We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Cafe

Zen Cafe
Son Matias Beach, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 114 Restaurants in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Barbecue, Spanish, English, Grill, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Zen Lounge Bar and Grill situated on Palma Nova Beach front, with panoramic sea views and Ibiza style decor. Chill out Lounge Bar by day with our new daytime menu and mouthwatering cocktails and at night our BBQ Grill where you can enjoy our Zen steaks, tantalising Tapas & more!
birmingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I opeted for 12.95 emnu - small but adequate Caesar salad with ham instead of anchovies. Nice steak and chips with coleslaw - ok size portion and beautifully cooked. Partner had lasagne which was a huge portion and again nice chips - his bill 9 euors. Good value, good service and an accurate bill great for a popular beachfront cafe.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    68
    25
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“eating out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

we have eaten here several times i think it is a bit pricey for what you get, i think the staff should be more on their toes as you can sometimes wait ages for a drink, i think maybe the management should look down the road ot Godfathers as their staff seem more switched on to the customer rather than walking around slowly with no interest job

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

5uring our stay in palma nova we decided to give zen cafe a try, due to it being number one on tripadvisor and walking past one evening we thought it looked lovely ....with fairy lights on the trees and a singer we thought we would go there on our last night as. A treat. Its a very popular and busy restaurant which was a good sign....however we were very dissapointed. The service was awful taking half an hour to get a jug of sangria and a following hour for our food. Yes it was busy .....but I didn't think the serice was up to much atall. We ordered between us two lots of chicken fajitas, a gorgonzola burger and chicken and chorizo. We thought when the food finally comes it will be worth it....but sadly it wasn't. It was very average, the meat seemed of low quality and the food was very bland. I really can not see how this hotel is best on trip advisor. Will not be going back there.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“All you could want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Loads of choice on the tapas menu. Great outdoor grill. Staff very friendly and good service all around. If your after a nice meal with decent atmosphere, good food and friendly service, I'd highly recommend a meal at Zen

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After reading reports prior to visiting Zen, I was very disappointed. The food and service was nothing special, though the view is good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Cafe also viewed

Palmanova, Calvia
Palmanova, Calvia
 

Been to Zen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.