We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roc Portanova Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Roc Portanova Apartments to your Saves list
Roc Portanova Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Paseo del Mar, 2 | Palmanova, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Calvia
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We left the booking of this years holiday later than normal and were a little apprehensive that this accommodation may have remained available for a reason - especially as some of the reviews were quite harsh. As it turned out, we were pleasantly surprised.
We knew we couldn't be guaranteed a sea-view in spite of asking for one in the comments, but were initially disappointed to find we had been put on the first floor looking at the back of the 'Tex-Mex' restaurant that sits in front of the building. Working on the principle 'if you don't ask; you don't get', we asked to be moved to a room with a better view. The staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful. Although there were no rooms available at that moment, within 48 hours we were in a second floor room with great views of the sea and the pool.

Having now been in two rooms, we could see a patten in the accommodation. It was clean (very pleasant, helpful maids) but also a bit 'tired'. A proper redecorate would be more than a lick of paint as there were some chips in the floor tiles, staining of the grouting and the carpets, particular on the stairs, were quite worn. However, everything worked, the fridge was large, silent and spacious and the air conditioner was one of the most powerful we have ever had. Another pleasant surprise was there was no additional charge for the air con (although there was for the safe).

The pool was smaller than we expected, probably explaining why it did not feature in the advertising. It was stated that reserving of the pool loungers was not allowed, but this rule was not enforced, so unless you were willing to go down early (we were), you stood a chance of not getting one. Having said that, the pool itself was clean and despite its size, not too crowded.

The advertising did mention the building overlooked a harbour. 'Harbour' may have been an exaggeration as it is quite tiny, but giving the benefit of the doubt, that claim may have just been to manage the customers' expectation, as it did not overlook the beach.

During our two week stay we spoke to many of the reception staff and they were always cheerful and helpful. However, we probably spoke most to David, who was also extremely helpful and provided lots of good advice, such as when to use taxis instead of buses.

The building was situated at the Palma (North East) end of the PalmaNova resort. The walk along the beach promenade was very typical of many Spanish resorts with many tourist shops and restaurants. It is a very British resort - more so than we are used to; English was the default language almost everywhere. It has three distinct beaches, all of them fine white sand and very clean; as were the streets. The rental sun-beds and parasols were quite expensive. so we bought some cheap lilos and parasols that we gave away at the end of our holiday.

Although Magaluf (with its 'lively' reputation) was the next bay along the coast, PalmaNova was a peaceful resort with relaxing days and quite evenings.

We travelled out to the Aqualand Water-park, the Marine-land park (good Sea-lion and Dolphin show), the Karting and the 'Pirates Adventure' dinner show, which although expensive, was very, very impressive,- superb acrobatics. Our son also made two dives with the 'Big Blue Dive Centre' situated on the opposite side of the bay to us (a 20 minute walk). Again, very helpful staff.

Room Tip: If unhappy with what you are allocated, don't be shy to ask about swapping rooms when you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    99
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
109
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day holiday at the Roc Portanova with my partner and her 3 kids aged 10 12 16.
The apartments may be a little on the old side and over due some modenisation but you dont live in your hotel room 24/7.
The rooms are very clean and roomy for a family of 5 to stay in. Although we had requested a sea-view room we were advised that they were all taken on arrival but were offered one for the following day and to make up for the inconvenience we were given internet conection free for the week ( this pleased the kids).
Both David and Bilyanna on reception were helpful and accommodating in providing us with information for various trips.
Bilyanna's suggestion of a restaurant (Mesion Son Caliu)for our last night was a complete success and enjoyed by all as the best eating place we had tried all week.
Overall I would certainly recommend the Roc Portanova to anyone as long as you dont expect the Ritz but a friendly staffed establishment that is functional and clean in a good position within the resort.

Room Tip: as there are no nightclubs near sleep is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Heathrow, Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our 3rd stay in a pool view 2bedr apartment. Couldn't have asked for more!. Everything was spotless even though showing signs of classic construction. Walkable to most of everything.. local supermarket, bars, restaurants, beach and local bus to Palma. If you want it there is a varied entertainment programme but be early for the sunbeds! Everyone was helpful and most accomodating. Definitely going back next year. A find this year was Port Adriano with the millionaires yachts.. you can take the local bus in 20 minutes - well worth going for a drink/meal but a can be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: There is limited road traffic around the apartment due being at end of the block but request high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Meant to write on here upon my return but been a little busy. We stayed at the Roc Portanova at the beginning of June for 10 days. Its hard finding the right hotel especially with little ones so I spent plenty of time reading various reviews on hotels. So glad I decided to pay a little more and pick this hotel. Perfect location, not too noisy but restaurants and beach on your doorstop. Nice pool for the kids with activities on throughout the day for them and a pool bar that served reasonably priced food for lazy days. We split our time, 50/50 beach/pool, lovely beach, literally across the road with a kids play area on the sand too. Really cannot stress enough how happy we were with this, the hotel, its a 3* don't expect 5* services, regular cleaner service etc, the beach was beautiful, plenty of restaurants nearby, lots of kids areas and lots of zebra crossings which is handy with little ones. I am so pleased I have found somewhere I would happily go back to, it was just perfect for us, in every sense. Also, I did send an e-mail asking for a sea view apartment over the harbour so we had something to watch when the kiddies went to bed, which the hotel gave us. It was so beautiful in the mornings to wake up to such a wonderful view from your bedroom. Like I said, its a 3 star, but one of the best I have stayed in, kids want to live there now!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the harbour/sea as oppossed to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were prepared for the worst after reading a few reviews here, but frankly we were in for a good surprise. Rooms were neat, clean - we asked for a double bed with 2 twin beds in each. We had ample closet storage space for 5 days and the fridge+cutlery+other kitchen amenities were quite satisfactory. These actually brought down our collective costs a lot and gave us the option to store things like food/drinks etc. Bathroom was clean too - towels were changed twice (3 fresh towels in 4 days). The location is fantastic - bang on Palmanova, opens out to one of the most beautiful beaches you'll ever see. Room view was fab too, we were overlooking the indoor pool area which had kids/teenagers/parents/youngsters. There was a table tennis table and two GREAT massage chairs in the reception. Internet is very affordable. Staff were seriously helpful and friendly, even at 3am :)

We would definitely return here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Really, really enjoyed Portonova Appartments and Porto del Carmen - albeit Lanzerote lived up to its reputation as the breezy island! We had a great Appartment which was situated near the old harbour area housing a number of 1st class restaurants - particularly if you are into fresh fish, enjoying fantastic views. Portonova complex was quiet but with minimum depth of only swimming pool 1.6 meters not ideal for small children or non swimmers. We were well looked after by John and Mags who have only recently taken over the Pool Bar. We'll be back to Lanzerote and even the Portonova Appartments providing all we needed for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

this was just a unexpected 4 day holiday break . never been to palma nova before so we were exited .when we got into the hotel we where met by a lovely girl behind the desk called billyana.we had a 2bed apartment basic but spotless it was big when we opened patio doors our view would of been fab exept we had that bloody tree in way lol . David the manager was was fab very very helpfull .only complaint we had was the rooms needed a face lift & our beds wer a bit smelly apart from that it was lovely .we had lovely food at a bar called NATALIES proper english home maid cooking and the staff were really friendly you have to try .we would go back with no hesitation big thanks to david billyana and all the staff hope to see you next year sue karen & loopy lou xx

Room Tip: all 2 bedroom apartments are looking out to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roc Portanova Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roc Portanova Apartments

Address: Paseo del Mar, 2 | Palmanova, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roc Portanova Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roc Portanova Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Portanova Apartments Calvia
Roc Portanova Apartments Hotel Calvia
Roc Portanova Apartments Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roc Portanova Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.