We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you'd expect ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Guadalupe to your Saves list
Sol Guadalupe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra La Porrassa S/N, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Firstly, in response to reviews criticising magaluf - what do you expect? It is magaluf after all! It will be noisy, busy and dirty! I personally would not take my children into the resort area, but as someone in their 20's who went with friends we loved it! We wanted to go out drinking, dancing etc, but we still have standards and like somewhere nice to stay.

The hotel itself is on the edge of magaluf, and takes about 15 mins to walk to 'the strip'. Being a sol, you expect a certain standard and the guadalupe doesn't disappoint. It is very clean, and spacious. The food was delicious, typical of a Spanish hotel chain, but we were very pleased. The sun lounger game does occur, especially in July - we are teachers so had to go during school holidays. If you leave it till late morning then they usually are all gone. The pool itself is very clean and attractive. We found all staff to be very helpful. The magamar apartments nextdoor are very loud, although we were lucky to be facing the pool and not them.

All in all I would definitely stay here again. We were looking for a lively few days but with extremely comfortable, clean and quiet accommodation by day and that's exactly what we got. I have stayed in 5* hotels all over the world and am extremely hard to please!

I can't comment on the entertainment because we didn't see any but the staff never stop, particularly with the children!
Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    365
    96
    27
    17
See reviews for
298
420
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just returned after 2 weeks in this fantastic hotel. 3 kids to entertain aged 15 ,11, and 8 and what a great hotel, the entertainment team in particular Florian and Victor (please be there next year) were superb and the kids loved every minute. Food was very good and changed constantly. Great location and overall excellent Hotel, cant wait to go back!!
see you guys next year..............

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter and grandchildren (10 and 12) for one week, it is excellent value. Food was exceptional and the hotel was lovely and clean, we were well looked after. The only downside was we couldn't get a sunbed! The usual case of not getting down in time to put your towel down. Hotel should police this a bit more and regularly remove towels that do not have people on them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hi - 2nd time at this hotel - 10 of us for hen party. Close enough to bars, beach and nightlife but far enough away for no trouble and being able to sleep! Good service, good food and rooms and pool area clean and tidy. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Pool view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a nice hotel, and it is true to what it lists all what it offers.

There were live performances in the evenings, also a schedule displayed for day around activities each day.

As other reviewers mentioned, it can be really noisy. We were listening to all the noises from halls, next rooms, from road outside, specially from bar which is on the other side of hotel. But yes, if you are on this island you already know that it is known for partying and night life so that shouldn't disturb you.

Only thing was it doesn't give you that much Spanish feeling, whole town is kind of British. All you hear is British English around and when you go for a walk British pubs, food, television. Also hotel was full with British travelers so in the evening during performances / programs or by the pool it was all English. Which was good for us as we don't speak Spanish, so was kind of very comfortable to move around, but may be not everyone thinks that way that's why just a note of caution.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 12th to 26th July with my husband and 2 year old daughter, its a nice hotel but I dont no what all the fuss is about as its not as gd as everyone is making out and I wouldnt call it a 4 star. I will start from we arrived, quick check in and easy enough to find our room.
Room was small for 3 people as we were constantly walking in2 eachother, has a fridge which you do pay extra for although we didnt have to as I am diabetic and requested it when booking, air conditioning is free and there is a ceiling fan however this shakes ALOT when on so we didnt use it as we didnt want it coming off, there is safe in the room however it is 35 euros per fortnight with 5 euros back when you return the key. The bathroom is nice although you can have a conversation with ur neighbours literally, it sounds like they are in the room with you, our bathroom light was hanging out of the ceiling (not 4 star standard), beds are comfy enough although I was a bit annoyed as the holiday was booked for me and my husband and our daughter yet we still got 3 single beds and not a double and a single. Rooms are cleaned everyday but not under beds i dont think they are ever cleaned as our stuff got covered in months worth of hairs and dust, towels changed everyday but bedding isnt which we dont mind but people are saying that it gets changed every day. Hotel is clean and tidy, pool area cleaned every morning, doors to pools are locked until 8.30am with a que waiting to put towels out every morning, pools are good, we stayed by the small pool which you need to be careful of as there was always glass in it and 4 kids got sliced during our stay.
Meal times breakfast from 8am very good choice from ur usual full cooked breakfast to pastries and fruit.
Dinner from 6.30pm good choice- chicken breasts, sirloin steak, chicken curry, pork, fish, italian corner.
All in all the hotel was nice however I would not return to magaluf again as it is not for children and is very dirty, every nite there was either blood, vomit or condoms on the ground which is not something I want to walk through with my daughter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a first class hotel, excellent facilities and food. The pool is stunning. It is only a short walk to the beach. However - the bedroom walls are paper thin. You can hear EVERYTHING said and done in the adjoining rooms. It wasn't too busy when we were there, it would be a nightmare in high season. It is also a pretty noisy location, particularly the rooms at the back which overlook ajoining appartments and hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool, ideally the wing over the reception end (away from the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Guadalupe

Address: Ctra La Porrassa S/N, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
#1 Best Value Hotel in Magaluf
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Guadalupe 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Guadalupe Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Guadalupe Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Guadalupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.