We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar to your Saves list
Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Gabriel Covas Alemany, 2, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at The Gran Camp De Mar. (24/8/13) Pros: Perfect position right on the beach, hotel very clean, lovely pool, staff friendly and very helpful, the restaurant serves something for everyone and good quality. Lots going on throughout the day by the animation team.
Cons: sun beds are an issue which the hotel should address, some towels were out by 4am. Although there was a lot of activities, the animation team appeared rather amateur.
Also, if you are looking to venture out of the hotel, Camp De Mar is incredibly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    179
    93
    24
    11
See reviews for
153
245
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have just spent one week at this hotel (mid August) with two young children (aged 1 and 3) and their grandparents. We had a brilliant week here.

The location of the hotel is stunning, right next to the beach and has amazing views. Camp de Mar is quiet with a few shops, perfect for us but if you're looking for lots of bars and night life, best to go elsewhere.

The hotel staff were all very friendly, the staff in the restaurant made a big fuss of the children all the time and made us feel most welcome. The Animation staff work their socks off and run loads of activities for adults and children. In the evenings there was a mini disco for children then entertainment for adults (some nights great...flamenco, other nights less so). The Animation staff took no messing from kids misbehaving (which is more to be said for some parents). Some previous reviews mentioned there were too many kids.....but it surprises me why people go to a hotel like this during school holidays if they want peace and quiet....or next door there is a lovely Thomson adult only hotel if you don't want kids around. We didn't feel there were too many kids at all.

The rooms were pleasant enough, quite small but perfectly adequate considering you spend most of you time outdoors. We had a camp bed in one of our two rooms and a cot in the other and we felt we had enough room. Lots of reviews have complained about the air con. We thought it was fine. It does work only if you have your balcony door shut and comes on from 1pm until 9am....plenty long enough. The rooms were quiet enough too. With the balcony door shut at night you hardly heard the entertainment and the only place where it was noisy was the bathroom as there didn't seem to be too much sound proofing in here. But we actually found the rooms to be as quiet as most other hotels we have stayed in. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and you could ask for extra bedding etc if you needed them.

The food is great...loads of choice and variety and of a high quality. Lots of healthy foods available as well as more indulgent foods. Around the pool you can get snacks such as burgers and pizza but in the restaurant you could get most foods imaginable. My 1 year old and 3 year old always found lots of foods to try and enjoy.

The pool is great, lovely and big and felt really clean. It has a nice Jacuzzi area to it. The baby pool is brilliant for young children. Really big and the right depth to develop the children's confidence in the water.

The only downside to the pool is that there are not enough sun beds around it which causes the problems which have been reported on most of the reviews on here. It is true that in the early hours of the morning many people come out to reserve sun beds by the pool. By about 7.30am most beds are taken. There is a solarium area on the rocks by the sea just outside the pool area with plenty of beds and great views and steps into deep, clear turquoise sea water. However this area is not suitable for very young children as they could easily fall into the water and you need to be a confident swimmer to get into the sea here. But great for older families and couples. Some families do reserve sun beds early in the morning then don't use them until much later in the day and I do feel management ought to look at ways to stop this. Perhaps if beds are not used for an hour or so, take towels off??

The beach is 10m away and is lovely. Shallow, clear water into the sea and lots of beds and brolleys available.

Yes there are lots of nationalities at this hotel, lots of German families and English families but not a problem.

Overall we loved this holiday and the hotel and it's location and would love to come back. Some of the reviews on here are overly critical. We thought it was excellent. The hotel just need to look into maybe trying to add more sunbeds around the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your opinions
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future,
sincerely yours,
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I and my husband spent two weeks at this hotel (19.07-1.08.2013). We were the second time in Mallorca, which we adore.
GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT THIS HOTEL: 1) 70-80% of holidaymakers were German. 2) 40-50% of holidaymakers were families with very small children (from some month to 5-6 years old). 3) Receptionists speak fluent German, but have very little in English. 4) The lobby and terrace of restaurant are very close to the swimming pool with sunbeds, umbrellas, sunbathing people and playing kids.
POSITIVE: 1) Location, greet sea views. 2) Cozy bay, small but good sandy beach just 10 m away. 3) Excellent swimming pool with spa-showers and Jacuzzi. 4) Greet gastronomy. 5) Very pleasant restaurant staff. 6) Great show „Flamenco“. 7) Very good entertainment of counterpart of Rod Stewart. 8) One minute bus ride to the Paguera for good shopping.
NEGATIVE: 1) it is NO REAL AIR CONDITIONING in this hotel. Room conditioner’s regulator do not work, incoming air temperature is regulated centrally. The lifts are like the steam-rooms. Our guide told us: „It is the illustration of electricity economy mode in the all Mallorca hotels now“ (!!!). 2) Scream of kids and crying of small children all day. We love small children very much (we have a nice small granddaughter), but sometimes the hotel reminded us of big kindergarten and It makes us a little worried. 3) Change of bed sheets – once in 5 days (water economy mode in the 4-stars hotel). 4) Noise of entertainments all day till over mid-night. Drunken parents guffaw near the bar from 22.00 until one o’clock (their poor small children were with them all this time). 5) Camp de Mar is very small village. There is no a good promenade.

ADVICES: 1) If you are annoyed by the constant noise around you – ask the receptionist a room with a view to the beach Platja De Ses Dones, not to the pool. 2) Since the conditioner does not work without a card in the special slot, for the air conditioning in the room while you are out in your room, ask the receptionist for two cards (one of them must be all the time in the slot, another – with you). 3) Do not spend all your holidays near the pool! There are many pleasant and beautiful places with nice beaches, great views and good shopping near the Camp de Mar: Paguera, Santa Ponsa, Palmanova, Port de Andratx.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the beach Platja De Ses are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your valuable opinions.
On 7/19/13 we had customers of 26 different nationalities. For example: 4.89% customers of Austria, Germany 50.60%, UK 19.44%, Poland 1.74%, Russia 1.74%, Sweden 2.28%, in Switzerland 7 , 49%. The beautiful sandy beach is just 60 steps from the main entrance. The AACC is regulated centrally and we turn it off from 09 am to 01.00 pm because of the housekeepers that at that time they open the doors and windows when they clean the rooms. Customers in the room can turn on and off and regulate temperature.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future,
sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive family holiday at the Gran Camp De Mar. It has been the most tiring holiday I have ever experienced, having to set an alarm to wake up and reserve sunbeds is totally unacceptable and if you do not manage to reserve a bed you end up sitting on very uncomfortable green plastic chairs for most of the day.

For this reason only I will not return to this hotel... Rooms were the smallest I have had to stay in and beds were very uncomfortable, I am still suffering from back pains as I write. The air con in the room was just about sufficient and rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard, walls are paper thin and at times it was almost like there were other people in the room with us.

The resort was lovely clean and quite, food was of a good standard and the staff were excellent.

UNFORTUNATELY I WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THE GRAN CAMP DE MAR DUE TO THE SUNBED ISSUE !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
we first want to apologize for all the trouble you had during your stay in our hotel.
Sunbeds: the chairs at the pool are free for all customers. In the "solarium" (sun-terrace) by the sea, sunbeds are free for customers on "all inclusive" and for half-board guests the price is 3 € for sunbed and day, umbrellas are not charged. The reservation of sunbeds is not allowed. Hotel management reserves the right to remove towels found on them.
If there are no free sunbeds on the pool terrace there is almost always free sunbeds in the "solarium".
Sincerely yours,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My partner and my 9 year old daughter and I stayed for a week beginning of August. Right from the beginning the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms were very clean , air conditioning perfect temperature for me and there was a great choice in food and drink. I would totally reccommend the yoga and aquarobics ....a great start to the day. Though i didn't partake in the Zumba it looked good! The beach is close and very clean...totally reccommend snorkelling.
As for the sunbeds i would suggest having the deckchairs on the raised platform as you get a great view of the pool and sea, it's also less crowded so great if you just wish to chill out. It is also the only place that gets the sun all day but has a lovely breeze. We just had an airbed if we wished to lay down.
All in all this isn't the place if you want mad nightlife, but if you like quiet and relaxing after 11pm its the place to go.
Very sad to leave and go home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice hotel. Excellent choice of food. Rooms clean but a bit cramped if you have a third bed in the room. The hotel was full of Germans and unless you were prepared to get up around 6am you had no chance of getting a sunbed, rows of sunbeds were reserved but left unused all day. The hotel needs to operate a policy where towels are removed after an hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grancampdemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your comments on this web site.
We appreciate your positive comments about the food and cleanliness.
We now have customers of 19 different countries, among these, 2.05% from Austria, Germany 47.03%, 5.08% in Spain, Poland 2.27%, 3.35% Russian, etc. .. and 31.24% of the UK. As you can see UK customers are the second "force" in the hotel.
Maybe in the pool deck, all the sunbeds are occupied, but in the "solarium" at 11:00 am we have still free sunbeds.
The hotel is spread over the pool terrace, in the gardens and in the "solarium" the following chairs: 180 blue, 256 yellow and brown 20, Total 456 sun loungers, additionally chairs, armchairs and sofas.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent two weeks here beginning of August. Good hotel, great location.
Having to get up for sunbed's isn't as bad as people make out and can still get hold of some around 9:30am at the latest. The place near the sea (jetty?) where there are additional sunbeds that the hotel offer was a prime location and great if you didn't want to be by the pool for the elder generation or people without young children (these were normally available until a later time). The entertainment was mediocre, although certain acts were better than others. Animation team were great and enjoyed the activities I took part in thoroughly. Food was good especially the tomato soup (better than heinz). Beach is a stones throw away! And the hotel is situated in a good location.

However I couldn't understand that the wifi cost, and don't know how it couldn't be offered for free! Never the less you don't go on holiday to sit on the Internet all day! Also advise you make the most of the free kayak service! Also the air condition could be improved however not really and air con fan, so it didn't bother me.

Would visit again


... By the way this is the review of a 16 old

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar

Address: Avda Gabriel Covas Alemany, 2, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Camp de Mar Hotel, is a modern 4 stars Hotel situated on the edge of the sea. To the right and left of the Hotel there are the public beaches of “Ses Dones” and the beach of Camp de Mar. Thanks to its privileged location, the Hotel has some special characteristics to perform various leisure activities.The Hotel has 412 comfortable rooms, most with front or side sea views and 4 suites with breath taking views over the bay of Camp de Mar.Other facilities: Restaurant-Buffet, Theme Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Pool Bar, Reading Room, TV-Room, Conference Rooms, Spa, Pools, Tennis Court, Multipurpose Court, Garage.In the gardens and close to the terraces, there is a “chill out” area with sea view. Outside the Hotel, at the very edge of the sea, there is an area exclusively for our hotel guest with sunbeds and parasols (charges for clients in half board plus basis). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimarotel Gran Camp De Mar Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olimarotel Gran Camp de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.