We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis to your Saves list
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you book for this hotel you won't be disappointed. We went stayed there on a three day break. As part of our package we received a bottle of champagne and a basket of fruit in our room. On the first evening there was a gala dinner which comprised of cocktails on the terrace and hors d'oeuvres, followed by a five course dinner in the main restaurant.... absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was buffet style, but the bacon and eggs were cooked freshly as you waited. The starter for the evening meal was also buffet style, with fresh chicken, salmon, beef and pork cooked as you requested it, with a wide salad range and a wide variety of other food items to choose from. The main course was chosen from the menu and brought to the table by the waiter. Desserts were buffet style and scrumptious.

The hotel staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. This is a spa hotel, but we didnt use the facilities. There is a small pool behind the terrace bar, which leads to a private beach. The view is beautiful.

There was entertainment on two of the nights we were there, a duo and a singer called Reuben....he was fantastic.

The bedrooms were nicely decorated, each had a hairdryer and a robe for your use. You need not take any beach towels to this hotel as they provide them by the pool.

The hotel is just a short walk into Palma Nova, which has some nice bars and is a lot quieter than Magalluf,

I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back again

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the spa garde, but there were rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    180
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
84
197
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just got home from a 3 nights half board package at this Hotel. Had read the other reviews and have to agree with everyone the rooms arent plush and are typically spanish with super hard beds but please dont let that put you off. The lobby areas, gardens are to a very high standard but the pool and particulary the private beach sold it for us, you feel a bit special as it's only the other hotel guests that can access the beach. The food was very good both at breakfast and at dinner the waiter service is a nice touch and also a set table in the evening. For lunch we went into Palma or ate at the restaurants on the beach one is spanish owned the other is english both serve alcohol and the english one allows you to take away food or drinks to your sun lounger. We didnt use the Spa as the weather was too good to be indoors but what we could see looked very impressive if a little expensive for a hot stone massage it was 78 euros. To walk to Palma nova it's a 10 minutes tops stroll out of the back entrance of the hotel you buzz to get out then use your room card to get back in. If your a curry lover we ate at Saffron in Palma Nova on our last night the smell was so amazing we couldnt resist and it was lovely. The Tropicana mini Golf in Palma nova is really good fun it's set in beautiful landscaped gardens with waterfalls right on the sea front. There is a decked area to relax and have a a drink after your round of 9 or 18 holes. If you like to mix with the glam rich take a trip to the Marina it's 6 euros in a taxi or a good 30 minute stroll. The bars and restaurants are expensive but it's worth going for a few drinks to look at the millon pound yachts and people watch. All in all a great chilled break and would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Like many of the others we've just returned from a fab 3 night stay at the Son Caliu courtesy of a great Travelzoo/Broadway Travel package.

The spa facilities were absolutely amazing and all included in the price of the hotel which was a fantastic deal. We were very lucky and had the spa rooms to ourselves most of the time.

We stayed half board and the food was very good with a lot of choice and drinks weren't too expensive either. One thing to note - men are expected to wear long trousers for dinner which we didnt know about beforehand, until we read the hotel literature in the room. There was also entertainment in the evenings which was quite "entertaining".

There are a lot of places to sunbathe, either by the pool, on the private beach or in the "secret garden" area next to the spa.

Rooms were basic as most others have said, but do the job. It was a bit noisy on the last morning with the cleaners moving the furniture around on the floor above - but guess it shows they do a thorough job! I did like the private balcony with our own deck chairs. We also had a complimentary bottle of cava and fruit bowl on our first evening which was a nice surprise!

The hotel offers free wifi in the lobby which was very handy but you could also get it in the rooms intermittently!

Hotel is in a great quiet location, but just a few minutes walk to the bustling Palma Nova beach, bars, shops and restaurants. There was a big supermarket just up the road which was very handy for stocking up on cheap drinks and snacks. Also frequent buses to take you to Palma which took only 30mins and less than 2 euros!

The hotel seems to cater mainly for older couples and groups of golfers and we did stand out as a young (ish) couple. There were also very few families when we were there and probably not much for children to do.

All in all a great short stay for couples!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just come back from a short break at this hotel. We got a great package off Travelzoo and it was worth every penny. The hotel is in a very quiet residential area which suited us but it was only about a 10 minute stroll to the centre of Palma Nova.
The sitting areas around the hotel are quite luxurious and comfortable. Everywhere is spotless. The Spa is lovely with a heated pool for when the weather is inclement, there is also a steam room and sauna. You also get a big fluffy bathrobe and slippers.
The rooms are spacious and clean with flat screen tv, lovely toiletries, mini bar and money safe. We also enjoyed a complimentary bottle of Cava and fruit bowl. I can understand recent reviews about the hardness of the beds but it wasn't a problem for us as we are used to a hard bed.
We stayed on half board and the food was a very good quality. The only downside was a cooked breakfast was cooked to order at a cooking station and we could see this being a problem when the hotel gets busy in the summer months.

All in all, this is a lovely hotel and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at the Hotel Son Caliu. We got this offer on Travel Zoo and it represents really good value. The hotel is impeccable, I agree that the rooms are a little dated and could do with modernising, but the rooms are very clean;mbeing a clean freak and allergic to dust this hotel passed my very high standards. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly - Miguel, in particular was very amenable. The hotel is situated in a quiet area just outside of Palma Nova so you escape the rabble and bustle of typical resort, but if you want the bars,
night life and shops then it is just a short bus ride away.
I loved the spa and swimming pool - amazing, and if you are a guest at the hotel then you can access two free exercise classes a week - just make enquiries at the Spa.
The food is very good as is the evening entertainment which I usally find can be a bit cheasy, but the entertainment provided was actuallly to my surprise enjoyable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel - brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from Son Caliu and overall I can't really say anything bad about the hotel. Wonderful facilities, fantastic food and welcoming staff. Like other reviewers I think the rooms could do with a bit of a make over but the rest of the hotel is lovely. I would definately return to Son Caliu and Majorca is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were disappointed with the standard of this hotel, and expected much more from a 4* with these nightly rates. The communal areas were nice, with the small beach cove being a good feature, and an impressive spa area.

The rooms however were small, basic, dated and very noisy. There was a small balcony overlooking a road, and the room had 2 uncomfortable single beds pushed together. The worst part was how thin the walls were though, I could hear every word of conversations in the adjacent rooms, and one night the tv next door was on until 6am which echoed around our room all night. Also it sounded like there was constantly being furniture moved around with a sound of scraping metal every few minutes.

The reception staff also were not what I would expect. Although they were pleasant in the main, they were not very helpful. One night we asked for an iron and were told it would be brought to the room. After waiting for half an hour we phoned reception and were told that there isn't an iron available. They could have phoned us back to let us know.

Unless you get a really good deal on the price, there are much better hotels for your money.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis

Address: Avenida Son Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.