We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a Group of BOYS from the Valleys!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FERGUS Pax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added FERGUS Pax to your Saves list
FERGUS Pax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Del Notario Alemany , 12, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Pax)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Rhondda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not for a Group of BOYS from the Valleys!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This Hotel would be perfect for a family holiday with the children. Two pools, Buffet restaurant with a good selection of Continental and fast food (Children s choice of Chicken Nuggets, Burgers, Sausage Baked Beans and more) which is good for all the family. Also if you have booked all Inclusive there are two outside bar's and one snack bar where alcohol, soft drinks and light snacks such as toasties burgers and hot dogs are served all day. The Entertainment was varied from night to night all seemed to be of a good standard. One problem i would say if i was booking as a family, the Hotel is set on the opposite side of the bay from the central attractions, But the beach is only down a set of steps.

Where it went wrong, i actually booked this hotel with a group of 12 of my friends who are all big bear like rugby players from the Rhondda Valleys. This hotel was strongly advise to us by our operator as a party hotel suitable for groups and families alike. When we first arrived the hotel looked clean and well decorated, we was given our all inclusive bands and dropped our bags to the rooms. the rooms where a typical Spanish holiday hotel room with air-con and black out curtains.

After coming in late after the first night of mischief, we was greeted by an un-happy receptionist who was telling us to keep quiet (I Thought this was odd as we was sold this hotel as being a party hotel!!). The next morning we have the manager knocking on our door complaining that we were being to loud and our rooms where untidy (come on we are a group of testosterone fuel lads on holiday what else could they expect?).

I would say it was the day after this occurrence when a family was actually allocated the room next to us! fantastic! As the holiday went on we could seem them becoming un happy with the situation (which would have something to do with us, But mainly the Hotel or the tour operators fault for putting them next to us / advising us to stay at this hotel). We received a letter under our door saying that we had a meeting with the manager and our rep. Me and another member of our party met with them and they concluded that we had to be removed form this holiday and as it was a peak period no other hotel would be offered! Bearing in mind this was a 14day holiday and we was booted out after 10 days without a refund!

We also we slammed with having to pay for our own flight home!

To summarize, this is Good for Families but not for groups of Boys / Girls

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    120
    89
    40
    58
See reviews for
78
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Me and three other friends stayed in Marina Pax Hotel for a week in June around £600 all inclusive. The location was great as it was on the quiet side, not too close to the main strip but was in good walking distance on nights out. The hotel was clean and there was no problem getting sunbeds in the middle of the day. Alcoholic drinks were served throughout the day and they were very generous with their measures. However, the food was terrible which meant we bought a 2nd meal each night. On the other hand, the last morning we had breakfast there and it was fine.
There were a few families staying at the same time we were there complaining of noise... it is Magaluff, not a family hotel or resort.
All in all, a great hotel besides the food... best going self catering as there are plenty of places to eat in Magaluff!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Had an excellent time, alot of young clubbers but had a fab time.
Excellent value 4 money

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

very clean hotel, friendly staff and fantastic food. only problem we had was a a member of another group staying in the hotel were given a key card to get into one of our rooms by accident....good job they were honest people. when we stayed here we were allowed full use of the sister hotel next door (marina barracuda) this was an added bonus. the situation is slightly out of the way but close to BCM nightclub. better hotel for families than large groups of twentysomethings but i believe magalluf is for partying not family holidays.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Me and 2 friends stayed from the 25th September to the 2nd October. We and many other English guests felt that we were treated very poorly. On only our third day I was falsly accused of hitting one of the staff at the Baraccuda, and told we were to be evicted to my horror. These claims were then dropped when the member of staff told the manager it was not me. I recieved no apology for my inconvenience. We felt the staff, barring the receptionists were rude and treat us with nothing but disrespect. On the fourth night we were told we wasn't allowed to use the Marina's sister hotel the Baraccuda with no explination, although it states when you book you are free to use both hotels. The food was absolutely discusting. Chips, burgers and chicken nuggets are probably the best you can hope for. On a brighter note, the hotel is situated in a fab location, two minutes from BCM Square, and the hotel is clean and very good value for what it is. It was just a massive shame that the staff were so rude, and almost ruined our holiday. I will not be going back to the Marina Pax i can safely say!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

been to this hotel 8 times, this occasion was marred by the fact that it has been leased to a french holiday operator, all the entertainment was for the french guests,we were allowed to use the sister hotel next door for english entertainment,but they were very strict on the one drink per person rule, we has a friend with us who had walking difficulties, but were still not allowed to get his drink for him, the food and cleanliness and friendly staff of the Pax still remain excellent

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We travelled as a group of 10 women to celebrate a friends birthday. 1st impressions were that the hotel was very clean, the receptionist was very helpful when we booked in and all in all i was impressed.

We were woken early the following morning by the music blaring from the two speakers situated at the side of the swimming pool. Anyway, down to the pool we went. Then the announcements were made over the sound system of what activities would be happening that day. Unfortunately these were made in French and there was no explanation in English, so even if we had wanted to take part we had no clue what was happening.

Later that evening we decided to meet in the bar and whilst we were congregating a music quiz began. We began to take part, although we were simply just waiting for others to arrive. Perhaps we were enjoying ourselves somewhat too much, perhaps our humor was not understood ? perhaps our 20 point lead was somewhat annoying the others but what we did understand and what was made very loud and clear by the entertainment rep over his microphone 'you British are sore losers, you do not cheer when the French get a question right, you are sore losers and should applaud them'...........So applaud them we did......at every opportunity we got for the next two days!!

The entertainment reps make no bones about completely ignoring anyone who is not French and will go out of their way to place you into a French or 'any other country' category.

Go with an open mind, sit back and watch and please, please continue the tradition....applaud the French!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FERGUS Pax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FERGUS Pax

Address: Avenida Del Notario Alemany , 12, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Pax)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FERGUS Pax 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your FERGUS Pax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Pax Magalluf
Hotel Marina Pax
FERGUS Pax Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FERGUS Pax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.