We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia de Mar to your Saves list
Melia de Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas 7, 07184 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will Return Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is wonderfully situated. Staff is very accomodating. A woman at the reception desk gave us excellent restaurant recommendations during our week stay. We had a sea-view room and all the comforts we could desire. The bus stop outside the hotel makes it very easy to get into Palma for shopping and sightseeing. The bathing options in the sea via a seculded cove and the outdoor pool are especially scenic although during the month of May, only the most intrepid would venture in the water. If sea side accomodations are desired, this hotel is in a class of its own.

Room Tip: Higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear DLbovinecity ,
Thank you very much for this review;we are sure it will be very helpful for many travellers!
We are glad you liked and you will return.
You can follow and like our Facebook page to get to know all the parties and activities we are organizing to celebrate this big year of our 50th anniversary!
Best regards

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    125
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
47
336
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

- This hotel has all sea-facing rooms with the most amazing views
- Excellent breakfast menu which is lavish and extensive. No complaints
- Best part of the hotel is its touching side to the sea. The water almost flows in. You can't not enjoy.

Room Tip: - Every room has a sea facing. Higher floors could be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Bombay71 ,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review
We are happy to read that you liked the views and breakfast
During the season you can follow our Facebook page to get to know all the parties and activities we are organizing to celebrate this big year of our 50th anniversary!
Best regards

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is uber modern & cool, it doesnt feel like a 5* hotel to me and more like a top range 4*, it just lacked the qualities and finishes that you get in a lot of 5* hotels and the hotel itself really lacked character until you went outside.
The outside of this hotel is beautiful with a big pool area and a couple of 'mini' beaches, there is a direct access into the sea which is great and the views stretch over the expanse of the ocean which is breathtaking. The grounds are definitely the saviour of this hotel and I think it would be very difficult to enjoy it in the same way if the weather was not good.
The rooms are quite small and we were in a deluxe so the standard rooms must be even smaller. They are pokey and 'all bed' and not much space to navigate round. Bathroom is fine but with a small shower. However, the balcony is quite big and with a sea view made for a really stunning view to wake up to everyday and perfect for those pre-dinner naps!
I would stay here again, but you could only really stay here for 3 or 4 nights, no longer as the hotel isnt that big and it just isnt the kind of place you could make home for a long holiday.
It's well located being a 10 min drive from the port and there are also a few nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
Service here is also not quite 5*, however after staying in a few Melia resorts I always find that the service is slightly sub-standard for the level of resort.
I would stay here again, but a few nights is enough.

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sunnyday33,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tripadvisor about your opinion of our hotel.
We are celebrating our 50th anniversary in 2014 and as a protected building we cannot touch the architecture but we will make some arrangements to give it more character as you mentioned.
We are glad you liked the garden and views and we are also happy to know you would come back.
During the season you can follow our Facebook page to get to know all the parties and activities we are organizing to celebrate this big year!
Best regards

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only 15 minutes from the airport and Palma make this hotel very handy. We arrived and were delighted with our room - we opted for the "level" rooms which meant fantastic views, a few complimentary Bali beds and a bar service with canapés each evening. We stayed for 2 weeks - mainly chilling out in the hotel grounds. We came home relaxed and rested, we met some lovely people on holiday, nothing intrusive and staff professional and friendly.

Breakfast on the terrace was great, lunch and dinner just as good.

We will definitely return and would recommend to anyone wanting a chilled out holiday - it is expensive but you get what you pay for.

Try the spa for massage - perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Fiona 14a,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review and to let other people to know how lovely is our hotel!
We expect you this year to celebrate with us our 50th anniversary!
With my best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Awesome!! is what I would call the view from the hotel. All rooms have a two side view of the sea and have a large balcony. The hotel is located on the sea shore above the rocks. It’s nice to leave the balcony doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the sea waves crashing on the rocks. Loved the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Gurgaon,
We are very glad you liked our hotel view and the wonderful sea breeze!
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Marvellous stylish hotel, Very proffessional ,always smiling staff. Hotel decor is a very cool and stylish 1970's vibe. Quite "thunderbirds" in fact.Rooms and balconies good size and beautifully laid out. Gardens gorgeous,outdoor swimming pool deep and very nice. We took advantage of the" Level" i think they call it.Their floor of rooms that come with various benefits ,your own ,lounge, free massages etc..would highly recommend the package. Breakfast matched the high quality exhibited by the rest of the hotel. Snorkelingoff the hotels small beach and larger frontage was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mimramtrout,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and The Level benefits.
As our hotel 50th anniversary is this year we would like to count with your presence again to celebrate together!
With my best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went here for a few days break from work and kids. We tried to get into a nearby hotel but couldn't and having now visited that hotel realise we got lucky. This hotel has been refurbished beautifully. Its modern and very stylish. Every room has a great view. When we arrived the room wasn't ready so they arranged for us to be upgraded for our inconvenience. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. The food was good. There were several places to eat and breakfast on the terrace was a beautiful setting. The setting in general overlooking the bay is beautiful. Its quiet and relaxed without children and at the same time its in a great location within easy reach of the great bars and restaurants of Puerto Portals, and Palma itself. Also near to golf and shops. Really classy but reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view, but higher is perhaps better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Adrian F,
We appreciate very much your time to reviewing us and we thank you. It´s good to hear that we are doing things right and you enjoyed your stay in an adults only environment, that allows you to relax even more when you have vacations.
We expect to count with your visit again and to toast for our 50th anniversary!

Best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia de Mar

Address: Paseo de Illetas 7, 07184 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#3 Green Hotel in Calvia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia de Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Melia, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia De Mar Hotel Calvia
Melia Hotel De Mar
Sol Melia Calvia
Melia De Mar Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.