We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel which could be excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis to your Saves list
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Scotland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A very good hotel which could be excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A beautiful hotel situated in a quiet area of Palma Nova known, not surprisingly, as Son Caliu. We were in the new part of the hotel and the room is beautifully furnished with a lovely ensuite which has a very good shower in the bath. the only issue we had with the room was the beds, 2 singles pushed together, which have foam mattresses and were rather hot and hard. The in room controlled aircon is quiet and efficient. The room had a safe. It cost €15 for the week plus a €5 key deposit. It also had a fridge which was a mini bar chock full of overpriced drinks.
The food is generally good. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice of fruits, cereals, cooked items and pastries. There is also a wide range of teas and coffees. If on half board you can have lunch or dinner which are basically the same, a buffet to start and a second course from a menu delivered to the table then back to he buffet for the sweet. We found that we never needed the second course as the buffet was more than ample. The meat, which is cooked in front of you to order, can be underdone if you do not keep an eye on it. Drinks are not included with lunch or dinner and have to be paid for as extras. The cheapest bottle of wine is €17 but you can get half a litre of sangria for €8.50 which is very nice.
There is a small beach outside the hotel grounds which is mainly used by the hotel guests but is also accessible to the public. There are 2 reasonable restaurants by the beach, 1 Spanish and 1 English. There is a concrete apron between the beach and the sea. There is a useful new pontoon out from the sea wall with a ladder down into the sea to a depth of about chest height. The sea bed is rocky for the first 50 yards or so out from the pontoon then there is a large patch with a sandy bottom with plenty of depth for comfortable swimming. The beach area is rather small for the size of the hotel, especially since it was extended, and shade is hard to find. You will have no problems if you like to lie in the sun all day. The sun beds on the beach, unlike those in the grounds, are non adjustable. The hotel gardens are beautiful and the pool is adequate in both size and depth with a chair lift into the pool for disabled guests. The gym is well equipped and never crowded. We cannot comment on the Spa as we did not use it. All in all a good hotel which could be excellent with a few minor improvements.

Room Tip: If you want he balcony to be shaded in the afternoon ask for a room on the front of the hotel with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    180
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
84
197
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Met with family and friends from UK and Australia for a week in May. What a lovely place. Loved the fact that the hotel retained the tradition of Spain, was away from the crowds yet close enough to walk to shops and restaurants and what a position!!!! The most beautiful terrace and pool area with a lovely little private beach, away from it all. The breakfast offered a huge choice with the added touch of having a chef cook to order within the buffet. The bar stayed open late for us which we really appreciated! The spa was really relaxing, Full marks, will visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Family holiday consisting of 4 adults, hotel had kindly put us at the end of a wing with adjoining rooms, fabulous rooms they we too. Linen changed daily. Rooms cleaned daily. Hotel very plush with marble in hallways and reception areas and carpet throughout the rest, even in our rooms. Breakfast cooked (if you prefer cooked) fresh whilst you wait, extremely quick. Bucks fizz of champagne with every breakfast if you wish. Plenty of fresh fruit, quasants, yogurt, milk (of all kinds), toast, variety of breads, absolutely perfect for all tastes. Wedensady night was a free invite to cocktails with the management. We are already looking to return, it was fantastic.nthose people who complain on Trip advisor are born that way. The ratings alone speak volumes. Don't miss the opportunity.

Room Tip: Families should seek adjoining rooms, this wa grate addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited for 7 nights in June and the hotel and staff were first class. Everything was spotless all week. Clean linen in the rooms every day. Amazing facilities, great outdoor pool next to a private beach area with pontoon. Tennis court, gym, spa, jacoozi and everything you need for a relaxing stress free holiday. Already seeking out our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has 4 stars but in Germany this would only be three. The staff is very friendly sind helpfull if you need them. The rooms are clean, the arrangemts are a bit older but do their job. The beds are ok but maybe a bit hard. TV is available and there are several channels in english, german and spanish. Bathroom is ok, but could have some retauration, some Files are broken.
Breakfast buffet ist good and you have a great choise of food and drinks. There's also prosecco available. The service in the restaurant ist great.
There is direct access to the mediterranean sea with a nice stay bridge which leads about 20 meters into the sea. There is a beach with sand but the water is separated from the land by concrete floor. About 500m from the hotel there is a real beach.
The pool is nice and not to small.

The Hotel is located about 10-15 minutes by Taxi from the center of Palma. A trip by Taxi is about 20 €.

If there is a good rate avaiable i would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I organised a return trip for our golf group of 12 people earlier in May 2012. Sometimes when taking a group back to the same venue there is the potential for disappointment but that was not the case. The Hotel organised almost everything and booked excellent tee times for our golf at discounted rates which always helps! The staff are all excellent apart from one "crusty" old chap in the restaurant who has clearly been there too long and doesn't like holidaymakers (possibly in the wrong job?!!) but he doesn't affect anything and is actually funny in a daft "Victor Meldrew" sort of way. The food is very good for the price with plenty of variety and there is a delightful terrace to eat alfresco breakfast and dinner.

The reception staff are first class and a special mention must go to Miguel Angel who coordinated everything for us and dealt with all the usual "chops and changes" we made with a smile and charm. I agree with other reviewers that some of the decor and fittings in some rooms need a makeover but it doesn't really affect the overall experience unless you are really fussy about those sorts of things. Our mini-bar fridge wasn't working properly when we arrived but it was replaced with a new one the very next day so that wasn't bad - my contribution was to consume the contents quickly to prevent it all warming up and to save them the problem of having to empty it!!!

The Hotel is really well located on a charming little cove which is reasonably private and yet it is s short stroll to the varied delights of Palma Nova or even Magaluf its that's your thing. All our group really enjoyed the stay and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 day travelzoo/broadway travel break. Excellent value for money, quiet location, amazing spa facilities. Plenty of sun beds around the pool, in the gardens and on the beach. Food in the restaurant was exceptionally good for the price we had paid. Rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment but I am sure this will be on the agenda when you look at the quality of updating carried out so far. Short taxi ride into Palma where we tried traditional tapas & paella in lovely restaurants. Would return on a similar package if ever I saw it advertised.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.