We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for what we paid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamboyan Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flamboyan Caribe to your Saves list
Flamboyan Caribe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Martin Ros Garcia, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good hotel for what we paid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Flamboyan Caribe on a short three day break in August 13. Firstly I have to say that as we were ‘lads away’ we really weren’t expecting too much from the hotel but were very pleasantly surprised in all aspects of the hotel and its environs. Firstly you walk into a lovely if small courtyard with huge trees leading to the hotel reception. The reception area is again very smart with lots of comfy settee’s to relax. The staff were very professional and were always ready to help. We were given a sea view upgrade which was nice and placed in the Caribe half of the hotel (The Flamboyan) main hotel is next to the Caribe. The rooms were what you expect of twin rooms in Majorca – Small beds, a little TV and an average size bathroom with a bath/shower combo. Nothing spectacular but perfectly adequate for us and nice and clean (if dated). There was a fridge and a small safe but these were at an extra cost which we didn’t choose to take.
The hotel food was again what you expect from Majorca standards, Full English/continental buffet with plenty of everything – Not great quality but again perfectly edible. Self service drinks with wine, juice and fizzy drinks in abundance. The restaurant is very basic but has a wonderful view of the beach and sea so makes it a really nice experience. Lunch and dinner were basically the same, a mix of chicken nuggets, fried potatoes of some description, pasta with tomato sauce (or white sauce) and three types of meat or fish. Exactly the basic AI food you get anywhere in a standard three star hotel. Again plenty of salad, bread and accompanying sides and plenty of all. No issues from me but if you want Michelin star food then you haven’t paid enough money for your hotel….
The hotel itself is quite compact, there is a little pool area with a small number of sunbeds which get snapped up pretty quickly but as you are literally right on the beach, no hassles there. There is a small bar and this created my only grumble of our stay, the barstaff will not under any circumstances give you any more than 2 tiny glasses of drink at a time even if you are sitting at a table in the bar and both have AI bands on. Incredibly short sighted and extremely annoying. Surely there must be an element of initiative here. People pay extra for the AI privilege and then spend most of their holiday frustrated that they aren’t getting drinks when they want them. Also the barstaff are really very slow creating long queues and waiting time so you feel frustrated and not relaxed when you are supposed to be drinking and relaxing. This needs a little investigation by the hotel management and the rules need amending as it will leave a negative impression of what is otherwise a lovely hotel.
Finally the hotel is right on the famous Magalluf Strip so if you don’t get a room with a sea view then expect to hear the noise of the revellers well into the early hours of the morning. In the seas view rooms we didn’t hear anything but people we spoke to who had those rooms complained of the noise frequently.
If I came back to Magalluf I would definitely stay at this hotel again, it gave us everything we needed without being above average yet we left feeling like we had stayed in a pretty well run hotel.
Well done to the team at the Falmboyan Caribe.

Room Tip: Ignore what people say about the Security. The team there constantly look out for the guests and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    172
    102
    47
    51
See reviews for
78
165
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

when I found this hotel I thought it looked great, I was wrong! I hated it. the food is disgusting and quite limited I thought, we ate out most the time. the drinks were okay but sometimes were put into thin glasses and u got like 2 mouthfuls so had to keep running up and down to the bar. the rooms were okay, beds were comfortable when you got used to them. maid was in everyday but the towels are tiny. And the bedding only got made not clean sheets, the balcony railing was really Shakey and put me on edge. the hotel was clean but I dunno if it was cause of there type of cleaning products but the place stunk to me. the walls are extremely thin DONT TAKE CHILDREN.. we heard every conversations the boys next door had. the stairs to the beach are annoying and not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. one of the outside jacuzzis kept breaking and wouldn't heat or bubble. I didn't feel comfortable in this hotel at all and couldn't wait to get home. the female bar staff were lovely the man was rude to my friend most days and so was one of the reception staff when she requested clean towels as we were in bed when the maid came. First time abroad and totally disapointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

have just returned from the flamboyan caribe and have to say it isn,t a hotel i,d book again.. the decor and proximity to the beach are its only good features. tiny pool, only one bar inside(no swimwear or barefeet allowed if you go to the bar) 30 or so sunbeds, so very little chance of sitting around the pool, 2 drinks only from the bar.. so if theres a group more than one have to go.. and the food was more of a 2* standard than a 4*! processed meat, chips and pasta appeared daily. the staff, however, were very pleasant and helpful. if you,re lucky enough to get a room with a sea view then you may find your stay more pleasant than ours was, ours overlooked the strip and the view certainly wasn,t nice.

Room Tip: high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked our first Holiday away as friends late last year and hoped for a hotel that could provide us with a mix of both the relaxing holiday feel and the amazing nightlife that people go to Magaluf for and this Hotel certainly delivered!

From the moment we walked into the foyer all our faces lit up with joy at seeing the spotless and modern decor of the hotel, knowing that we had avoided booking a dive was such a relief. We received such a warm welcome from the staff on reception who made us feel so welcome and sorted everything out for us offering all the help they could. I dont know what the other reviewers are saying, as we found the staff from all parts of the hotel more than helpful and polite and we would like to thank them all, in particular the outstanding bar staff who made our stay so pleasing.

The hotel itself was lovely. Both interior and exterior were spotless and created the perfect atmosphere for relaxing during the day after a heavy night on the strip. Ths pool was amazing and so refreshing, our only fault was the lack of poolside bar, however the hotels proximity to the beach more than made up for this! The rooms were also nice, although basic, they still had everything to accomodate your needs and a real treat was the powerful Air Con fitted in all rooms that helped us get through the warm nights. Although only managing to make breakfast 1 day, the food in the hotel was very nice with a mix of spanish and English food fitting to most peoples tastes, you have lots of chance to make the most of the all inclusive whether its the food, the drinks or the extra activites on site.

The major pull to this hotel for us was its fantastic location, you only step out of the hotel one side and you are on the beach and next to the numerous beach bars, and then the other side of the hotel you are along a main shopping street and only a 30 second walk from the main strip, which gives the hotel the perfect location to clamber back to in the early hours of the morning! All in all I feel the Hotel is a perfect choice for people staying in Magaluf hoping to have a relaxing and enjoyable experiance while also making the most of the nightlife, its a fantastic place in which we will be returning to next year and would be more than happy to recommend to everyone.

Thank you Flamboyan Caribe for helping make our holiday brilliant!

Room Tip: The sea view is fantastic and is probably one of the best in Magaluf, but all is not lost if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although we were staying it Magaluf and didn't expect much, we did book it knowing it was 4*. I had been here once before a few years ago for a hen night, and remember it to be a decent hotel, however on returning it wasn't as good as i remember (or it has deteriorated). The owner is very rude! A member of our party's phone went missing from her room and he was unhelpful and dismissed any idea that it could of been stolen, and in fact blamed her for it for not hiring a safe! However, this wasn't our problem; our problems were the beds were uncomfortable, rooms weren't very clean, pool is tiny (but it is practically on the beach so we didn't mind too much). It's fine for a week but wouldn't stay there for longer than that and I'm not in a rush to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webs2009, General Manager at Flamboyan Caribe, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We really believe that all younger clients that have problems with lost items, scandals, bad behaviour etc. "rewrite the reality" in tripadvisor .
Some clients should reconsider their attitude towards the staff and the management.
We really want all clients to enjoy their holidays but respect to the rules and also respect to other clients should also be a must.

In Spain we say : the freedom of one person ends where the freedom of the other person starts
All our year after year returning clients and friends ,know exactly what we mean,
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I enjoyed the hotel apart from the idiots we had next door the management soon resolved the problem and I was very grateful for that I have only been abroad once before and was really looking forward to my birthday as my sister and family had made lots of effort for my surprise birthday celebration the food was lovely we had plenty of choice and something different each day each meal the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome the sea view we had was quite breath taking anyone going to this hotel it pays to get a sea view the nightlife was very busy lots of young people it was too rowdy for me but I had to try magaluf if you stay at this hotel watch your loungers on your terrace people like to steel them all in all it's what we all made it very enjoyable family holiday there are shops just outside the hotel for your cigarettes and spirits the hotel is equipped with a nice pool the beach was very busy and there are party boat trips available you have to try it a least once thanks to all the staff and management cheers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went to this hotel with two other lads in the second week of July 2013 and wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you to the hotel. It was one of my best holidays and partly made so by the Flamboyan Caribe. The room was fine (lets face it, you shouldnt be spending too much time in there with Maga literally ten seconds from your doorstep), the all-inclusive meals did the trick (although, personally, I thought that the evening meal was the best) and the free bar until 11pm was spot on. Playstation consoles and a pool table provde extra entertainment. After the chaos and neon of the Strip the hotel is an oasis of serenity and we loved it! The wifi could be a bit wonky but I'm not knocking points off for that. The view of the beach from our balcony was majestic and the beach itself is first class! Yes there is some noise from the beach and partygoers but that's par for the course, as are reps plugging bars, men selling watches and women offering massages!! If you want absolute peace and serenity go to Filey in October!!! If you want a very good hotel in the heart of the resort go here!! I'd go back to Maga tomorrow and couldn't choose better than this hotel to stay at. The Flamboyan Caribe sells itself. Ignore the reviews and just.....go!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony facing the sea. Superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamboyan Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamboyan Caribe

Address: 16 Martin Ros Garcia, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamboyan Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Flamboyan Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamboyan Caribe Magalluf
Flamboyan Caribe Hotel Magalluf
Flamboyan Caribe Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamboyan Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.