We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, pleasant and friendly hotel in a calm location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis to your Saves list
Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice, pleasant and friendly hotel in a calm location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel, very well situated in a semi-residential area just 5 minutes walk from the beach and restaurants of Palma Nova. It is very well communicated with the whole island by car and a wonderful solution when you come with a family, a dog and a car.
The staff is very friendly - with the children, the dog and the adults - and helpful.
The installations are very nice (traditional luxurious hotel of the 60's with lots of open spaces with couches to relax, read or talk and marble everywhere).
Wonderful pools (indoor and outdoor), spa and possibility to attend fitness classes for free just across the street.
Very nice breakfast buffet (stops a little early though - at 10).
Our only regrets are the food at dinner (the hotel offers gala or gourmet dinners every night but the food is disappointing) and the music ... the hotel offers live music every night (a very nice idea) but the groups are old-fashion and not very entertaining. Some more dynamic groups - even for traditional music and for early rock and roll and soul music - would make a major difference.
The free wifi is of course very welcome - a must when you are travelling in order to organise your trips, especially with children who need a break on the internet after a day of walking or sight-seeing.
Overall, highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel to spend your family holidays.
Thank you too for your kind comment about our staff.
We are sad to know that you were not glad with the dinner buffet and we will strive to improve in the future.

Once again, thank you for trusting us and don't hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit we will offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was built in the 60's and sadly the lo9w construction standards of that time are still an issue, so expect cramped rooms, lots of noise transmission and poor heating/cooling systems despite a refit. On the positive side the staff are friendly, it's in a nice piosition and the spa/gym/pool facilities are good.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sad to know that you did not like our rooms, and I want to apologise if you had some problems with the heating/cooling.
I would like to inform you that at the end of every season we make updates at all the Hotel. For example, for this season we have a new restaurant and 2 floors of rooms updated.
Please don't hesitate to contact directly with us, will be a pleasure for us to have the chance to offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for a week in a 1 bedroom self catering apartment no.2003,3rd floor,wonderful sea view,sunny balcony and view overlooking Son Caliu's small sandy beach/cove. There was maid service every day,the apartment was very clean and comfortable.These apartments are not in the main hotel block but in a seperate block approx 2 min walk from the main hotel building. We paid extra for bed and breakfast and we were so glad that we did because the buffet breakfast was superb,This really is a wonderful hotel in the quiet,charming small village/resort of Son Caliu. We have stayed in Son Caliu many times previously but this was our first stay at the Son Caliu Spa Hotel and we can highly recommend it. The self catring apartments were fantastic. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Apartments have wonderful sea view and sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking time to leave your opinion about us.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you soon again, do not hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have just returned home from a 5 night stay in this hotel, just wish now I had booked to stay longer. Our room (561) was beautiful, clean and very comfortable, and had lovely views of the garden and sea. There is a small fault with the newly fitted showers but the hotel seems to be sorting this out, and it by no means caused us a problem.

The staff especially Juan in the bar and all of the restaurant waiters were lovely, I cannot praise them enough. The standard of food in the hotel restaurant is the best of any hotels we have stayed in in Mallorca and served to your table which we like - much nicer than the 'push and shove' of buffets.

The public areas of the hotel are spotless and the free wifi throughout the hotel was an added bonus for us. We used the spa facilities most days, again beautifully maintained and friendly staff.

We celebrated my husbands birthday during our stay, and it was a total surprise when a birthday cake, card and champagne arrived at our dinner table that night as a gift from the management - thank you so much, it made his day!

In short, we will definately return, thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room we stayed in, on the East side of the hotel, but we were friendly wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank strawbs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel.
I want to apologise to you for the inconvenience that you had with the shower.
Thank you very much for your kind comment about our staff.
We hope to see you soon again. Don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit, we will do our best to offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Despite our apartment not being in the main part of the hotel, it was clean and bright with a lovely sea view. The hotel was beautifully clean and well furnished with a great indoor spa area. We found the breakfast plentiful with a wide choice of hot and cold food, even champagne on ice every morning. The staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. The hotel is a little distance away from the main resort of Palma Nova but buses were regular and taxis plentiful. We will definitely be coming back, maybe later in the year when the sun is a bit hotter. Great for a short, relaxing break.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a nice view but basic accommodation choose an apartment. Although they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis to spend your holidays.
We are delighted to know that you are glad with the hotel facilities and with the food.
I want to thank you for your kind comment about our staff.
Please, if you are coming back do not hesitate to contact directly with us or to check our web site.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

i booked an apatment at the hotel on arrival was told that it was (100) mts up the road ,Was given the key and left to find on my own with young son in the dark. The apartment was ok with sea view you can use the hotel but it not close.

Room Tip: Book hotel not apatments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

First I want to thank you for the time that you have spent to give us your opinion.
I am sorry you did not like that the apartments are located 100 meters next to the hotel.
If you are coming to visit us again don't hesitate to contact with us directly and I am sure that we could offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for three nights for a wedding in October so I can't really judge this as a summer holiday resort.

Overall the staff were friendly and breakfast was nice enough. The hotel is clean but rooms and lounges are dated and not inviting to spend time in.

The internet is not very good and only available wifi is by the hotel reception.

In short, no complaints but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaniv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for writing your opinion about us and thank you for your kind comment about our staff.
I am sad to know that you did not like the style of our lounges.
I want to apologize to you if the WiFi connection was not working very well, usually you can get WiFi connection all around the hotel including the rooms.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.1 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
#25 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing