We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect but not quite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp De Mar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar
Save
You added Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Camp De Mar
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Almost perfect but not quite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having been to several Thomson Gold or Platinum hotels in the past we had still to find one that ticked every box in the leaflet and, having read the reviews before departure, presumed we would find it in Camp de Mar.
Unfortunately, even this gem left a couple of boxes unticked.
But first the good points, which most other posters have covered. Very well run hotel with friendly and efficient staff. An appealing restaurant (tables well spaced and comfortable seating) serving high quality food (e.g. no grizzle on the meat) and a good choice of dishes at dinner. Breakfasts were first class too. Nothing spectacular about the rooms but spacious enough and sufficiently equipped – fridge works well. Appreciated the recently upgraded bathroom. The view from our fourth-floor balcony was superb. Also, full marks to the housekeeping staff, who not only did their job efficiently but were very fast as well – invariably when one returned from breakfast the room had been cleaned and the beds made.
So why am I not giving this otherwise superb hotel ten out of ten?
First moan. While there was no shortage of sun beds there did seem to be a deficiency in parasols (essential in the August Majorcan heat). Of course, the situation was exacerbated by the usual “towel bandits”, i.e. those saddos who get up at an unearthly hour to “reserve” their favourite spot. Even worse are those selfish b******* who make their “reservations” and then disappear for all or most of the day. On our first full day, from 11am until 3pm, next to us were two “reserved” sun beds (and parasol) but the “owners” were nowhere to be seen – how selfish is that? Another failing is the lack of a “quiet” area shaded by trees and shrubs (which are usually found in similar Thomson hotels), where like-minded people can relax outwith the earshot of the Thomson daily “activities”, which are not to everyone’s taste.
Second moan. The evening entertainment was extremely poor – a big deficiency given that there is little else to do in this small resort at night. Here’s an example: at a Thomson hotel elsewhere in Majorca last year there were two tribute acts – Rod Stewart and Il Divo – which were so good they would have been worth paying to see. At Camp de Mar we got a so-called Four Tops tribute act which was nothing of the sort - simply four black guys singing Motown songs in an updated fashion and nothing like the great original stars of the sixties and seventies.
Ironically, the best piece of entertainment is free – but you have to get up early to enjoy it. Adjacent is a similar sized hotel, the Camp de Mar Gran, which in addition to the pool area boasts a boardwalk-style sundeck on a small rocky outlet looking out to sea and is obviously very popular. As this area is away from the main hotel grounds, the sun beds are stacked and locked up at nights so cannot be accessed until an attendant unlocks them in the morning. Therefore, shortly after sunrise you will see guests from this hotel standing beneath fixed straw sunshades or beside parasols to “book” their spot – and then grab a couple of sun beds when the attendant comes to unlock them. These people look terribly anxious in case someone else (perhaps bigger and stronger?) should come along and pinch their space and they certainly do not appear relaxed, which I assume what being on holiday is supposed to be all about. One wonders what an anthropologist would make of their bizarre behaviour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    205
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
121
753
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Had two weeks stay. Marvellous holiday in beautiful setting. Hotel well run, staff efficient, very helpful. Good quality food and plenty of variety. We had a comfortable, sea view twin room, with a lovely new shower room. Suspect that bedroom upgrades are next on the agenda.The view from our balcony (R425) was spectacular. As usual with Thomson Gold, the entertainment wasn't good. Have seen one of the comedians three times now, spanning several years, in different resorts. Unfortunately, he used the same material. I would definately recommend this hotel, and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was adequately sized. Room cleaned daily but not to a particularly high standard. Views from balcony overlooking the pool towards the sea very good. The room safe is key operated but reasonably priced (18 Euros plus 10 Euros deposit). Very outdated as you have to carry the bulky key with you everywhere, whereas room entry is by card operation. Been to other Gold where safes are digital. Much better system. Not a lot of bars, restaurants and shops but that is expected when you read the description in the brochure and Internet reports about the areas facilities. Food in the hotel is of a good standard, with quite varied menus throughout the week. Restaurant staff extremely efficient. Drinks prices are what you would expect to pay in a hotel. Cheaper in the resort bars. Sun loungers are plentyful but the available room around the pool means it all gets very squashed. This might be avoided if the Entertainment venue was reduced in size to allow a better ratio of beds to area available. There is also the problem of early morning reservers grabbing their preffered spots. Even saw some Reservers queueing with their towels placed in a row in front of the locked poolside door before 6.30am on the day we were leaving for an early morning flight home. Tomson reps at the hotel are always available, and a special mention to Marcus and Lottie who give their all to "keeping the customers satisfied". A Great Team who should go far.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view on a floor above second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at this hotel in a suite. The suite rooms are in the 'old part' of the hotel but there are also twin and double rooms in this part too. The first suite we were given was on the first floor, we asked hotel reception if we could be moved as we like to be higher up and they advised they could move us on the Saturday, which they did. Please note we did book this holiday nearly 12 months in advance and requested through Thomson then that were on a high level floor but no request is guaranteed although the hotel will do all they can to accomodate. The first suite we were in, had a walk in wardrobe, small living area, large sleeping area, huge bathroom with a massive walk in shower and shower over bath and a balcony which could be accessed from living and bedroom area. There was the fruit, bathrobes, tea, coffee, flowers, etc on arrival. This suite had a fantastic view. The suite we moved to a couple of days later was on the fifth floor. This suite had a large living area, smaller bedroom area, a lovely bathroom with a shower over bath and the bath was a hydro massage bath. The balcony was separate so one part could be accessed from the bedroom and the other from the living area. The tea, coffee, milk, etc was replenished daily. Although this suite was infront of the tree, we still had a great view of the sea and beach. There is no bottle of wine on arrival which Thomson advertise when booking a suite but they do give you a voucher for a free bottle. Please note, the balconies in this old part of the hotel are on the small side, whereas the balconies in the new part are larger but a lot less private as they have glass fronts and what appeared to be frosted glass dividers between them.

The hotel and rooms are very clean and the staff are some of if not the most friendliest staff I have ever met. Jose does appear to be a very hands on Manager and seems to take a lot of pride in his hotel and staff and rightly so. On the last night there was a farewell meeting, which involves the Rep explaining about the departures and Jose giving a very funny speech and giving us all a glass of champagne.

The hotel food was excellent, the choices for breakfast and dinner were absolutely brilliant. If you didn't want a full English Breakfast then there was plenty of cereal, fruit, etc on offer. At dinner there was always a great selection of foods and the desserts were delicious, especially the chocolate cake and bread & butter pudding. There are also traditional spanish dishes. I do not understand any of the negative reviews on the food, as the food really is fantastic.

The sunbed derby, well this is very funny and no I was not one of these people who got up every morning to watch this, I saw it twice during my 2 week stay. Once when I was up early as we were going on the trip and the second time on the departure day. The towels are lay in order by the door to the pool area and as soon as the door opens the race was on. There is a great clip on You Tube with a very funny commentary, although this was done in 2009. What did make me laugh was that the people who were participating the sun bed derby were the ones who arrived on the first day with a walking stick or crutches, then miraculously didn't need it during their stay until it re-appeared on their departure day. But hey, who am I to judge and if people want to get up at silly o' clock on holiday, when there are plenty of sun beds to go around then let them carry on. What did annoy me was that after the day on the sun lounger was finished, not one person attempted to put their bed and mattress back, instead, left it where it was and expected the staff to clear up after them, which they did very efficiently.

The day time entertainment was there to get involved with if you wanted to and Marcus did a very good job. The evening entertainment was varied. To name some, the Beatles were great, the comedians were shockingly bad, the Bee Gees sounded like the Bee Gees with a foreign accent, the Thompson Gold Production Team did a good job, the lady with the blonde hair has an excellent voice but the one with the dark hair did screech. The best had to be Graham Powell, he is very, very funny - brilliant. Last but by no means least Face to Face the resident duo AKA Tory and "Grandad" Pete, they do an excellent but tough job, in trying to get the crowd to join in. Tory has an excellent voice and Pete is a good musician and we wish them all the very best for the future. Tory, if you read this, we managed to talk to you on the very last night outside the front of the hotel, I hope your hamster is OK and you really are very good at what you do, don't let no one put you down and continue to do what you do. The entertainment went on until 11.30pm and if you don't want the noise, take ear plugs - there are sound limiters on the sound equipment due to celebrities apparantly living in nearby villas who don't like the noise, this is also why the entertainment has to finish at 11.30pm.

Camp de Mar is a beautiful resort, you can get a bus to Palma for 8.40 euros for two and we used to get a taxi to the neighbouring resort of Paguera for 5.30 euros, where there are a lot more shops. You can do the walk to Paguera but this was August and temperatures in the 40's so we gave this a miss. We also got a taxi to Port d'Antrax, this is very upmarket resort and ridiculously expensive.

If there was one recommendation, it would be to update the rooms to match the lovely bathrooms.

We had a fabulous holiday and will be returning, oh and Jose, I don't think you will be going to Skegness any time soon!

Thank you Grupotel Playa, look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived at this hotel at around 1pm in the afternoon, we made our way to the pool area and simply took a few moments to locate 3 piles of sun loungers to be placed wherever we wanted and we found mattresses to cover the 4 loungers in the room next to the pool bar, this took us minutes only. From the second day my father as part of his illness does not sleep well so yes he was up and about early and went for a stroll and spoke to people who were also up early, he placed some loungers where he wanted them only for us to overhear in the pool he was videoed "running" to get a bed at 7am. My father has had a heart attack and has several stents fitted so does not run anywhere i can assure you, what i find strange is the moaning whining people (as below) who find it so disgusting to place a towel on a bed, so what, you stay in bed untill lunchtime if you want on your holiday, im afraid that you are the sad ones for videoing from your balcony at 7am!!

There are people moaning about people having the same spot by the pool, do these people think that maybe there is a reason?? Like my father and my partner both having had heart attacks and needing to be near the pool edge for easy access, no they do not think they just assume and moan, GET A LIFE....you are able to get a sun lounger and a mattress at ANY time of the day i can assure you as there was a pile next to us all day every day.

Please do not listen to any negative reviews about this hotel, yes we all have our own opinon and we all have different likes and dislikes.

The entertainment was not very good but this does not bother us as it is not a major part of our holiday and yes it is a little loud but i have heard louder and it does turn off at 11.30pm, surely that not that late is it, take some earplugs!!!! You can have a little bus trip out on an evening too its easy, the food is very nice and acceptable, the rooms and staff are very good and if you have a problem just speak to the manager and dont just moan.

The outlook is stunning but yes it is very quiet and if this is not what you want then just dont go, stay in Magaluf...... We did NOT enjoy the water polo at 3pm in fact we hated it so instead of moaning about it we enjoyed half an hour in the sea instead and it was lovely, there is always an alternative. We met some lovely people and we all enjoyed our stay and Marcus and Lottie did their best to involve all the newcomers so if you didnt feel part of things then that is purely down to the individual and NOT the entertainment team.

We would return to this hotel yes, i am unsure of the people who complain so much about what everyone else does and how they feel about the hotel then say they will return, its beyond me, just remember this is your holiday and everyone else's so just enjoy it how you see fit.

One last word for the rude ignorant woman who interrupted our meal one evening to accuse my father of swearing at her earlier in the day at the lift and then decided she may have been mistaken and had accused the wrong person, you should be ashamed of yourself and i hope you read this......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

very nice hotel, food and staff.
Found it annoying that people were out picking their sunbed spot from 7am. the hotels may aswell take the signs down about not reserving sunbeds!
I too found it noisy at night if you wanted an early night.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will go back.
Marcus was really funny with the aqua areobics.

Room Tip: ask for room on top floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Have just returned from this Thomson Gold hotel and couldn't fault it. Some people have complained about the entertainment being loud but we found it wasn't that bad if you closed your balcony doors and it was finished well before midnight each night anyway. Reviews Ive read for other hotels complain about there not being much in the way of entertainment so I think you just can't please everyone. It does state in the brochure that there is nightly entertainment so I think you must expect this surely!

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel and this time we took 2 friends (all of of us in our late 40's). Even though there are always the people who queue early to get their sunbed spots we always found that there were always available spaces. Even the day we arrived at 2.00pm we found it easy enough to get a sunbed. You only have to queue up in the morning if you want a specific place. There were also plenty of umbrellas, which seemed to work out to one for every 2 sunbeds which is great.

I am a coeliac which means I can't eat gluten and it was fantastic here because, as well as the food being labelled for vegetarians, there were also labels to tell me which were gluten free. It was so helpful. Even I had plenty of choice for food. Each night there were a variety of meats (not just pork), including a carvery, plenty of fish dishes and plenty of vegetables, rice and pasta. One evening my husband had apple crumble and custard and said it tasted wonderful. He is a very fussy eater and didn't have any trouble finding things to eat that he liked. My only complaint is that the bacon and eggs in the morning were cooked in a lot of grease and I prefer my breakfast grilled. There was always scrambled and boiled eggs though if you don't want a fry up as well as the usual continental options and a lady making smoothies to order.

The rooms were spotless with a big walk-in shower, an empty mini bar for your use and a flat screen tv showing a lot of english channels, including itv and bbc1. There are soaps, shampoo and shower gels as well as a hairdryer in the bathroom and it was all kept lovely and clean during our stay. There were cups and a kettle, as well as a complimentary bottle of water (we had an ordinary double room) and so I was glad I had brought my own teabags! I bought some fresh milk from the Spar which is up the steep hill and it meant we could sit on the balcony having a nice cuppa in the morning before going down to breakfast.

The reps too were excellent and worked hard to keep everyone happy and entertained. Look out for the Beatles tribute band. They all play the guitar and perform without a backing track and they are so talented!

There is a paella and sangria demonstration every other Friday and Im glad our week fell on the right Friday for this. After the demo they give everyone a good plateful of this to try, as well as a couple of glasses of sangria and its absolutely yummy! Not many hotels give you a free lunch like this!

The beach is just a few steps down from the pool terrace and the sea at this time of the year is lovely and warm. I could swim out without being out of my depth too which was lovely.

We had a lovely relaxing week and fully intend to return again. Our friends too were very impressed and also want to book again.

The only thing I would complain about for this holiday is something that is nothing to do with the hotel itself but with Thomson. Despite our flight not taking off until 10.55am the transfer bus collected us at 6.20am which was very early. If it had collected us 3 hours before the flight I could have had a normal breakfast. However, at that early time there was only continental available and being coeliac I can't eat bread and croissants. I improvised by taking in my own gluten free roll but I really think 6.20am is far too early to be picking you up for a 10.55 flight. We seemed to be at the airport for ages which is quite tedious.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view also face the stage and so don't choose these if you like an early night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar

Address: Avd Gabriel Covas Alemany n0 1, 07160 Camp De Mar, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Camp De Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Camp De Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camp De Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the idyllic beach of Camp de Mar with fine sand and crystal-clear water. Rooms: Bathroom with hair dryer. Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Safety Deposit Box. Terrace. Suites have in addition: lounge. Sport & Leisure: Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi. Tennis court. Table tennis. Billiard table. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast and dinner buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Pool bar with snack service. Services: Car and bike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Hotel Camp De Mar
Camp De Mar Grupotel Playa
Grupotel Playa Camp De Mar Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.