We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but service is not so great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas s/n | Illetas, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€90 (EUR)
Ranked #11 of 177 hotels in Calvia
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but service is not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights and in general I liked the hotel. The hotel was a base for exporing the island but we had chance to check much of the hotel facilities. First of al, the list of what I like about the hotel:
1.the overall design of the hotel is good, it has an art-touch with impressionist style paintings all over the hotel and there is even Miro exhibition;
2. the breakfast is very good with plenty of fruits, fresh juices and sparkling wine;
3. the design of the room is good, bed and pilllows are comfortable and everything is new, there is a balcony and the view from the balcony is amazing (we had sea-view room);
4. the parking is availble just for 8 Euro in the hotel grounds
5. the swimming pool is quite big with warm water. There are enough sun-beds but if you are sunbathing further from the swimming pool you will have problems with bar service, they neglect that part. But then you will enjoy sea-view.
6. we also appreciate that people from the reception helped us every day to book restaurants for dinner in Palma. And the service for the courtesy room was very helpful as our flight back was late at night.
What I do not like:
1. terrible smell in the hall, it smels like cheap air freshener for bathroo;
2. the beach is small though the colours are beautiful
3. bad cocktails in the swimming-pool bar (they are cutting costs by putting sugar instead of syrups but cocktails are not cheap). Then we figured out that it is much more pleasant to go to neighbouring Beach club for better cocktails and beach.
4. Extremely noisy Brits. One night we were not able to sleep as British couple in the next room was trying to sort out their relashionship in the middle of the night and they were shouting at each other for hours! The next morning another british woman was discussing some problems with her mobile provider the way everyone in 500 m. distance had to listen to her discussion.
5. Every morning we were waked up by either mini-bar service or cleaning service
These all are details but in general we enjoyed our stay. May be the reason is that we didnt spend much time inside the hotel and were travelling around the island otherwise the stay will be boring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest.
thanks for your review. we will check all your details with our responsables.
Best regards.

Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    158
    50
    12
    7
See reviews for
85
243
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A fabulously well-managed hotel - excellent food, nice service, friendly staff, professional but relaxed ambience. The pool area is nice, although parts could be further improved and the adjacent seaside is excellent for snorkelling and diving; my 9 yo son did the PADI Bubble Maker trial and I had a nice easy scuba dive from the small harbour area. Lots of fish and sea life. The pool itself was warm and great for a swim and the sun bed/ towel bandits, whilst active, aren't such a problem. In fact, apart from the dour, crass and rather glum Russians the guests were a truly lovely bunch; very much so. The interior decor of the hotel is interesting with some nice wall art, but the exterior is still glazed dark wooden facia, which along with the Russian's nipple-high Speedos, gives the place a 1970s feel - but this is only a facade and not a true representation of a refurbished hotel. In fact the establishment is run along very modern customer centric lines and I would strongly recommend it to both families and older folk alike. A great, relaxing holiday made all the better by easy transfers, quick check-ins and simple flight arrangements from our local airport, all courtesy of Thomsons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thanks so much for your positive review.
We hope to see you again!
team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked our room directly with the hotel at Bonaza Playa on July 19. We could have chosen a double room, but we had only 4 days holidays this summer, so we booked a Junior Suite.
We inform in advance the hotel that we wish to be in a quiet room, and Mrs. Tania Dvornikova confirmed us in written the fourth or fifth floor, she was saying are the most quiet JS.

We arrived at the hotel, and a very unfriendly (Russian) receptionist checked us in, we went to the room and we noted that the JS (7 floor) had nothing to do with the picture they published in the website or Booking.com !!! The room was old; the furniture was old, nothing like we originally booked. In top of this was just next to the restaurant!

We went back to the reception, we were told that they don’t have any JS, like in the published pictures, we have to stay one night in this room, and they will give us a new room next day.
It is the “dream” of all travelers who has only 4 days holiday, to unpack and pack again for 2 days the suitcases. So we did not accept this option, and we asked for a Manager.

For one hour no one came to talk to us, the Russian receptionist became arrogant when we asked questions, and we started to feel that we have to deal with very unprofessional staff.

We asked for the hotel manager, instead one hour later arrived the Reservation manager, Mrs. Tania Dvornikova, who had excuses like it is “high season”, “can happen,” “I did not confirmed you a room number”, the truth is that in each floor is only one JS, so Mrs. Tania, Yes you confirmed us a room in the 4th or fifth floor.

Only because is high season, you don’t have to make a nightmare someone’s holidays for 320 Euro / night!!!
We insisted to talk to the hotel manager, but she/or he never show up in our 4 days stay.

After one extra hour of discussion, Tania offered us a double room for the first night, free of charge, but this is not what we wanted; we just wished to have the JS what we originally booked.

Never ever any nobody apologized for what happened, no one follow up call, on top of this Mrs. Tania was passing next to us each day, but she even dared to ignore us – not even to say Hi!!
Avoid the JS 718, is the only one not renovated!! And all the guest eating at the restaurant have a full “panoramic” view to your balcony and room!

I did mention to Tania that we will share our experience with other travelers, I was told, she doesn’t care because the rest or the reviews are good! 

At check out the Russian receptionist redirected me to somebody else, she did not wish to make my check out.

I do have to say that the staff in the Restaurant is very friendly, but the food is really a budget food.
In full season the tomatoes are not tasty, the presentation looks good, but simply nothing has taste!!

To conclude, I believe in tourism industry you can’t sell with fake pictures an old, not newly furnished, not renovated, room as would be one because may have serious consequences.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
At first, thanks for choosing us to spend your holidays, we are sorry that your stay at the hotel did not liked.
The receptionist that you mentioned is coming from Bulgaria and she speak 6 languages, she suffered a panic attack due your abuse of your behavior, we are not used of that kind of behave from our guest.
The room you got since the beginning is the same category and price that room you have reserved, As soon you went to reception to ask for another kind of room we gave you our best room available.
Mrs. Tania Dvornikova is our Sales manager and she was on duty during your stay, no one can do it better than she, she tried to explain and solve the best option for you and the rest of the guests.
As you could check we are a hotel has a lot of variety of nationalities and we try to have a variety of nationalities working with us to do the best service.
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just home from fabulous week holiday at the riu palace bonanza super location brilliant staff lovely room and facilities can't wait to return . Pool very clean access to beach from. Hotel scuba
Diving on site stayed on half board package food excellent

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view so not much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Fear guest,.

Thanks so much for your review.
team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for one week in August 2013.

Overall: A great clean hotel with generally helpful staff; nearby beach, shops, and easy access to public transportation and taxis.

Rooms: We had great room. It was clearly refurbished in modern style. Everything clean and comfortable. Good WIFI. Nice balcony. Powerful modern shower. TV with many channels, including BBC and German channels. Good room service and cleaning.

Reception: Helpful and available.

Restaurant: There is much food and it is all of decent quality. I would have liked it if they would tell you what exactly is in the food. Many dishes seem to have meat in it, and if you do not wish to eat meat, you have to skip it (that is, if you are vegetarian). They have special vegetarian dishes in the menu, though.

They have fixed tables for guests, and dinner is at two times in the evening. This was not something I was keen on; I like holiday hotels where you can just go at any time and sit where you want. That said, there is plenty of food, and I have never had any poor food. Some things are really excellent, including choice of fresh fruits, salads, sweets, tea, coffee, and many great juices.

Pool: They have a nice pool area and access to the sea with a shower and changing room. There is also an indoor pool and wellness area, although in the summer there is little need for that.

Location: There is one beach in walking distance, and that is a very busy beach. I enjoyed that beach, although it was sometimes incredibly busy, and there are no alternatives close by. It takes around 50 to 60 minutes to take bus 3 to Palma, from where you can get busses to other parts of the island. Bus 3 comes nearly every 5 minutes. There are many small shops and restaurants around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have reserved this hotel in the last minute, and we were very happy.
By our arrival, the G. Manager came to welcome us "very sympathique", then
we were brought to the room. Very friendly staff, always ready to help if we needed it.
The quality of food is really fantastic. We had a buffet with a different kind of fresh food.
The location of the area is really a magic...
We will come back for sure, it was one of our best vacation that we had...
Last thing I would like to mention, I would like to pass my big thanks for the G. Manager
that she had saved us to arrive at the airport in the last minute "as it was an accident on the high way"..Really my family and I thank you very much sincerely...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guests.

Thanks so much for your positive review!
We are happy that at the end you could ariive on time to the airport!

Thanks
Team
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during a recent trip to Majorca. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, however we were very disappointed with the room, there was a strong smell of cheap flooring and the walls were so thin that we were woken up on both nights to someone on one side of us snoring and blowing their nose. The occupants in the room at the other side of us were having serious domestics to which we could clearly hear the man and woman shouting and the woman crying lots. This made us feel very uncomfortable and we couldn’t wait to check out and move to the next resort on our itinerary. The hotel is also very overpriced, we wouldn’t recommend this hotel to our friends and families.extremely

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest.
At first, thanks for your reservation and sorry that you didn't like our refurbished hotel.
we have 2 managers on the hotel every day, talking with all our guest and working for your leisure and relax. we offer to all our guests the best room available and is not a problem for us.
Thanks
team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n | Illetas, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#12 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.