We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Es Raco d'es Teix

Es Raco d'es Teix
Sa Vinya Vella 6, Deia, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 639 501
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Deia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth every penny?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were in on a Saturday night in October and it was quiet. The setting is beautiful but there was a rarefied silence that wasn't right and we seemed to be sitting in some sort of outside air conditioning draft. The service was excellent but somehow the formal white gloves routine feels a bit outdated.The food was very good but not to the extent where your mouth is blown away with taste and you can't actually talk for the experience each mouthful brings. The Mediterranean fish soup was lovely with chunky white fish and the sea bass was good too...but the 'blown away' factor was missing. Little uninspired by desserts and would have liked something more inventive for the chocolate pudding - disappointed at the lack of local seasonal fruit used. All very good and to a high standard but wouldn't be my first choice in Deia - that certain something was missing. Probably the least inspired Michelin restaurant I have been to (only been to a couple though!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    25
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“disappointing and slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went there for lunch on a reasonably warm day in October, but not hot. Firstly the terrace has lovely views but very poor shade cover. There is a tatty brush pergola and a couple of umbrellas that were not enough for the whole restaurant and we ended up having to go inside for the main course. The service was extremely slow. We ordered just after 1p.m. with only three other tables and our starter of parfait of foie gras which should have taken about 5 minutes arrived just before 2p.m. We noticed that the other tables also had very slow food service. After the foie gras we waited about 40 minutes for our main course, 2 OK fish dishes. We have been there before about 5 years ago and the food is nothing new or better since then. With the coffee in Spain we usually have a digestif which is quite a reasonable serve. The waitress put us a tiny drop which was like a taste. When my husband questioned her she said that the usual serve was 20cl. They charged us 16 Euros each!!! Over priced and we wont be going back. With a bottle of wine at 30 euros which is very reasonable, sharing a starter, 2 main courses, no desert 2 coffees and two overpriced digestifs the bill came to 220 euros for two people !!! Not worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The title of this review says it all. Do not miss this restaurant when in Deia, not cheap but worth every euro.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Atmospheric setting with excellent food and charming service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We chose the 4 course tasting menu and took the restaurant's advice on a local wine. My fish soup was fabulous, the herb crusted lamb was tasty and succulent and to banish an old family ghost I had tete de Moines with chutney which was very good. Our table outside meant that we were facing the mountains just as the sun was going down and so were able to enjoy the spectacular views at their very best. It was a deightful evening. Well worth a trip. Portion size was just right.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very surprised to read so many so so reviews of this place following our visit there a few days ago. Firstly the location of the restaurant is beautifully romantic, nestled in the mountain village of Deia with a terrace overlooking the mountains. To sit and enjoy a leisurely dinner while the sun went down was so enjoyable and relaxing. We found the service to be attentive and friendly without being overbearring. The main event of the food was absolutely delicious - with the pork being the best my partner has ever eaten, and for me a beautiful lobster ravioli starter being the highlight. The prices are certainly high, but no higher than you would find in a similar style establishment in London or elsewhere. Couple this with the location and no feeling of being rushed along to get the next punters in, and it was unbeatable. For a special treat or occasion during your stay in Mallorca Es Raco d'es Teix is perfect!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Raco d'es Teix also viewed

 
Deia, Majorca
Deia, Majorca
 

Been to Es Raco d'es Teix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Raco d'es Teix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.