We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis to your Saves list
Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southport, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I travelled here with a friend for a chill out spa weekend. We were allowed to check in as soon as we arrived c. 10am which was lovely to freshen up after leaving the house at 3am!
Staff were exceptionally friendly.
Food was absolutely delicious, far the best hotel food I've had with a really vast choice.
Bedroom location was the only slight negative, it was on the second floor with the balacony shaded by a large tree with a view of the bottle bank (which was also very noisy). I had requested higher up rooms but I believe these are superior ones and we'd only paid for standard. However, I must stress bedrooms were very clean and perfectly adequate for our length of stay.
Private beach, really lovely.
Spa was a welcome haven when the rain came! Spent a lovely afternoon having a massage and using the excellent spa facilities. We were two friends travelling for peace and quiet but close enough to lively Palma should we have wanted a more crowded area - we didn't! The cocktail bar on the corner by the hotel makes the best mojitos which was where our 3 evenings were spent!
Hotel let us have a late check out which was so much appreciated, really helped us enjoy our last day.
If you want peace and quiet, quality food and a quality hotel I would look no further! Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Steer away from 2nd floor at the back, noisy and without a view. Probably worth paying extra for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to write your opinion about our hotel and we are grateful for your kind comments about our hotel, staff and our facilities.
I am disappointed to know that you were not glad with your room location. We will be delighted to see you soon again and please, do not hesitate to contact directly with us and we will do our best in order to achieve your complete satisfaction.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    184
    52
    27
    14
See reviews for
85
205
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I went to this hotel as I was with friends on a golfing holiday who had been there before. I found it very well appointed with a decent bedroom, bath and shower. I will agree that the shower needed precise adjustment, but it was first class. Due to a mix up with our golf clubs (nothing to do with the hotel) our first day was spent mainly in the garden bar where the lovely Clara plied us with drinks and smiles until we moved on. The following day I swam in the pool and made my way to the pleasant inlet which forms the private beach. The sea was too rough to swim in but I'm sure when it is less ferocious it would be very nice. I did not use the Spa facilities but I've no doubt if they were to the same quality as the rest of the hotel then it would be great. One thing I did notice; there appeared to be good disabled facilities, and as my wife does have some disability I think the hotel would be fine for her. In fact I told her as soon as I arrived home that we should visit a.s.a.p. Perhaps we will some other time as she does not like coming back to cold weather. As an older person I appreciated the quiet surroundings and thought this an ideal hotel for families too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to leave us your opinion about our hotel.
Since your comment, we have checked the shower and we have fixed it.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and that you are satisfied with our staff. As you say on your comment, we have got disabled facilities.
We would be delighted to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just got back from my trip and I must say that I would recommend this hotel to other people. The hotel rooms are a bit dated and 80's looking but it's a great private location with direct acces to your own private cove. It also has free wifi and free access to the spa amenities. The staff is very helpful and nice. I definitely recommend u rent a car so you can explore the rest of the island.
If you like to enjoy nice meals, I recommend you go to the port area where all the very nice yatchs are located..look for "Diablito".

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel an our staff. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice spa and pool.Food at breakfast was good lots of choice.We had a good time here as we were a party of 20 and the bar staff were very freindly.It was nice having our own beach. Provision of beach towels was good just a shame we didn't know beforehand as we wasted suitcase space with them!A popular golfing hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with youngsters as it is walking distance to the nihgtlife in Magaluf.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel facing the hills which meant we had the sun all afternoon. Our frei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your opinion about our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.
It is a real pleasure to hear that you appreciate our hotel and our staff. We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us for your next visit, we will do our best to offer you a competitive rate.

Kind regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room we stayed in was very shabby the shower did not know wether it was scalding hot or cold the fridge didn't work continuously and had to be reported three times the food was just ok not exactly four star quality finally there was no interaction with the restaurant staff at best they were arrogant and not friendly at all

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your opinion. We are very sorry to hear that you had some problems with shower and with the fridge. I would like to tell you we have taken good note of your opinion and we hope to be able to improve in the future.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Son Caliu with a friend for 3 nights, with the intention of getting very drunk on a night and relaxing in a nice hotel during the day. So we thought we'd be as well paying a bit more for a nice hotel that was away from all the noise of Palma Nova and Magaluf. All good in this respect. We had a great time in the bars and clubs of Magaluf on a night after a 20-30 min walk there (taxi back though!) and could relax around a lovely pool during the day.

Plus points:
Great pool area
Quiet location (no bars pumping music out, so you could sleep)
Really close to Palma airport
Very relaxed atmosphere
Great outside dining area/pool bar

Negatives/things that could be improved:
Check in; Not told when or where breakfast was served. Not told about safe in room etc etc, just given key and pointed to the lifts

Breakfast: It took us 10 mins to figure out how to use the stupid coffee machines in the restaurant. Cheap frozen sausages, horrible 'bacon'

Rooms: Our room was very dated and in need of refurbishment ASAP. There is no way that it could be classed as a 4* with the quality of the rooms (thankfully the pool area is worthy of the 4* rating, so you quickly forget how tired the rooms are)

Attitude of some staff: You always get good and bad staff in hotels. In this hotel I seemed to only deal with the staff who didn't know how to smile and had never heard of customer service. For example I ordered a club sandwich at the outside bar, after 20 mins the club sandwich arrived and it looked great.... apart from the long hair hanging out. I alerted a member of staff who just looked at me blank. 2 mins later the same sandwich minus the hair came back to me, so I explained I wanted to change my order and just go for the salad buffet. The guy never actually said a word to me in the whole process, just walked off with the sandwich. A better member of staff came over with a plate for the salad bar and was much friendlier, but I've still not had an apology and had a bill for around 16 euros for 2 cokes and a salad. The good news is that the salad was fantastic

The hotel generally attracts middle aged German couples and the entertainment is very much geared to that age range. I wouldn't suggest this hotel is suitable for young couples or families.

In terms of value for money I do not think the hotel offers value for money, for the price we paid and the star rating I would have expected much more for my money. I

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to share your opinion about our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel up to standards in a few aspects, we will let it know to the management. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed pool and our location.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly, we would be very glad if you give us another chance.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

we stayed in this hotel 10th to 17th september,and wanted it to be a relaxing break,it is a lovely hotel with great spa facilities,a pivate garden at the back and pool area and lawns with plenty of loungers at the side of the hotel,also a small beach if you didnt want to be round the pool.The food was good quality and plenty of choice,the Gala dinner was lovely with cocktails before.Champagne at breakfast was a great touch too,nothing was too much trouble for staff,they were friendly,courtious and very helpful with any information you needed to know.The short walk through the private gate at the back of the hotel took you straight into Palmanova and Magaluff,which was great at night as you could have all the excitment you needed and then went back to a very quiet hotel(bliss).Not long after we had arrivd a man came to put the bathplug back on the chain(we hadn't even noticed it) and to put new batteries in the remote but had to get us a new one anyway(which we hadn't noticed that either,but then we never had the tv on while we were there)couldn't fault this hotel or staff at all,we had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments about the hotel and our staff. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay in our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. We would be very glad to see you again, do not hesitate to contact directly with us for your next visit to the island.

Best regards,
Son Caliu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Caliu Hotel & Spa Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.