We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay but very dated apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Portanova Apartments

Save Saved
You added Roc Portanova Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Roc Portanova Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Paseo del Mar, 2 | Palmanova, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay but very dated apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and although the photo on TA shows a Holiday Inn Express dont expect the same standards as a Holiday Inn !!
The apartments are spacious with large balcony and have everthing you need for self catering should you wish to eat in, however there are plenty of eating places all within walking distance of the apartments and its location at the quite end of PalmaNova means no loud music blasting out!
David in reception was very helpful and would always say hello when passing, pool area looked good although we prefer to go on the beach which is opposite the apartment.
Apartments do need updating and I am sure most people would agree that pink bathroom suites went out in the 60s !! cleaners only came in once to empty bin in our four night stay and no freshh towels during this time also not sure if this is the norm?

Room Tip: Rooms on front have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    91
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
85
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here April 2013. I picked the Roc Apartments for the location, right next to the beach/shops and only a 5 euro taxi ride to Magaluf. When we arrived the receptionist asked us if we'd like ground floor or first floor with a view. I picked first floor as I'm paranoid about ground floor incase of intruders through the patio doors (you never know) but she said she'd made a mistake and only 1 ground floor room was available at the moment, but if we came back in 2 days time she could upgrade us to a better room. I was pissed off, but tired and just off the plane so we did not argue.

The hotel hallway carpets are worn, and everything desperately needs repainted. Our room needed repainted too, with dirty marks all over the walls and screws sticking out of the door handles. Our "view" was of the back of the hotel restaurant. Literally looking at a brick wall. No sea, and no direct sunlight either.

The beds were very uncomfy and i woke up most mornings with a sore back. The "double" beds are also 2 single beds pushed together which was annoying as the point of a double room is so I can share with my boyfriend but the beds kept coming apart, so we ended up sleeping apart for the whole holiday. My boyfriend also rolled over in bed one night and his bed literally collapsed! A new bed was there when we arrived back at the hotel the next night though without us having to complain, so that's something.

On sunday when we went to ask for a room upgrade like we were promised, the friendly receptionist we checked in with wasn't there and we didn't see her for the rest of the holiday. Instead we got a grumpy faced spanish man who kept telling us to come back and speak to the manager. Everytime we went back the manager wasn't anywhere to be seen, just grumpy face with the same old patter. Eventually we just gave up and settled with our shabby ground floor room, which by the way, was FREEZING at night (probably because it was on the ground floor) We had to ask for more blankets for our room, which were given to us straight away, but like the ones we already had were bobbly and grubby looking and some even had great big brown stains/marks on them. They also smelt really stale and dusty.

The pool area is lovely, but the outdoor pool is absolutely freezing. They should definetely install some sort of heating system. The indoor pool is slightly warmer but still cold, my new bikini didn't get wet the whole holiday which was a real let down.

The only good thing was the pool bar which does really yummy (and cheap!) food. The man behind the bar is also a bit of a charmer and a total sweetie pie.

In all honesty I got a pretty good deal with my travel agent so the room for the week was dirt cheap. Still completely disappointing though and I would not go back. I'm sure there are much nicer hotels along the beach front (there are loads!) if you don't want to lose the fantastic location.

Room Tip: Ground floor is freezing, ask for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September last year for 7 nights and as a family of 5 with a disabled child I was a bit worried as I always am with somewhere new,but this place had everything I could want.yes it is dated but do you really go on holiday to stay in your apartment?!.the location was excellent right on the beach so you don't need to take everything with you as you can nip back at anytime,the staff are wonderful we were visiting the western waterpark and David told us where to get discount tickets from instead of trying to sell us full price ones,children's entertainer tried her best with all children of all nationalitys even though there was only a few family's there and all the children was very shy.there is a beautiful Indian restaurant 5 mins away called saffron to eat there is a must!again customer service was impeccable!I used to say san antonio bay was best for children as it has plenty of fun bars with bouncy castles,trampolines etc for kids but after visiting here last year my disabled son said it was the best holiday ever!in fact we enjoyed it so much we are returning in may for my sons birthday and this time we have booked 11 days as 7 just wasn't long enough!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a group of 8 out there for a hen weekend, although we wanted to go out into magaluf at night we wanted to stay somewhere relatively quiet during the day. The hotel is about a 20 min transfer from the airport, and in a brilliant location, right across the beach and literally a 2 minute walk from shops and restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to magaluf or a 5 euro taxi ride over to the main strip.
When we arrived, we were checked in very quickly, and were told that only one of the rooms were ready which was fine with us, when we got into the the room we noticed it was very spacious and clean, with a fully equiped kitchen and big balcony. When we went outside we noticed our view was the back end of the indoor pool building, hardly the sea view we had expected, when we went down to reception the only response we got was 'well you have the balconies and they're facing the sea' yes that was true except you couldn't see anything but a big white building! We were offered to talk to the manager the next night to move but as we were only there for 3 nights we decided not to split hairs and make do. The rooms themselves were fine, tbh could have done with another bathroom, 4 girls trying to get ready with one bathroom was not fun! Another thing about the bathroom was that the shower was very tempermental and was fine sometimes but decided to change temp on its own.
The pool area was clean with plenty of sunbeds all getting lots of sun (when it was out) and the pool bar had a great happy hour deal which made us all very happy! The pool itself was freezing! But there is an indoor pool as well which compared to the outside one was very warm.
The beach which is nearest to the hotel is coarse sand but with crystal clear waters, the water was very cold but on a clear sunny day it was lovely to sit and relax on the beach.
There is a small supermarket just around the corner from the hotel which is good for snacks and water however for alcohol if you walk down the strip of restaurants and shops there are shops with more choice and cheaper. There are a variety of restaurants nearby, Mocubar which is a 5 min walk from the hotel serves lovely fresh food at reasonable prices, Tabu which is further up did brilliant sangria and paella and the chinese near the mcdonalds was amazing, look out for it as it is up stairs. All in all we had an amazing time in Palmanova and were happy with everything. The hotel lost two stars for us because of the views, the fact that you had to pay for WiFi which I think in this day and age is ridiculous even mcdonalds had free wifi! As well as the crazy shower and the pool temp but it was good value for money and pretty much got 3 stars because of the location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked a two bed roomed apartment for the first week of April 2013.
When we arrived we received a very friendly welcome from reception, We were given the keys to our apartment on the ground floor, No. 17, and informed we had pool access.
When we got to the room it was quite large in size, a very good sized dining/living room area with a large couch which actually folded out into a double bed, and a shelving unit with a small TV on top.
Through a small archway was the bedrooms, one to the left and one to the right!
Both rooms were quite large with two single beds pushed together. there was loads of storage space in the cupboards. the beds were very comfortable too!
A good sized bathroom was in between the bedrooms. The shower was good, plenty of hot water!
The apartment had a kitchenette that was very well equipped with a four ring hob, fan oven, electric turbo oven, toaster, kettle and microvawe. There was plenty of crockery and cutlery provided also, and outside the back we had a small tiled courtyard area with an outside sink, mop & bucket, sweeping brush and dustpan, so we could use at anytime!
At the front of the apartment there was a very good sized balcony, with a table and chairs. The railing had a small gate which lead to 3 steps down to the poolside area! Perfect for the kids!
The swimming pool was a good size, but FREEZING cold! but fear not, there was a heated indoor pool too! Happy Days!
There were plenty of sun loungers there and reserving them is STRICTLY forbidden! The pool area was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The poolside bar was quite nice, we only ate there once but the food was nice & cheap! There was a pool table next to the swimming pool and a table tennis table there also, which were great to entertain the kids!
All the staff we met or spoke to were very friendly, helpful and courteous!
On one evening as we were getting ready to go out it started to rain, the lady on reception came out from behind the counter to offer my wife an umbrella!
A lovely gesture and excellent customer service!!!
Some of the carpets could do with changing, and some areas needed a lick of paint, but we often saw maintenance trolleys and sometimes heard work being done so these issues seemed to being dealt with.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the ROC Portonova Apartments to anyone who is looking for reasonable, comfortable, convenient accommodation in Palma Nova.

Room Tip: Ground floor with pool access was fantastic, (Apartments 12-18!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is not the type of place we would usually book for a beach holiday but we had friends visiting Europe and wanted a two bedroom place on the beach and this fitted the bill. The location is great if being close to everything is what you want. It's close to town and the main beach and if you're adventurous there's some very nice beaches and coves to be found along the Northern side past the hotel. The rooms are large and clean though it's very dated but well maintained. All the rooms have large balconies with ocean views which is nice but if you're on the lower levels you'll be right on top of the pool and everyone that's in and around it. There were quite a few kids here and they were all loving it. The parents could just sit around the pool, drink from the bar and let the kids run a muck. From a couples point of view, we prefer a place that offers more intimacy and somewhere less commercialised, so it's not really our cup of tea. But this would be ideal for a family or group who wants everything at their feet and all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the upper levels with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here years ago and came back for a week in the quiet season. Here's why it's so brilliant - supermarket round the corner, sharkys bar down the road, fab Indian next to supermarket. Hotel staff do absolutely anything for you. Rooms are massive and tidy. Yes it's not the ritz but its a damm sight better than magaluf all day long! Beach on your doorstep and a decent massage in one of the two massage chairs in lobby twelve euros an hour, compared to 78 euros round the corner. Walk past supermarket and buses to Palma and Porto Pi are three euros and five cents. Fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roc Portanova Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Portanova Apartments

Also Known As:
Roc Portanova Apartments Hotel
Roc Portanova Apartments Calvia
Roc Portanova
Roc Portanova Apartments Hotel Calvia
Roc Portanova Apartments Majorca/Calvia, Spain
Address: Paseo del Mar, 2 | Palmanova, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty lodging in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Portanova Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Roc Portanova Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Portanova Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.