We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant evening dining here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modigliani

Modigliani
Paseo del Mar 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 683279
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 114 Restaurants in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening dining here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My visit to Modigliani was above expectations, It genuinely is a proper restaurant.
The staff were all very professional, and the food was extremely good.
It tasted fresh, which was a great relief after days of eating food of a 'faster' nature.
I'd definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real restaurant compared to the other rubbish on the seafront.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great meat dishes. Rack of lamb or jager schnitzel are exellent but as other reviews say it is Italian for northern europeans.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“12 months on and service has improved, well slightly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant is popular with tourists and residents alike. I have reviewed this place before so won't go on too much, but in short, the main criticism was the the service than the food. Well 12months on and the while not perfect, it really has improved. The secret being get there before 8pm and avoid the crush and never ending wait.

The menu is wide and varied, with very good specials and an excellent pizza menu. We sat outside, mainly because it's just great for people watching and the added bonus of the great mallorcan parking challenge. Perhaps it's too much sun but why oh why does male drivers in a saloon think they can get in a space that a bike couldn't squeeze in? Don't get me wrong if you are one of those and reading this please carry on doing it. It makes great watching and conversation.

The other side of al fresco dining here is that passers by get a close up of what you are eating. I opened for Pizza Helena. King Prawns and spinach on a tomato and garlic thin crust. It really is nice. One chap walked by and took one look at my plate and spun on his heels and asked for a table. Ten minutes later he was standing on my other shoulder accompanied with a waitress. "I want what he's having."

The menus is actually good value, whereas the wine list is a tad on the expensive side, making it overall OK value.

The owners still haven't quite got the service quite right, confirmed by the half hour wait to pay the bill. Still worth a visit though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We ate in this restaurant recently and it was very good. There was a good selection and a nice atmosphere. We really enjoyed our tasty pizzas, my veggie pizza was delicious and very filling. The staff were friendly and spoke a number of languages. The bill was also a nice surprise, representing excellent value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An Italian for northern europeans, i think”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was simply OK. I can cook better pasta myself, and the signature great whole parmesan somehow looks a little dirty. The service isn't anything special, and the settng is alrig. Very average. Won't go back.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modigliani also viewed

 
Palmanova, Calvia
Palmanova, Calvia
 

Been to Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modigliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.