We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas s/n | Illetas, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Calvia
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice hotel, beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can really recommend thi hotel Riu Bonanza Playa. We went there in September for a few days off in Illetas, Mallorca and really enjoyed. The director welcomes every new guests himself, very nice atmosphere though a bit old fashioned at first. But when we got to know the rooms who are beautifully redesigned, very modern, you fell this is the place to got. The view that we had was fantastic. What we did not try was the dinner as we always met friends outside. But the breakfast was good. The guests are a mix of Germans, English and Russian, but all in all very nice and can really recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest.
At first thanks for your review and your recomendation.
We hope to see you again.
team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    184
    57
    17
    10
See reviews for
108
294
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedworth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Riu Bonanza Playa hotel during the first 2 weeks of September. This is one of our favourite hotels. It was our first time staying in this hotel and we defiantely plan to stay there again in the near future. We felt that the hotel gave 5 star service. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very firendly and helpful in every area of the hotel. The managers were always on hand to help and make sure that everything was to our liking. The food was excellent and there was a wide choice avalable. The hotel was very clean. The pool area was great and there were always sunbeds available. Clean towels were provided daily to use by the pool. There were a lot of sporting activities to do in the day. The spa was really nice and was available to use at no extra cost. The views from hotel were great. Most of the rooms and the restaurant overlooked the sea. Illetas is a very peaceful and scenic spot. We really enjoyed our stay and felt we got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest.
thanks for your visit and your positive comments.
your team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from 11 days at this hotel. We were in a refurbished room on the 6th floor and now understand the previous comments regarding no privacy whilst using washbasin and only a glass screen between the bedroom area, toilet and shower. We were told by the Management that the remainder of the hotel is to be refurbished in a similar manner over the winter period, with small amendments i.e. a glass screen between the bedroom area and the bathroom area. All staff were efficient and polite. The food was very varied and of a good quality both at breakfast and dinner. Easy access to Palma with a No. 3 bus running from outside the hotel at regular intervals at a cost of 1.50 euros each way. As the evening entertainment is still held outside, our room was overlooking the pool with a side sea view and we could hear the entertainment, but this always finished at 11 p.m. Illetas is a small pleasant upmarket area with a few bars. A short walk down the road there is a small sandy beach. Towels were put on sunbeds from 6.45 a.m. onwards but only by a minority of people, nevertheless, if you attempted to obtain a sunbed after 1pm there was always a problem, with towels on empty sunbeds!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guests.
At first thanks for your visit and your positive comments. As the director mention, we will improve the deluxe double rooms, we are looking now the best way to get better privacy between the room and the bathroom.
please, contact us next year to give your our latets news.
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days earlier this month, we were welcomed with a glass of cava and a very friendly reception. Hotel lovely, staff pleasant and friendly, food good. Have never been to Illetas before, was very quiet and little hilly but pleasant, went on bus into Palma only 1.50 euros. We had a look at the refurbished rooms and would probably book one of those another time, though would suggest a kettle in the rooms would be a nice idea. Altogether nice short break would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thanks for your positive review and your visit.
best regards
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bonanza in late August '12. This was our second visit previously we had stayed here 27 years ago.The fact that the hotel cascades down the hillside all rooms are availed of great seaviews. Our room was waiting to be refurbished which will be done over winter. The refurbished rooms are smart, minimalist and attractive but the wardrobe space is now rather limited.The whole hotel has under gone a lot of changes all for the better but you can't deny it really is an ageing building .The 3 lifts work well and seemingly have been refurbished.
The lunches served near the ' pool, are of an excellent quality. The lady chef works wonders with her grill.The langoustines and the smoked salmon and fresh tuna salad were amazing.Prices were reasonable at about 30 euros icluding drinks for 2..The staff are all, without fail, polite, attentive and helpful.The breakfast was substantial and the evening meals, served in 2 sittings were very well managed, with a chef on duty when we stayed for 6 of the 7 nights.The food quality was high. Cleanliness standards are high too.
There are many bars in the area for you to walk out to, like the Rose Mallow which does a good lunch for about 15 euros for 2, plus there are a couple of small supermarkets to buy in any 'extras' that you may want. The hotel is served by the excellent No 3 bus to Palma which runs every 10 mins, stops outside the hotel and is so cheap. Palma is well worth a visit. The entire area has safe, upmarket feel. At night you can walk out into Illetas on well illuminated pavemments.
Poolside towels are given to guests, sunbeds even in August were plentiful and no need to be up at 5am to grab one, at 10 am you still had a reasonable choice of position. The lifeguard stopped ball games in the pool which were interfereing with those of us who like to swim and relax and not dodge adults and children selfishly taking up swathes of the pool.
The manager was vey much in evidence. He liked to ask guests their opinions and listened to their views. Most unusual and well received. A most pleasant experience and we are most picky!

Room Tip: Floor 5. Good views.Up 2 floors to the restaurant and down 4 floors to the pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest.

thanks for yor review.. we hope to see you on the future! no that long since your first time.
Best regards
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We returned last month from our holiday at this Hotel. We were upgraded to one of the refurbished rooms which was not really to our liking. Even though we have been married a long time, there was no privacy at all in the bathroom area, which was entered into as soon as the bedroom door was opened; you then walked straight from the bathroom into the bedroom area. The wardrobe was in the bathroom area as were four drawers but in the bedroom area there was no storage space at all which was absolutely ridiculous, there was nowhere to put anything. The bed was very comfortable and the cleaning of the room was excellent.

The service round the pool bar area was very hit and miss, we had sun beds on the sea side of the pool and we very rarely had any waiters come round to where we were, we had to get our own drinks from the pool bar, for this standard of hotel this was not very good. We had lunch a couple of times in the pool bar but having to pay for bread and butter we thought was a bit naughty. The food was good in the restaurant both at breakfast and in the evening.

When we arrived the Reception staff were extremely helpful, but on departure they were very offhand. All in all, the hotel location was good and the food was good, we shall return to Majorca but whether we return to this hotel remains to be seen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guests.
At first thanks for your visit and your review, for us is really important what our guests think about us, we are collecting all the reviews from all our guest to refurbish again the room this winter. most of the people are asking to have separate room and bathroom and we will do our best to do it.
please, contact us if you want to visit again to do our best.
best regards from the sunny Mallorca
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I wish I had read the full range of reviews before coming. The location is away from the noisy areas but there really isn't anything to do or see. Restaurants and shops are sparse and beaches very small and crowded in summer. I did think the pool area looked ugly in the brochure but was fooled by the hotel being in Thomson a la carte. You can sit and look at the sea through the railings if you are lucky enough to get a seat near it. Most of the time people leave towels on the beds. Also space is limited if you want to sit and look at the sea to one or two rocky areas around the pool. There is no garden to walk in at all which we like to do. In fact there are no walks along the coast around the hotel. You can walk to the beaches along the road 10 minutes either way and nothing interesting to see along the way. There is a bus to Palma outside the hotel which will take you at least 50minutes get to the centre of the city. You can get other buses to Porto Nous up the road but it is a very boring place, the yachts and main parade trying to mimic Marbella without the atmosphere and style- dissapointing That's the area and now the hotel.
I have to set targets in my job and the last thing I need on the first day of my holiday is someone coming round at dinner telling us they want to be very good and making a long speech. They prime you to give them good feedback as someone else noted on trip advisor. The next day she was there again with her clipboard- believe me we I have never seen this before after staying in 4 and 5 star hotel around the world- and a card is placed on your table at dinner with a pen. The girl giving out the feedback card tells you to fill it in and leave it on the table or to leave it on the way out. The manager woman stands near your table until you finish filling it in which is very uncomfortable. Hello, we only came yesterday! I really did not want to get into a discussion with the corporate clipboard ladies so filled it in giving all goods to get them off our backs. Good ploy on their part.
Some observations about the restaurant. It is like a canteen as a previous reviewer observed. You are told that you have to choose to eat at 6.30 or 8.30pm and if you don't get there before 7pm for the first sitting you have to rush and the little man at the door will not like it. We like to eat at 7.30ish- no chance here. We tried 6.30pm and felt rushed and 8.30pm is a bit late for me. When you go in at 6.30pm people are queuing and at 8.30pm- not nice and it does not feel relaxed. Then the staff line up at the door and bombarded you on all sided with hellos- might seem a nice touch but is too in your face for me. Next you have to sit at the same table everyday like school children. If you want to sit at the tables nearest the sea view which is quite good forget it as the tables have been allocated to people. Again a first in a supposed 4 star hotel. You can sit anywhere at breakfast but often the tables near the windows were not made up.
The food is ok and there is plenty of choice but not always labelled which is not good as we do not eat meat and some of the vegetables have meat in. The choice of cereal is limited. What is the point of having raw oats when you can't cook this?
The tin fruit in the yogurt in the morning is not good nor is it in the evening when they like to put it on flans from time to time even though they have fresh fruit- mostly very unripe - next to the desserts. The desserts generally just flattered to deceive so we didn't put on any weight.
The special menu we could order from was not explained - no extra charge. You can order a cooked dish which is nothing special but often the menu was not in English. Also there was a cheese trolley which was a bit of a mystery. Some people seemed to be served with cheese. I did take a cracker off the trolley once but was too scared to do it again in case I got told off. Some people were being served cheeses every night and one woman asked for more crackers and the waiter tried to make a joke of it. Perhaps the cheese and crackers are very expensive and they do not want everyone just to help themselves as happens in other 4 or 5 stars we have stayed in. Again no chance of putting on any weight with cheese. No one ever asked us if we would like some which was just rude and odd.
I was not impressed by the restaurant at all as you can see.
The reception was good and sorted out a few issues for us promptly.
The room. This was on a higher floor because I wanted to be able to read and look at the sea. The refurbished rooms are fine but odd. You walk into the bathroom in effect when you enter the room- yes really. The basin is just near the door and the toilet and shower are behind glass doors. The bathroom is not divided off from the sleeping area so you can here your partner in the toilet or see them brushing their teeth as you sit in the room. Not ideal even though the rooms are modern. We woke eachother up every time we went to the loo in the night as we had to turn on the light in the bathroom which is in the bedroom- you see!
The finishing is poor as there are no drawers in the bedside tables at all. The television is on the wall opposite the bed behind a chipboard sliding door which looks really shoddy and not quite finished. The is an alcove to hang your clothes partitioned by chain mail- yes that's a first and boy is it heavy to pull back so we just had it clipped back on a hook the whole time.
Basically I would not go to this area again but the hotel did not help at all mainly because of the lack of grounds and the regimented nature of the buffet restaurant. I just wasn't able to relax as I normally do. I have been to Riu hotels before and found them much better than this and I did not feel that it was 4 star in many aspects. I usually just give the positives in reviews but felt that I needed to give some detail this time.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up so you can see the sea. Rooms overlooking the pool as noisier so choos the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonanza-playa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest.
Thanks for your review, is good to know what all our guests think about us...
We are sorry that you coulndt relax at our hotel.
Normally most of our guests like Portals nous.
As we always reply all my reviews on tripadvisor, we will add a glass between the room and the bathroom this winter... thats why all the reviews are importants for us.
best regards
Team Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa

Address: Paseo de Illetas s/n | Illetas, 07181 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#11 Family Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished Majorca beach hotel with direct access to the sea and relaxing views over the bay of Palma. Located in Illetas very close to Palma, this is the perfect hotel for your holidays. It offers full range of leisure options with good standards of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Hotel
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.