We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an excellent holiday at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Trinidad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Trinidad to your Saves list
Sol Trinidad
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cala Blanca 2, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall an excellent holiday at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Here are my observations from our experience:

Went with husband and son aged 17. Please note this sol hotel did not have the flintstone theme.

Hotel located in the midst of bars and very close to BCM night club.

Reception staff were very helpful and obliging, friendly manner. Same for bar staff.

Cleaners did a good job, always polite. Room was clean. Adequate cupboard space, full length mirror on wardrobe door. Ceiling fan in room okayish, but did not really help us feel cool. Television in room, (free), English channels were sky news and bbc1. Bathroom clean, soap and shampoo provided. Maid service every day, towels changed daily. Balcony nice, however no washing line or hooks to hang clothes, so we draped our stuff on the chairs. Safe in cupboard, you have to pay for this, but it is well worth the money.

Our room was directly opposite McDonald's, which is open until 6am. Therefore it became noisy during the night with people passing outside in the street, the noise was generally continuous. Shutting the balcony door did eliminate the noise, but then we were too hot!

We did not hear any noise or get disturbed by our neighbours.

Pool area was cleaned every day. Plenty of sunbeds, the life guard would arrive just before 9am and we could get our sunbeds then, it was very calm and no rush at all in the mornings.

The sol entertainment team: debs and Alvaro, they are dedicated, they worked hard to ensure that ALL guests had a chance to join in, without forcing you, and they made sure that guests enjoyed themselves. They have a good teamwork ship going on, but I am so sad Debs is leaving, she is particularly gifted at getting people to feel relaxed and have a special time. Two genuinely lovely entertainers, they made our holidays a more enjoyable experience, we had a good laugh with them. Games ranged from rifle shooting, archery, ping pong, darts, water aerobics etc.

Food was of a good quality, and clean. There was always something that we liked every day. Staff in restaurant nice, especially the omelette chef at breakfast time.

Evenings: there is bingo every night and live entertainment every night, generally this was a singer or a musician, once a week the entertainment team would put on a show for us; this was always excellent and enjoyable.

On the last day of our holiday, there was a storm and parts of the hotel flooded. This was dealt with quickly and efficiently by staff with as little disruption to the guests as possible.

Everybody has different expectations from their holidays, this hotel met ours and we had a lovely time, and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear guest, it is always a pleasure for us to read such comments regarding our hotel. We are especially delighted when our personnel warrant such special mentions. Our staff in the reception, bar, kitchen, dining room and the tecnicians who work so hard to ensure the cleanliness of our pool area, are all so motivated when they see this recognition. Full marks once again to Deborah and Alvaro our lovely activities team who of course we are so proud of.
Many thanks on behalf of us all for taking the time to write this review and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    310
    139
    67
    55
See reviews for
124
216
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at Sol Trinidad with two other girls. We had an amazing holiday and met some lovely people in the hotel.

Room is basic but fine for what we needed – getting ready and limited sleeping. Has a full length mirror and a dressing table so there is enough for everyone. Stayed at Fiesta Jungla in the middle of August with only one small mirror to use between 4 girls! Shower is average.

Food was lovely and there were always plenty of options. We ate in the hotel every night as it was convenient and we didn’t want to spend our money on food when it was already available. We got up for breakfast a couple of times which was also nice and brought sandwiches back to our room for anyone still in bed.

Not sure about the noise levels at night as we usually got back between 5-8am! Possibly quite noisy before 11pm/12 as people would get ready in their rooms or drink in other peoples rooms usually with loud music. We had people who weren’t from our hotel to stay over in our room but we heard the security guards stopped this for other people.

Pool is quite relaxing in the day, was able to sleep on my sun lounger easily except for when water polo starts at about 4 :). Music is not loud compared to other hotels i have stayed in.

Had an issue with the maid – one of my friends had blood on her bed (even though none of us had been cut) and, when asked, the maid refused to change the sheet or to even give us a clean one so we could change it ourselves. We then requested a sheet from reception who advised they would ask housekeeping to look into it. When we arrived back to our room there was a letter with a 50 euro fine saying that there was pink hair dye on the toilet seat and shower curtain (we are all brunette) but we couldn’t see any pink! When management came to collect the fine in the morning we showed her the clean toilet seat/ shower curtain and didn’t have to pay.

Good location – near the beach/ strip/ BCM. I’ve been to maga 3 times and wouldn’t personally recommend BCM however I am a fan of the strip. I’d recommend Mambo’s/ Alex’s/ Crystals. Panama’s or Morgans on the other side of the square are good to go first as it is 10 euros for 2 hours free bar.

Overall, an amazing holiday and didn’t want to leave – we did ask if there was any space to book another week and extend our holiday but it was fully booked.

Room Tip: We had a pool side view which seemed to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest, we are so pleased you had such an amazing holiday and many thanks for writing your review. It's encourageing that you enjoyed the food and found the location of the hotel so near to everything you wanted. It's a shame you could'nt stay for a bit longer but we certainly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Travelled to Sol Trinidad for the 2nd time and stayed between 7th-14th August. We booked again as it is a hotel for families and we have 2 girls 12 and 15. As per last year all very clean and spotless with a good choice of meals and plenty of whatever you chose.
The activities team who the girls were dying to see again had changed except for Alvaro who bless him was his usual brilliant self :) and we had the pleasure of Debs this year instead of David. She was as exceptional as Alvaro and the 2 of them made as brilliant a team as David and Alvaro had been, and worked tirelessly to keep everyone entertained. I do agree however with the review before me that if you had small children there was nothing for them apart from the pool.
I do not agree however with the fact that the music was too loud or on too long. It did infact start at 10am and the night entertainment stopped at 12midnight. This is quite acceptable for people who go to bed at a reasonable time and do not expect to sleep all through the daylight hours as some of the 18- 30's thought was the norm. Don't have a poolside room if you want more peace.
Security were brilliant as they stamped out any noise from the loud mouthed girls and lads that thought it acceptable to be running about and screaming at 3 and 4 in the morning down the corridors and slamming doors and having parties with no thought to who might be in the next room. Well done!
Really great time had by us all.
See you again soon.

Room Tip: Room with pool view would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest, we should first and foremost like to thank you that you chose our Hotel Sol Trinidad once again for your holidays. We are delighted that you and your family also enjoyed the new look activities team and your kind remarks have been passed on to those concerned. Once again, our security force have been given a special mention and that is something that is so very important to us. It's lovely to hear you had such a great time and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last week and had a thoroughly great time, Excellent location, right in the middle of town and a few yards from beach. Fantastic food, great choice and excellent quality both at breakfast and dinner. Speciality nights with roasts, cheese, fresh seafood. Tables cleaned quickly, service good, restaurant clean and always found a table. Bar prices expensive but then you didnt have to use it. Didnt use the pool as love the beach which was very close but seemed to have lots of sunbeds. Pool music started at 10.30am and was quite loud and carried on all day but then you dont come to Maguluf for peace and quiet! Always beware the female black prostitutes as they are just muggers and witnessed for ourselves how they target young drunk males so NEVER go out after dark on your own and take limited money in your pockets or they will have it. I have been to Maguluf 3 times now and feel that these girls spoil the town big time and cannot believe how the Police allow them to carry on and feel that every holidaymaker should be warned about them.

Room Tip: Ask for pool/sea view as you could look out over McDonalds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest, we are so pleased that you had such a great time and found our hotel to be in such an ideal location. We are especially glad that you thought that the food on offer was so fantastic and the comments regarding our personnel in the dining room are especially welcome. We hope to be able to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I went to the Sol Trinidad for a week on Aug 05 - 12th with my wife and 4 year old son, we were half board and found the breakfasts were great if you eat continental breakfasts but if your looking for a fry up I would advise to eat elsewhere. The evening buffet was excellent with good varieties of food. The food was always hot and tasted great and was always served by the chefs with a smile.

During the day the poolside is not the ideal place to be if you want a bit of relaxation, the music is on all day and is great if your on a fun holiday with friends but as we weren't we found it very loud. The hotel does not cater for little ones though, all the activities were centered around the 18 - 30 ages and to be honest given the location and the type of holidaymaker staying there it is understandable. I was a little worried on arrival seeing the ages of the holidaymakers and me thinking "my god what have I got myself into". My wife and I are both in our early 40's and we thought we would be kept up all night with the noise of teenagers staggering into their beds at 5 in the morning. Not the case. Security were on their toes and any noise was soon stopped.
Having never been to Magalluf I was worried that I had entered an 18-30 holiday with my family, again not the case we found some great bars that catered for all ages across the road from the hotel.

The rooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday without fail. The bed....oh let me come to the bed....it was like concrete, I never managed more than 4 hours sleep, as there were 3 beds in our room I tried each one and they were the same. I had a eureka moment and laid my lilo on top of the bed and managed to get some sleep (wish i had thought of this on day 1 and not day 6.lol).

On the last day we had to book out of our room by 12 p.m and our pick up to the airport was some 13 hours later. I had been advised by our booking agent that he had arranged it for us to stay in our rooms until we were due to be picked up. This had not been requested and we were a worried what we were going to do for the next 13 hours with our suitcases and a hyper 4 year old son. I went to reception and was told they had a holding room for our luggage and that we could have access to a room so we could shower and change. Excellent! I read a review posted prior to mine that they were not happy with this arrangement! I personally think it's very good of the hotel to offer this as they are not obliged to.

All in all my family and I had a great holiday and the only thing I could fault the hotel with was that rock hard mattress.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the noise from the pool or the bar music late at night ask for a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest, many thanks for all your comments regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food on offer and that the kitchen personnel merit a special mention along with our fantasic housekeeping department. It is very important that our security force are so efficient and we are very encouraged by your remarks regarding this. We should especially like to thank you for your opinion of our free changeing facilities which as a hotel, we think is so very important to look after our visitors needs not only on arrival but on the departure day also. Sorry you found the bed to be uncomfortable but pleased be assured we are continuously looking to improve our installations offered to our guests. We certainly hope to be able to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have just returned from a week in the sol trinidad (10th-18th aug) and not sure exactly what to say about this hotel! Sorry it is so long but I do need a good rant about this place!!

Good points:
Right next to the strip and the beach
Clean dining room and nice reception area
One night we short fused the electricity in the room (by having 2 hair dryers on at once & the fan) and the electrician was back up at the room before we were
quiet at night so you would get a good nights sleep (although we weren't in until the morning anyway)
Security all night (not always great)
Even though its right next to the strip and everything no noise!

Bad points:
we were still in the room one morning when it was cleaned and the cleaners did a very poor job, feet were very dirty when you got out the shower!
music starts at about 9am and finishes at 12am!!and with a poolside view it was very very loud all day, couldnt hear our own music then they had the cheek to tell us to turn our music off at 12 oclock and they turned all the balcony lights off!
No air con, so hot at this time of the year!!
A pint of juice at the pool bar was almost the same price as an alcoholic cocktail which is a bit steep for juice!
hired a fridge for the week and after putting chocolate in it came out melted, so wasnt even cold!
food was okay, im not a fussy eater but couldnt always find things to eat and cause we had to leave the room at 12 on the last day did not get our dinner!
on the last day we were not getting picked up until 12.50am and got thrown out of our room at 12pm which is fine and after asking if there was any rooms to keep on we were told there was none although when we got picked up nearly 13 hours later there was still no one in the room we had left! So being tired as we got in at 9 am and got 3 hours sleep the 3 of us slept on the couches in reception most of the day (very very cold due to air con down there!) and at about 11.30 I was rudley awakened by the female security guard asking what the hell we were doing here with our suitcases and if we even stayed at this hotel!! Complete cheek if you ask me considering it was them that threw us out 11 hours before, she then didnt believe me (even though we had spoke to her every night when we came in) and went and checked my name and what room number we were in. After checking and obviously finding out we did infact stay there she did not even bother coming over and saying sorry for HER mistake!
Maids were always coming in and slamming the doors cause we were still sleeping, which was annoying!! Also one day the bins did not get changed so we emptied it ourselves and put it outside the door ready for us to take down when we were going down for dinner and we got abuse for this in spanish might I add!
Slow lifts! (not too much of a problem more of a standing joke between me and my friends)
We got given a 'shower room' for 3 girls and got 30 minutes to get ready when we had been out our room all day which I think is a complete joke, how can they expect 3 girls who have been up since 9am that morning to get ready in 30 mins I do not know! It would have been easier keeping our room on for 4 or so hours!!
Watch out for the prostitutes on all the street corners round about the hotel, they just grab you if your a male and after trying to help a very drunk boy from getting his money stolen I got slapped in the face and we got followed by alot of them the next night, luckily we had met some guys who we were walking with!!

overall I am not too happy with this hotel or the service we received from first choice beforehand (i know this is nothing to do with the hotel) and would only reccomend staying here if you are like us only going to sleep in it! the older man behind reception was lovely! one of the only nice members of staff that I came accross but the woman is very Icy which personally I can't be bothered with!

Room Tip: dont ask for a pool view if you dont like noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your opinion of various aspects of your stay with us. We are pleased you found the location of the hotel ideal and that our maintenance department were so efficient. With regards to the security in the hotel, they are there for every guests safety and with so many people staying at our hotel, it would be very difficult to remember everyone individually. In reference to the check-out time at 12.00 noon, this is standard in most hotels throughout the world ( it tends to be even earlier in Britain) but we provide changeing facilities as a free service in order to assist our guests who may need them. At the time of your stay the hotel was completely full and therefore it would unfortunately not have been possible to have a late check-out as rooms are needed to be prepared for arriving visitors. The evening meal would have been included even though you had left your room depending on which was your first meal in the hotel on arrival. We regret you were not too happy with the services offered in general but we hope to be able to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the sol trinidad with my best friend on the 30th of august for one week and we had an amazing time! The hotel was very clean, the only thing that would of made it even better was aircon we did find the room very hot but we found we just dealt with it. The beach is about 2 minutes away and we went there most days as the pool area is quite small and by the time we got up all the sunbeds had gone. We went to a friends hotel one evening which was an 18-30 and the noise was unreal! Sol trinidad was alot quieter which was nice as we did want to get some sleep, if i was to go magaluf again i would stay here again, was in the most perfect location and was great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth_Frew, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Trinidad, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your opinion regarding your stay in our Hotel Sol Trinidad. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and found the hotel to be so clean. We look forward to your next visit and many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Trinidad

Address: C/ Cala Blanca 2, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Trinidad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Trinidad Magalluf
Sol Trinidad Hotel Magalluf
Sol Trinidad Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.