We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price+ high German population= never to return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas to your Saves list
Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cala Antena S/N, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Gillrath, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Low price+ high German population= never to return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel was dated with rust on the little fridge and lots of peeling paint, but it was clean. The beds were REALLY hard, so I slept on the slightly-softer couch for a week. The food was definitely catered to the VERY large, rude German population. My son was constantly pushed and roughed by the German children who, apparently, were parent-less. These children push on the slides, push in food lines and are over-all a terror. The food was an adventure. There were many strange things and my family went to the Indian restaurant in the little town for our only really good meal. The servings in the cafeteria contain random high-fat, low-quality meats cooked in strange sauces. The saving grace was the fruit bar which kept us fed over the week and allowed us all to lose a few pounds. I did look good in my suimsuit.. (silver lining). If you are brave or German, give this place a chance. Others beware!

Room Tip: Get room above lowest level and ask for a "child bed" the matress is larger than a crib an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    228
    145
    62
    66
See reviews for
363
119
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner and 3 children for 10 days. Do not believe the bad reviews this hotel is great value for money. The staff were all amazing, the cleaners and bar staff were spot on. Apart from the English people in Man Utd , Arsenal and Chelsea shirts moaning , this hotel was lovely and peaceful. The service in the dining hall was 1st class and the staff always were courteous and happy. Our room was cleaned every other day to a high standard. I am just gutted I never caught one of these so called wasps!! They were bees and what do you expect around food and water and spilt drinks. If people did the decent thing and cleaned up after themselves that problem would not exist. Alas, it was a group of English people who decided to leave their cups and wrappers and plates on the grass and not in the bin.The same people moaning about insects and the fact that you couldn't get bacon like you have in England. Well sorry !! You are in another country, have some respect.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at the Eurocalas for 10 days at the end of June 2012 with my partner and our 3 children aged 11, 6 and 3 and we all had a fantastic time. We arrived at around midnight after a 2 hour coach transfer, which wasn't as bad as we first thought it would be. Upon arrival we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and we were given all the information we needed in well spoken English, so we had no trouble understanding them. Even though we arrived at midnight we were offered a meal which we gladly accepted as we were starving! Our apartment was on the 7th floor and there were lifts so no access problems with the pushchair etc. It was very nice, clean and spacious and had no problems fitting the 5 of us in. The air conditioning was a godsend and the maids came every other day. The rest of the hotel and the grounds were well looked after and the pools were great, there are a few to choose from but we preferred the smaller one near our block as it wasn't as busy as the other ones. I had read on here about there being a lot of wasps by the pool areas due to spillages and around the snack bar, let me just reassure you that they are BEES not wasps, there isn't millions of them and they are only attracted to sweet things so if you keep your area clean then no problem. There is also games and stuff for the kids in the bar area for a small charge.The restaurant was absolutely fine, it was clean and large enough for everyone and again all of the staff we met were very friendly and always happy to help. There was always plenty of food to go around and lots of different things to choose from. There is a lot of pork though, which personally wasn't a problem for us. If the children were having a fussy day then there was fish, burgers or sausage and chips that they could have for dinner. Breakfast was lovely too, lots of choice again, eggs, beans, bacon (their version of it which was lovely), toast, croissants, cereal, fruit, bread, salad and other things. I was very upset to hear the odd english person moaning loudly about not being able to eat the food etc...well dont go to a different country if you only like british food!! The staff worked very hard, clearing the tables quickly and the food was always replenished immediately if it ran out. There is a snack bar during the day too if you miss lunch,again, food wasn't a problem. Drinks in the restaurant and snack bar were self service, beer, wine and all soft drinks. The main bar was great, the staff again worked very hard to ensure there were no queues and despite being rushed off their feet, they were all friendly and happy. The animations team worked very hard as well, doing lots with the children during the day and always putting on a show at night, not the greatest but entertaining all the same and you could see that they loved doing it too. There were also outside acts coming in to do shows and the children were always involved. The local area was lovely too, a short walk from the shoppng centre where you will find all sorts of things and also the essentials,  there is a supermarket in the hotel itself which was reasonably priced. The beaches in the local area were quite small, the one nearest the hotel being the smallest with a lot of steps so I wouldn't recommend if you have small children and a pushchair. the other one which was a bit further away was gorgeous but small and busy. We got there by going on the little tourist train which cost about 15 euros for all of us for a return and the kids absolutely loved that, even the numb bums on the way back as it takes you around the local area for about half an hour, great views though! The beach is better in Porto Cristo which is a 20 min bus ride away, which you catch from right outside the hotel, definitely a place well worth visiting. I don't feel there are any bad points to this hotel at all, your holiday is what you make it at the end of the day and we all had a fantastic time and would definitely return :) 

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were firstly moved from the Callas de Mallorca Complex (Chihuahuas) due to them overbooking us and being most unhelpful!

After many calls to holiday reps we were asked to choose this hotel or a different one, so we chose Euro Calas. The reception staff were happy to help and could speak good English which helped a lot because we were in a bit of a pickle. The reception here is also 24hr.

Could not sing its praises enough, the people were lovely and very welcoming. There were activities on during the day like zumba and aqua gym for everyone although I was too busy sunbathing to join in.

I visited this hotel with a friend, both between ages of 18 and 19. There was good nightlife, especially the club/bar tiffany's, this was full of young people (and some older) and provided good up to date music and cheap drinks.

Pools were very clean, there are 4 to choose from with different depths to suit the whole family. The bar staff were most kind, always happy and cheerful. Food was brilliant, spanish food but also things like chips, steak, pork and chicken around for those not feeling the continental food. The snack bar by the pool was also very good serving cold food such as bread ham and cheese and fruit and also serving things like chips, chicken nuggets and beans etc so you could visit here instead of the restaurant for lunch if you wanted a quick lighter meal.

The animation team at the hotel were brilliant, always happy and willing to help and encourage people to get involved. The shows in the evening are quite random, and some are very good but others aren't that amazing, but you will still have a good time.

The holiday reps are also very helpful and can tell you alot about what to do around the area and are always happy to talk and speak to new people!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, we stayed in the Formetres building (i think that is what it was called) which consisted of a small kitchen area, 2 beds, a balcony and a bathroom. These were cleaned every other day by the cleaning staff. There is also air con in these rooms which were a big plus side and helped keep the mozzies away in the evening as we didn't have to open doors/windows at night.

The beach down the road from the hotel seams like a trek down the stairs at first but then you just get used to it and its pretty easy. Beautiful views and there is a beach party on every Friday night. Great ambience and kind people working there.

There is also lots of souvenir shops full of tacky things and loads of bags!! Supermarket is also local which sells very cheap alcohol, even known brands of smirnoff and absolut vodka which is almost half the price of England!

Overall, a very good trip and we are very happy that we stayed in this hotel over the other complex which was the original plan.

Room Tip: Formetres building is very nice and looks out to the pool and some even have a bit of a garden area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We got a last minute deal that was very cheap. So when I rate the "value for money", I compare it with our cheap prize (1300 euro for 2 adults and 3 kids) all inclusive. There are so many good things to say. The food tasted good, 4 ok swimming pools, nice nature around Calas de mallorca. 2 great beaches. BUT... Too much focus on quantity instead of quality. The food was an orgy, but We would have prefered less and more "love" put into the food. We also lost appetite from watching a lot of +40 BMI people eating themselves to death. A lot of the food was very unhealthy, but you can make a healthy choice.
There are absolutely no information when you arrive. You get no information about where you can find what. There is no information on what the bar offers, How the buffet is organized (found out on day 4 that there was wine and sangria, because it was only served in one corner of the restaurant), Be in the restaurant as one of the first. The buffet gets quite borring towards the end. The intertainment was average. a good holiday, but we will not go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Quite a few negative reviews about this hotel but i really dont see what the problem is! It is a very family orientated hotel so if your a couple then i probably wouldnt bother, lots of kids, lots of entertainment geared around kids but my little girl loved it!
Just arrived back from a weeks stay, the weather was glorious, over 30 degrees every day and not a cloud in sight, we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was basic but very clean and well kept. There are 4 pools to choose from, 3 all quite close to each other, the other pool where we spent more time was nearer to our apartment but always sun loungers free. Its an all inclusive resort so obviously all food and drink free, they dont seem to mind how many drinks you order at once, always someone at the bar and in the restaurant and snack bar you can just help yourself to beer and soft drinks. The food was very varied, always a good selection, myself and my wife are quite fussy eaters but we always managed to find something although by the end of the week we were ready for some proper home cooked food!
There are a selection of bars, shops and restaurants about a 10 minute walk away if you did fancy a change though, there are also 3 beaches. We visited 2 of them, the nearest is about a 5 minute walk but be warned there are a lot of steps to get to it, not so bad down but a nightmare coming back up, the larger beach you will need to get the bus to or a 15-20 min walk, it is better and larger but there are no toilets! There is apparently a 3rd beach but we didnt go there.
Entertainment team at the hotel were good, lots going on during the day round the big pool area which to be fair we didnt really get involved in as preferred the quieter smaller pool area but always a kids mini disco at night which was good rest bite! Brilliant parrot show one night but always something going on, some of the reviews say mainly aimed at germans as more of them in the hotel but although there were quite a lot, there were also a lot of english and most of the entertainment was aimed at everyone i found.
The transfer from the airport as other people have said was a bit lengthy but 3 hours!!! i dont think so!!! On the way there we did about 4 stops and it was an hour and a half, on the way back we did 7 and it was just under 2 hours. A taxi apparently takes just over an hour but we opted for the coach as its much cheaper.
All in all a good holiday and great for the kids, my only gripe was quite a lot of wasps around and the food wasnt amazing but if your not a fussy eater then its probably fine. Would i go there again? Probably not but only because we've been there and done it and next time would probably just like to explore a different part of the island, but for families i would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I honestly dont see what the problem is with this hotel. We have just stayed here for a week. Four of us aged 50 plus.This Hotel is spotlessly clean the food is typically 3 star Spanish food which is, to be fair what we paid for. Self service for drinks in the restaurant and all day long at the very good and varied snack bar next to the pool. Yes there were wasps around the drinks machine outside but walk another 5 yards inside and there are none. Not once did we struggle to get a sunbed, in fact there were always dozens spare. The staff, I have to say were the friendliest we have had for a long time. From the moment we checked in they could not have been more helpful. The bar staff were really good and very rarely did we have to queue.All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back and would recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas

Address: Cala Antena S/N, 07689 Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our establishment is focus on a sun and beach family holidays. Specialist in offering a product in a competitive price and value for money. In Mallorca (Calas de Mallorca), on the east of the island and surrounded by clean and transparent waters, a residential complex designed to give the maximum enjoyment for your holidays Situated 400m to Cala Antena, 600m to the main shopping center and 1200m to Cala Domingos. The public bus stop and mini train is situated in front of the hotel. The airport is situated 65km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotasa Eurocalas Hotel
Eurocalas Hotel Majorca
Resort All Inclusive Hotasa Eurocalas
Club Euro Calas
Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas Majorca/Calas De Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hotasa Eurocalas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.