We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magalluf rocks and i dont mean the rocks in the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torrenova 33, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“magalluf rocks and i dont mean the rocks in the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

the hotel florida is 1 of the best places to stay in magalluf you will not find better you want to know why well ill tell you ....we arrived on Sat Sep 4th to Sat Sèp 11th

1. the friendly staff

2. the comfortable beds

3. the 3 star hotel has a 5 star view (yes a 5 star view)

4. the food is excellent (try the soup and dessert yum yum)

5 the cleaners do a great job in the rooms and hotel grounds

6. which is why its worth the walk up the big hill to get to this excellent hotel

a bit about magalluf nitelife places to go

1. Chaplins
2. Crystal
3. The G Spot is a (Very cheap place nearly all drinks are 2euro day and night)
4. Bonkers is a great place also lively place
just a few to mention

hope this helps to make your stay enjoyable
Magalluf 2010

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    210
    74
    24
    49
See reviews for
39
151
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The good:

Very clean, very modern, staff generally very friendly especially in the bar, great views, very nice pool and terrace with great views, very nice modern rooms (although no AC) - I was given a wonderful room on the top floor with an enormous terrace, nice restaurant with great food relative to the price paid for my stay. Nice location overlooking the sea. Quite a few young groups there but they were well-behaved.

The not so good:

Drinks prices - too high. The terrace bar was very under-used for the amount of people staying there and I put this down to the high prices. This means guests don't mingle much, leading to somewhat of a cold atmosphere throughout the place.

Hotel was generally very clean, but there was a fair bit of rubbish left in some difficult to reach places - where bottles and inflatables had been thrown off balconies etc. Not nice to look at. Surely it's not a big deal to get someone to sort that?

Hotel was quite 'disciplined', which could be a negative or positive depending on your outlook.

The 'hill' really is no big deal unless you have severe mobility problems.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to a friend if the drinks were a little cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

well there was 2 of us that went, two 22 year old girls looking for a crazy fun resort but somewhere quiet to sleep at night and this hotel was perfect. the fun and nightlife is literally a 2minute walk but at night you can have a peaceful nights sleep, when you roll in at 6 in the morning :-)!
the ONLY cpmplaint i have is theres no fridge or anything so cant keep cold drinks in ur room, which wud have really come in handy because its so hot. but we felt safe and we had fun! the pool is gorgeous and theres an amazing view. make sure ang go to BCM for crazy nights and Bacco's for a sing song and bita fun! magaluf is perfect for a crazy drinking holiday but you get the best of both worlds as there is gorgeous restaurants and fun things to do for quiet nights!!
we are definetly going to go back to this hotel, go girls, you will love it!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed at hotel Florida 20/27th August. It ia 1/2 way between Magaluf & Playa del Carmen.
We arrived in the middle of a heat wave, 5am temp 81f, Very little wind & high humidity, It stayed like that all of our stay.
Our room 310, was first class, cleaned every day & had a double balcony (30x10 ft) English channels on TV Which pleased my other half,
The view from the room was 10 out of 10.
Food for morning & evening meals again, well if you carnt find anything you like each day you must be very fussy.. I could not complain about the food.
Only used the hotel bar (Floor Zero) once in our stay but it seamed well used. with no noise after 12pm.
As the hotel is built onto a cliff, You walk in off the street To a nice reception, Which is in fact floor 6, ( () in the lift.) & all rooms floors 1 to 5 over look the sea. floors 7 & 8 have rooms that dont.
Down side.
1. Rooms dont have aircon, But have a large fan in the roof, All other public ares have aircon. We slept with the doors open trying to get some little breaze that there may have been but even the locals said it was HOT, It wouldent stop me going back to stop there though.
2. I'm 62, the wife 59, Fit ish. Half way down into Magaluf is a Tee shirt shop with a tee shirt printed with the words, NO BODY TOLD ME ABOUT THE BLOODY HILL.. Well i have, Temps in the high 80s, A few drinks on an evening, comming back from the town you look or think about it & say one of 2 things Yes were the can do team, or TAXI, 3 Euros. 50% of the time we made it. Others (Young things) just romped up.
Overall, Good place to stay,
Last word, Get a bus to PALMA for the day,(Number 104) Only a couple of Euros. Fantastic city .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I'm just back from a weeks holidays from Hotel Florida in Magaluf, I have not got 1 complaint about the place it was completely spotless. They have to be the friendliest staff I've every come accross, the breakfasts and the evening meals were absolutely delicious, there was always something for everyone on the menu, the desserts are out of this world. We had a seaview room which was great, the hotel is only a two minute walk from shops and nightlife, there is a hill to walk up on the way home but the quality of the hotel makes up for that. The room (2003) was cleaned and clean towels and bedding everyday, the only fault we had was that there was just a fan and no aircon. There is plenty of nightlife nearby, we would recommend the office bar, great music, friendly staff and they only give you the drinks you want and not force you to buy 2 or 3 drinks at a time like some bars and charge you a fortune then, avoid mulligans (charge you a fortune). Most of our friends were telling us 'oh be very careful its rough out there', we did not see one incident of violence or drunken behaviour you would usually get with such a large gathering of people in one place. We absolutely loved it out there and will probably return again, there is something for everyone out there, we walked to palma nova a couple of times its much quiter than magaluf. Anyone going to magaluf we would highly recommend a stay in the Hotel Florida. As with everywhere if you walk from one pub to another or one shop to another there can be a big difference in prices for the same thing. We went to subway sandwich on our last day there and were discusted at what we were charged for 2 rolls and 2 cokes. All in all we had a great time, we'll be wiser next time, its lively out there, the Hotel Florida was just perfect for us and all the staff were so friendly. We went go carting and had a great time, expensive but your on your holidays.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I went here on 16th July for my sisters Hen party. There was 6 of us. The hotel is not what we expected it was much better.... It was quiet so you could relax, very clean amazing views and the pool was gr8 too. The staff was amazing and very helpful!! The food was very good and a large range. It was a short walk to the beach and the town centre. People moan about the hill it is on but it really insnt that bad! It only cost 3euros from town centre back to the hotel if you want a taxi but there is no need, we walked up and down the hill at least 4times aday. I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

i travelled with a group of 11 people and booked into a different hotel in Palma Nova to find we got transfered to the hotel florida... we arrived at the hotel and everyone was screaming because the hotel was unreal. the hotel staff were really friendly and gave us all directions on where to go and what time dinner would be ready at. the hotel was quiet but there was plently of life not afr away. we got up to our rooms and the veiw from the balcony were amazing, it was just gorgeous. we sat out in the evenings with a few drinks and had the craic. the nightlife is just down that hill, and people arnt exagerating when they say that hill is the horrors.. its frign massive. theres a nice wee kabab place half way up it though if yeh fancy a break. we went down to the beach everyday, which is just down the hill. or you could go right when you get ou of the hotel and its the quicker way to palma nova, it has a really nice beach aswell but its not as lively as magaluf. at night time you do get hasseled by ones trying to get you to come in for drinks, but dont be fooled... everyone is giving you free shots and cocktails, we went to a lovely bar down beside alexs bar, theres a girl called amy, shes lovely and she gave us a free jug cocktail each when we bought a drink and a free bottle of champain between 4 of us. the BCM is really close to us, but there a night club called bananas at the bottem of the hill which we had the best nights in. the pub crawl are hilerious, you have to try them.. we went on 3 while we were there and they are well worth the money, because they pour drinks down your neck all night. Banana joes in Palma Nova is really good aswell, the man at the bar doing the djing is HOT and is up for a good laf.
the food in the hotel is really nice, im not a picky eater, but some people i travelled with are and none of us ended up starvin. the food was nice and the chef in the restaurant is really nice and willing to help. the head waiter is hilerious, we would ask for bottles of water for the table and he would ask if we wanted wiskey with it??? we were also giving our own table so we would no were to sit when we came in.
the pool at the hotel is lovely, its like over looking the sea which looks amazing and there are steps down to the peer were you can jump into the sea although the steps are really hard to get back up, so dont do down unless you are prepared to have to go back up them because there is no other way up.
the rooms are really clean and the maids are really nice, we had money left out on one of our last days for the maid to take because we felt bad as our room was such a mess and she didnt touch the money, we left i pods and phones out the whole time we were there and nothing was touched. we ended up waiting on the maid to clean our room on our last day so we could give her the money and even then she fought with us over giving her it.

make usre you go to the pirate show its brilliant...

Overall the hotel was really clean, the food was good, the staff were brilliant but the hill is MASSIVE, but well worth the climb... i will deffinitly be staying here again, and i cant wait.

AMAZING

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Torrenova 33, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Florida combines a privileged location, on a promontory in the bay of Magalluf, with the daytime and nighttime attractions of this well-known resort. A beautifully located sun terrace with pool and a fantastic view beckons you to relax, whilst a short walk separates the hotel from lively beaches and discos, bars, night clubs and restaurants offering fun into the early hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Florida Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.