We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hi! Honolulu Hotel to your Saves list
Hi! Honolulu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Alta esquina -C/ Pineda | Urb Torrenova, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We went on a girls holiday and was awful we weren't expecting it to be perfect as it's an 18-30s hotel on arriving we had to struggle with our suitcase up the 20-30 steps as there are no ramps the reps didn't bother to help checking in took us 45 minutes as they just kept talking to other staff etc arrived in out room to find out air con is basically non existing we slept on the balcony most nights as the room was like a sauna! There are only 2 plugs in the room one of which is in the bathroom the one in out main area was hanging off the wall and didn't work asked for it to be fixed and never was,our balcony door never shut properly we had blood stains splattered on our walls and curtains the shower was never warm was always freezing cold and not much water came out. The maids had an awful attitude if they came in when you were asleep or getting ready and asked for 10 minutes they would shout at you they never changed our sheets and my die had came off my hair onto the sheets so was covered in pink! It's not advertised as being on a hill yet we found a short cut from the strip to avoid it however when walking up the stairs you had to get up as quick as possible to avoid things getting thrown at you (water filled condoms, toilet rolls, shoes, glass bottles etc) the reps were awful didn't bother with us at all never even said hi just because we missed the welcome meeting so didn't buy their wrist bands for €150 out front door didn't lock properly the food is basic the drinks in the hotel out the vending machines is the cheap stuff but yet takes a layer off your throat however the hotel entertainers sarah and Alan are lovely they came and sat with bus every night to ask how we were and what we had been doing etc we didn't spend much time in the hotel as it was that bad however the resort is very good and would definitely go back choosing a different hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit to hotel Honolulu.

We highly appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your impression of your stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble you had. Our aim is to provide an excellent service and a high quality product.

We would like to thank you for constructive criticism and we will be pleased if you give further preference to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    192
    150
    99
    131
See reviews for
56
146
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As a couple in our 50s we were shocked to find this was a 18-30s holiday. the good thins about the hotel was the staff and the food. We could not sit at the bar in the evening through fear of being hit by things being thrown from the balconies. items included filled condoms. chairs, tables. lamp shades, hand cuffs and many more,
the hotel was extremely noisy at night and during the day around the pool so we could not relax. if you are over 30 do not get caught like we did. we would never have gone there if we had known it was 18-30s. we saw things there from youngsters that nobody should see.
management of the hotel, we think you should let all travel agents know about the club 18-30s.
would like to thank Alan and Sarah for helping us keep sane, you were brilliant.
from a very annoyed old couple

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit to hotel Honolulu.

We highly appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your impression of your stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble you had. Our aim is to provide an excellent service and a high quality product.

We would like to thank you for constructive criticism and we will be pleased if you give further preference to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First things first - this hotel is a 18-30 party hotel me and my mates didnt expect the ritz but it done as we were barely in the room long enough to notice as wee were partying hard !

FOOD- i thought the food was good lived oin chicken chips and pizza and hot dogs all week but tht was sufficient for me as ye cany go wrong wie a wee mcdee's or KFC

the entertainment in the hotel was pretty poor bt again all we done was get smashed at the pool and rip the hole out the all inclusive bar. the serve yourself part tho at the pool was pain in the bum having to scan through the turnstyle .

bought the vip mcp passes off the reps due to my mates getting them as the sucker u at a meeting soon as ye get ther in my opinion ye would get them cheaper on the strip but still the booze cruise with reps and club 18-30 was out this world best day of the week

done all the good nights including silent discos , paint party foam party bar crawls !

the bad thing abt this hotel was we were at the back looking onto the vistasol hotel which seemed like they had complete animals staying all week as the continouisly threw stuff out there balconys smashing to the ground from towels to chairs to tvs and beds !

all in all the hotel was good night time reception staff are door faced . the hills a bit of a pain in the bum wen steaming

watched the stinking prostitutes as ye turn at the bottom of the hill . all they want to do is rob ye stay in twos or just hook one n run lol .

Room Tip: go higher or get a corner / joining room if in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time and commented about your stay at the Honolulu.

Your comments are very valuable for us and give us a great opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our guests.

We are very happy that you had a great time in Mallorca and at our hotel

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Honolulu.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends over the last week of July this year.

We had all read reviews before we went and were slightly worried about what we had booked, especially reading about the food, when we arrived my worry was made worse as there was a group of people waiting for a coach transfer to the airport and one said to me " you just got here, unlucky, this place changes you we can't wait to get away" he then walked away.

I told my friends what he had said and we where all worrying about what it was going to be like, at that a receptionist turned up to check us in, we arrived at about 1030 in the morning so our room Wasnt quite ready so we where told to put out luggage in a store room
Where it would be safe.

The Room.

When we got into the room
(After only an hour or so of being there) i was presently surprised, it was clean and spacious, with good views from the balcony, yes it was just a standard room with only one plug socket but i was on a clubbing holiday and it was only going to be used to sleep in.

The Pool.

We went down to the pool area shortly after arriving, and again I was impressed, you could go into a little pool bar and get your own drinks, all the signage states 2 drinks each but unless your going over the top the staff are not that strict at all. The pool it's self is clean and looked after well and the hotel entertainment are always coming around asking if you want to take part in games round the pool.

The Food.

The food is the main thing we were worried about but there was no need. Okay there wasn't much verity but it did the job and we where all happy with it, yes chips were always there but there was a rice or pasta alternative, there was veg every night And always salad available, I had chips once so for
The people that are saying you have to eat chips with every meal well it's a load of rubbish. The food Wasnt top notch but nice and I always had something different.

The Location.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, it's a couple of minuets walk to the strip and you can go either way of the hotel drive to get there, be careful if your on your own and you go left as you will have to walk down what we named prostitue hill, you see them all over that short ally towards the strip, they wont leave you alone until you get near the strip
Or police and if you look at the top of the grassy bank on the left you will see there pimps watching from time to time. It is also only a short walk to the beach from the hotel and both magaluf and pama nova beaches are easily accessible. The hill is barely noticeable, it's not massive at all, there were much bigger hills all over magaluf!

Escapades
We were with escapades at this hotel and the reps were brilliant we had Laura and nat, they both got involved with games on trips we did and where a good laugh and easy to talk to, we paid €240 for our wristband but that included example and Mallorca rocks and also the boat party. With the wrist band you could have €1drinks between entry and 0230 or you could pay €7 per night and have a free bar from 0000-0530 so paying the €7 is worth it. The events are with it and would recommend paying the amount we did yes it's pricy but you get a foam party, paint party, silent disco, frat party, pool party, boat party, example a number of bar crawls and more.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone between 18-25 as it is for people who have come on a clubbing holiday, the hotel is nosy at night but we couldn't moan as we made our fair share of noise shouting each others names from
Floor to floor and chanting "yam yam army" but it didn't bother us when someone else was shouting as you don't notice it when your
Tired. We only got johnny bombed once in the week we where there and nobody threw any glass or plastic bottles at us, I never saw prozzies in the pool like others have said, and yes the night receptionist can come across rude but I think it's his sense of humour,
Me and my friend lost our room key and to get another one we had to sing and dance for him which we found hilarious whereas when we told others about it they where disgusted so It's how you take him. Brilliant holiday would go back anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking the time and commented about your stay at the Honolulu.

Your comments are very valuable for us and give us a great opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our guests.

We are very happy that you had a great time in Mallorca and at our hotel

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Honolulu.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my mate for partying its an ok hotel if you dont want to eat the rooms are fine but no air con, you do hear noise all the time but your in magaluf your bound to here it every night.

I don't consider myself a fussy eater at all but the all inclusive is bad it really is but I got up for breakfast once and it is really nice. No fridge can be a pain when your on the top floor and the lift brakes constantly, the resturaunt is closed most of the time they have water machines on every floor for 2 euros which i got a lot of it is nowhere near worth the money the all inc.
Brill location just a few mins from the strip and two beaches.

On your way in and out of the hotel you get from condoms filled with urine,wet tissue,peoples belongings,glass bottles,chairs,water, everything really, run up and down the stairs if you dont want to be covered in it.

The alcohol is not that good it just messes up you throat for a long time but suppose its free.
Prostitutes/muggers at top of hill every night causing trouble for lads I heard one pulled out a knife its ok if your not by yourself absoluty off your face they jump in the pool at night aswell.

I am definatley returning to magaluff just not this hotel because of the all inclusive is not worth the money but book if you want a wild hotel with mates.
Definately go to BCM and MCP at night its worth the money and mallorca rocks is brill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent visit to hotel Honolulu.

We highly appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your impression of your stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble you had. Our aim is to provide an excellent service and a high quality product.

We would like to thank you for constructive criticism and we will be pleased if you give further preference to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my friends for our girls first holiday! We knew we wouldn't be in the hotel much as we would most likely be at the pool and down the strip, but the hotel itself was of such a low standard!
Firstly, the rooms were not clean and had blood marks all over the curtains. Secondly the shower curtain was held up bu knotted plastic bags, and secondly the shower itself wasn't great.
We paid around about £750 for all inclusive week baring in mind this should cover drinks and food. Well the restaurant wasn't always open so there was no way to access any drinks from inside the hotel unless you wanted to trace across the road walking down several flights of stairs!
There was no aircon what so ever! Which was stated within the advertisement!
The location of the place was good, and despite reading previous reviews the hill isn't much at all and really is a three minute walk from the strip.
The food itself wasn't great but it supplied the basics.
Overall I was very disappointed with the hotel for the amount of money which we spent, however would recommend people people who did want to stay at this hotel not to pay all inclusive.
The place itself was very out-dated and had lots of missing chunks in walls, tiles and doors which some had been covered up with plaster.

Room Tip: Request low flooring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are grateful that you took the time and trouble to write about your holiday. We take your comments very seriously and they do help to improve our standards and services.

I am sorry that on certain levels your holiday did not live up to your expectations. I do hope I can address all the points that you have raised.

We know that holidays are special and do our best to make them completely enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently sat in room 822 of this hotel (otherwise known as the stuff of nightmares) on the very much broken double bed and have just finished cutting our 11 day holiday short by a week just to get out of here. My partner and I arrived at the Hi! Honolulu on Tuesday the 23rd of July 2013 after a 9 hour delay to our flight. After arriving we had to haul our suitcases up at least 20 steps (no slopes or disabled access anywhere in the hotel). We were warned by our reps to get up the steps as quickly as possible to avoid the glass bottles and water-filled condoms being thrown from the balconies above. We checked in and went to our room. This hotel is advertised as having air conditioned rooms... Air conditioning, in this hotel's case, is more like an asthmatic blowing through a toilet roll tube from the 1st floor and expecting the air to affect you on the 8th. Believe me, it doesn't. The showers are also the most temperamental things in the world and a death trap too. My partner went to shower when we arrived and almost slipped on the base of the bathtub. We ended up putting a towel on the bottom of the bathtub just so we didn't fall over. Then there's the issue of the water either being scaldingly hot or freezing cold. And that's a change you get every 15-20 seconds, regardless of what temperature you set it too. We met our 18-30 reps in the hotel bar and they were brilliant. I wish I could say the same for the bar though. The cheap, nasty alcohol you get from the vending machine (the free stuff you get with all inclusive) will get you drunk (if you don't mind your throat being sore for the entirety of your holiday) and the "slush machines" are a joke. They produce what can only be described as a drink that tastes like watered down vinegar... Either way, after heading onto The Strip and having a good first night, we came back to the hotel to be greeted by people throwing glass bottles, balls, shoes, kebab boxes, anything and everything, over the balcony as you climb the steps below. It is literally an obstacle course and is not advised for the faint of heart. Upon arriving in reception, I discovered that the lifts wouldn't work and just kept half opening and closing the doors without ever moving. I walked over to the reception desk and very politely informed the night receptionist that the lift was broken to which he looked me up and down and replied "You could do with the exercise anyway...". I'm sorry but, regardless of whether I was fat, skinny or whatever, a comment like that should *NEVER* have been made to a guest and my eyes almost popped from my head upon hearing him say it. He then said offhandedly "there's a lift over in that cupboard. Use that." The staff lift, as it turned out was down a dark corridor (no light switches about) with brooms, buckets etc for myself and my partner to trip over. We reached the 8th floor (top floor which is where the dreaded room 822 is situated) and were greeted by a still very hot room. That first night, we actually slept on the balcony just to keep cool. The maid decided to let herself in every morning at 7 or 8AM and just stand there and stare until I blearily said "Later gracias" every morning. For a hotel which is basically a party hotel situated a few hundred feet away from the strip, where the drinking does not stop until 6AM, they should schedule the cleaners a bit later? Either way, when we did eventually coincide our waking hours with her cleaning hours, we were not impressed at all. The bed sheets had not been changed just re-made, no new towels, no fresh pillow cases, floor hadn't been swept and there was an ant's nest in the corner. I'm sorry but, if cleaned thoroughly, an ants nest of that size would have been noticed immediately. My partner and I went to use the phone in the room one day, just to discover that the wiring's frayed and the socket is actually not even attached to the wall. Also, there's only one electrical socket in the entire room. Just one. And it's in the bathroom. Unless you want to fiddle with the wiring behind the strapped-to-the-wall TV (where your options are a multitude of Spanish tv or 2 identical BBC News channels or Channel 5) then you have to learn to share electric time with your roommates. From where our room was situated, the lights from the clubs on the strip came through our door every night as did the mish mash of songs, chanting, shouting, screaming and sounds of bottles being thrown out. We could have closed our door but then we would have boiled even more thanks to the shoddy air con. As we speak its 8PM and there are some girls downstairs who have bought a megaphone from the "Lucky lucky men" and are shouting "F*** you you motherf******". They're also chanting all manners of profanity's. If you actually plan on sleeping, good luck. You have that to contend with until approximately 8-9AM every morning from 8-9PM the night before. The noise is a constant for 12 hours daily. Now, I love partying and we've had a brilliant time here in magaluf, but it does sometimes feel like this hotel has been left like this to be smashed up and trashed by what can only be described as young children who've been given alcohol. I myself am only 18 and my partner 26 but we're both disgusted by what we see here on a daily basis. An old man had a stale burger thrown at the back of his head from the balconies earlier, the prostitutes (who dominate the land surrounding the hotel and will attack any men who are alone and have no women with them and I mean holding razors to your precious areas and stealing everything you have) go into the hotel pool nightly to wash themselves between clients (witnessed with my own eyes from my balcony) and an elderly couple who were too afraid to leave the hotel between certain times of the day in case they got things dropped on them from above. My partner and I came here for a holiday where we could have a good time away from our hectic business schedule and, instead, we're leaving before we've even finished our first week. We payed £3,000 for our holiday, don't make the same mistake as us and book into somewhere where walking up the steps isn't going to result in a 50/50 chance of things being launched at you from on high...
The only staff we would like to thank are Alan & Sarah, the guy who checked us out on the front desk (and was the only polite one) and our 18-30 reps Georgie and Stewie. But honestly, save your money and go somewhere else...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We are grateful that you took the time and trouble to write about your holiday. We take your comments very seriously and they do help to improve our standards and services.

I am sorry that on certain levels your holiday did not live up to your expectations. I do hope I can address all the points that you have raised.

We know that holidays are special and do our best to make them completely enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Honolulu Hotel

Address: C/ Alta esquina -C/ Pineda | Urb Torrenova, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Honolulu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THIS HOTEL IS TO BE REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ADULTS ONLY (+16) Situated in the hills of Magaluf and Palma Nova, the Hi! Honolulu Hotel*** allows us to offer you a combination of leisure and holiday fun for your stay on Majorca. The Hi! Honolulu Hotel*** is located between Palma Nova and Magaluf, on the south-western coast of Majorca, only 21km from Palma and just a few metres from two beautiful beaches of Magaluf and Palmanova. The hotel offers 219 rooms with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe (extra charge), bath, shower and toilet. The hotel has 1 adults' pool, games room and an exceptional programme of entertainment, including evening shows. There is a wide range of leisure and sports activities in the area nearby the hotel due to its excellent location. Come and enjoy with your partner or friends both the facilities of the hotel and the area of Magaluf and Palmanova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hi! Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Honolulu Majorca
Hotel Honolulu Palma Nova
Hi! Honolulu Hotel Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Honolulu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.