We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jackpot Bonanza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas s/n, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Jackpot Bonanza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived here in the early morning and our luggage was stored for us until our room was ready. While checking in we were welcomed with refreshing complimentary drinks.

We returned later and were given our room on 7th floor with wonderful views of the bay towards Palma. The queen size bed was very comfortable and the tv had some BBC stations. The wash hand basin set-up was somewhat unconventional being that you had to slide a frosted glass door across the bedroom when you wanted your washing privacy.

The hotel is set in an excellent location on top of a hill with reception on the top floor (9th) going down to water level. The hotel has 2 outdoor swimming pools (1 for adults only) and 1 indoor pool with spa and wellness centre, there is also a gym.

The ground level also has the pool bar which serves food for most of the day and also hosts the evening cabarets. There is a very good towel service and plenty of sunbathing facilities.

The food at breakfast has got a great amount of choices and also free cava provided. The evening meal has 3 options, one being the buffet style, another being the a la carte menu (served to you) and finally the Krystal restaurant on the ground floor which must be booked in advance.

Illetas is a very quiet residential area. Directly outside the hotel is a taxi rank and also the bus stop for route 3, which takes up to 40 minutes to reach Palma for 1.5 euros, and runs every 15 minutes. There are also a good number of bars and cafes within 15 minutes walk of the hotel.

All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful most of them having a good understanding of English. The large majority of guests staying here are German. This hotel is certainly 4+ stars and makes for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Top Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    195
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
113
308
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from our 4th visit to this lovely hotel in 3 years and we just cannot stop looking forward to returning at the nearest available opportunity. The service as always is first class in every way. The food which we have always loved seemed even better this time. Director Tolo Mora has greeted us personally on every one of our 4 visits here and makes it quite clear that nothing is too much trouble and he is true to his word in everything he promises to ensure our visit is a thourghly enjoyable one......All credit to Tolo and all his team and see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in peaceful location, near to Palma and on the sea.
After a warm welcome an a complimentary glas of wine, we got our room.
Rooms are comfortable and modern with sea views
WiFi is working correctly all the hotel area.
Nice sandy beach at 15 mins walk, with an good restaurant (Illetas Beach Club).
Portal Nous, playground for the rich people, is in walking distance (3...4 km) from hotel.
If you want to go into Palma, bus number 3 is frequent and cheap.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The positives - Location and setting are brilliant. Secure Parking on site if required - 5 mins west from Palma with good bus service stopping outside hotel. 2 large well maintained pools and access to sea with safe swimming area. Restaurant very good, we opted for buffet which most do. Rooms are fantastic ( 7 x presidential suites) Hotel Dieccion/Manager Anabel Diaz very hands on - professional and enthusiastic. On our previous stay at the hotel we thought the service side particularly around the poolside area was dire however this year there is a notable improvement. My only criticism is around room and bar service. No drinks or food menus in the room. No tel directory making it very awkward trying to get hold of someone in the hotel. There seems to be no process in place to order drinks and food albeit for the room and you can come up against a bit of a wall as your passed from one person to another. Overall though its a very nice hotel with hard working staff and a high standard overall.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just called this hotel to book 2 interconnecting rooms for my family. I was told that they could not guarantee us connecting rooms and both my wife and I would have to split up with our children when we arrived for our holiday.
I also cannot book an apartment due to the hotels on the island lobbying the government to stop short term rentals. So what are family's of 5 supposed to do.
Get it sorted family's of 5 need holidays too.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second trip to this wonderful hotel and will return again and again.On check in I was not happy with a room on the second floor but the reception manager quickly changed our room to the ninth floor which had an amazing view over the bay of Palma.The food as before was excellent we were half board and there was plenty of choice of freshly cooked food.We ate lunch by the pool and again cannot fault the food and the wonderful service from all the staff they are so friendly and caring and well done to Riu Palace for training their staff to the highest standards the staff are a credit to you!

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director Comercial at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest.
Thanks for your review on tripadvisor,
we hope to see you again to welcome you in our hotel.
Best regards
David Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we pulled up outside the Bonzana Playa, we felt at home. The staff welcomed us in, taking our bags from the taxi to the room, we were quickly checked in and offered a glass of cava to kick start our long weekend.

I fell in love with Illetas some 8 years ago, and it’s a little quiet resort that keeps me coming back every year. I have stayed in a number of the hotels on the main road in Illetas, and all are of a high standard but location wise, this one is definitely up there. The grounds and communal areas of the hotel are surprisingly spacious and clean.

Plus points: rooms are clean, modern and well planned out. The views from every single room are faultless. The staff are all friendly and cannot do enough for you. Prices are VERY reasonable.

Downsides: the main buffet restaurant could definitely do with some modernising – the reception, a little upgrade but other than that, I couldn’t fault the place.

Will definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: All rooms have a seaview :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#10 Family Hotel in Calvia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.