We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wonderful seaview. Do not believe the reviews, only be prudent..........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HSM Torrenova Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HSM Torrenova Playa to your Saves list
HSM Torrenova Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cale Torrenova 37, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, wonderful seaview. Do not believe the reviews, only be prudent..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I have just come back from a short friends tryp there.
Great place. Apartments have a great seaview and service and facilities were pretty good. The area is amazing for fun&party.
Before to go I read the problems about theft in there but only note that : there is security in the hotel, and surveillance................even security cameras. Then only thing is to be prudent and wary. Safe box are available in all the apartments. Just get one !!! My opinion is that people is too much commited.
By the way, the pool is a great corner with seaview !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    52
    34
    52
See reviews for
12
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011 via mobile

I have never stayed in a worse hotel in my life, wasn't expecting
Much for the price but what we got was hell!
Sick on the balcony floor, used condoms on the roof next to our balcony, light fittings hanging out the wall, no clean towels, beds that are 30 yrs old, cupboard doors hanging off in the supposed kitchen, toilets that don't flush, a pool that was filthy and staff that couldn't talk worse to u if u were there worst enemy. Plus all I heard was people complaining that they had there rooms broken into.
I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
I can only assume that the people who left good reviews on this hotel are either blind with no sense of smell or the type that go on the Jeremy Kyle show!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

When we first arrived at the hotel we thought it was nice, lovely sea view and comfortable beds. However whilst we were out during the day we had our room broken into, our suitcase which was padlocked was cut open and we had all of our euros (and english money) stolen. When we reported it to the staff they were uncaring, and didnt even come up to inspect the room. There were cut marks all down the door frame but the staff were uninterested in coming up to check. We walked all the way to palma to go to the police station but were told they couldnt file a report as we needed to pay for a translator. Other people staying in the hotel also had large amounts of money stolen, iphones, and wallets. It was a disgrace how the staff has such disregard for what had happened so I am guessing that this has happened before or the staff were in on it. We stayed in room 101 - since the door is so easily capable of being broken into do not stay in this room as i doubt they have bothered to fix lock! Also the cooker didnt work, we unfortunatly discovered this after our cash had been stolen - which meant we couldnt even make ourselves a cheap tea as we couldnt heat anything up so had to resort to a diet of crisps!!
Magaluf is a great holiday, i have been there 3 times already but would never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, HSM CUSTOMER SERVICE at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for what happened in your room. We dispose for your security a SAFE, where you can keep all your things of value, and that we always recomend, as all the hotels in the world. We have sued and reported those incidents to the police, because there where more incidents around the area. Please note that these incidents are completely unrelated to our hotel and Staff. The police know about it and they are investigating that matter. We also have a security guard in our hotel by night and our reception is open 24 hrs.

On the oher hand, if you have been stolen, you also have to report the incident to the police, and here in Spain you need a translator to make your complaint.

With my best regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hotel staff - RUDE & UNHELPFUL

A party of 27 people and every room robbed. No sign of forced entry! Hotel would take no responsibility even though it was obvious that a member of staff had let themselves in with the key. Money, ipods, phone charges, cash - everything gone!

Not even worth the one star but there wasn't an option for none.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, HSM CUSTOMER SERVICE at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for what happened in your room. We dispose for your security a SAFE, where you can keep all your things of value, and that we always recomend, as all the hotels in the world. We have sued and reported those incidents to the police, because there where more incidents around the area. Please note that these incidents are completely unrelated to our hotel and Staff. The police know about it and they are investigating that matter. We also have a security guard in our hotel by night and our reception is open 24 hrs.

On the oher hand, if you have been stolen, you also have to report the incident to the police, and here in Spain you need a translator to make your complaint.

With my best regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

On arrival my thoughts were that the view from the balcony was superb and we had found a genuine bargain. We contemplated getting a safe after reading reviews the staff were stealing from the rooms, on reflection this was probably a good idea as lots of people in the hotel told us they had their safes opened.

On one of the nights one of the boys in our group had his iphone stolen from his bag, there was some debate to whether he had this stolen on the strip as he was quite drunk... The next day whilst he was asleep on the bed someone opened the door with an extra key and quickly retreated when they realised he was in there. During that night having put our keys at reception when we returned one of the keys was missing so they couldnt get into their room. Having stayed in one of the other rooms they went to reception in the morning to find the key having been returned.

On leaving the hotel we heard that a group of men who had been there for 2 hours had over £700 stolen from their rooms with also 3 or 4 phones gone as well. This hotel is not safe I wouldn't return, if its not the staff that our stealing the items they are aiding the people who are doing so...

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, HSM CUSTOMER SERVICE at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for what happened in your room. We dispose for your security a SAFE, where you can keep all your things of value, and that we always recomend, as all the hotels in the world. We have sued and reported those incidents to the police, because there where more incidents around the area. Please note that these incidents are completely unrelated to our hotel and Staff. The police know about it and they are investigating that matter. We also have a security guard in our hotel by night and our reception is open 24 hrs.

On the oher hand, if you have been stolen, you also have to report the incident to the police, and here in Spain you need a translator to make your complaint.

With my best regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

the hotel was a disgrace, no entertainment in hotel, pool closed at 6 pm.... staff was not helpful one bit.... the rooms were too small, no clean sheets for the week wen asked for towels we were told their was no knew ones until the morning..... magalluf was great but the accommodation was a disgrace would not recommend it at all

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I would not recommend this hotel at all! The hotel staff had stole my money on my first night so i had no money at all! It happened in other peoples rooms also! Felt very unsafe! When reported, staff weren't bothered and when we asked for taxi to the police station, they didn't inform us that we would need a translator from the hotel. So when we got to the police station, the policeman could not help us! And didn't even care! Would never go back! Was a scary experience for young girls on their own! Also, the room never got cleaned, our floor was disgusting! And its at the top of a very steep hill so very difficult in heels when walking down.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at HSM Torrenova Playa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for what happened in your room. We dispose for your security a SAFE, where you can keep all your things of value, and that we always recomend, as all the hotels in the world. We have sued and reported those incidents to the police, because there where more incidents around the area. Please note that these incidents are completely unrelated to our hotel and Staff. The police know about it and they are investigating that matter. We also have a security guard in our hotel by night and our reception is open 24 hrs.

On the oher hand, if you have been stolen, you also have to report the incident to the police, and here in Spain you need a translator to make your complaint.

With my best regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HSM Torrenova Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Torrenova Playa

Address: Cale Torrenova 37, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Torrenova Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The complex of 3 keys apartments HSM Torrenova Playa has a privileged sea front position, only steps away from the beautiful beach of Magalluf (150 m). It is situated on a hill, with breathtaking sea view from all apartments and studios. For its amazing price - quality relation it is very popular among young people who want to spend their holidays and enjoy the attractions Magalluf has to offer for an economic price. The complex opens from May to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Torrenova Playa is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts of Majorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts of blue flag thanks to its high quality year after year and is only 150 m away and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive resorts on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide resort's offer. There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for golf lovers. In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football pitch, rugby pitch, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 13 km away, the airport 20 km. There is a public bus service to the capital, the bus stop is just 300 m away. For its features the hotel is not recommended for persons with walking difficulties. ROOMS: The hotel offers studios and apartments, all with spectacular sea view. All rooms (both studios and apartments) with bathroom, air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and spacious terrace. Roomy apartments consist of a bedroom and a living room with equipped kitchen. Studios offer a living room combined with a kitchen, equally equipped as apartments, but without a separate bedroom. GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers bar service at the pool during the day, with basic meals, snacks and all kind of drinks. FACILITIES: Swimming pool for adults, another one for children, terrace with sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool. Supermarket open 24 h a day. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. Also available baby cots and high chairs in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HSM Torrenova Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hsm Torrenova Playa Magalluf
Hsm Torrenova Playa Hotel Magalluf
HSM Torrenova Playa Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HSM Torrenova Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.