We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HSM Torrenova Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HSM Torrenova Playa to your Saves list
HSM Torrenova Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cale Torrenova 37, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get what you pay for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We got the hotel pretty cheap and read a few of the horror stories on the site and we were a bit apprehensive. The rooms were just two beds bathroom and a kitchen, really basic. The view from the balcony is unbelievable, the hotel faces right out onto the beach. The cleaners arrived everyday and changed bed clothes and towels. We didnt have any issues with the staff and found them quite fair. I can't comment on the pool area as we didn't go because the hotel is so close to the beach. It's a quiet hotel but it isnt far from the strip which is anything but quiet. If you're looking for luxury this isn't for you but if you want somewhere cheap to leave your bag and get some sleep this is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    53
    34
    52
See reviews for
12
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Because your complaining @ the money you paid to stay at this place? Coz I know me and my friends paid under £300 each for a week self catering? Bargaaaaaain girls holiday I reckon!
When we got there we weren't bothered about the apartments we just wanted to PARTY!
Straight away they told us our room wasn't available until 2 days at the end of our stay, which didn't bother us as they gave us the whole top floor! IT WAS HUGE! Although we couldn't really socialise with other groups via the balcony... As the whole of the balcony was OURS! HUGE! We loved it.
The pool guy we called him "Enrique" was gorgeous! We loved him, he was so nice to us, although every morning down at the pool the first CD played... CRAIG DAVID! Ha but he did play Lady Gagas album once! The food isn't all that nice, but theres plenty of lovely restaurants nearby we ate out all the time.
"Heart attack hill" was a killer but after a few drinks going up that bank who cares? Plus burns a few calories! It was right at the top of the strip which to me is ideal anyway.
Although a small pool area it was nice and we always got a sunbed, the pool was very refreshing as it was SO HOT! I would go back again although me and the girls decided we'd rather go somewhere more lively, the hotel opposite us looked like what we liked to call "party central"...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

i booked the hotel last moment. What attracted me was the perfect location and amazing views from the balcony. The price was really good,too. I went through the negative reviews but i thought that it couldn't be that bad. Well....it was.. First impression of the stuff was fine.
But when we walked into the room ..i was speechless.. it wasn't cleaned from the people before us and we checked in on the right time. The bath was full of sand.. there were holes into the bathroom towels as they were really old. We realized that our "double bed" actually was the two sofa things!! We did't get our bedding's changed during our 7 days stay!! Furthermore we didn't get covers for the first few days.
They asked us for 20EUR to watch the little TV in the room which wasn't mentioned in the time of booking. In the end of our stay we asked them how much would cost if we check out 4 hours later and they asked me for 50 euros which i paid them. But they just took the money and didn't give me a receipt. My general impression of them was that they are quite dodgy..
The only good thing about this hotel was its location. The views towards the sea are just amazing!! It is close to night life, too. The cardiac hill is a bit of pain when you come after clubbing but it would be still fine if the hotel worth it. Unfortunately it didn't!
In conclusion i want to say that we loved Magaluf, the beaches, the sea, the nightlife. We will definitely go back but in another hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, South yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

After reading the reviews on the hotel before i went i was dreading turning up to the hotel, but on arrival the first impression was good staff was friendly and helpfull, we did have to wait for our room because you can not check in untill 2pm, but we just went to the pool side bar and had some food, i must admit the food at the bar is expensive for what you get. We stoped in a two bed studio, it was a nice size, the air con is a bonus. The kitchen did seem to have everything you needed if you was to cook, but to be fair its so cheep to eat out i woudnt bother cooking. we had our room cleaned every other day, and if you want clean towels just put them in the bath and the cleaner will change them for you. In the studio you get two single sofa beds, the cleaner didnt change our beds but to be honest we wasnt botherd because we didnt sleep under the sheets because it was too hot. The views from the rooms are amazing. The HILL, im the most unfit person in the world and the hill is steep but it didnt ruin my holiday at all, infact its worth it for the views you get at the top. All in all we had i fantastic holiday, and could not see any reason to complain.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Seriously i really dont understand how it could have good reviews... ! so exspensive for the most basic and most unhygeinic place ... swimming pool was full off mould ! rooms for 4 people only had two beds ,, staff were rude and couldnt speak english ,, even charged 100 euros for a plastic cover of a lamp tht accidently got broken ! this place ruined my holiday ,, wouldnt even go back ifit was for free !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Unsure what to expect because of the reviews. First impressions were brilliant, loved the sea view and balcony, very spacious room for the four of us & location was fine, 'heartattack hill' wasn't that bad at all!!
On our third night, our key which is connected to a card that is used to activate your electricity whilst in the room, was stolen from our room. We had obviously used it to get in the night before and put it in the slot to activate the lights, upon waking up, the maid had to use her key to turn our lights on, realising ours was missing. After blitzing the apartment with no luck we reported the incident and were treated terribly for the rest of the holiday. The manager tried to scam us out of 210 euros to replace the piece of plastic, which had evidently been stolen by someone working there. They cut off our electricity and stopped cleaning out apartment for the rest of the week, we only had a working kitchin for 1 out 7 days!! The manager refused to give our passports back until we paid and threatened to contact the police.
Overall, we did not let this spoil our holiday, and the location and rooms were fine for what we needed. However, we were disgusted at the treatment we received as a vulnerable group of 18 year old girls, and are currently taken this up with the travel board to try and claim some compensation.
Would never stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

not only would i not recommend this hotel to a friend, i wouldnt recommend it to a enemy, it was that bad; (based on having a 3 person room & a 4 person room on the floor below)

*First Impressions;When arriving we walked in to realise the sofa was the bed & there was no rooms, and the fridge had leaked all over.

*Toilets; blocked & it was humiliating getting the staff to come every time to unblock it, this was the case it both rooms & the one for all guests.

*Balcony door; was able to be opened; when a neighbour had hoped over to get into room, to our sheer horror he was able to.

*Pool; was shocking- unclean & warned constantly by staff that we where not able to bring our own water or food but to buy from the over priced food bar, which was unreal in the heat when we stayed.

*Staff; who when we checked out, then refused to order taxis to the airport, even though they had done it everynight so we missed out that horrible hill to get into the strip......far too steep to walk every time you need to get to your hotel in the peak season.

*Towels; the room was cleaned twice whilst we stayed; when they only gave us 2 fresh towles for 3 people, we took the dirty ones to recpetion to ask to swap them for fresh ones & they refused. instead we used our beach towels.

overall its not worth it, even if your thinking you will be out most of the time anyway, really i advise you to keep well clear! everything about this hotel screams holiday nightmare & since coming home the reports have been terrible on that hotel. we stayed in the torrenova apartments on the 3rd July 2009... and never ever again! 1*

i was actually laughing at the postcard of the hotel on reception desk as it resembles nothing to where we stayed, to top it all off-we came home with swine flu?!

dont book!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HSM Torrenova Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Torrenova Playa

Address: Cale Torrenova 37, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Torrenova Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The complex of 3 keys apartments HSM Torrenova Playa has a privileged sea front position, only steps away from the beautiful beach of Magalluf (150 m). It is situated on a hill, with breathtaking sea view from all apartments and studios. For its amazing price - quality relation it is very popular among young people who want to spend their holidays and enjoy the attractions Magalluf has to offer for an economic price. The complex opens from May to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Torrenova Playa is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts of Majorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts of blue flag thanks to its high quality year after year and is only 150 m away and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive resorts on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide resort's offer. There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for golf lovers. In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football pitch, rugby pitch, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 13 km away, the airport 20 km. There is a public bus service to the capital, the bus stop is just 300 m away. For its features the hotel is not recommended for persons with walking difficulties. ROOMS: The hotel offers studios and apartments, all with spectacular sea view. All rooms (both studios and apartments) with bathroom, air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and spacious terrace. Roomy apartments consist of a bedroom and a living room with equipped kitchen. Studios offer a living room combined with a kitchen, equally equipped as apartments, but without a separate bedroom. GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers bar service at the pool during the day, with basic meals, snacks and all kind of drinks. FACILITIES: Swimming pool for adults, another one for children, terrace with sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool. Supermarket open 24 h a day. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. Also available baby cots and high chairs in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your HSM Torrenova Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hsm Torrenova Playa Magalluf
Hsm Torrenova Playa Hotel Magalluf
HSM Torrenova Playa Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HSM Torrenova Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.