We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty, dated and run down!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HSM Torrenova Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HSM Torrenova Playa to your Saves list
HSM Torrenova Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cale Torrenova 37, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very dirty, dated and run down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the torrenova playa for a week in september. Our room was invested with ants as was the room next door! They even baught ant spray! Our checkin was fine. However the next day to ask a question I was greeted by frank! What a grumpy miserable man!! The pool and bar were dirty there was a over flowing bin by the pool which was covered in ants and cockroaches and was overflowing for 3days! There were always glasses and food all around the pool area. There is no direct access to the beach.... The gate was locked and when we asked for it opens we simply got told no. The pool shut at 6pm even tho signs said 7pm. One night a t-shirt fell off the balcony we went to reception and said it had fallen down by the pool. To be told tough wait untill 10.30 tomorrow! Also check out in the brocher in your room states 12 noon, cleaner came in at 10.15 saying come on get out!!! We did enjoy are holiday but I would not recommend or stay at the torrenova playa again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for you comments. For the circumstances you mentioned, we would like to apologize and let you know that we have informed our quality department to improve our service. We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca..

With kind regards,
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    53
    34
    52
See reviews for
12
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I've just got back from this hotel and thought I'd put my views on the hotel.
Before I left and read the reviews I was really worried about staying here even prepared ourselves for moving hotels when we got there. I went with my partner for a drunken long weekend away! When we arrived the helpful man let us check into our room 3 hours early and we were really impressed with the stunning views off the balcony! We didn't get double beds we had two large sofa bed things. We pushed the two beds together to make a large double bed it was really comfy! The room was cleaned daily sometimes twice daily! The decor was a bit outdated but I wasn't expecting the ritz at the budget price we were paying! The pool area was clean and tidy as was the rest of the hotel. None of the staff were rude.. Admittedly the man frank was a bit grumpy but I would not call him rude! We didn't have anything stolen. Either I'm completely blind or there was no prostitutes stealing my money! Didn't see any prostitutes at all! The hill isn't that bad the whole town is up and down and if you don't want to walk just get a taxi. Reception ordered one for us and it was there in minutes. The hotel opposite is really nice and there is a free pool party there every day!
Think that covers it all oh and if you looking for somewhere nice and affordable to eat go to floridas resturant it's literally two minutes away!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went here in april and started to worry a bit after reading some pretty bad reveiws. We need not have worried as the place was brilliant. Rooms were clean,veiw was amazing and staff friendly and polite. Pool was slightly small but this didnt worry us at all as the pool area was pretty big and open from 12 each day with very reasonably priced drinks at the pool bar with the beach a 5 min walk from the hotel. will def stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

had a great time for my 21st rooms are what you pay for the tv is in spanish but free and there is a few music channels. most of the staff are really sound as long as you are respectful and take the time to get to know them. i found that just by saying hello saying sorry in the morning ( whether i felt i should or not) helps a million. go for a laugh and there is a great pool and bar if you turn right out of the main gate head down to a hotel called TRH nova playa. cheap ish drinks but great atmospher. AMAZING VIEWS FROM ROOM

Room Tip: any room is fine tbh they are all the same with the most amazing views ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

People who have written poor reviews expect to pay budget prices and get the ritz! This hotel was perfect for me and my 3 friends staying a week in magaluff. The staff were friendly, room was clean and had all the facilities you could want. There were no lizards/cockroaches in our room, but people complaining about it should remember that In that climate and with people having balcony doors open ect, the odd bug coming in is unavoidable and not the hotels fault. The view from the room was beautiful, the highlight of our stay. The beach and strip is a 2 Minuit walk and the hill really isn't bad at all, we found that when we were walking back after a night out we didn't even notice it . The pool is nice though we didnt use it much because the beach was close and there is also a free pool party directly opposite the hotel which was fun. People stop moaning, if this hotel wasnt good enough, you shouldn't even go to magaluff , because you won't get much better.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here 5 night with 2 other girls and we were worried from the get go! A lot of the reviews on here were mixed either saying stay away or not bad at all!As we'd already booked we were nervous on what to expect some of the negative reviews said how bad of a hotel it was! So - on arrival we were made to hand our passports in ( not a massive issue) except they was kinda just out in the open - not ideal! We only had to travel up one floor but with all our luggage it was abit of a struggle.On the whole the room was crap - the sheets had strains on them - the sofa beds were dirty and place had damp. The kitchen was quite small and quite a few of the applicance were damaged so to avoid paying out we just avoided the kitchen like the plague. The bathroom was quite dark - the toilet was dodgy but again had a sign stating if broken we'd have to pay- the cheek was hardly in the best condition (thank fully it didnt break down.) You'll also notice Frank from reception doesnt really care if your unhappy he'll just brush you off. The room didnt get cleaned either and the maid took the towles but didnt replace them! Very annoying in fact! The only good thing was the view from the balcony- but to be fair i'd much prefer a decent room then a beautiful view. Now the hotel is situated at the top of a hill- the walk up in painful- a killer in fact the work down never seems as bad and although it states its close to a beach its a good 10 minute walk. Further down the hill there is a strip of bars and places to eat which is cool. Wuldnt stay here ever again but would happily come back to Magalluf!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
For the circumstances you mentioned, we would like to apologize and tell you that we have informed our quality department to improve our service.

We would like to welcome you back in our or one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

Regards from Mallorca

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here in Auguest 2012 with a few friends. First of all we arrived and were givin a ground floor apartment , After 2 days we were knocked up from our beds and told we were to vacate the room and move to another room, We had specificly requested a ground flooor room due to sleep walking. We were not happy with this move. The room was infested with ants cock roaches and small lizards , i woke up one morning to a flock of ants crawling all over me. When i asked for the cock roach to be removed out of my room i was told to get cock rpach spray , i refused to do so and the nice bar man came and got it for me. The reception staff are a few of the most rudist and arrogant men i have ever had the oppertunity to meet apart from Frank who is very kind and caring. The food is shocking frozen chunky chips done in the deep fat fryer DO NOT BUY. Prostitues lurk on the corners and try to mug you ! nice guys :) Stayed for a week had things stolen from me by the maids who by the way only cleaned once .. which in my eyes picking up a towel from the floor isnt cleaning? Buy a safe or take your own lock for suitcase even better do not stay here. pool was filthy small and discusting. You would have had a comfier stay on a slate of hot concrete rather than the sun beds provided , On departure we did not know what time to be picked up by the bus the reception refused to tell me what time.. resulting in us sitting outside the hotel with suitcases for 4 hours. The aircon is in the corridor so expect swetty nights! all in all i would have to say that this place is the worst scummiest hole iv ever been to and will never ever go again!!! P.s MAGLUFF IS GREAT!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
For the circumstances you mentioned, we would like to apologize and let you know that we have informed our quality department to improve our service.

We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

Regards from Mallorca
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HSM Torrenova Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Torrenova Playa

Address: Cale Torrenova 37, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Torrenova Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The complex of 3 keys apartments HSM Torrenova Playa has a privileged sea front position, only steps away from the beautiful beach of Magalluf (150 m). It is situated on a hill, with breathtaking sea view from all apartments and studios. For its amazing price - quality relation it is very popular among young people who want to spend their holidays and enjoy the attractions Magalluf has to offer for an economic price. The complex opens from May to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Torrenova Playa is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts of Majorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts of blue flag thanks to its high quality year after year and is only 150 m away and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive resorts on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide resort's offer. There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for golf lovers. In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football pitch, rugby pitch, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 13 km away, the airport 20 km. There is a public bus service to the capital, the bus stop is just 300 m away. For its features the hotel is not recommended for persons with walking difficulties. ROOMS: The hotel offers studios and apartments, all with spectacular sea view. All rooms (both studios and apartments) with bathroom, air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and spacious terrace. Roomy apartments consist of a bedroom and a living room with equipped kitchen. Studios offer a living room combined with a kitchen, equally equipped as apartments, but without a separate bedroom. GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers bar service at the pool during the day, with basic meals, snacks and all kind of drinks. FACILITIES: Swimming pool for adults, another one for children, terrace with sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool. Supermarket open 24 h a day. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. Also available baby cots and high chairs in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your HSM Torrenova Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hsm Torrenova Playa Magalluf
Hsm Torrenova Playa Hotel Magalluf
HSM Torrenova Playa Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HSM Torrenova Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.