We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare close to the airport” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Antillas Barbados

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Antillas Barbados to your Saves list
Sol Antillas Barbados
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Violeta 1, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Warsaw
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nightmare close to the airport”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Magaluf is one of the noisiest places I've ever seen, full of English football fans. It's a horrible place for family vacation. Tall block with overcrowded pools and concrete-beach. We couldn't sleep (noise !!!) so we changed the hotel. I can not reccomend this place !!!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear rahela_warsaw,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment, although it makes more reference to Magalluf as a destination, than to our hotel services. Tripadvisor is a travel website that assists customers in gathering travel information; therefore many tourists use it to help them choose hotels for their holidays. If a customer consults in Tripadvisor the information available about Magalluf, he will find out that Magalluf has a lot to offer, but during the high season months it is one of the most popular and busy tourist areas of Mallorca, with a very lively party atmosphere. The beach is very long and it is the result of an artificial regeneration, it has fine-grained white sand.

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to Magalluf in the future and if you would be so kind to inform us of the dates of your next visit, we will do our best to ensure a nice stay.

Yours sincerely,

Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    292
    152
    66
    48
See reviews for
322
232
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Its was great here. We were recommended here by friends but never knew it was ranked so high on TA. It was a delight being here. Every penny spent was worth it. The level of service is seconds to none and the management take every concern on board and actually deal with it. Fab.

Room Tip: Choose top level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Joseph L,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment and to send these wonderful words about our hotel and staff. Your feedback is appreciated.

Again, thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here from 14 to 21 august and loved the hotel. Everything is clean, the food is well cooked and is just a little steep to the beach.
We stayed in the Antillas building, as the Barbados is behind this one and is more close to the street and all the activities during the day are in the Barbados, so there's always much more people, more confusion during the day, there aren't any trees so its hoter than the Antillas pool area. 
The Antillas is more calm, there is not much of confusion comparing to the Barbados, and is 20 mts from the beach so you can easily put your stuff one the pool beds and get some swims on the beach without having to get a place (the beach has lots, lots, lots of people and is more calm in the morning).
The room is clean, loved it, no complaints.
The staff aren't that simpathic, and 90% are middle aged men, with 50 and more years, this is not a problem, but in all the places i was the bartenders were young and more friendly. These ones were more quiet but always served us well.
The half board doesn't includ drinks, wich is awfull.
The elevators are fast!
The food is very well cooked, but there isn't much of variety, the ice creams are small, the deserts are very industrial and there is always the same foods everyday (everything well cooked).
Conclusion, we will get here again definetly, of course if the prices of the Iberostar's from Alcudia bay keep high prices, otherwise it's Iberostar and Alcudia forever!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Antillas building if you want more calm and confort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear HelderBCarvalho,

Thank you for your nice review. We have shared your kind words with our staff. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your experience in Sol Antillas Barbados and in Magalluf. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am gagging to write this. Breakfast staff ignore all younger guests but are nice to families! I wonder if they have paid more! The room was tatty and the towels threadbare and smelly. The safe and fridge in your room is not included and you have to pay extra. You have to pay an arm and a leg for wi fi every day and theres no free wi fi even in the public areas and it's very slow. This is the first hotel I have ever had to pay for wi fi. To upload a picture it took me over 2 minutes. At check out I asked if our cases could be kept and the receptionist ignored us point blank and spoke to a family and kept us waiting. This is not nice when you have paid so much. Staff are pompous and rude in general except the cleaning staff. Maybe the cleaning staff should teach customer service and manners to the rest of the staff like in the dining room and reception. Magaluf is fine but nothing amazing and we have been to better and more friendly places than Magaluf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sam B,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment about your stay in our hotel, as this kind of feedback is of the greatest assistance to us in identifying any areas that may require improvement and, subsequently, allows us to take whatever corrective measures may be necessary to achieve the constant guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We were very sorry to find your dissatisfaction through this comment on Tripadvisor, as this fact gives us no opportunity to resolve the situation “in-situ” and find out a solution, so you would not leave the hotel unsatisfied. We hope you can understand that some of the issues you pointed are incredibly difficult to rectify once the clients have left the establishment.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the problems you may have encountered.
Yours sincerely,

Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel - my husband and I with our 16 month old and five year old daughters and we had an absolutely lovely time. Magaluf town itself is pretty awful 18-30yrs territory but we were on a 10 day all inclusive family holiday and apart from taking the short stroll to the beach or to walk along the promenade to the shops we hardly felt the need to leave the hotel complex as it was such a nice place. The children's activity programme was great - the entertainment staff can't be faulted and were working from morning to late at night to make the holiday great for both children and adults. We didn't have any issues with the baby club - apart from the fact that our 16 month old preferred to be with us than stay in it most days! She did go two or three times though and lasted about an hour and a half each time which is impressive for her - the staff there were lovely and the room has lots for little ones. Understandably they don't allow parents to stay long when checking them into the baby club or else all the other babies start crying for their parents too. I hadn't expected to be remotely interested in the evening entertainment but their productions (e.g. Mamma Mia, Peter Pan, Lion King) were so professional that we all enjoyed them, and my five year old was thrilled to be allowed to take part in the Peter Pan show. The hotel staff (with exception of one rude maid and a couple of grumpy waiters) were also fantastic - always smiling, playing with the children and couldn't do enough to help. Rooms spotless and nicely finished even if slightly on the small side for a family of four, but there was enough room for the cot, 5 year old bed and ours so there's not really much to complain about on that front. The entertainment was always finished by about 11.15/30 so even if you could hear it from your room you would be unlikely to be affected. There were two restaurants to choose from though we mostly stayed in the Barbados restaurant which was better set up for children - food was varied and again staff fantastic, there was always something for the children to eat. Overall I would recommend this hotel to any family looking for a great family holiday. There were also a good amount of couples staying though, not just families. The pools were also lovely and you could have inflatables in two of the pools, though understandably not in the main pool so as not to take it over. The hotel is right by the beach so no problem with hauling lots of beach stuff long distances, and only three minutes stroll along the the promenade to the shops. We will be looking for a Sol hotel for next year's holiday too as it was such a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not directly over the pool if you don't want to hear music from activities etc. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear familysd2013,

Your review was a pleasure to read, thank you, it is always great to know that we have met our clients expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Sol Antillas Barbados.
Faithfully yours,

Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I have provided photos and this is just my honest opinion.

I went on holiday with my boyfriend (25) and my daughter (4).

Ill start with arrival - as we booked through OTB and our hotel was overbooked we where offered this hotel as a replacement.

As previously we had booked a hotel at the quiet end of Palma Nova we were a bit apprehensive.

Arrived at the hotel around 3pm, check in took 5 mins and the room was ready right away.

The hotel reception in both antillas buildings and the Barbados building are fresh and clean.

The antillas has a large seating area, games room, bar and goes out to a beautiful seating area with an amazing veiw (uploaded a photo or two of this) and this building restaraunt. While the Barbados reception has a small seated area, a large bar area and goes out to one of the pool areas, a pool bar and to the two restraunt areas in this building.

Ok so next the rooms, spacious, very clean and modern enough! TV channels though for English speaking guest only 3 news channels which as I watch tv going to sleep I was more than upto date with current affairs!!!

I stayed at the hotel all inclusive which included breakfast 8-10:30 lunch 13:00-15:30 and dinner 18:30-21:30 and drinks 10:00-00:00. The food was usual all inclusive type food nothing exceptional - I did really enjoy the roast beef though and the salmon! Both at the show cooking and my daughter loved the chocolate cake and the jelly!!
The drinks included all the usual drinks and unlike other all inclusive hotels it included Smirnoff and brand drinks!! I loved the iced cocktails!! Iced daiquiris, cosmos and cola mojoitos!!! All amazing :) and my daughter loved the milk shakes, slushes and 0% alcohol cocktails!!!

The pools now ... The hotel has 5 pools all in and two pool areas one between the Barbados and antilla building, this area has a large freeform pool, a small kids pool and a small lanes pool. This area has lots of Loungers but was never overly crowded there is a pool bar, seating area and showers.
The other area is down the stairs from antillas it is literally at the beach!! Well the beach is down a small path maybe 10 metres? There are 4 shower/ foot washing areas before the pool so the area is clean and sand free with a free form pool, lots of sun loungers and a small kids pool - there is two lounger areas one round the pool one over looking the water! Seperate by a small shades seating area at this pools beach bar!! Which is included in all inclusive!!

The entertainment staff went over and above all day everyday when we stayed! Activities for both adults and children, day and night! Whilst there we never went to the antillas area as it seemed more for adults and the Barbados area for children!! The shows we seen included mama Mia, Peter Pan, magician, flamingo dancers and a disco night :)!
The musicals like Peter Pan and mama Mia where our favourites the staff took the time to bring the show into the audience and all the kids loved seeing theyr favourite characters jumping through the audience!! ... some of the kids even being offered parts through the day during rehearsals!
There where also party games and mini disco for the kids before the entertainment starts.
The hotels entertainment staff where amazing and always tried to get the kids and adults involved - not atall in a pushy you need to way like some hotels!
Also as this is a Sol hotel the flint stones characters made a regular appearance a few times a day to dance with the kids and pose for photos!!

The hotel offers wifi and beach/ lounger towels for a deposit! Which was good!

There is also a Spa, indoor pool, and kids club and baby crèche at the hotel although we used non of these facilities whilst there.

The hotel also as a Sol establishment offer passes to Katmandos house in magaluf and mini golf in palma nova with reduced taxi fare as an option with the pass.
We only used the pass for the house and it was amazing fun ... We did buy 18 holes of golf at Katmandos once there as it was so amazing it had a waterfall and Rivers running through it and the passes only include the house and one ride! We walked aswell and it took under 10 mins!

Overall this is a good hotel for both families and couples looking for a quiet quality hotel in magaluf.

My only down point to this hotel was it was mostly German, Spanish and Russian guests with very few from Britain! It wouldn't stop me going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Kmcpxx,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and for your time. An overbooking situation can sometimes negatively mark the beginning of a long time planned holiday; therefore we are especially pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff.

We hope to see you again next year.
Warmest regards,

Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staying as a couple looking for a relaxing holiday we were disappointed with having loud young people staying in the room next door to us. They came in late every night and woke us up which really got tiresome to say the least. Didn't understand who exactly they are aiming for at this hotel. Families or couples or young people? Also the food at night was very poor and no way up to 4 star standards.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galina Sosa N, Gerente at Sol Antillas Barbados, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Matt M,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you may have experienced in respect to your last stay in Sol Antillas Barbados. Although a distinct variety of dishes is cooked daily in attempt to satisfy the great array of different tastes and preferences of our guests, it is always difficult to meet the expectations of all our diverse multinational clientele.

Magalluf has a lot to offer and during the high season months is one of the most popular and busy tourist areas of Mallorca, with a very lively party atmosphere. Visitors can choose between a great variety of hotels, depending on they own needs: family, adults only or more focused on nightlife. But obviously people are free to book the hotel they think best suits their interests. So despite being known as a family hotel many young people choose us because of our location: next to the beach and still reasonable not far from nightlife. In this kind of situations, if the hotel is not fully booked, a room change is always an option. With the assistance of the hotel staff, it usually does not take more than 30 min. Otherwise you can make a complaint against the loud neighbors, so the security staff can regularly check on them.

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to our hotel in the future and if you would be so kind to inform us of the dates of your next visit, we will do our best to ensure a nice stay.

Yours sincerely,

Galina Sosa
Deputy Manager – Sol Antillas Barbados
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Antillas Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Antillas Barbados

Address: Calle Violeta 1, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#3 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Antillas Barbados 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Antillas Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Antillas Barbados Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Barbados
Sol Antillas Barbados Magaluf, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Antillas Barbados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.