We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, trendy & clean in a stunning setting, hotel lacked character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia de Mar

Save Saved
You added Melia de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia de Mar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Illetas 7, 07184 Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 178 hotels in Calvia
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Modern, trendy & clean in a stunning setting, hotel lacked character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is uber modern & cool, it doesnt feel like a 5* hotel to me and more like a top range 4*, it just lacked the qualities and finishes that you get in a lot of 5* hotels and the hotel itself really lacked character until you went outside.
The outside of this hotel is beautiful with a big pool area and a couple of 'mini' beaches, there is a direct access into the sea which is great and the views stretch over the expanse of the ocean which is breathtaking. The grounds are definitely the saviour of this hotel and I think it would be very difficult to enjoy it in the same way if the weather was not good.
The rooms are quite small and we were in a deluxe so the standard rooms must be even smaller. They are pokey and 'all bed' and not much space to navigate round. Bathroom is fine but with a small shower. However, the balcony is quite big and with a sea view made for a really stunning view to wake up to everyday and perfect for those pre-dinner naps!
I would stay here again, but you could only really stay here for 3 or 4 nights, no longer as the hotel isnt that big and it just isnt the kind of place you could make home for a long holiday.
It's well located being a 10 min drive from the port and there are also a few nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
Service here is also not quite 5*, however after staying in a few Melia resorts I always find that the service is slightly sub-standard for the level of resort.
I would stay here again, but a few nights is enough.

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sunnyday33,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tripadvisor about your opinion of our hotel.
We are celebrating our 50th anniversary in 2014 and as a protected building we cannot touch the architecture but we will make some arrangements to give it more character as you mentioned.
We are glad you liked the garden and views and we are also happy to know you would come back.
During the season you can follow our Facebook page to get to know all the parties and activities we are organizing to celebrate this big year!
Best regards

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    102
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
243
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only 15 minutes from the airport and Palma make this hotel very handy. We arrived and were delighted with our room - we opted for the "level" rooms which meant fantastic views, a few complimentary Bali beds and a bar service with canapés each evening. We stayed for 2 weeks - mainly chilling out in the hotel grounds. We came home relaxed and rested, we met some lovely people on holiday, nothing intrusive and staff professional and friendly.

Breakfast on the terrace was great, lunch and dinner just as good.

We will definitely return and would recommend to anyone wanting a chilled out holiday - it is expensive but you get what you pay for.

Try the spa for massage - perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Fiona 14a,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review and to let other people to know how lovely is our hotel!
We expect you this year to celebrate with us our 50th anniversary!
With my best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Awesome!! is what I would call the view from the hotel. All rooms have a two side view of the sea and have a large balcony. The hotel is located on the sea shore above the rocks. It’s nice to leave the balcony doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the sea waves crashing on the rocks. Loved the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Gurgaon,
We are very glad you liked our hotel view and the wonderful sea breeze!
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Marvellous stylish hotel, Very proffessional ,always smiling staff. Hotel decor is a very cool and stylish 1970's vibe. Quite "thunderbirds" in fact.Rooms and balconies good size and beautifully laid out. Gardens gorgeous,outdoor swimming pool deep and very nice. We took advantage of the" Level" i think they call it.Their floor of rooms that come with various benefits ,your own ,lounge, free massages etc..would highly recommend the package. Breakfast matched the high quality exhibited by the rest of the hotel. Snorkelingoff the hotels small beach and larger frontage was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mimramtrout,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and The Level benefits.
As our hotel 50th anniversary is this year we would like to count with your presence again to celebrate together!
With my best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went here for a few days break from work and kids. We tried to get into a nearby hotel but couldn't and having now visited that hotel realise we got lucky. This hotel has been refurbished beautifully. Its modern and very stylish. Every room has a great view. When we arrived the room wasn't ready so they arranged for us to be upgraded for our inconvenience. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. The food was good. There were several places to eat and breakfast on the terrace was a beautiful setting. The setting in general overlooking the bay is beautiful. Its quiet and relaxed without children and at the same time its in a great location within easy reach of the great bars and restaurants of Puerto Portals, and Palma itself. Also near to golf and shops. Really classy but reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view, but higher is perhaps better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Adrian F,
We appreciate very much your time to reviewing us and we thank you. It´s good to hear that we are doing things right and you enjoyed your stay in an adults only environment, that allows you to relax even more when you have vacations.
We expect to count with your visit again and to toast for our 50th anniversary!

Best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The holiday was all a last minute rush but all travel arrangements went well and we arrived at Illetes from Palma airport via an 18 min Taxi ride and parted with 20 Euros--The brown tiled front of the Hotel at first sight was certainly different but once inside things definitely got better. The reception staff and porters couldnt have been more helpful, even though this is a 5 star Hotel where you would expect at the least to be well treated for your money. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked the garden and the small Hotel beach it did include a small balcony which as the Sun shone most days was very useful. The bedroom had enough room with a lovely large bed and a wardrobe and a couple of other cuboards with draws. The bathroom was good and not so good , the shower had what almost could have been a solid wooden seat in it opposite the door but whatever it was supposed to be it did restrict the the room in the shower. The loo roll holder was very close to you when you wanted to sit and think about how the day had gone ! The room was always kept clean by the very friendly staff, the couple of things we would have changed did not spoil our holiday in any way. The breakfast was good by any standards plenty of choice from cakes to fruit, there was a Chef ready to cook anything you would like, you could even watch it being cooked if you so wished. We went outside and used the small, well lets call it a beach, enough to say you would have made a lot of new close friends with twenty or more people using it ! There were two pools we found maybe there are more ? with plenty of comfortable chairs and beds. The food was served virtually all day from the garden area Restaurant no problems excellent food. We did use the main Hotel Restaurant for most but not every night for dinner, it was good enough so that you didnt feel you had to go out or needed a change. I had a little tap on the hand from my Wife for suggesting the side of the hotel over looking the garden and Sea reminded me of a Ski Hotel. The final thought was, this is a good Hotel with staff that seem to want you to enjoy your stay, although we had a special deal (or so they told us) a 5 Star Hotel is never going to be that much of a bargain. Yes we would love to come back again and the money we spent was well worth the experience

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Sea and Garden are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Johnb8340,
Thank you very much for your review and to had been a pleasant surprise for you. We are known in Palma de Mallorca as the ¨Chocolate¨ hotel because of the brown tiled front of the Hotel, and as the building has been designated as cultural protected, we cannot change anything from the architecture. For other side we are very happy to hear that our staff and your overall experience was better than you expected.
This year we are celebrating our 50th anniversary and we hope to welcome you back to celebrate with us!
Best regards,

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

this is a very good hotel with an adults only policy,good location good surroundings,great service,exceptionl breakfasts.the only problem is the inconsistent booking policies,eg during summer you have to book a minimum of 5 nights,so no good for short breaks!then you get emails during the same period with all kinds of discounts and offers to go back!also the premium for the level seven is normally too much for what you get,so even this premium varies all the time!we would use it all year round for short breaks,but we cant book anything with certainty

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia de Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We take your comments into account and work every day to improve.
Do not hesitate to contact me if you need any help for your next stay, i will be glad to assist you personally.
Best regards

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia de Mar

Address: Paseo de Illetas 7, 07184 Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia de Mar 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Melia, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia De Mar Hotel Calvia
Melia Hotel De Mar
Sol Melia Calvia
Melia De Mar Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.