We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparably Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia de Mar to your Saves list
Melia de Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas 7, 07184 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Incomparably Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have traveled frequently, and this staff is the friendliest group with constant smiles greeting guests at every moment. From the reception, to Selma in the Bar to Daniel and Terersa at dinner, each and every person paid detailed attention to our every whim. The seaside is prominently featured from each view while outside and inside. And what a magnificent view it is with perfect landscaping of palms and other plantings.

Room Tip: The garden suite with a sea view is huge and has 2 balconies and a bathroom bigger than my living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear PointerDetroit,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for your holidays and thank you for your kind review.
We are going to comment your good remarks to Selma, Daniel, Teresa and all the team of the hotel.

We are also very satisfied that you could appreciate the exclusive location of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you very soon and meanwhile you can stay have all the latest news of the hotel via Facebook.

Kind regards.
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    119
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
46
317
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went on our honeymoon - wanting a lovely location by the sea and no children hence PEACE AND QUIET.We had room 716. The location was great but the hotel played piped music constantly, everywhere AND at 3 every afternoon a disco struck up !! There are external Bose speakers lurking behind EVERY bush and under every tree so you can not get away from it - even in the dedicated quiet area and UNDER every Bali bed!!! We love music but at our choosing - we dont want to sit by the sea and hear it all the time. We spoke to other people who agreed with us but they didnt complain. We did, but of course the music continued. It completely spoilt it for my new husband We would def go back but only without the music . We could even hear it in our room on 7th floor WITH the door closed !

TIPS - Try Luis restaurant down the road - we loved it. walk to Portal Nous beach .lovely - with beach bar. Catch bus outside to visit Palma

the PROS are;
good breakfast with seperate egg cook
fantastic staff and service
great location, own gorgeous tiny cove,
lovely pool area and cool bar
lovely large bed and bedding
fancy ambient lighting - if you are a member of MENSA !
decent wardrobes
Bali beds were fun. you get a tray with fruit and cava and a wifi gizmo for calling the staff. book in advance and ask for a front row bed ( 3,4 or 5 I think )- they have more sun and better view. We pulled the wire out of the speaker under our bed !

CONS:
£5 for a diet coke !

disappointing bedrooms -NOT worth the money. narrow and claustrophobic with very disappointing tiny balcony. we paid for the level which is ok but to get value you have to use it a lot and be tied to certain times. And I think the rooms are the same as below but they charge more for the extra service.

disappointing bathroom. The shower in the bath was level with the end of the the shower screen so water went everywhere. Quite unbelievable ! The seperate shower was horrible - tiny , claustrophobic and grotty, Silly raised sinks so you cant get at anything stood on the work surface. Very poor water pressure in sink and tap barely over the edge so you couldnt physically get your hands under it ! no shelving to put stuff. who designs these places ????

Our air con was insufficient. We complained 3 times and they fiddled with it and said it was fine - it WASNT. It said 17 and we were still too hot. they were very pleasant about it tho !
We would overall recommend - without the music

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear lipsticklover,

Firstly, we want to thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for such a special event and also thank you for your detailed comments.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our services in particular the breakfast and the “balibeds” with the cava and the massage included.

We take good note about your comments, concerning the infrastructure. We would also like to note that despite the fact that our hotel was built 50 years ago, we are giving our best to have it easy to maintain and in perfect condition. We have a professional service that is always responsible for the maintenance of our hotel and prepares to eliminate every little defect.

We hope to welcome you again and in the meantime you can follow us via Facebook.

Kind regards.
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I chose to come away without the kids for quick break & could not have picked a better adults only hotel. The location is excellent; after the 8am flight from LGW we were sitting down for lunch poolside at 1.30. Our room was perfectly located with an excellent sea view, the gardens / pool areas are kept immaculate and all facilities were spotless. Small but perfectly formed Gym with Spa offering many treatments.
There are many places to set up "base" offering full sun, shade, bar access etc etc Excellent drinks service and restaurant for lunch.
We ate out in the evenings purely because there is such a good selection of local restaurants a short cab ride away. However, we had an excellent breakfast on site and ate lunch poolside everyday.
Finally the staff were really helpful and attentive without being to full on and I would imagine many have been working here for several years as the mechanics of the place is smooth which equates to good staff in my opinion.
Great WiFi everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Leechy Lunchy,

Thank you very much for choosing Meliá de Mar for a small break in an “Adult Only” atmosphere. Also thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are really delighted that you enjoyed all facilities that offers the hotel in this exclusive location.
We hope to welcome you again for your next break and meanwhile you can have all the latest news of the hotel via our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

5 STAR in every aspect. Adults only is a perfect formula for this place. Really special is the sea-view from each and every room. The higher up the floor, the better the view, obviously. Direct access to the sea from various places in the garden.
Location is ideal being close to central Palma and on the more quiet side of Palma.
Every day starting with a smile having an excellent breakfast on the terrace so close to the seafront. A special restaurant for lunch near the garden / pool which was always busy. We did see a lot of guests going out for dinner in the evening although the restaurant is a good reason for just staying in the house. Likewise, it appeared that the bar revenue could leave some room for improvement. It was never busy in the bar area.
Without doubt Melia de Mar is the flagship of the Melia family on the island. The service is 5 star in every aspect as well. All staff do know what the hospitality game is all about.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Guest Relations Manager at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Tejostr,

Thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for your vacation and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad that you enjoyed the
benefit of the “Adult Only” atmosphere but also the exclusive location that offers the hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon and meanwhile you can stay informed of all the latest news of the hotel via Facebook.

Kind regards.
Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

For our third wedding anniversary we decided to go to Majorca for a week, and picked the Melia da Mar in Illetas. After reading the hotel literature, we took a 'Levels' room because of all the extra features.

After a 20 minute transfer from Palma airport, we arrived at the hotel. Check in was effortless, and we were given a welcome drink. A quick tour of the hotel and we were escorted to our room, where we received a complimentary bottle of Cava, some fruit and some small cakes. We were also told about all the Level extras - which included 2 free days on the Bali Beds (with Cava / Fruit), a free massage, access to the Level lounge and some other stuff.

The room was phenomenal looking with an amazing view of the sea. It had mood lighting, loads of storage, and a large bathroom with separate toilet room. My only criticism of the room would be the CRT Bang & Olofsen TV in the corner. I appreciate B&O is expensive gear, but trying to watch a few world cup games on this tiny TV was pretty difficult. Perhaps it's time to change them for a slightly larger LCD set. It was a novelty to be in a Spanish hotel that had BBC1, ITV and several other UK channels! Usually it's just BBC World News! There was a safe in the wardrobe, and free WiFi throughout the whole hotel - which could even be used at the pool and on the beach.

Breakfast had a good selection of cereals, fruits, breads, meats / cheeses etc, as well as a chef preparing omelettes / eggs to go with the other hot foods (sausages / bacon etc).
As a Levels resident we were entitled to use the Levels lounge for a couple of hours in the morning / lunch time / dinner time. They had a selection of drinks, snacks and cakes available to help yourself. I never tried it at breakfast time, but at lunch time there were a selection of soft drinks / water to help yourself to... and in the evening there was a large selection of alcoholic drinks too.

The pool area was well laid out with plenty of loungers available. The hotel also has its own beach area with a little bay section of sea 'fenced' off. There was a live DJ most of the time playing by the pool. Nice relaxing chilled out beats!
We were allowed the Bali Beds twice during our stay - which are kind of like 4 post double beds with thick mattresses and blinds you can pull down. You also get a lounger at the side, so you can sunbathe out of the shade. As part of the Bali Bed experience, you get a bottle of Cava delivered to your bed at the time of your choice, and a plate of fruit. You also get a 15 minute head or foot massage each too.

There were a couple of restaurants down by the pool - both of which served the same menu. The food was good, but the service was a little slow. We noticed that service was a little slow everywhere we went in Majorca - so perhaps this is just the usual spped, and we're used to faster service at home?
We had one evening meal in the hotel restaurant, which was really good... and for our anniversary we tried the hotels Teppenyaki Grill. It was a great experience, and Kevin the chef was brilliant. We could barely move after eating so much food!

One day we booked into the Moet & Chandon area, which is a sectioned off area with huge double bed style loungers and massive cushions. We got a bottle of the new Ice Imperial, and spent the day on the comfy loungers. Afterwards we tried out the tennis court - which has a beautiful view of the sea... we had to be careful not to hit our balls over the fence!

There are a couple of restaurants within a couple of minutes walk, but we found it was good to get a taxi to Puerto Portals as there were some cracking restaurants down there. It cost less than 10 euros, and was less than 10 minutes away. We also walked into Palma one morning, which was about 7 miles each way... and on another morning we hired electric bikes from the Level reception (which cost something stupidly low like 16 euros for 2 bikes for 4 hours - how do these people make any money?!). We cycled almost to Palma airport along the cycle lanes (which are excellent), and then down to Puerto Portals. It was a good way to see the sights, and the electric assistance meant you didn't need to work so hard in the heat!!

I would definitely come back to the Melia de Mar...
Beautiful room, good location, excellent food, great facilities, short airport transfer... and adults only.

Room Tip: The Levels - rooms are superior and you get extras too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear p3eps,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for such an important event: your 3rd wedding anniversary. And also thank you for sharing your experience in such a detailed review.
We are really proud that you ´ve tried almost all of our service and especially The Level which gives many benefits to our guests.

We feel very satisfied that we could answer your expectations especially with the good selection in the breakfast, the sea view of our room and above all the “Adult Only” experience.

We hope to see you very soon and in the meantime you can have all the latest news of the hotel through our Facebook page.

Kind regards.

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at Melia de Mar during a business visit.

The special part of this hotel are its great sea views from all of the rooms. It is also really special to have breakfast on the shores of the Med.

The location is ideal for trips to central Palma, as well as in locations such as Puerto Portals and Port Andratx.

The service at the hotel is really good as the staff try really hard to make each stay perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, so you just need to decide how high up you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for your business trip. We really appreciate the time you´ve taken for sharing your experience with us.

We also are very glad to see that you enjoyed the ideal location of the hotel which is next to Palma but also closed to other famous cities of the island.

We are very satisfied that we could give you the service you expected and we try every time to offer a better performance in order to improve the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to welcome you for your next business trip or leisure vacation. You can stay connected with us in the meantime via our Facebook page.

Kind regards.

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have just come back from a quick 2 night stay at the Melia de Mar in Mallorca. I was there as part of an overseas team building event organised by my employer. The hotel was lovely, on par with some other 5* resorts I have stayed at . The thing you are really paying 5* money for is the location. The melia is located on a cala ( a little rocky cove ) it really is breathtaking. Every room is sea view facing.

Breakfasts are served on the terrace and you overlook the sea as you dine, it is very tranquil, relaxing and peaceful and I would definitely recommend it for a short break in mallorca, if you are looking for rest and relaxation in a tranquil setting.

The rooms are nice, I'd say more 4* then 5 but very nice. There is a lovely Nespresso Krups machine, but they only gave us 3 capsules over a 2 day stay as they want you to purchase more from the mini bar. As there were no other tea or coffee making facilities within the room, this felt a little stingy. Apart from that I have no complaints. The complimentary wi-fi in the bedrooms was a nice touch too, as I have stayed at other 5* hotels where wi-fi could only be used in the lobby.

Very pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: Room 109 has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear GSewell85,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing the Meliá de Mar for your stay and for taking the time and effort to write your kind comments.
We are really glad that you could enjoy the sea view of our rooms, this is something exclusive from Meliá de Mar. Also you could appreciate that the terrace of our breakfast overlooks the sea.
We hope to see you very soon.
In the meantime you can follow us on facebook to have all the news of the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia de Mar

Address: Paseo de Illetas 7, 07184 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#3 Green Hotel in Calvia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia de Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia De Mar Hotel Calvia
Melia Hotel De Mar
Sol Melia Calvia
Melia De Mar Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.