We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Nova Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Nova Apartments to your Saves list
Globales Nova Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avda. Cas Saboners 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great location with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just returned from Apartments Nova having stayed in a Studio for a week with my wife . Apartments are very well situated with a 2 minute walk to the beach at Son Matias . Bulk of units of accommodation are apartments but there are some studios of which I occupied one .
Studio was on 4th Floor (427) which was at end of one block . Studio was furnished with twin beds , with one easy chair and kitchen area comprised a 2 ring hob , fridge , microwave , toaster and kettle with adequate cutley , pots and pans which I did not use as had breakfast at pool bar and ate out at local restqaurants each night .
Studio had TV with some UK channels (BBC1 BBC2 & Channel 5 & Sky News) , Bathroom had bath with shower (bath was a little narrow . Balcony with 3 chairs and table and had a sea view (at distance) .
There are 2 pools , one outside and one inside and an active pool bar which provides breakfasts from 10.00 am and other snacks . There is a happy hour between 4.00pm & 9.00pm (pool bar shuts at 6.00pm) with 2 for 1 on local beers and cocktails . Same happy hour also applies in main bar where evening entertainment is held , Internet facility is available on site for 1 euro for 12 minutes or 2 euros for 30 minutes . No problems getting a sunbed although poll is a little on small side for size of complex .Only problem with room was a "drone" seemingly as result of the air conditioning system which adversely affected night's sleep .
All staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay and the complex benefits from being only a 2 minute walk (from rear entrance) to the lovely Son Matias Beach . From there you can turn left towards Torrenova which is quite relaxed or , dare you turn right,you can be in Magaluf within 5 minutes . Personally this proved somewhat too boisterous for me but you at least have to get a feel for the place whilst being so close .
Best restaurant was "El Mecca" which was just across road outside rear of complex where staff very friendly and food of high quality . Very good "meal of day" which comprised three courses for 10.50 euros and included a half of beer or wine .
Overall a good time was had in a clean and friendly establishment and would recommend to anyone looking for a beach oriented holiday .

Room Tip: Would suggest a higher floor room but be careful with eaxct position as air conditioning system did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    62
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here as a couple aged 39 & 34 for a week from 20th August 2011. Only booked 6 weeks before we went, so were not sure what to expect.

We arrived at the hotel after 11am, but were told we could not get into our room until after 1.30pm. Good excuse for a drink while waiting in the Son Matias Beach Bar across the road looking out over the beach.
The Hotel has 2 entrances. The main one on Ave Cas Saboners is where the coach drops you off from the airport. It has a few steps down to the hotel entrance. the back entrance leads out by the swimming pool, and out onto Ave Son Matias which is the main road running behind the beach. Exit this way and the beach is less than 5mins walk away.
When we checked in we got room 304 which had a view of Ave Cas Saboners and the hills beyond Palma Nova. (We didn't pay extra for a sea view / pool view room)
The apartment was spotlessly clean and had usual bits in kitchen. Kettle, toaster 2 ring hob and a standard sized fridge. the bath is a bit narrow, but enough room to stand and have a shower. No hair-dryer in the room, but one can be rented although a bit expensive. Flat screen TV in room but only English channel was Disney.
The Air-conditioning certainly kept the room cool enough at night.
The Beds were comfortable enough. It has a good sized built in wardrobe with drawers and hangers that was more than adequate.
We didn't hear any noise at night from inside the hotel or from the street outside.
The reception staff all spoke good English. The night-time Staff were far more friendly and always had a good conversation with them. not so much during the days.
I hate to admit it, but we never even bought a drink in the hotel or swam in the pool. The beach was just to convenient and we went there every day.
from what we seen of the hotel, it was very family friendly. Activities for kids during the day around the pool. Night-time activities seemed to be held indoors in a large dining room / bar. Always full of families and kids at night with different acts etc.
Sunbeds around the pool were reserved 1st thing every day with towels despite signs prohibiting it. There is also a pool bar serving snacks and drinks with happy hours.

The hotel seems to be in the best part of Palma Nova. loads of nice restaurants right outside the door by the beach. Viceroys steak-house and pizzeria had some of the best steaks we've ever eaten! Carmencita's is a great spot for breakfast / lunch / or a few frostie pints. Run by Bev, it's on Ave Son Matias on the beach side of the hotel.
Plenty of supermarkets nearby, but prices drop the further you go from the beach.

Son Matias Beach is really clean and has plenty of sunbeds (most days). There are also 2 more beaches as you work your way up through Palma Nova. Or Magaluf beach is only 10mins walk in the other direction.

Palma Nova seems to be much quieter than Magaluf, but if you fancy a bit of a livelier night out 10mins walk from the hotel will have you at Magaluf's infamous strip.

Having never been to Palma Nova / Magaluf before I was very pleasantly surprised by the resort and the hotel. If I went back to this resort I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

If you like your luxuries book into the nearby Hotel Santa Lucia or Hotel Son Matias Beach, but for accommodation for families or couples on a normal holiday budget i'd recommend the Nova Apartments.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We booked this hotel in nov 2010 for july 2011 and were told 4 weeks before holiday that it was over booked by hotel ... we were offered an alternative hotel with no choice where to go we had paid extra for a sea view and the new hotel couldn't even see the sea

0 for alpharooms be careful booking with them

0 for apartments nova we booked 9 months in advance and the overbooked our room? how is that even possible?

Room Tip: eh ... dont trust the booking form its not worth the paper its printed on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here last week in June this year.
There were 9 of us in 3 appartments in total and we had a great time.

Part of the Globales Hotle group the staff were all very friendly and courteous to us at all times. The building, rooms and grounds where immaculately clean and in great repair. Pool side bar/restaurant serving typical fast food and cold drinks.
Restaurant & Bar open each evening with live entertainment 7 nights a week. Some of the shows were tribute acts such as - The Jacksons, Supremes & Abba and a Magic show. There is also daily entertainment from the hotels Animacion Team. The kids all loved the 2 guys and 1 girl.

The appartments are located behind the Son Matias Beach Hotel and sea view appartments have fabulous see views (see pics). The beach is located just accross the road and is 1st class interms of cleanliness and facilities.
There are loads of restaurants located all around the hotel so something for all tastes and budgets.

TIP: Book a see view room as the other rooms face out onto a street with a view of a supermarket and a carpark. All very clean but there is nothing like a sea view to really make you feel you are on holidays.

We never ate in the hotel so can't comment on food but there was a different menu on every night and a bbq on one night.
The entertainment/bar scene is not my cup of tea so I only spent a half hour there each night on our way back in - but it was packed and all the other guests seemed to be having a ball. So if you like that scene you should not be dissapointed.
Plenty of activities for kids and grownups every day and some fun games including bingo at night.

Only complaint was that the air conditioning did not work in the rooms and I reported it but nothing was done about it. Thankfully it was not that hot but by mid July into August it would be an issue.

Free WiFi in hotel lobby but it was very slow not internet in rooms sadly.
2 pc's with paid internet access available in lobby also.

Lovely safe pool and huge sun terrace with shaded areas aswell for all the sun worshippers.

Cant find any thing to really gripe about. A safe bet for famillies or people looking for good accommodation in one of Mallorcas better resorts. As I said we expect to go back.

Room Tip: TIP: Book a see view room as the other rooms face out onto a street with a view of a supermarket an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Have stayed at the Nova apartments each of the last 3 years and find them fantastic. The kids club and entertainment is one of the best we've seen. The animation staff are excellent, led by the inimitable Johnny along with Maxi and Ruben.
The apartments themselves are clean and well maintained. The restaurant and bars are good, slightly more expensive than if you venture outside and sample the many restaurants nearby.
The beach is just accross the road and there are plenty of ameneties close by.
Evening entertainment is the usual fare with tribute acts and snake shows. Good staff and comfortable and safe surroundings. Will be going again to the Nova!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best, wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

It's a nice place
Great for the young people especially in the late teens early 20s great night life close to megaluf full of brilliant nightclubs
Also close to the beach not to far away
It's a safe place too a security guard on full time
Nice staff and good entertainment

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We a family of 4 stayed at the nova for 9 nights beginning of August and really enjoyed our stay. We booked through hotels.com and got a really good rate we did not opt for pool view when booking but were alloacted one when we arrived at the hotel. Check in was painless and quick, room adequate for our stay although the kitchen area is tiny and when you take out the kettle and pan, plates, cups etc there is counter room at all!. But again its only a minor gripe.
Hotel is lovely and clean and room is cleaned almost every day with towel and sheet changes. Pool area is spacious but pool itself is very small for 135 apts. and there is not enough sunbeds for all guests. During out first few days there it was noted that poeple where putting towels out either extremely early or very late but hotel staff placed a sign on door to pool area to state that pool entrance will not open till 8am so no sunbeds could be reserved till then. By 8.10am all sunbeds were taken!. It did not matter to us as we spent most of our days on the beach which is literally 2 mins away and is beautiful! Our kids loved it there.
Entertainment was very good in the hotel and mainly consisted of Elvis, The Jacksons, Tom Jones type entertainers and the hotel staff entertainers Ruben, Jose and Johnny work around the clock to make sure everyone is happy. In fact all hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to families mainly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Globales Nova Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Nova Apartments

Address: Avda. Cas Saboners 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Nova Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Globales NOva is situated in front of the Son Matias beach, in the quietest part of Palma Nova. It is ideal for families as it has 125 spacious one bedroom apartments and 10 confortable studios, all well-equipped. In the extensive gardens surrounding the hotel, you can find outside pools together with a solarium and the miniclub. The area offers a wide variety of aquatic sports, golf courses, horse riding, go-karts, Aquapark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Globales Nova Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Nova Apartments Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Nova Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.