We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views.in gorgeous moumtain retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Hotel Son Palou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Hotel Son Palou to your Saves list
Finca Hotel Son Palou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Iglesia s/n, 07349 Orient, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orient
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous views.in gorgeous moumtain retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoying a fabulous sunny afternoon by the infinity pool, surrounded by mountains, fields sprinkled with sheep and birds chirping in the lush gardens around me. Peace and tranquility at its best. Hotel lovely in every way, great rooms and friendly service (although no cava greeting upon our arrival... :( ). This is a slice of rural heaven complete with free wifi! Highly recommended! Orient is a quaint stone village woth visiting, with plenty of cyclists and hikers stopping by.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    54
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
72
520
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Finca is the go-to place if you love peace, fantastic food, stunning views, excellent service, beautiful rooms and grounds. All staff were attentive, friendly and professional. A special mention for Marc, Ruth, Diana and Toni as we saw more of them than the others and were unfailingly helpful. We always enjoyed the food on previous visits anyway, but the new chef is excellent. Son Palou is the perfect place to return to after a busy day walking, sightseeing etc., but also to relax and luxuriate in wonderful surroundings. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second visit to Finca Son Palou - stayed a couple of nights last year and were so impressed, decided to revisit for a longer break. Situated in the foothills of the Tramuntana mountains, Finca Son Palou enjoys breathtaking views. Mark and the team are friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable - atmosphere is relaxed and unfussy. Finca's restaurant is excellent - good choice and great value. Dinner, with wine comes in around €100 for two.

If you enjoy walking - you are definitely spoilt for choice ranging for easy gentle walks in the Finca's grounds which include a half hour walk to fast flowing stream - great place for a picnic - to more challenging walks in the mountain range - for example - to Lake Cuber. There you may be lucky to see Ospreys and Black Vultures.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the valley and the mountains are worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This really is an amazing location and beautiful restoration of an old farmhouse and oil press, the rooms are well presented and to a high standard, You need a car to visit the place and good navigation skills are its not very clearly signed. A trip to Solar is a must.

The breakfast on the courtyard is nice but we were told we could not sit at one table in a rather rude way the first day we came down for breakfast, they mellowed out after a couple of days.

There are nice walks in the surrounding hills and a must visit is the restaurant next door (MANDELA) as the food was very very good.

We did have some issues with the manager, he seams quite incompetent and only in his job by the looks of it due to being the owners son, everytime i came across him in the grounds he was on his mobile having rather abrupt conversations with people.

I discovered that my contact lens (one day disposable type) had been thrown away by a maid while our room had been cleaned that afternoon, When we asked if we could check the Bin to find them we were told that this was not possible and was quite rude and told me that i must have just misplaced them as there staff would not do such a thing ! I unfortunately didnt have my spare glasses

We had a very early start the next day to drive and catch our flight home "in the Dark" down the very steep and curling roads, I was the only driver on the insurance and we had to pay for my wife to go on to the policy as i could not drive, this also worried her as the drive was not easy for someone not used to driving abroad. The manager did not seam to care and it spoiled the end of a nice little trip, customer service was not his thing.

They did leave us out some sandwiches which was a nice trip due to our early start but our tastes of the hotel were soured.

Room Tip: Follow the walks in the hotel guide, there are some amazing views and the mills in the hidden wooded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonPAlou, Gerente at Finca Hotel Son Palou, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for staying in Son Palou. It is a shame you value Son Palou for such comments relevant to my person
. For the future clients I would like to inform that the manager/ son of the house ,has been managing for 12 years this hotel increasing the quality and relevance since 2003 and winning 4 years the tripadvisor awards and another awards with trivago and Holidaycheck,.
For these reason I think I m not incompetent as you declare in your review but helps to the future readers to have an idea wihich type of client you are.

About your situation regarding the contact lenses. I investigated the situation with the maid room and she promised me that she did not throw anything. In fact she told me that she saw the contact lenses the previous days.( This fact makes me think that you loose them)

She has been with us around 9 years, so I really think she told me truth.

Inmediately I explained you the situation and the first thing you requested me were 50€ from my pocket as a compensation. It was very surprising for me that you requested me to pay to insurance a second person to be able to drive your car to the airport. It was unbeliveable.

I think it was not very polite from you and show me which type of things were looking for: DISCOUNTS . Believe me if it would have been our falt losing something which belongs to you We had had refund inmediately but sincerely I think you lost the lenses and you want to Son Palou refund them

About the table booking, it is truth we do not book table for breakfast to avoid situation as some clients have always the best tables... I think is reasonable.

Regarding phone callings... It is my work,I´m the manger and not always is very pleasant .

I hope my answer will be helpful for another clients.

Marc Colom Manager since 2003 from Finca Son Palou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful, autentic and a quietness in superior surroundings. Small hotel and very charming. Fantastic Hiking in the Valley and Crossing the mountain to the next village. Dont miss the food and a glass of whitewine or try the obac 12 redwine in the restaurant. Perfect place for couples for relaxing.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I spent a glorious week at this hotel in March 2015. Perfect location for exploring the Tramuntana mountains. The hotel staff could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. We would have liked to have cycled with the hotel bikes, but they didn't have helmets. By the end of our holiday, Marc had ordered helmets, for future guests. Fabulous views from the hotel pool, could just imagine lazing around the pool in the beautiful summer.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, restful. Good food and wine. Probably one of the best customer service and above par care from staff the we have experienced anywhere.

Take the walks around the grounds, read a book by the fireplace and get yourself a few massages ordered as well.

We will be back - a few times, I think.

Room Tip: It really does not matter...the peace and quiet and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Hotel Son Palou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Hotel Son Palou

Address: Plaza de la Iglesia s/n, 07349 Orient, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Orient
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orient
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Hotel Son Palou 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2001, the estate of Son Palou is pleased to offer all the comforts of rural hotels accredited with the latest technology,preserving the character of rural architecture typical of the Majorcan mountain farm, where charm and tradition come together in recapturing the essence of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Finca Hotel Son Palou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Hotel Orient
Finca Hotel Son Palou Orient, Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Hotel Son Palou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.