, however it was not school holidays. The very small private beach might be attractive to children up to and in their early years of schooling, older children would find it too small other than for sunbathing.

For business users there is sporadic wifi, in many areas it is weak even in my room. A connection is not easy to maintain moving around and I found I needed to login freshly each day when returning. The newly refurbished rooms look fashionable and on trend of modern hotels however i felt they were less suitable for business travellers for a few reasons- my room had a long shelf as a desk. There is a chair but no table light. The shelf is not really adequate as a desk since it is not deep enough. The bed in my room seemed new but consequently I felt it was quite hard. The worst feature, which might have related only to my room was the air conditioning, which seemed to have little effect even on coldest setting. I simply left the window open to cool the room instead. This might be a problem for a user of that room later in the year.
There was plenty of on street parking in the surrounding area when I went, but that was early April and not full season.
The food was great on the Gals dinner night but lacking on the other nights. The Full English breakfast was confined to the sausage bacon and eggs I could not see the other items one might expect to be included (fried or grilled Tomato mushrooms hash browns). Apart from that there was a large selection of bread cereal juice etc.
Drinks are not cheap in the hotel a 200ml of coke is about Euro 3.00 very close to beer prices. There's no tea and coffee facility in the rooms which the Brits seem to like!

I would return to the hotel but not with children and not if I had work in the evenings.

If you are a retired or keen golfer then this would definitely be a great choice of hotel which I doubt would disappoint. For others I am sure there might be hotels that fit better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for giving us your opinion about your stay with us at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, it is very important for us.
We are very sorry to hear that some of your expectations were not met with your stay with us.
In any case, once again thank you for your comments, we will still striving to achieve improved in the future.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel, very well situated in a semi-residential area just 5 minutes walk from the beach and restaurants of Palma Nova. It is very well communicated with the whole island by car and a wonderful solution when you come with a family, a dog and a car.
The staff is very friendly - with the children, the dog and the adults - and helpful.
The installations are very nice (traditional luxurious hotel of the 60's with lots of open spaces with couches to relax, read or talk and marble everywhere).
Wonderful pools (indoor and outdoor), spa and possibility to attend fitness classes for free just across the street.
Very nice breakfast buffet (stops a little early though - at 10).
Our only regrets are the food at dinner (the hotel offers gala or gourmet dinners every night but the food is disappointing) and the music ... the hotel offers live music every night (a very nice idea) but the groups are old-fashion and not very entertaining. Some more dynamic groups - even for traditional music and for early rock and roll and soul music - would make a major difference.
The free wifi is of course very welcome - a must when you are travelling in order to organise your trips, especially with children who need a break on the internet after a day of walking or sight-seeing.
Overall, highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel to spend your family holidays.
Thank you too for your kind comment about our staff.
We are sad to know that you were not glad with the dinner buffet and we will strive to improve in the future.

Once again, thank you for trusting us and don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit we will offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was built in the 60's and sadly the lo9w construction standards of that time are still an issue, so expect cramped rooms, lots of noise transmission and poor heating/cooling systems despite a refit. On the positive side the staff are friendly, it's in a nice piosition and the spa/gym/pool facilities are good.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sad to know that you did not like our rooms, and I want to apologise if you had some problems with the heating/cooling.
I would like to inform you that at the end of every season we make updates at all the Hotel. For example, for this season we have a new restaurant and 2 floors of rooms updated.
Please don't hesitate to contact directly with us, will be a pleasure for us to have the chance to offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for a week in a 1 bedroom self catering apartment no.2003,3rd floor,wonderful sea view,sunny balcony and view overlooking Son Caliu's small sandy beach/cove. There was maid service every day,the apartment was very clean and comfortable.These apartments are not in the main hotel block but in a seperate block approx 2 min walk from the main hotel building. We paid extra for bed and breakfast and we were so glad that we did because the buffet breakfast was superb,This really is a wonderful hotel in the quiet,charming small village/resort of Son Caliu. We have stayed in Son Caliu many times previously but this was our first stay at the Son Caliu Spa Hotel and we can highly recommend it. The self catring apartments were fantastic. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Apartments have wonderful sea view and sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking time to leave your opinion about us.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you soon again, do not hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.