We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sa Farinera

Sa Farinera
Camino Son Fangos, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Can Pastilla
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Spanish Barbecue Grill Restaurant
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

What can I say - what an amazing dinner.
We found this place on TripAdvisor, and I emailed a few days in advance for a reservation (which you probably should do too!)

We're from the USA, my Spanish is OK but nothing great. No problem communicating in simple Spanish here, and most of the staff also understood English. Not that it matters. Figure out a way to speak the language if you can't, because, this place is worth it.

Very speedy service, and amazing quality of food. Lots of meat.. my wife had the Filet (which was ridiculously huge, had to be easy 16 oz) and I had the Entrecote (ribeye). Both cooked to perfection. The bread + aioli was amazing to snack on ..

If you like meat cooked over fire - go here. Nice to get off the touristy spots in Playa and get over to a nice restaurant as well. If you are growing tired of Tapas in Spain, this is a good place to change it up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnside, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best of meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been going to Sa Farinera for many years and it's always the Same. Excellent food, superb surroundings and waiting staff that are always pleasant . If you visit in the summer sit outside by the water wheels and fountains , if you go Iater in the year enjoy sitting inside in the many rooms by cosy fires and enjoy a different but still special atmosphere. We have celebrated a special birthday there, my choice, as the one of the first times we visited the island my son in law who is from the Islans took us there and it has many happy memories for us. We have been just to enjoy a meal for the sheer pleasure of eating the excellent steaks cooked to your taste. Nothing more needed but don't forget to go and see the peacocks as you enter .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The restaurant is located by the highway (so you can walk there, you need a vehicle) in an old mill. The place is nice; rustic, full of old tools and machinery so it has a lot of character. The menu is short, but by no means limited. Meat, meat, meat and then some more meat. All fresh and done on the wood grill in record time. Desserts could be better, but still fairly good. Service is extremely efficient, but could be a bit nicer. Prices are very good (low $$), compared to other similar places. I would pick this one over any of them simply for the food and service, but considering they're also cheaper...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been going here for many years, and it is just as good now as it was 20 years ago. Grilled meat galore, excellent quality, lovely salads and desserts. Waitering staff are friendly, and it is set in a lovely old flour mill, with a cosy atmosphere inside and plenty of charm outside (peacocks in the entrance??)

Don't hesitate to go to Sa Farinera if you are stuck for options any time of the year. It's always packed! That's got to be a good sign.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sublime meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Tried this restaurant with local friends.

Set inside an old traditional mill, the decor is cosy and warm, if only I would have liked tables to be more distant to each other for more privacy.

Went directly for steak (no starters) as I had an early morning the following day and would not want to spend to whole night digesting a heavy meal. We only ordered some roasted potatoes to accompany the meat. We did not ask for wine for the same reason.

Steaks were sublime, crispy on the outside, juicy inside and wonderfully tender and tasty. I literally devoured it in no time. One of the best steaks I have ever had.

Asked for a local version of cheesecake for dessert which was very good as well and rounded nicely the meail

The price was contained (70+ euros for three people) and overall had a very good experience.

I do not rate it 5 stars because the service was somewhat erratic (the waiter did not seem to understand "rare to medium" despite repeat it three times so I surrendered to a disappointing "dont worry, medium will be fine enough" and a small mistake with the bill.

A place for meat lovers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa Farinera also viewed

 
Can Pastilla, Majorca
Can Pastilla, Majorca
 

Been to Sa Farinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa Farinera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.