We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"HSM does what it says on tin"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel HSM Don Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel HSM Don Juan to your Saves list
Hotel HSM Don Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calderon de la Barca 4, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"HSM does what it says on tin"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

HONEST REVIEW!!

10 working professional from London on a Stag Holiday break. Just got back from this hotel and to be honest: “It does what it says on the tin.” We stayed from 29th June till 3rd July 2013.

I could not find a genuine real fault with the hotel, expect when the reps got wind we were around they will knock on our door trying to sell you tickets, which eventually gets very annoying when 4 different reps are knocking. I eventually threw water on one of them after a while, because she did not take NO for an answer. She saw the funny side to it. Lol lol 

Our flight was severally delayed so we got to the hotel pretty late, but check in was smooth and quick, despite the large number of us. We were half board, so we had breakfast and dinner. There was always something new with dinner and breakfast does the job after a heavy night of drinking and partying. TRUST ME.

Food was good, nothing special, but when you have paid £260 for four night break half board, you cannot really complain. If you are a fussy eater, then don’t book for food, it is as simple as that. Remember you get what you paid for, and a lot of us thought the food was good. It was buffet style and freshly cooked.

The pool area is ok, nothing special perfect for lounging, but the beach is literally 10 mins away as well walking. Pool bar was cool.

The hotel is literally 10 mins walking distance to the strip. BCM was good, but we had a much better time in the bars/pubs. Alex’s or Panama Joes (10 euro’s got a wristband and drinks free for 2 hours.)or Bar 29, was really good. They had a good selection of music and is pretty close to all the action on the strip, but BCM is a must attend.

Yes there are the black prostitutes lurking around, but we just started calling them “Auntie’s and Old Woman”, which made them know, we knew they were about, and they never troubled any of us. Lol lol. They normally around the end of the strip, mainly quite places where there is lack of light, as I never saw any of them on the main strip. To be honest they only trouble those who are completely drunk, so walk in groups or just take a taxi back after your leave bar or club.

It was a good 4 night’s stay and this hotel is not a family hotel, maybe in the quiet time of the season, but it is perfect for anyone aged between 16-28, single or mixed sex groups of male or females. There was always a bit of banter with those who were also in your hotel and yes the hotel is quiet loud, but what do you expect when you go to magaluf in the high season.

Those who complain about the reception staff simply have no manners. We were nice to them, they were nice to us. Treat people how you would like to be treated. It simply called “Good Manners”

All in All If I was booking again I would stay here. For me it’s 7 out of 10. Perfect for location, excellent vibe, good food and no hassle, room cleaned every day without fail.

The team: John, Susazzne, Rebecca and Santos.. Thank you for making it a very easy four nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a good stay in our hotel and that you liked its location so much. We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    106
    89
    57
    44
See reviews for
34
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

i went june 2013 recently, me and my friend stayed in don juan, we thought the hotel was going to be disgusting but when we got there it was reasonable for the money we payed, the breakfast was terrible so do NOT EAT THE BREAKFAST! the egg was not cooked and the bacon tasted gone off, the staff was very friendly and helpful...., but we was on the 4th floor and it was very very noisy with Spanish boys having partys in there room at 7 in the morning which i was not impressed with at all i complained to the staff down stairs,but on the good side it was very clean and the cleaner came in every day at 10:00 to clean but we stayed in bed when she came in, we was given fresh towels everyday, and clean bathroom floor, the balcony was rather small but done me fine. we was about 10- 15 mins from the main strip by walk but i would say get a taxi back as there are alot of women that mug drunken people out there and we saw it happen right near our hotel, the taxi it like 4Euro's defo worth the money, Don juan is 5min walk from the beach which is good. so over all i would say the hotel was reasonable for your 1st holiday away with your friend's i would not say it was a family hotel tho.

Room Tip: clean bathroom and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions and would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You only pay for what you get. Five blokes on a birthday bender was our purpose of the trip but our four day stay was faultless, We arrived early morning only one room was free but politely told us from half one the second room would be ready so we all made use of first room no hassles, generally its a clean hotel and rooms, food was ok for how cheap the half board basis was staff were very helpfull all round, beds were very hard but did the job, yes its full of youngsters partying so hotel at this time of year is noisy at times till 6 am but thats the guests fault not hotel. Overall we had a great time in magaluf. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Cheap as chips if thats want you want. Value for money !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a great time in Magaluf in our hotel and would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in June 2013, It was a girls holiday and we wernt expecting much for what we paid, When we arrived we where surprised at how lovely the hotel and staff where. The hotel was spotless and staff where very helpful. The rooms where spacious and very very clean, we where given fresh new towels on a daily basis. We stayed bed and breakfast and managed to make breakfast most days, the food was faultless and we had a lot to choose from.

The hotel was situated perfectly, it is roughly a 10 minute walk from the strip and 5 mins from the beach (Close enough to walk to but far enough away to be able to escape the noise) The water park is walking distance and the pirate show is literally round the corner. Also, there is a trustworthy bank nearby.

The only downside I could say was that the hotel is a bit dated looking but that isn't exactly a big issue and as long as it was clean we didn't bother too much. The pool area was really nice and kept very clean and having access to free wifi at reception was a great bonus! We will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view when booking as you get what you ask for and the pool is nice to look out to fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have had a great stay in our hotel and that you liked its location. We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everyone was nice apart from Miguel, but we love Paula, fantastic staff, trip of a lifetime BUT we did not like bar tender Miguel. Food was terrible cant trust the rabbit. Luiggi was a fantastic entertainer and a friendly guy. The topman was Alex because he's just a top lad, I would recommend this holiday because the deals are great. The swimming pool is small and too cold.

Room Tip: We prefer the third floor, The 6th floor does not have much of a view also the heights are a bit sca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us. However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. We hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

5 of us stayed at the Don Juan in mid June for one week, we had two rooms and were both on the 3rd floor just a few rooms apart, we arrived and were rudely told our rooms weren't ready and to leave our belongings in the luggage room, gave a bit of a sour taste in our mouth but we coped, when we got to our rooms they were basic with an en suite, and a balcony, clean although was chewed chewing gum and pills let in a drawer, apart from that it was fine, the maids came in every day and changed your towels and gave a little tidy up, which was good. Rooms have air conditioning also which is so helpful. There are no hair dryers provided so take your own, some noise is heard but its not over bearing, just what can be expected from magaluf! Pool area was good, sun loungers and seats and tables, it was kept clean and looked pretty, pool was often freezing but was bearable once you were in :) it's about a 5 min walk from the bars and about 1 from the closest shop. Due to the fact you don't get bands to be in the hotel you are greeted by numerous reps and PRs knocking on your door every night trying to get you to buy tickets, can get really annoying when your having a sleep or getting ready, so I think security could be a little better. Wouldn't recommend walking home to the hotel yourself as it is a bit far out and you pass many prostitutes, which I've heard can get violent and steal from you, with not many lights around the area it's a bit eerie. The food is absolutely dreadful! Luke warm, tasteless and always the same, we spent 2 days eating bread and chips before giving up and eating out from then on, yuck. The staff were good, good laugh especially the entertainment team! :) overall the hotel is okay, it's good for breaks away for teens and ideal for a party holiday, but wouldn't recommend children or older couples to stay here :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize, if the quality of the food was not exactly your taste. The extensive buffet offers a big selection of cold and hot dishes, as well as a wide variety of desserts. Thematic buffets. However, we would like to inform you , that we have orwarded your comments to our department of quality to improve our service.

With kind regards,

Your HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I and 4 friends stayed here from the 17th of June for one week.
ROOM’S
We had two rooms each. 3 of us in one, two in the other. Our room on the 6th floor which had 3 of us in was good. Towels were cleaned everyday providing we put them in the bath and the noise level was modest as we overlooked the front of the hotel. The maids were good even if we were still in bed by the time it came to cleaning them, they would still come back after we had left to do just a quick tidy. However for the other room on the second floor they were not so lucky. They were woken up every morning around 8 by their maid and if they did not let her clean then it didn’t get cleaned.
FOOD
The food was good. A decent selection every night of meat fish pasta and salad so there was always something to suit any tastes. One thing I did find strange was the each evening there was a different selection of two cheese trays, however no crackers :S .
HOTEL
Pool was a decent size; it was fine with us as we were the only people who ever seemed to use it. The hotel itself was clean and was nice in terms of décor. The hotel offers entertainment through the day and the reps did their best to try and tempt hung-over guests to take part. They also had evening entertainment but we never went.

LOCATION
The location is good. In my mind you’re at the right end of the strip. You’re a 5 min walk from what people would call pre drinking bars and a ten minute walk from the bottom of the strip itself. And in-between the two are BCM and BCM square.

Really enjoyed this holiday was very happy with the hotel and I would say it’s incredible value for money, would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again myself particularly in the area it’s located.

Room Tip: If you want quite. over facing the front of the hotel, the higher the better. If you want party. fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know, that you really enojoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you liked it. We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel HSM Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HSM Don Juan

Address: Calderon de la Barca 4, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel HSM Don Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel, HSM Don Juan, now offers high quality facilities and service after its refurbishment in 2008. The highlight of the hotel is its ideal location in the lively city of Magalluf. During your stay with us you can enjoy all the attractions that the resort to offer, or you can relax and spend your days by the hotel's swimming pool. The hotel is open from February to November. LOCATION: HSM Don Juan is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts in Mallorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts a blue flag, thanks to its high quality year after year. The hotel is only 400 m away from the beach and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive cities on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide variety of fun the city has to offer! There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for those who love golf! In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football field, rugby field, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 15 km away, the airport 22 km. There is a public bus service to the capital; the bus stop is only 100 m away from the hotel entrance. ROOMS: The hotel offers newly refurbished double and single rooms that present a modern and up-to-date look. All of the rooms include a bathroom, heating and air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), parquet floor, satellite TV and a balcony! There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board food and beverage packages. The extensive buffet offers a big selection of hot and cold dishes, as well as a wide variety of fruit and desserts. The restaurant offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking, as well. All food is served in thematic buffet style. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious terrace with a swimming pool for adults with a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool is available. Inside of the facilities at HSM Don Juan there are cozy common areas, a game room, as well as an indoor bar! CHILDREN: At HSM Don Juan there is a mini club for children during the summer months and swimming area for children. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and Mastercard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis, French bowls in the complex. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel HSM Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Juan
Don Juan Magalluf
Hotel HSM Don Juan Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel HSM Don Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.